Official Sony VPL-VW500ES / VW600ES 4K Projector Thread - Page 82 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 3412 Old 03-15-2014, 09:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 306
If you look it the manual it tells you what you can do with it.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 3412 Old 03-15-2014, 09:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27

It mentions 3 protocols but none of them is HTTP.

bweissman is offline  
post #2433 of 3412 Old 03-16-2014, 12:44 AM
Member
 
Thaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18

HTTP is not required to send commands to the device. It's not because the protocol is not HTTP that it's not reachable by your network. You have some remote apps that can act as as remote through the network (using the protocols described in the manual) to control it without being in the same room for example. That said I'm not using that feature at the moment and maybe someone that do can give your more specific details.

Thaal is offline  
post #2434 of 3412 Old 03-16-2014, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27

The point I'm trying to make is that it would be convenient to have an HTTP server on the PJ so ordinary users with web browsers could control it via a GUI. The protocols supported by the PJ are Greek to me.

bweissman is offline  
post #2435 of 3412 Old 03-16-2014, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdfein View Post

A) What's the benefit of putting the PJ on a UPS?

During a normal shutdown a projector should turn off power to the lamp but continue to run the fans for a short period in order to cool off the unit. A power loss does not allow this process to proceed. With a UPS you can do a normal shutdown in case of a power failure.

I had a bad brown-out while my projector was in the start-up process and it damaged the unit and will no longer function. This could have been a deliberate act by certain projector dealers because they knew I was in the market for new projector biggrin.gif
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #2436 of 3412 Old 03-16-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Expletive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a trick to getting the 1.005 firmware to install properly? I've tried 3 separate USB sticks now and the projector boots up to the regular menu screen but not picking up the new firmware. My current firmware is 1.002.
Expletive is offline  
post #2437 of 3412 Old 03-16-2014, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Anyone have the HEX IR codes for HDMI1 and HDMI2? The ones provided by URC do not work and there isn't a HDMI1/2 button on the remote to learn from, only an INPUT button. I will check with Sony directly tomorrow but maybe someone already asked and received or figured it out.

Master of Minions, Acoustic Frontiers. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
post #2438 of 3412 Old 03-17-2014, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyal Mellor View Post

Anyone have the HEX IR codes for HDMI1 and HDMI2? The ones provided by URC do not work and there isn't a HDMI1/2 button on the remote to learn from, only an INPUT button. I will check with Sony directly tomorrow but maybe someone already asked and received or figured it out.

What model of URC? Does any of the other URC buttons/commands work?
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #2439 of 3412 Old 03-17-2014, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 68
All works except HDMI1 and HDMI2. Apparently Sony don't have discrete IR codes, so you have to send 'INPUT' then 'ARROW' then 'SELECT'. Less than ideal, as that means you have to remember HDMI input state on the control system and that could easily get out of sync. Unless someone brainy here has figured out a work around?

Master of Minions, Acoustic Frontiers. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
post #2440 of 3412 Old 03-17-2014, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Oronomus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One possible workaround that worked for me with Samsung; MIGHT work for Sony. I downloaded the Logitech Harmony codes for Samsung and noticed they had discrete codes for HDMI 1 and HDMI 2. I then used a Global Cache IP2IR to learn the discrete codes received from Logitech Harmony. I used the "learned" codes with the GC through home automation software, so didn't have to write them back to another remote. Don't know the format that URC requires, so can't comment on whether the GC will reveal the two commands in a format that you can write to the URC.
Oronomus is offline  
post #2441 of 3412 Old 03-17-2014, 01:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post

During a normal shutdown a projector should turn off power to the lamp but continue to run the fans for a short period in order to cool off the unit. A power loss does not allow this process to proceed. With a UPS you can do a normal shutdown in case of a power failure.

I had a bad brown-out while my projector was in the start-up process and it damaged the unit and will no longer function. This could have been a deliberate act by certain projector dealers because they knew I was in the market for new projector biggrin.gif

Here I was thinking that that scheduled brownout I requested did not happen. Thank you for the confirmation. Sorry to hear about your projector.
BrolicBeast likes this.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #2442 of 3412 Old 03-17-2014, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oronomus View Post

One possible workaround that worked for me with Samsung; MIGHT work for Sony. I downloaded the Logitech Harmony codes for Samsung and noticed they had discrete codes for HDMI 1 and HDMI 2.

 

The Harmony codes for the 600ES do not have discrete inputs, unfortunately.

bweissman is offline  
post #2443 of 3412 Old 03-18-2014, 11:03 AM
Member
 
baziado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I went with a 2:35 screen. Did I make a mistake. It's bothering me that the image isn't filling screen on most content. What have others gone with?
baziado is offline  
post #2444 of 3412 Old 03-18-2014, 11:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by baziado View Post

So I went with a 2:35 screen. Did I make a mistake. It's bothering me that the image isn't filling screen on most content. What have others gone with?

Then consider getting a drop down 16:9 screen, the size that you want and use both. That way, you have a large 2.35 with no black bars and a large 16:9 with no black bars.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #2445 of 3412 Old 03-18-2014, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Thaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by baziado View Post

So I went with a 2:35 screen. Did I make a mistake. It's bothering me that the image isn't filling screen on most content. What have others gone with?

 

I have gone with 1.85 (16/9) since well... it can also take a 2.35 movie (with the inconvenience of black bars top and bottom) but not the other way around, and I'm not using projectors exclusively for movie watching. I can understand the 2.35 for someone watching only movies as most of them are in this format.

 

Another thing that made me choose a 16/9 screen is that more and more movies are shot for imax or mixes the 2 (Batman)... and imax movies are then put to 16/9 on Blurays.

Thaal is offline  
post #2446 of 3412 Old 03-18-2014, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 3,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 100
I have a 2:35 screen and it works perfectly. Most of the time I am watching movies (99% are 2:35 or 2:40) except during college football which are 16:9 and then I have two choices: (1) fill up the screen and lose a bit at the top and bottom (I use vertical stretch and an A-Lens or; (b) use masking. On my first 2;35 screen, I built add-on masks but then purchased an automated masking system.

If I watched mostly TV, I would have opted for a 16:9 and used horizontal masks to get rid of the black bars for movies. ( I would never be able to live with the black bars either on the sides or top/bottom)

There is no right answer for everyone.
audioguy is online now  
post #2447 of 3412 Old 03-18-2014, 12:33 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 279

I find interesting that even the 2:35 does not fill the screen as many movies are rated 2:35 but are 2:40?

wse is offline  
post #2448 of 3412 Old 03-18-2014, 12:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

I find interesting that even the 2:35 does not fill the screen as many movies are rated 2:35 but are 2:40?

Just make the image large enough to fill the height of the screen and it over shoots the ends by about 1/2". That is for a 120" wide screen. You will not miss the 1/2" and will not have black bars.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #2449 of 3412 Old 03-18-2014, 01:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
darinp2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 21,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

Just make the image large enough to fill the height of the screen and it over shoots the ends by about 1/2". That is for a 120" wide screen. You will not miss the 1/2" and will not have black bars.
You didn't specifically mention this, but just so nobody misses it, do the above and use the blanking feature on the sides to keep from seeing the overshoot there if you want to make it close to invisible. Helps if it just hits the screen masking or you don't have a light colored wall behind the screen.

--Darin

This is the AV Science Forum. Please don't be gullible and please do remember the saying, "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me."
darinp2 is offline  
post #2450 of 3412 Old 03-18-2014, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing or kayaking )
Posts: 4,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Quote:
So I went with a 2:35 screen. Did I make a mistake. It's bothering me that the image isn't filling screen on most content. What have others gone with?

Then consider getting a drop down 16:9 screen, the size that you want and use both. That way, you have a large 2.35 with no black bars and a large 16:9 with no black bars.

That has worked for me. 2 screens = twice the fun ! smile.gif


16:9 and 2.35:1 screens - no aspect ratio compromise either way !
buckley44 likes this.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Direct Line - 585-671-2972
I'm available 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday Email me at craig@avscience.com
http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, Klipsch, and many more!
Craig Peer is online now  
post #2451 of 3412 Old 03-18-2014, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Has anyone had any success with the iOS app "Projector Remote +" from Sony? I cannot get it to detect my 600ES, even when I manually specify the PJ's LAN IP address.
bweissman is offline  
post #2452 of 3412 Old 03-19-2014, 07:51 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View PostJust make the image large enough to fill the height of the screen and it over shoots the ends by about 1/2". That is for a 120" wide screen. You will not miss the 1/2" and will not have black bars.

My screen is 10 feet wide so I guess 128" diagonal yes? They should make screen 2:40 rather than 2:35

wse is offline  
post #2453 of 3412 Old 03-19-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 3,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

My screen is 10 feet wide so I guess 128" diagonal yes? They should make screen 2:40 rather than 2:35

Most screen companies will sell you any ratio screen you wish. But with any choice, there will be overscan either horizontally or vertically if you zoom to get rid of the black bars!
audioguy is online now  
post #2454 of 3412 Old 03-19-2014, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Expletive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Expletive View Post

Is there a trick to getting the 1.005 firmware to install properly? I've tried 3 separate USB sticks now and the projector boots up to the regular menu screen but not picking up the new firmware. My current firmware is 1.002.

Anyone been able to upgrade from 1.002 to 1.005 via the USB download? Still unable to have the 600 recognize the USB and update when I power it on...
Expletive is offline  
post #2455 of 3412 Old 03-19-2014, 10:43 AM
Member
 
NABCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portugal
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I already upgraded my VW500 and no problem with me.

Nuno
NABCS is offline  
post #2456 of 3412 Old 03-19-2014, 01:05 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View PostMost screen companies will sell you any ratio screen you wish. But with any choice, there will be overscan either horizontally or vertically if you zoom to get rid of the black bars!

Yes the problem is movies fluctuate between 2:35; 2:40; 16:9.......

wse is offline  
post #2457 of 3412 Old 03-19-2014, 02:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Just a reminder for those interested in seeing a VW600ES that are near south central Kentucky: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1519574/ht-demo-in-southern-kentucky-area-march-22nd

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #2458 of 3412 Old 03-19-2014, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
drjay71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Forgive me if this has been posted before but has anyone ever ordered one of these using **********? For the 500ES they have a very competitive price.

If you have, could you please describe your experience of having one of these to the United States. Feel free to PM me.

Thanks
drjay71 is offline  
post #2459 of 3412 Old 03-19-2014, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 2,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

Just a reminder for those interested in seeing a VW600ES that are near south central Kentucky: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1519574/ht-demo-in-southern-kentucky-area-march-22nd

I wish I lived closer to Kentucky!!! I haven't heard about about prismasonic before....it's their masking motorized?
BrolicBeast is online now  
post #2460 of 3412 Old 03-19-2014, 07:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrolicBeast View Post

I wish I lived closer to Kentucky!!! I haven't heard about about prismasonic before....it's their masking motorized?

Yes, but it is not really designed to be used with other screens. It would be easy to use the flat masking system with a DIY screen or any factory screen, where the fabric fastens on the front using velcro or wraps around the front.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales
Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com

Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/

 

Call for B-stock projectors

Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI & many more.
Klipsch, RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.

AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw500es , Sony Vpl Vw1000es Projector , Sony Fmp X1 4k Ultra Hd Media Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off