Official Epson Pro Cinema 6030UB Owners' Thread - Page 13 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #361 of 516 Unread 10-15-2014, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
rprice54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 31
What do you mean by lag? For most users here, lag is the time it takes for the signal to get from the source to the screen. Usually not an issue except for fast paced games. Once it's on the screen, we're seeing the image. Are you referring to blurry motion?

I use mine for 90% sports and love it. Try some of the frame interpolation settings. When the ball goes left to right across a 50" screen it's traveling 42" on that screen. One a 100" screen it's moving closer to 90". With the same number of frames from the source you can get some motion blur (judder?). Frame interpolation makes up those in between frames to smooth it out.

I've watched football on a plasma and this PJ and can't tell a difference in smoothness.
rprice54 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 516 Unread 10-15-2014, 11:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
AlexanderDelarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Omaha
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nappyface View Post
Do you have to change any settings to prevent lag? That's the reason I was going through this thread to begin with...thought maybe I had a setting or something off. I don't seem to notice it on regular programs but it is definitely noticeable while watching sports.
I have not done anything specific for sporting events - whether I am watching a blu ray, TV show, or a sporting event, my settings remain the same except for sports I switch from THX to living room mode for a brighter picture. I will have to check my FI setting to see what it is at..... I never change it however.

Epson Pro Cinema 6030 | OPPO BDP - 103 | Pioneer Elite VSX 70 | Definitive Technology PM 1000 (L/R) | PC 2000 (C) | SR8040BP's (7.1) | Rythmik LV12R | Carada Criterion Brilliant White 118" | URC MX 780 & MRF 350 | ATS Acoustic Panels | Sanus AV Rack | DirecTv | Roku 2 | Monoprice 12AWG |
AlexanderDelarg is offline  
post #363 of 516 Unread 10-16-2014, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rprice54 View Post
I use mine for 90% sports and love it. Try some of the frame interpolation settings. When the ball goes left to right across a 50" screen it's traveling 42" on that screen. One a 100" screen it's moving closer to 90". With the same number of frames from the source you can get some motion blur (judder?). Frame interpolation makes up those in between frames to smooth it out.

I've watched football on a plasma and this PJ and can't tell a difference in smoothness.
That sounds exactly what I was trying to describe by using "lag" - like I said I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff so my knowledge base is extremely limited and lacking proper terminology. I'll try to search how to adjust the frame interpolation settings and see if that helps.
Nappyface is offline  
post #364 of 516 Unread 10-16-2014, 11:02 PM
Newbie
 
ericruff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Detail Enhancement Firmware Update has gone live at epson.com as of yesterday.
ericruff is offline  
post #365 of 516 Unread 10-16-2014, 11:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tasdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Albuquerque, N.M.
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericruff View Post
The Detail Enhancement Firmware Update has gone live at epson.com as of yesterday.
link? I'm not finding it

Onkyo Pre/Pro PR-SC5508 & Emotiva XPA-5's x 2
Klipsch RF-7II's Mains RC64II Center RB75's Heights RS-7's Sides RS-52II's Rears
Klipsch RW-12D Subs x 2
Klipsch Belle's x 4
OPPO BDP-105 with Roku Streaming Stick
Epson 6030UB / Vapex 120" Electric Tensioned Screen
Tasdom is offline  
post #366 of 516 Unread 10-17-2014, 04:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
usualsuspects's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 26
New firmware for us/ca 4030/5030/6030's:

epson.com/detailenhancement (U.S.) or
epson.ca/detailenhancement (Canada)

Version shown on my 5030 (US) is now V111 - was V102.

Pretty easy to do the firmware upgrade - just follow the directions.

I'm not going to bother to post any new pics of what fast mode looks like on V111 - no point - it is unchanged - not improved.

Those with start problems might want to install this firmware to see if it fixes those issues.

Last edited by usualsuspects; 10-17-2014 at 04:14 AM.
usualsuspects is offline  
post #367 of 516 Unread 10-17-2014, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tasdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Albuquerque, N.M.
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by usualsuspects View Post
New firmware for us/ca 4030/5030/6030's:

epson.com/detailenhancement (U.S.) or
epson.ca/detailenhancement (Canada)

Version shown on my 5030 (US) is now V111 - was V102.

Pretty easy to do the firmware upgrade - just follow the directions.

I'm not going to bother to post any new pics of what fast mode looks like on V111 - no point - it is unchanged - not improved.

Those with start problems might want to install this firmware to see if it fixes those issues.
Thanks for the links!

Onkyo Pre/Pro PR-SC5508 & Emotiva XPA-5's x 2
Klipsch RF-7II's Mains RC64II Center RB75's Heights RS-7's Sides RS-52II's Rears
Klipsch RW-12D Subs x 2
Klipsch Belle's x 4
OPPO BDP-105 with Roku Streaming Stick
Epson 6030UB / Vapex 120" Electric Tensioned Screen
Tasdom is offline  
post #368 of 516 Unread 10-17-2014, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
ericruff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tasdom View Post
link? I'm not finding it
Sorry, I had the link for the firmware upgrade, but I haven't posted here before and newbies aren't allowed to post links or photos.

I'd be interested in anyone's opinion of the improvement in picture quality after the firmware upgrade. Is it worth writing home about? Also, I had my 6030 calibrated... will the firmware upgrade "undo" all that calibration? Thanks.
ericruff is offline  
post #369 of 516 Unread 10-17-2014, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
muad'dib is offline  
post #370 of 516 Unread 10-17-2014, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I tried the enhancements and like☺

I found setting of 3 or less the best. Seems when going to 4 it gives white lines around things.

Should not need to recalibrate, as does not seem to affect colors etc.. As far as I can tell.

Maybe sharpness control could be adjusted, but I left mine where it was prior to new update
muad'dib is offline  
post #371 of 516 Unread 10-20-2014, 10:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post

Just downloaded it from your link to my laptop,.. when just trying to open the download I get a message:
"This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Set Association control panel "

Is this normal because it's not connected to Projector ???
randyc1 is offline  
post #372 of 516 Unread 10-20-2014, 10:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post
Just downloaded it from your link to my laptop,.. when just trying to open the download I get a message:
"This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Set Association control panel "

Is this normal because it's not connected to Projector ???
Once you download the file and extract it. Copy file over to projector (it will have a drive letter when you plug usb into it and to computer.)

After its copied, in Windows eject the projector drive, then projector will start update..

I would first download the reader PDF for a more detailed instructions and photos
muad'dib is offline  
post #373 of 516 Unread 10-21-2014, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post
Just downloaded it from your link to my laptop,.. when just trying to open the download I get a message:
"This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Set Association control panel "

Is this normal because it's not connected to Projector ???

The download is simply a .bin file to be copied to the projector, there's nothing to "open" on your laptop (it's not even a .zip file). The same web page has a link to the instructions in a PDF file.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #374 of 516 Unread 10-21-2014, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
The download is simply a .bin file to be copied to the projector, there's nothing to "open" on your laptop (it's not even a .zip file). The same web page has a link to the instructions in a PDF file.
...Ok so it's normal that i was'nt able to open file without laptop connected tp PJ ?
randyc1 is offline  
post #375 of 516 Unread 10-21-2014, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 186
^ you don't "open" the file even when the PJ is connected. i.e. don't double-click it expecting something to happen. Read the PDF and it tells you what to do.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #376 of 516 Unread 10-21-2014, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Ok great , will try it tommorow, thanks
randyc1 is offline  
post #377 of 516 Unread 10-21-2014, 09:57 PM
Member
 
starfyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will be going to someone's home tomorrow to test the 6030. Specifically bringing a PS3, ps4 and Xbox one.

Want to test some games (resogun, USF4, and Killer Instinct) and see how it feels. We wanted this proj. until we heard of the input lag.

Our new # 1 choice is the Sony HW55ES since it's decent for movies/games apparenrtly, but still gotta try the 6030

maybe, since i'm not a very good player, i won't notice any delays/lag

Regards,

Sanjay
starfyre is offline  
post #378 of 516 Unread 10-22-2014, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 6,140
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Projector Reviews (link below) has published an article on updating a 5030UB with the new firmware and the resulting image improvements.

http://www.projectorreviews.com/arti...0ube-and-4030/

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
post #379 of 516 Unread 10-26-2014, 09:12 PM
Member
 
rslavin2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
just installed the new firmware...Now my projector is just as clear and crisp as my 60 inch lcd tv.I AM TOTALY AMAZED
AlexanderDelarg likes this.
rslavin2002 is offline  
post #380 of 516 Unread 10-26-2014, 11:05 PM
Nobody Special Member
 
BamaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Sound like its time to purchase a USB to mini USB!
BamaDave is online now  
post #381 of 516 Unread 10-28-2014, 02:59 PM
Member
 
madmartigan10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do i know if the firmware is active on my projector now. Besides the firmware number changing, does anything else change in the menu system to let me know I have the right firmware.

I don't have my projector yet, getting it ordered and installed this week so I don't know how the old version looked vs the new update.
madmartigan10 is offline  
post #382 of 516 Unread 10-29-2014, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 186
^ the firmware version number is all you need to check
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #383 of 516 Unread 10-29-2014, 06:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 31
...Will the Darbee still be benificial after the Epson firmware update???
randyc1 is offline  
post #384 of 516 Unread 10-30-2014, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
thestoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I can't find the firmware download on the American site. I can't even find it on the Canadian site for that matter. How did you find the download? I just don't want to screw this up.

-
My Theater Build

Equipment List: Denon X5200, Epson 6030, 120" Carada cinemascope screen, Panamorph U480, Oppo-103, Emotiva XPA-5, SVS PB12-NSD, LSA Statement LCR & surround speakers, Def Tech ProCinema 1000 rears & front wides, DefTech DI5.5R Atmos overheads, Grafik Eye 3106
thestoneman is offline  
post #385 of 516 Unread 10-30-2014, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
thestoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post
...Will the Darbee still be benificial after the Epson firmware update???
I've read that the firmware has a very "Darbee-esque" effect. I was planning on a Darbee, but I am going to refrain for now. One less potential handshake issue...

-
My Theater Build

Equipment List: Denon X5200, Epson 6030, 120" Carada cinemascope screen, Panamorph U480, Oppo-103, Emotiva XPA-5, SVS PB12-NSD, LSA Statement LCR & surround speakers, Def Tech ProCinema 1000 rears & front wides, DefTech DI5.5R Atmos overheads, Grafik Eye 3106
thestoneman is offline  
post #386 of 516 Unread 10-30-2014, 11:34 AM
Member
 
flight planner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestoneman View Post
I can't find the firmware download on the American site. I can't even find it on the Canadian site for that matter. How did you find the download? I just don't want to screw this up.
Look at post # 369 for the link.
flight planner is offline  
post #387 of 516 Unread 10-30-2014, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post
Ok great , will try it tommorow, thanks
Is the file you downloaded a zip file? If so that is the reason you are asked to choose a file for opening. I had a zip file and I had to unzip it when it became a.bin file which was then copied to the projector.
Quo Vadis is offline  
post #388 of 516 Unread 10-30-2014, 08:00 PM
Member
 
Rokker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys - quick question regarding panel alignment.

To me, the alignment looks good OOTB, so is the any reason to perform the adjustment? Or should I not tinker with it? In that regard, even if for future reference, could anyone provide me with a step-by-step of how to do the alignment process? Thanks in advance.
Rokker is offline  
post #389 of 516 Unread 10-31-2014, 09:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 31
What size is the Mini usb side? or is there only one size ??
randyc1 is offline  
post #390 of 516 Unread 11-03-2014, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
thestoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by flight planner View Post
Look at post # 369 for the link.
That link does work, but is it wise to use the link from the Canadian site? I want to do this safely (no offense to our Northern neighbors!)

UPDATE: Link for US site is below:

http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/support/supAdvice.jsp?type=highlights¬eoid=265501&ref=van _detailenhancement

-
My Theater Build

Equipment List: Denon X5200, Epson 6030, 120" Carada cinemascope screen, Panamorph U480, Oppo-103, Emotiva XPA-5, SVS PB12-NSD, LSA Statement LCR & surround speakers, Def Tech ProCinema 1000 rears & front wides, DefTech DI5.5R Atmos overheads, Grafik Eye 3106

Last edited by thestoneman; 11-03-2014 at 11:27 AM.
thestoneman is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema 6020ub 3d 1080p 3lcd Projector , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition
Gear in this thread - 6020ub by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off