Official Epson Pro Cinema 6030UB Owners' Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP > Official Epson Pro Cinema 6030UB Owners' Thread

Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

DigitalGriffin's Avatar DigitalGriffin
07:51 AM Liked: 10
post #31 of 452
11-27-2013 | Posts: 1,417
Joined: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post

When you say "Adapter lens " do you mean (Anamorphic lens) ??

Yep.
Janhaus's Avatar Janhaus
10:21 AM Liked: 10
post #32 of 452
11-27-2013 | Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2008
Nice, thanks so much! I originally thought I was getting a 5030ub so I purchased a ceiling mount but this Chief mount looks pretty nice so I guess I'll just return the Peerless ones I got!
Quote:
Originally Posted by nydennis View Post

Yes, that is what mine looks like

crashball's Avatar crashball
10:52 AM Liked: 10
post #33 of 452
11-28-2013 | Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2013

Just purchased the Epson 6030UB with a Panamorph CineVista Anamorphic Lens, can't wait for it to arrive!

 

Pairing this with my Black Diamond 2 119" 2.35 0.8 Gain screen!


dlbeck's Avatar dlbeck
11:55 AM Liked: 180
post #34 of 452
11-28-2013 | Posts: 1,148
Joined: Oct 2004
Awesome crashball. Did you get an auto or manual sled?
crashball's Avatar crashball
08:27 AM Liked: 10
post #35 of 452
11-29-2013 | Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2013

To my understanding, the CineVista lens is designed to remain in front of the light path at all times. Therefore I went with the standard fixed mounting bracket for the Epson 6030UB. I realize when watching 16x9 content you lose a little horizontal resolution with the CineVista lens in place... something I'm sure I can live with. I may explore constructing a DIY manual or motorized lens sled in the future if this become problematic. This system will primarily be used to watch 2.35/2.40 content... the only 16x9 content will be the odd xbox one game, hockey and football on occasion.

 

Can someone direct me to a calibration guide for the 6030UB? or perhaps a contact to a dealer/installer that specializes in projection calibration in the Greater Toronto Area?  I realize the CineVista has a problem when it comes to chromatic aberration but the Epson seems to be able to remove this with great effect if dialed in properly. Is this something one can do on their own? or is a professional required? I am fairly technical but this is my first front projection system... very excited to see the final outcome.


AV Science Sales 5's Avatar AV Science Sales 5
10:18 AM Liked: 575
post #36 of 452
11-29-2013 | Posts: 8,554
Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashball View Post

To my understanding, the CineVista lens is designed to remain in front of the light path at all times. Therefore I went with the standard fixed mounting bracket for the Epson 6030UB. I realize when watching 16x9 content you lose a little horizontal resolution with the CineVista lens in place... something I'm sure I can live with. I may explore constructing a DIY manual or motorized lens sled in the future if this become problematic. This system will primarily be used to watch 2.35/2.40 content... the only 16x9 content will be the odd xbox one game, hockey and football on occasion.

Can someone direct me to a calibration guide for the 6030UB? or perhaps a contact to a dealer/installer that specializes in projection calibration in the Greater Toronto Area?  I realize the CineVista has a problem when it comes to chromatic aberration but the Epson seems to be able to remove this with great effect if dialed in properly. Is this something one can do on their own? or is a professional required? I am fairly technical but this is my first front projection system... very excited to see the final outcome.

How big is your screen and what throw distance do you have?
crashball's Avatar crashball
02:34 PM Liked: 10
post #37 of 452
11-29-2013 | Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2013

Screen is a 119" and the throw can be between 14-18ft

 

Room is 34x13... but I have a bulk head which means I can't go past 18ft.


MacinDoc's Avatar MacinDoc
02:27 PM Liked: 10
post #38 of 452
11-30-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Add me to the list, I just purchased a 6030 to be paired with a 108" 1.0 gain Elunevision Studio Reference 4K screen in a room with low ambient light. I'll probably pick up 4 pairs of Samsung RF glasses for the kids. My first PJ, so I'm starting to get excited about it!

Edit: any thoughts on augmenting this setup with a Darblet or Halite?
Janhaus's Avatar Janhaus
10:03 PM Liked: 10
post #39 of 452
11-30-2013 | Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2008
I got the 6030 with a 120" 1.0 gain Elunvision Studio Reference Tab-Tensioned 4K screen, at 16' throw, in a room with moderate (I think) ambient light. Works great so far (my first projector!)
Will also pick up 4 pairs of Samsung 5100 RF glasses too, look forward to hearing if anybody has some good calibration settings for this particular model
Justin Morgan's Avatar Justin Morgan
12:09 AM Liked: 16
post #40 of 452
12-01-2013 | Posts: 128
Joined: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinDoc View Post

any thoughts on augmenting this setup with a Darblet or Halite?

I tried Epson's "Super Resolution" but was unimpressed with it at higher settings (I keep it at setting "1"). Adding the Darblet at 40% results in a very significant increase in picture quality, IMHO. Details that were muddled before suddenly pop out.

The Darblet has a "Demo" mode that displays a split screen of "Darbee Off" on one side and "Darbee On" on the other side, and that's a great way to verify that you really are seeing an improvement.

I wouldn't call it a momentous jaw dropping knock-your-socks-off difference, but it definitely adds a lot to the image, and at about ~$300 it's very much worth it (again IMHO).
randyc1's Avatar randyc1
08:47 AM Liked: 23
post #41 of 452
12-01-2013 | Posts: 750
Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janhaus View Post

I got the 6030 with a 120" 1.0 gain Elunvision Studio Reference Tab-Tensioned 4K screen, at 16' throw, in a room with moderate (I think) ambient light. Works great so far (my first projector!)
Will also pick up 4 pairs of Samsung 5100 RF glasses too, look forward to hearing if anybody has some good calibration settings for this particular model

120" width or diagonal ?
Janhaus's Avatar Janhaus
10:41 AM Liked: 10
post #42 of 452
12-01-2013 | Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2008
120" Diagonal, oops forgot to mention that.
ScAndal's Avatar ScAndal
09:13 AM Liked: 26
post #43 of 452
12-02-2013 | Posts: 425
Joined: Oct 2001
Just getting my 6030UB setup properly. Has anyone made an RS232 cable for this projector? I'd like to control it via iRule but I would need to make a custom RS232 via CAT5 as an RS232 will not fit through my smurf tube.
nydennis's Avatar nydennis
10:04 AM Liked: 12
post #44 of 452
12-02-2013 | Posts: 264
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScAndal View Post

Just getting my 6030UB setup properly. Has anyone made an RS232 cable for this projector? I'd like to control it via iRule but I would need to make a custom RS232 via CAT5 as an RS232 will not fit through my smurf tube.

I just ordered my Serial unit from Smarthome yesterday to control with the irule. Do you have an updated list of 232 commands for the 6030? Hoping to be able to get teh commands for the 3d buttons on the remote.
ScAndal's Avatar ScAndal
11:20 AM Liked: 26
post #45 of 452
12-02-2013 | Posts: 425
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by nydennis View Post

I just ordered my Serial unit from Smarthome yesterday to control with the irule. Do you have an updated list of 232 commands for the 6030? Hoping to be able to get teh commands for the 3d buttons on the remote.

Not yet but i'm on the hunt. Doesn't look like they've updated their documentation in awhile: http://files.support.epson.com/Epson_Handbook/assets/content/proddetails/download/pdf/ESCVP21_e_P.pdf
nydennis's Avatar nydennis
12:01 PM Liked: 12
post #46 of 452
12-02-2013 | Posts: 264
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScAndal View Post

Not yet but i'm on the hunt. Doesn't look like they've updated their documentation in awhile: http://files.support.epson.com/Epson_Handbook/assets/content/proddetails/download/pdf/ESCVP21_e_P.pdf

I shot an email off to Epson to see if they can provide it for me.

I love the Irule remote so far.
Petro49er's Avatar Petro49er
01:00 PM Liked: 10
post #47 of 452
12-02-2013 | Posts: 29
Joined: Dec 2002
For those that have used the mount, what is the closest you can get it to the ceiling? I have low ceilings and want it to be as close as I can get it.

Thanks.
nydennis's Avatar nydennis
05:23 PM Liked: 12
post #48 of 452
12-02-2013 | Posts: 264
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by boylovegirl View Post

Is this true and does it make that big a difference putting it that deep in a room? If it's a minor change I'm OK w/ that because I will be using a black diamond screen but I don't want to design the room for the projector to be 22' back if it really impacts the brightness of the picture.
tDO6ls

I have my projector about 20 feet back. Maybe 21 I forget exactly and I don't see a problem and keep it on THX. If I put it on living and dynamic it is really bright. I have a 110 inch Dalite Gray screen 1.1 and have no problems with brightness.
dlbeck's Avatar dlbeck
05:25 PM Liked: 180
post #49 of 452
12-02-2013 | Posts: 1,148
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by nydennis View Post

I shot an email off to Epson to see if they can provide it for me.

I love the Irule remote so far.

Make sure you post the results. Interested in the answer.

Also, who else is planning to use an A-lens and if so, which lens are you getting?
nydennis's Avatar nydennis
06:42 PM Liked: 12
post #50 of 452
12-02-2013 | Posts: 264
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbeck View Post

Make sure you post the results. Interested in the answer.

Also, who else is planning to use an A-lens and if so, which lens are you getting?

I sure will. I really do hope Epson will give it to me. If not I may try a local AV install my company deals with who has installed several Epson products for us.
nydennis's Avatar nydennis
01:54 PM Liked: 12
post #51 of 452
12-03-2013 | Posts: 264
Joined: Oct 2006
RS-232SourceCodesforPC6030_9387.xls 528k .xls file

Epson 232 info from Epson. Hope this helps
Attached: RS-232SourceCodesforPC6030_9387.xls (528.0 KB) 
ScAndal's Avatar ScAndal
07:18 PM Liked: 26
post #52 of 452
12-03-2013 | Posts: 425
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by nydennis View Post

RS-232SourceCodesforPC6030_9387.xls 528k .xls file

Epson 232 info from Epson. Hope this helps

Sweet! I made an RS232 cable today out of a 50' phone cable. iRule is rocking with the Epson and I now have a 1-touch, wife friendly way to turn on the theater smile.gif

I'll add 3D button in and let you know how it goes.
nydennis's Avatar nydennis
11:43 PM Liked: 12
post #53 of 452
12-03-2013 | Posts: 264
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScAndal View Post

Sweet! I made an RS232 cable today out of a 50' phone cable. iRule is rocking with the Epson and I now have a 1-touch, wife friendly way to turn on the theater smile.gif

I'll add 3D button in and let you know how it goes.

Did you make a nice Epson panel on the rule? You using the global cache serial unit? Mine doesn't arrive until Friday :-(
mikethewxguy's Avatar mikethewxguy
05:23 AM Liked: 11
post #54 of 452
12-04-2013 | Posts: 279
Joined: Mar 2004
Absolutely loving my 6030UB from Lion A/V & Gregg Loewen! I have owned a lot of Epson & Panasonic PJ's in the past and this one blows them all away.
ScAndal's Avatar ScAndal
07:36 AM Liked: 26
post #55 of 452
12-04-2013 | Posts: 425
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by nydennis View Post

Did you make a nice Epson panel on the rule? You using the global cache serial unit? Mine doesn't arrive until Friday :-(

Yep Epson 6030UB works great with RS232 via Global Cache. For all those out here using iRule, I'm putting together a panel (have some photoshop work yet) and I'll publish it to the iRule panel repository.
patchski's Avatar patchski
08:31 AM Liked: 10
post #56 of 452
12-04-2013 | Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2008
I second jbernardi's comments. He found a good one.

The vendor that he mentions is one of the few these days that takes the time to answer questions and follows through on the purchase.

I now have a 6030 and the Oppo Darbee player online, and am very happy with my decision.
Is you run a Satellite receiver into the Oppo unit and send it to the projector in what some of us broadcasters call e to e (electronics to electronics) mode there are so many handles to tweak you will have to find settings that you will like.

That said, if you do deal with Gregg, opt for his very reasonably priced projector check out. You wont even be able to pay for shipping back to the depot if there is something wrong for what he charges. You will not be disappointed, trust me.

And I didn't have to set many parameters for my liking after I got the thing. But for us geeks, it fun to tweak...

Joe
hmunster2's Avatar hmunster2
05:28 PM Liked: 29
post #57 of 452
12-10-2013 | Posts: 631
Joined: Nov 2009
Guys, just got my 6030 and have a question about the memory settings. I read the projector central review and wanted to change my RGB settings to theirs to compare to default settings. Apparently when I change the settings in THX mode, it also changes the RGB settings in the Cinema mode (and maybe the other modes, haven't checked). I entered the projcentral settings for each mode and went to the Memory settings, but each time you hit Save settings, it asks if you want to change the previous settings-if you say yes, it also changes the settings in the other memory modes-must be doing something incorrectly-any clues?
Thanks
mbroder's Avatar mbroder
06:11 PM Liked: 17
post #58 of 452
12-10-2013 | Posts: 577
Joined: May 2002
Ordered mine a week ago...still waiting for it to ship:(
AlexanderDelarg's Avatar AlexanderDelarg
08:20 PM Liked: 63
post #59 of 452
12-10-2013 | Posts: 702
Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmunster2 View Post

Guys, just got my 6030 and have a question about the memory settings. I read the projector central review and wanted to change my RGB settings to theirs to compare to default settings. Apparently when I change the settings in THX mode, it also changes the RGB settings in the Cinema mode (and maybe the other modes, haven't checked). I entered the projcentral settings for each mode and went to the Memory settings, but each time you hit Save settings, it asks if you want to change the previous settings-if you say yes, it also changes the settings in the other memory modes-must be doing something incorrectly-any clues?
Thanks


There is a lot more action in the 5030 thread. I would post this over there to get a faster response.
nydennis's Avatar nydennis
06:59 PM Liked: 12
post #60 of 452
12-11-2013 | Posts: 264
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScAndal View Post

Yep Epson 6030UB works great with RS232 via Global Cache. For all those out here using iRule, I'm putting together a panel (have some photoshop work yet) and I'll publish it to the iRule panel repository.

Any luck on the panel?
Tags: Epson Powerlite Pro Cinema 6020ub 3d 1080p 3lcd Projector , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition

Gear in this thread
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3