Owners thread Sony Hw55ES - Page 91 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 123Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 2727 Old 08-25-2016, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdy2179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central Louisiana
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbrat View Post
Hey guys, new buddy here.

First of all, thanks everyone in this Forum/Thread, which I found convincing to decide me to get this wonderful projector!

As I am quite a newbie I apologize in advance if my questions tend to be far from the pro ones, but I'm trying to get involved and active in this new world.
I came from an Epson TW-6100W and I hope I did a step forward getting this new Sony.

Alright, I got it second hand and I when I got everything set up but I am unable to align it properly (sorry not having one of those Chief ceiling mounts, very difficult to get one of those in Europe, so for now I'm using a conventional one).
Projector is perfectly placed 90º to the screen and I reset all submenus to defaults. Scrolled H and W. But I don't understand why I am unable to center it. Looks like the picture is distorted somehow.
Obviously I attach a picture of it and I point out with red arrows what is the misalignment. Please compare it with the black frame of the screen.

Hopefully this is the correct place to ask for help like this. What do I do wrong?

Thank you very much in advance for any help you could offer me.


Your projector is slightly turned to much to the right. I'd turn it slightly left until the bottom and top are parallel to the screen and then use lens shift to shift it onto the screen. Of course this is assuming keystone is set to 0.

Also the black border on the screen appears to have issues with being wavy and not straight (open image in a new tab to zoom in and look at the borders along the green alignment lines, pay attention to the top and bottom right corner.. they're a good bit out of wack). This is no biggie but you won't get it perfectly aligned along the length of a wavy border. This would be some QC issues and Heck it's even possible the screen isn't cut perfectly square. I'd measure it to make sure the top to bottom is the same on both sides.

Last edited by cdy2179; 08-25-2016 at 12:03 PM.
cdy2179 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 2727 Old 08-29-2016, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Ian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin/Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Need your help:

Just went to www.store.sony.com to get the spare free lamp from the voucher it came with the projector but, can not find it anywhere. The voucher says to go to the link above and place lamp LMP-H202 in the cart and use the voucher number. Last week I was on the site and was able to find it but, stated coming soon. Today, I can not find it anywhere on the site.

Please assist or send me a link with the page.

Ian B


Thanks,
Mr Ian B is offline  
post #2703 of 2727 Old 08-29-2016, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Jbed27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Ian B View Post
Need your help:

Just went to www.store.sony.com to get the spare free lamp from the voucher it came with the projector but, can not find it anywhere. The voucher says to go to the link above and place lamp LMP-H202 in the cart and use the voucher number. Last week I was on the site and was able to find it but, stated coming soon. Today, I can not find it anywhere on the site.

Please assist or send me a link with the page.

Ian B


Thanks,
You have to email this address and they will send you instructions. Takes a few MONTHS to get the replacement unless you get lucky.

Joe

ProParts@am.sony.com
Jbed27 is offline  
post #2704 of 2727 Old 08-30-2016, 02:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdy2179 View Post

Your projector is slightly turned to much to the right. I'd turn it slightly left until the bottom and top are parallel to the screen and then use lens shift to shift it onto the screen. Of course this is assuming keystone is set to 0.

Also the black border on the screen appears to have issues with being wavy and not straight (open image in a new tab to zoom in and look at the borders along the green alignment lines, pay attention to the top and bottom right corner.. they're a good bit out of wack). This is no biggie but you won't get it perfectly aligned along the length of a wavy border. This would be some QC issues and Heck it's even possible the screen isn't cut perfectly square. I'd measure it to make sure the top to bottom is the same on both sides.
Hi cdy2179,

Seems that you are right regarding the off-centered position. Did not have time yet to fix it though. Hopefully over the weekend I'll try to correct it. Thanks a lot.
Will also take a proper measurement of the black borders, you might be right again. With the naked eye I can tell the lower right part of the screen is a bit wavy and left and right sides are a bit bended.
This Celexon screen was second hand purchased so no possibility to exchange it.. Have to see how could I fix these issues.
zbrat is offline  
post #2705 of 2727 Old 08-30-2016, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod9707 View Post
Ill defintiely get pics up. It may be a little bit before I am able to actually use the parts for mounting but what I will do is take pictures of the mount that he sends.

I think he was just saying that the newer parts have the posts that are not interchangeable. Now he didnt say it with 100% certainty that it wouldnt work but was more of a I dont think they are interchangable due to model change. Of course he did understand my situation and said well hey if they arent interchangeable at least youll have a complete mount that will work and you can always sell your RPMAU if you have to. He actually worked for Chief so Dave was very familiar with this stuff.

Ill let you know what happens. But yes I would definitely like to get word of mouth out for someone who takes care of people. Especially the AVS community.
God knows in hindsight if I could have gotten a complete Chief mount set for cheap I would have done that without question. Then when its a perfect fit for the Sony's you cant go wrong.

Once I go through the inspection Ill talk to Dave and see if he can just give a bottom line price for AVS members. Then they can email/talk to him directly vs. going through ebay. Does that sound like something members would be interested in?
jrod- I read with interest your posts above about the issues with the RPAU mount and your Sony VPL-HW55ES. I have the VPL-HW40ES and am having the exact same issue. Those 2 arms make it impossible to get to the filter. What did you end up doing? I have contemplated buying the Chief SLB020 plate which will work with the RPA mount, but I can't be sure if it will still cause an issue with accessing the filter.
sande997 is offline  
post #2706 of 2727 Old 08-30-2016, 04:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvluvr View Post
Thought posting here would be easier. The first shows the mount and you can tell it doesn't interfere with the filter housing. 2nd is with the filter housing removed showing it is easily done. Hope it helps. Oh, and yes I cleaned the filter while it was out.
HD - is the SLB020 interface plate what you are using with your RPMA mount?
sande997 is offline  
post #2707 of 2727 Old 08-30-2016, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
hdtvluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by sande997 View Post
HD - is the SLB020 interface plate what you are using with your RPMA mount?
Yes. But I bought mine as 1 unit. Mount & plate together.

http://www.chiefmfg.com/Products/RPMA020
hdtvluvr is offline  
post #2708 of 2727 Old 09-01-2016, 03:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by sande997 View Post
HD - is the SLB020 interface plate what you are using with your RPMA mount?
Hi Sande-
I have not had time to test anything yet.
Just for the record and to help anyone that is following this;
-The RPMA models work with the SLM020(permanent posts).
-The older RPA mounts work with the SLB020(adjustable posts that unscrew). You can get the entire kit for $70 or less via seller on EBAY( http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chief-Profes...OPx&rmvSB=true )

As soon as I am able I will try the SLB020 with the RPMA.

On another note I did receive my mount from Dave EBAY seller LPAVLLC. The mount is in perfect condition. They are an honest dealer and I would encourage anyone to give them a shot at earning your business.

I would like to hopefully get this done and put it behind me so within the next 2-3 weeks I should have a definite answer.



jrod9707 is offline  
post #2709 of 2727 Old 09-01-2016, 07:10 PM
JBL Pro Cinema Advocate
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbed27 View Post
You have to email this address and they will send you instructions. Takes a few MONTHS to get the replacement unless you get lucky.

Joe

ProParts@am.sony.com
Thanks for the email contact. I had forgotten to process my free bulb voucher, so I emailed them this morning. They sent me a small form to fill out, and I got my bulb FedEx tracking number by lunch. Pleasantly surprised would be an vast understatement of my voucher experience.
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #2710 of 2727 Old 09-05-2016, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I got mine last month. Received it 3 days after I filled out the form👍🏻
mbroder is offline  
post #2711 of 2727 Old 09-18-2016, 09:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all. I've recently bought a second hand HW55es and I've hit a snag with it. Hopefully someone else might have experienced it too.
After a random amount of time the projector will just turn itself off. It could be 30 minutes, it could be 6 hours. There's no warning lights, and the projector will immediately switch back on like nothing has happened.
One symptom that might narrow it down is that it does no cool down at all. It just shuts off.
I thought perhaps it was the bulb, so I've replaced that, but it still does it.
I then thought maybe it was dirty inside, so I took it apart to clean it, but it's like new (It was sold to me with 38 hours of use).
All the airways are perfectly clean, as are the fan blades. The bulb that it came with was a genuine Sony lamp/carrier.
I then thought it was lack of cooling, so I turned the fan profile up to high, however even with it sounding like a jet on takeoff it still shut down after 30 minutes.
I don't know what else to try. Has anyone else experienced this? Or perhaps there's something I've missed to help diagnose it?

Cheers in advance

John
MrBfJohn is offline  
post #2712 of 2727 Old 09-20-2016, 08:39 AM
Newbie
 
Nowak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello everyone. For almost three years I've had my first projector, the Sony HW55es. The issue is that I have spent about 3200 hours on the lamp and I just get the message "Replace the Lamp/Filte". The image is good, so don't think is time to change the lamp yet, especially if one assumes that it should last about 5000 hours. I ask you then: Can I keep using the same lamp for about 1000 more hours? Thank you!
Nowak is offline  
post #2713 of 2727 Old 09-20-2016, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdy2179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central Louisiana
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nowak View Post
Hello everyone. For almost three years I've had my first projector, the Sony HW55es. The issue is that I have spent about 3200 hours on the lamp and I just get the message "Replace the Lamp/Filte". The image is good, so don't think is time to change the lamp yet, especially if one assumes that it should last about 5000 hours. I ask you then: Can I keep using the same lamp for about 1000 more hours? Thank you!
I use them until they aren't bright enough. With my last projector I put 6k + hours on every lamp I used (3 lamps). The rating is merely the manufacturers recommendation based on lamp brightness... And to make money on lamp sales....
cdy2179 is online now  
post #2714 of 2727 Old 09-22-2016, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
Nowak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you very much. So I can continue to use the same lamp without worries. I was afraid that it could somehow damage the projector or worse, that the lamp could even "explote" inside. Finally, where can I find the best price for a new and original lamp (LMP-H202). Is e-bay the best option?
Nowak is offline  
post #2715 of 2727 Old 09-22-2016, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cdy2179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central Louisiana
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nowak View Post
Thank you very much. So I can continue to use the same lamp without worries. I was afraid that it could somehow damage the projector or worse, that the lamp could even "explote" inside. Finally, where can I find the best price for a new and original lamp (LMP-H202). Is e-bay the best option?
Na.. I mean it's a lamp it could blow at 10 hours. If you've replaced your lamp you'll notice the lamp is in a housing that often has a glass lens in the front. The lamp itself is actually really small and even if it did pop it wouldn't be a big deal.

As for lamps I try to find OEM phillips or Orsam as they are the primary manufacturers for OEM. Here's a good one. http://www.bulbs.com/product/LMP-H202
cdy2179 is online now  
post #2716 of 2727 Old 09-23-2016, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
Nowak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Noted. Great find, thanks again!
cdy2179 likes this.
Nowak is offline  
post #2717 of 2727 Old 09-29-2016, 02:08 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBfJohn View Post
Hi all. I've recently bought a second hand HW55es and I've hit a snag with it. Hopefully someone else might have experienced it too.
After a random amount of time the projector will just turn itself off. It could be 30 minutes, it could be 6 hours. There's no warning lights, and the projector will immediately switch back on like nothing has happened.
One symptom that might narrow it down is that it does no cool down at all. It just shuts off.
I thought perhaps it was the bulb, so I've replaced that, but it still does it.
I then thought maybe it was dirty inside, so I took it apart to clean it, but it's like new (It was sold to me with 38 hours of use).
All the airways are perfectly clean, as are the fan blades. The bulb that it came with was a genuine Sony lamp/carrier.
I then thought it was lack of cooling, so I turned the fan profile up to high, however even with it sounding like a jet on takeoff it still shut down after 30 minutes.
I don't know what else to try. Has anyone else experienced this? Or perhaps there's something I've missed to help diagnose it?

Cheers in advance

John
Any news?
Were you able to call Sony for warranty support? I know you said second hand but wasnt sure if original owner gave you his sales receipt for proof of purchase.



jrod9707 is offline  
post #2718 of 2727 Old 10-07-2016, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone it's Alp your new mate here. I could get some help with pleasure. I have got this amazing pack of optoma rf 3d glasses and bc100 emitter. For the last five months with the help of that tiny rj45 to 3d vesa cable, I enjoyed the amazing 3d performance of 55es using those glasses and the emitter via 3d sync port. Last week out of the blue, the sync just got lost. the emitter is still working in knight rider mode (red light moving left to right) and also rj45-3d vesa cable is working but once I get the 3d content the sync (blue lights) is not there. Somewhere around here I once read about the same problem that someone was having. I am not sure but as far as I remember it had something to do the voltage. I dont know if there is a way to fix this. 3d experience on vpl55es with optoma zf2100 rf glasses is amazing and I don't want to lose it. Is there anyone out there who can have something to say about this. Thanks a million
alpearl72 is offline  
post #2719 of 2727 Old 11-11-2016, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 9
So my original sony bulb which I ran with HIGH fan at all times and HIGH output finally started flickering endlessly after about 2500-3500 hours of use (I lost exact track due to swapping it out a couple times).

I decided to try a replacement one from http://www.projectorlampexperts.com/...ProductID=9857 which claims to use original parts in knock off housing (for like 1/2 the price). I used a credit card when I bought from the site cause the site itself looks pretty sketchy, but they indeed delivered.

I replaced it about a week ago and so far it's working flawlessly. I carefully compared the original OEM part to the replacement and indeed the bulb itself appeared to be an exact match. The housing was noticeably a tiny bit different and slightly more 'generic' (e.g. some of the metal tabs weren't bent properly and caused a rattling sound against the glass, which I fixed), however it ended up fitting perfectly.

I may order 2 or 3 more of these bulbs just so I'm stocked up on replacements. The cost is WAY more manageable than the almost $300 for OEM replacements.

I'm still highly skeptical of anything under 100$ though, e.g. that likely use knock-off or alternative bulbs.

Edit: Whelp, the bulb started flickering within 1 week, and I already had to swap it out. I've tried contacting the seller twice now and still no response, might be bogus and I may have to dispute the charge on my card. Sigh. I guess some things really are too good to be true...

Last edited by doubledgedboard; 11-18-2016 at 10:30 AM.
doubledgedboard is offline  
post #2720 of 2727 Old 11-17-2016, 11:49 AM
Member
 
ollegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Moscow
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all, sorry if this has been covered elsewhere but I could not find a description after 10 min search -- how do I calibrate this projector please? I have the calibration blu ray disk and nothing else, have had the unit for 2 years, time to sharpen it up a bit... Alternatively, if I can pay someone for doing this in London I'd be happy to... Thank you!
ollegg is offline  
post #2721 of 2727 Old 11-18-2016, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ollegg View Post
Hi all, sorry if this has been covered elsewhere but I could not find a description after 10 min search -- how do I calibrate this projector please? I have the calibration blu ray disk and nothing else, have had the unit for 2 years, time to sharpen it up a bit... Alternatively, if I can pay someone for doing this in London I'd be happy to... Thank you!
For quality self-calibration I would recommend using DisplayCAL along with an X-Rite i1Display Pro, although this requires hooking your projector up to a computer, which sounds like may not be your situation.
doubledgedboard is offline  
post #2722 of 2727 Old 11-23-2016, 04:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi All,

I have an issue with my HW55ES. It seems that it can't output 1080p/60Hz from a computer: every time I connect a computer (laptop or desktop) and select 1080p/60Hz, I have weird artefacts showing (usually at the top of the video and sometimes it seems that the videoprojector even shuts down for a few seconds then try to project the picture and then shuts down etc...) when I am trying to read a video (it could be a youtube or a kodi video, it doesn't really matter).
It also doesn't matter if I plug in my AVR in the middle or not.
But if I select 1080p/50Hz, I have no issue.

Otherwise I have no issue with my ps4 and my appleTV with this projector.

Thanks for your help
L.
Limply is offline  
post #2723 of 2727 Old 11-23-2016, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How long is your HDMI cable? I've had issues with mine, but it would seem that it's just very susceptible to a weak HDMI signal. Any run 10 metres and over should be a larger 24 AWG cable. I'd try it with a really short cable just to eliminate that.
MrBfJohn is offline  
post #2724 of 2727 Old 11-23-2016, 03:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBfJohn View Post
How long is your HDMI cable? I've had issues with mine, but it would seem that it's just very susceptible to a weak HDMI signal. Any run 10 metres and over should be a larger 24 AWG cable. I'd try it with a really short cable just to eliminate that.
Just tried it and you are right, it is a cable issue (my current cable is 10m long). Will see how I can replace it.
Limply is offline  
post #2725 of 2727 Old 11-27-2016, 09:52 PM
Member
 
leila80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today i have replaced the lamp (original) and everything works fine except for the fact that now i am hearing a high pitch noise.

Its only doing this sound when i put refresh rate at 60hz, any other 50hz/24hz, sounds like before the lamp change and also disappears when switching lamp to high mode...

I know fans are not the problem, because this happens as soon as lamp turns on and stops on cooldown (power off).

What can be the cause of this? Any idea?
leila80 is offline  
post #2726 of 2727 Old Today, 08:44 AM
Member
 
ksdehoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBfJohn View Post
Hi all. I've recently bought a second hand HW55es and I've hit a snag with it. Hopefully someone else might have experienced it too.
After a random amount of time the projector will just turn itself off. It could be 30 minutes, it could be 6 hours. There's no warning lights, and the projector will immediately switch back on like nothing has happened.
One symptom that might narrow it down is that it does no cool down at all. It just shuts off.
I thought perhaps it was the bulb, so I've replaced that, but it still does it.
I then thought maybe it was dirty inside, so I took it apart to clean it, but it's like new (It was sold to me with 38 hours of use).
All the airways are perfectly clean, as are the fan blades. The bulb that it came with was a genuine Sony lamp/carrier.
I then thought it was lack of cooling, so I turned the fan profile up to high, however even with it sounding like a jet on takeoff it still shut down after 30 minutes.
I don't know what else to try. Has anyone else experienced this? Or perhaps there's something I've missed to help diagnose it?

Cheers in advance

John

I've had my HW55ES since 2014 and I have had this problem. I did all the usual stuff with cables and bypassing my Denon receiver - no improvement. I opened a warranty case with Sony and they refused to take the case - said this is expected behavior with an hdmi handshake issue. I couldn't believe it but went out and bought a sony blu-ray player as a source. It works perfectly - over 1 year of use and the projector has NEVER ONCE turned itself off. My previous sources had all been computer-based sources. Even a chrome plugged in on the projector had the turn off issue. I continue to use a PC as a source and it will turn off randomly.

I would love to hear from other folks what sources they have feeding their projector, especially if anyone uses a PC (Intel video or Nvidia or ATI) that works. It may also be a combination of long cable run (mine is 30') and the source. Other sources listed would be helpful as well - Roku, etc. I watch alot of mkv files - the sony blu-ray player doesn't handle the alternate soundtracks or subtitles well.
ksdehoff is offline  
post #2727 of 2727 Old Today, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
24Changer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kannapolis,NC
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBfJohn View Post
Hi all. I've recently bought a second hand HW55es and I've hit a snag with it. Hopefully someone else might have experienced it too.
After a random amount of time the projector will just turn itself off. It could be 30 minutes, it could be 6 hours. There's no warning lights, and the projector will immediately switch back on like nothing has happened.
One symptom that might narrow it down is that it does no cool down at all. It just shuts off.
I thought perhaps it was the bulb, so I've replaced that, but it still does it.
I then thought maybe it was dirty inside, so I took it apart to clean it, but it's like new (It was sold to me with 38 hours of use).
All the airways are perfectly clean, as are the fan blades. The bulb that it came with was a genuine Sony lamp/carrier.
I then thought it was lack of cooling, so I turned the fan profile up to high, however even with it sounding like a jet on takeoff it still shut down after 30 minutes.
I don't know what else to try. Has anyone else experienced this? Or perhaps there's something I've missed to help diagnose it?

Cheers in advance

John
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksdehoff View Post
I've had my HW55ES since 2014 and I have had this problem. I did all the usual stuff with cables and bypassing my Denon receiver - no improvement. I opened a warranty case with Sony and they refused to take the case - said this is expected behavior with an hdmi handshake issue. I couldn't believe it but went out and bought a sony blu-ray player as a source. It works perfectly - over 1 year of use and the projector has NEVER ONCE turned itself off. My previous sources had all been computer-based sources. Even a chrome plugged in on the projector had the turn off issue. I continue to use a PC as a source and it will turn off randomly.

I would love to hear from other folks what sources they have feeding their projector, especially if anyone uses a PC (Intel video or Nvidia or ATI) that works. It may also be a combination of long cable run (mine is 30') and the source. Other sources listed would be helpful as well - Roku, etc. I watch alot of mkv files - the sony blu-ray player doesn't handle the alternate soundtracks or subtitles well.

I have been using my ES55 since 12/14 and have had no issues with until July 2016 when the power board went out (repaired under warranty) and has been working well until this past weekend when it turned it self off 45 minutes into a show, no cool down, just shut off. I turned it right back on and then it would turn off again 5 minutes later and continue to do so every 5 minutes. The Lamp/Stand by light would repeatable blink 3 times which indicated a bad bulb or over heating in the manual. I change the bulb and so far so good. My concern is the original bulb only had 1048 hours on it, according to the projector.

Creekside Stone Cinema
24Changer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony , Sony Vpl Hw55es 3d Projector



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off