Owners thread Sony Hw55ES - Page 91 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 122Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 2716 Old 08-25-2016, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cdy2179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central Louisiana
Posts: 2,927
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 610 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbrat View Post
Hey guys, new buddy here.

First of all, thanks everyone in this Forum/Thread, which I found convincing to decide me to get this wonderful projector!

As I am quite a newbie I apologize in advance if my questions tend to be far from the pro ones, but I'm trying to get involved and active in this new world.
I came from an Epson TW-6100W and I hope I did a step forward getting this new Sony.

Alright, I got it second hand and I when I got everything set up but I am unable to align it properly (sorry not having one of those Chief ceiling mounts, very difficult to get one of those in Europe, so for now I'm using a conventional one).
Projector is perfectly placed 90º to the screen and I reset all submenus to defaults. Scrolled H and W. But I don't understand why I am unable to center it. Looks like the picture is distorted somehow.
Obviously I attach a picture of it and I point out with red arrows what is the misalignment. Please compare it with the black frame of the screen.

Hopefully this is the correct place to ask for help like this. What do I do wrong?

Thank you very much in advance for any help you could offer me.


Your projector is slightly turned to much to the right. I'd turn it slightly left until the bottom and top are parallel to the screen and then use lens shift to shift it onto the screen. Of course this is assuming keystone is set to 0.

Also the black border on the screen appears to have issues with being wavy and not straight (open image in a new tab to zoom in and look at the borders along the green alignment lines, pay attention to the top and bottom right corner.. they're a good bit out of wack). This is no biggie but you won't get it perfectly aligned along the length of a wavy border. This would be some QC issues and Heck it's even possible the screen isn't cut perfectly square. I'd measure it to make sure the top to bottom is the same on both sides.

Last edited by cdy2179; 08-25-2016 at 11:03 AM.
cdy2179 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 2716 Old 08-29-2016, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Ian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin/Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Need your help:

Just went to www.store.sony.com to get the spare free lamp from the voucher it came with the projector but, can not find it anywhere. The voucher says to go to the link above and place lamp LMP-H202 in the cart and use the voucher number. Last week I was on the site and was able to find it but, stated coming soon. Today, I can not find it anywhere on the site.

Please assist or send me a link with the page.

Ian B


Thanks,
Mr Ian B is offline  
post #2703 of 2716 Old 08-29-2016, 02:30 PM
Member
 
Jbed27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Ian B View Post
Need your help:

Just went to www.store.sony.com to get the spare free lamp from the voucher it came with the projector but, can not find it anywhere. The voucher says to go to the link above and place lamp LMP-H202 in the cart and use the voucher number. Last week I was on the site and was able to find it but, stated coming soon. Today, I can not find it anywhere on the site.

Please assist or send me a link with the page.

Ian B


Thanks,
You have to email this address and they will send you instructions. Takes a few MONTHS to get the replacement unless you get lucky.

Joe

ProParts@am.sony.com
Jbed27 is offline  
post #2704 of 2716 Old 08-30-2016, 01:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdy2179 View Post

Your projector is slightly turned to much to the right. I'd turn it slightly left until the bottom and top are parallel to the screen and then use lens shift to shift it onto the screen. Of course this is assuming keystone is set to 0.

Also the black border on the screen appears to have issues with being wavy and not straight (open image in a new tab to zoom in and look at the borders along the green alignment lines, pay attention to the top and bottom right corner.. they're a good bit out of wack). This is no biggie but you won't get it perfectly aligned along the length of a wavy border. This would be some QC issues and Heck it's even possible the screen isn't cut perfectly square. I'd measure it to make sure the top to bottom is the same on both sides.
Hi cdy2179,

Seems that you are right regarding the off-centered position. Did not have time yet to fix it though. Hopefully over the weekend I'll try to correct it. Thanks a lot.
Will also take a proper measurement of the black borders, you might be right again. With the naked eye I can tell the lower right part of the screen is a bit wavy and left and right sides are a bit bended.
This Celexon screen was second hand purchased so no possibility to exchange it.. Have to see how could I fix these issues.
zbrat is offline  
post #2705 of 2716 Old 08-30-2016, 02:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrod9707 View Post
Ill defintiely get pics up. It may be a little bit before I am able to actually use the parts for mounting but what I will do is take pictures of the mount that he sends.

I think he was just saying that the newer parts have the posts that are not interchangeable. Now he didnt say it with 100% certainty that it wouldnt work but was more of a I dont think they are interchangable due to model change. Of course he did understand my situation and said well hey if they arent interchangeable at least youll have a complete mount that will work and you can always sell your RPMAU if you have to. He actually worked for Chief so Dave was very familiar with this stuff.

Ill let you know what happens. But yes I would definitely like to get word of mouth out for someone who takes care of people. Especially the AVS community.
God knows in hindsight if I could have gotten a complete Chief mount set for cheap I would have done that without question. Then when its a perfect fit for the Sony's you cant go wrong.

Once I go through the inspection Ill talk to Dave and see if he can just give a bottom line price for AVS members. Then they can email/talk to him directly vs. going through ebay. Does that sound like something members would be interested in?
jrod- I read with interest your posts above about the issues with the RPAU mount and your Sony VPL-HW55ES. I have the VPL-HW40ES and am having the exact same issue. Those 2 arms make it impossible to get to the filter. What did you end up doing? I have contemplated buying the Chief SLB020 plate which will work with the RPA mount, but I can't be sure if it will still cause an issue with accessing the filter.
sande997 is offline  
post #2706 of 2716 Old 08-30-2016, 03:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvluvr View Post
Thought posting here would be easier. The first shows the mount and you can tell it doesn't interfere with the filter housing. 2nd is with the filter housing removed showing it is easily done. Hope it helps. Oh, and yes I cleaned the filter while it was out.
HD - is the SLB020 interface plate what you are using with your RPMA mount?
sande997 is offline  
post #2707 of 2716 Old 08-30-2016, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
hdtvluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by sande997 View Post
HD - is the SLB020 interface plate what you are using with your RPMA mount?
Yes. But I bought mine as 1 unit. Mount & plate together.

http://www.chiefmfg.com/Products/RPMA020
hdtvluvr is offline  
post #2708 of 2716 Old 09-01-2016, 02:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jrod9707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas-DFW, TX
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by sande997 View Post
HD - is the SLB020 interface plate what you are using with your RPMA mount?
Hi Sande-
I have not had time to test anything yet.
Just for the record and to help anyone that is following this;
-The RPMA models work with the SLM020(permanent posts).
-The older RPA mounts work with the SLB020(adjustable posts that unscrew). You can get the entire kit for $70 or less via seller on EBAY( http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chief-Profes...OPx&rmvSB=true )

As soon as I am able I will try the SLB020 with the RPMA.

On another note I did receive my mount from Dave EBAY seller LPAVLLC. The mount is in perfect condition. They are an honest dealer and I would encourage anyone to give them a shot at earning your business.

I would like to hopefully get this done and put it behind me so within the next 2-3 weeks I should have a definite answer.

You can't just Kiss ass, You gotta Kick ass

-Dolph Lungren

jrod9707 is offline  
post #2709 of 2716 Old 09-01-2016, 06:10 PM
JBL Pro Cinema Advocate
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1649 Post(s)
Liked: 1752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbed27 View Post
You have to email this address and they will send you instructions. Takes a few MONTHS to get the replacement unless you get lucky.

Joe

ProParts@am.sony.com
Thanks for the email contact. I had forgotten to process my free bulb voucher, so I emailed them this morning. They sent me a small form to fill out, and I got my bulb FedEx tracking number by lunch. Pleasantly surprised would be an vast understatement of my voucher experience.
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #2710 of 2716 Old 09-05-2016, 07:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbroder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I got mine last month. Received it 3 days after I filled out the form👍🏻
mbroder is offline  
post #2711 of 2716 Old 09-18-2016, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all. I've recently bought a second hand HW55es and I've hit a snag with it. Hopefully someone else might have experienced it too.
After a random amount of time the projector will just turn itself off. It could be 30 minutes, it could be 6 hours. There's no warning lights, and the projector will immediately switch back on like nothing has happened.
One symptom that might narrow it down is that it does no cool down at all. It just shuts off.
I thought perhaps it was the bulb, so I've replaced that, but it still does it.
I then thought maybe it was dirty inside, so I took it apart to clean it, but it's like new (It was sold to me with 38 hours of use).
All the airways are perfectly clean, as are the fan blades. The bulb that it came with was a genuine Sony lamp/carrier.
I then thought it was lack of cooling, so I turned the fan profile up to high, however even with it sounding like a jet on takeoff it still shut down after 30 minutes.
I don't know what else to try. Has anyone else experienced this? Or perhaps there's something I've missed to help diagnose it?

Cheers in advance

John
MrBfJohn is offline  
post #2712 of 2716 Old 09-20-2016, 07:39 AM
Newbie
 
Nowak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone. For almost three years I've had my first projector, the Sony HW55es. The issue is that I have spent about 3200 hours on the lamp and I just get the message "Replace the Lamp/Filte". The image is good, so don't think is time to change the lamp yet, especially if one assumes that it should last about 5000 hours. I ask you then: Can I keep using the same lamp for about 1000 more hours? Thank you!
Nowak is online now  
post #2713 of 2716 Old 09-20-2016, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cdy2179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central Louisiana
Posts: 2,927
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 610 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nowak View Post
Hello everyone. For almost three years I've had my first projector, the Sony HW55es. The issue is that I have spent about 3200 hours on the lamp and I just get the message "Replace the Lamp/Filte". The image is good, so don't think is time to change the lamp yet, especially if one assumes that it should last about 5000 hours. I ask you then: Can I keep using the same lamp for about 1000 more hours? Thank you!
I use them until they aren't bright enough. With my last projector I put 6k + hours on every lamp I used (3 lamps). The rating is merely the manufacturers recommendation based on lamp brightness... And to make money on lamp sales....
cdy2179 is offline  
post #2714 of 2716 Old Yesterday, 06:16 AM
Newbie
 
Nowak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much. So I can continue to use the same lamp without worries. I was afraid that it could somehow damage the projector or worse, that the lamp could even "explote" inside. Finally, where can I find the best price for a new and original lamp (LMP-H202). Is e-bay the best option?
Nowak is online now  
post #2715 of 2716 Old Yesterday, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cdy2179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central Louisiana
Posts: 2,927
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 610 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nowak View Post
Thank you very much. So I can continue to use the same lamp without worries. I was afraid that it could somehow damage the projector or worse, that the lamp could even "explote" inside. Finally, where can I find the best price for a new and original lamp (LMP-H202). Is e-bay the best option?
Na.. I mean it's a lamp it could blow at 10 hours. If you've replaced your lamp you'll notice the lamp is in a housing that often has a glass lens in the front. The lamp itself is actually really small and even if it did pop it wouldn't be a big deal.

As for lamps I try to find OEM phillips or Orsam as they are the primary manufacturers for OEM. Here's a good one. http://www.bulbs.com/product/LMP-H202
cdy2179 is offline  
post #2716 of 2716 Old Today, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
Nowak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Noted. Great find, thanks again!
Nowak is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony , Sony Vpl Hw55es 3d Projector



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off