Official JVC DILA-X500R / RS49U / RS4910U Owners Thread - Page 106 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 371Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3151 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 05:28 AM
Member
 
JonasW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I got my X500 today and powered it up to see if I needed to upgrade the firmware to 1211.6.
To my surprise it had 1211.7 installed?


I can't find that firmware on JVC:s site. Anyone else using it and know what's new?
HDMI-syncing is working great and is even faster then on my Sony HW-15 (slow....).
JonasW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3152 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
cischico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasW View Post
I got my X500 today and powered it up to see if I needed to upgrade the firmware to 1211.6.
To my surprise it had 1211.7 installed?


I can't find that firmware on JVC:s site. Anyone else using it and know what's new?
HDMI-syncing is working great and is even faster then on my Sony HW-15 (slow....).
You are the first that I know of, I'm curious to know if input lag is any better
cischico is online now  
post #3153 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 06:05 AM
Member
 
JonasW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well I won't complain.
Is there any easy way to test the input lag? Maybe I can do a test for you
JonasW is offline  
post #3154 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
jjcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasW View Post
Well I won't complain.
Is there any easy way to test the input lag? Maybe I can do a test for you
You can try the test below. Place your monitor near your projector screen, then take take a photo (or preferably a high speed / slow mo video using your phone eg iPhone 5s or later). Each square represents one frame, if your refresh is set for 60Hz then each frame is ~16ms and from the photo you can measure the number of delayed frames on the projection vs your monitor.

For this test, turn off CMD frame interpolation.

http://www.testufo.com/#test=frameskipping

For Sale: Navitar SSW065 short throw conversion lens
WTB: Triad InCeiling / InWall Gold Omni SE's or Silver MiniMonitors

Small HT: JVC RS4910, Mits HC7900DW, Falcon 2.35:1 100-wide, Triad Gold Omni SE & Silver Surrounds, PSA XS15-base, Marantz SR7008, Oppo 103D, Lumagen 2143 (soon), Tivo Mini, HTPC
jjcook is online now  
post #3155 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 10:10 AM
Member
 
JonasW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I guess I would need a PC with dual monitor out then with at least one of them as HDMI for the JVC?


I don't have that kind of equipment, sorry.
JonasW is offline  
post #3156 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 10:19 AM
Member
 
afss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonasW View Post
I got my X500 today and powered it up to see if I needed to upgrade the firmware to 1211.6.
To my surprise it had 1211.7 installed?


I can't find that firmware on JVC:s site. Anyone else using it and know what's new?
HDMI-syncing is working great and is even faster then on my Sony HW-15 (slow....).
Please, can anybody in AVS help us to confirm what is in this 1211.7 firmware version ?
afss is offline  
post #3157 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
Are your walls light colored or dark? How close is the ceiling and side walls to the screen? What size and gain screen? What lamp mode and iris setting are you using? I am guessing that reflected light may be the issue here, but do not know, until you answer the questions asked.
Thanks so much for your response. Sorry for the delay. Answers to your questions: Walls are dark (maroon), ceiling mounted (probably 12 inches from ceiling), walls are 8-10 feet on each side (it's a 15x20 room), 100" screen, have switched between "cinema", "natural" and "anime". It's a dedicated dark room. My primary issue is that it just looks so "digital", like a consumer camera almost. A lot of detail lost in highlights. I've tried to change gamma and contrast, but doesn't seem to do anything. I did have a calibrator come out and I received very little from him, he just basically advised that it's "whatever you like". Well, I "like" a "nice picture" like my RS15 had!
ransomcosper is offline  
post #3158 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjcook View Post
This sounds like your "Input Level" setting may be incorrect. For video levels (16-235), it should be set to Standard and for PC levels (0-255) it would typically be set to Enhanced. The setting defaults to Automatic. Try switching between these two forced settings and see if the problem persists.
Thank you for the suggestion. I have checked that. That was actually the only suggestion I got from JVC (which have been not so helpful). When I switch between the two I see no difference. It was a refurb unit, so it makes me wonder if it's stuck on one of those settings. I played with the gamma and contrast. Nothing. Again, darks are great. Highlights are just awful. I appreciate your help though and will accept any other suggestions!
ransomcosper is offline  
post #3159 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 03:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjcook View Post
Did you see my recommendation on the previous page to try different "Input Level" settings ?
I did. Thanks a lot!
ransomcosper is offline  
post #3160 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransomcosper View Post
Thanks so much for your response. Sorry for the delay. Answers to your questions: Walls are dark (maroon), ceiling mounted (probably 12 inches from ceiling), walls are 8-10 feet on each side (it's a 15x20 room), 100" screen, have switched between "cinema", "natural" and "anime". It's a dedicated dark room. My primary issue is that it just looks so "digital", like a consumer camera almost. A lot of detail lost in highlights. I've tried to change gamma and contrast, but doesn't seem to do anything. I did have a calibrator come out and I received very little from him, he just basically advised that it's "whatever you like". Well, I "like" a "nice picture" like my RS15 had!
Try turning down all the MPC enhance settings. (Going from memory, I forget what they're called, but on my 4810 [older model] there are sliders for them on the screen where you choose which e-shift mode to use.)

I had a similar-sounding "too-digital" look until I turned those way down.
Dave Vaughn likes this.
ScottJ is online now  
post #3161 of 3958 Old 01-13-2015, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
Try turning down all the MPC enhance settings. (Going from memory, I forget what they're called, but on my 4810 [older model] there are sliders for them on the screen where you choose which e-shift mode to use.)

I had a similar-sounding "too-digital" look until I turned those way down.
Same exact experience here.

David Vaughn Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)
My Atmos Renovation Part 1 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-1
My Atmos Renovation Part 2 http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...odyssey-part-2
Dave Vaughn is offline  
post #3162 of 3958 Old 01-14-2015, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
maximus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Hello,
I use my X500, with HDMI in Standard mode.My contrast is at -2 and brightness at +3.In this way if i compare my black level with a 0%IRE and hide mode, i will see a very,very slightly difference in black level.The problem is that this is the only way to see details at 18 and maybe, if i squint hard at 17 level.
It is better to set my brightness at +2?and playing with dark level?....in my case with dark level at +2 i have details at 18.IF i play again with 0%IRE and hide mode,in this way i can't tell when is one or another.
If i leave my contrast in default mode at 0, i will have a slightly pink tint,and detail up to 233.

I calibrate my JVC with Lumagen,Chromapure auto-cal and X-Rite Dsplay 3 Pro.
If i use dark level from my JVC,when is better to make the adjustments?before or after auto-cal?

Thanks
maximus74 is offline  
post #3163 of 3958 Old 01-14-2015, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by afss View Post
Please, can anybody in AVS help us to confirm what is in this 1211.7 firmware version ?
+1. I would love to know if this firmware improves the HDMI handshake.
rwestley is offline  
post #3164 of 3958 Old 01-14-2015, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pottscb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransomcosper View Post
I purchased the RS49U as a refurb unit and I have horrible whitewash in anything mid to high brightness. I've tried making adjustments and nothing seems to make a difference. Any dark scene looks good but anything else just looks awful. Could it have anything to do with iris control?? I'm coming off the DLA-RS15 (which I LOVED) so I'm very disappointed so far. Thanks for any and all help!
Hey ransomcospe, can you access the menu and go to the far right tab and tell us everything you see there? Might help us troubleshoot, but it does sound like a colormode issue. Also, might try JVC phone tech support...they've actually helped me before.

Was getting ready to watch a move the other night and saw the preview for the new Moses Pharoh movie...this pj still takes my breath away on high contrast large scale scenes. You know how when you take a picture of a mountain and then you get home it just looks like poop...well with this 110" picutre when you look at the mountain, it gives you a chill and you ears pop. Freakin' wow... (BTW I watched that trailer like seven...teen times, try it yourself for demo material).
cardoski likes this.
pottscb is offline  
post #3165 of 3958 Old 01-14-2015, 03:21 PM
Member
 
tanwn1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If i go to the menu and info tab, is it suppose to show firmware 1211.1 or 1211.6 as the latest?
tanwn1 is online now  
post #3166 of 3958 Old 01-14-2015, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 5,923
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1496 Post(s)
Liked: 541
Seegs108 is online now  
post #3167 of 3958 Old 01-14-2015, 09:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I only installed the original update a year ago r1210.3. I'm not really having any problems. HDMI handshakes are slow but consistently hookup. Is there really any good reason for me to update?
StevenC56 is offline  
post #3168 of 3958 Old 01-15-2015, 01:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjcook View Post
You can try the test below. Place your monitor near your projector screen, then take take a photo (or preferably a high speed / slow mo video using your phone eg iPhone 5s or later). Each square represents one frame, if your refresh is set for 60Hz then each frame is ~16ms and from the photo you can measure the number of delayed frames on the projection vs your monitor.

For this test, turn off CMD frame interpolation.
i make a photo, but "To be able to post links or images your post count must be 5 or greater" ))
the difference is about 6 squares
Sad|ShadE is offline  
post #3169 of 3958 Old 01-15-2015, 06:35 AM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 9,147
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1622 Post(s)
Liked: 1310
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
I only installed the original update a year ago r1210.3. I'm not really having any problems. HDMI handshakes are slow but consistently hookup. Is there really any good reason for me to update?
"If it ain't broke, don't fix it"... Assuming no new capability is available with an upgrade, I will not be doing anything to my perfectly functioning unit until such time occurs.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)
 
HT seats for sale!
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...seat-rows.html
Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread
beastaudio is offline  
post #3170 of 3958 Old 01-15-2015, 07:16 AM
Member
 
afss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
"If it ain't broke, don't fix it"... Assuming no new capability is available with an upgrade, I will not be doing anything to my perfectly functioning unit until such time occurs.
I still have some hopes JVC made improvements to CMD... very curious to see what they have done on this last 17 firmware.
afss is offline  
post #3171 of 3958 Old 01-15-2015, 09:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 10,065
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1604 Post(s)
Liked: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
I only installed the original update a year ago r1210.3. I'm not really having any problems. HDMI handshakes are slow but consistently hookup. Is there really any good reason for me to update?
If it is not broke, don't try to fix.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Sony, JVC, Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Pioneer, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #3172 of 3958 Old 01-15-2015, 10:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
Try turning down all the MPC enhance settings. (Going from memory, I forget what they're called, but on my 4810 [older model] there are sliders for them on the screen where you choose which e-shift mode to use.)

I had a similar-sounding "too-digital" look until I turned those way down.
Thanks for the recommendation. Unfortunately on the 49, it only gives me an MPC on/off option. Neither made any difference from what I saw. Thanks though. I'll consider any other advise you might have.
ransomcosper is offline  
post #3173 of 3958 Old 01-15-2015, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
jjcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 30
@ransomcosper You could consider picking up a meter used for calibration to quantitatively measure the video response of your JVC to see more precisely when then problem arises; I'd assume from your description your gamma curve will be out of whack. You could then try to use the JVC autocal software to re-calibrate the gamma and see if that helps. All this shouldn't be necessary, but short of just sending it into Mendtronix for evaluation, I'm not sure what else to suggest.

For Sale: Navitar SSW065 short throw conversion lens
WTB: Triad InCeiling / InWall Gold Omni SE's or Silver MiniMonitors

Small HT: JVC RS4910, Mits HC7900DW, Falcon 2.35:1 100-wide, Triad Gold Omni SE & Silver Surrounds, PSA XS15-base, Marantz SR7008, Oppo 103D, Lumagen 2143 (soon), Tivo Mini, HTPC
jjcook is online now  
post #3174 of 3958 Old 01-16-2015, 04:05 AM
Member
 
sid34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
please tell me
with 3 meters of a penny a projection screen to take a maximum possible for inch screen, you can take?
sid34 is online now  
post #3175 of 3958 Old 01-16-2015, 04:07 AM
Member
 
SoulOfUniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: London
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sid34 View Post
please tell me
with 3 meters of a penny a projection screen to take a maximum possible for inch screen, you can take?
97 inch mate.

Here is a calculator for any concerns : http://www.projectorcentral.com/JVC-...o.htm?add=7992
SoulOfUniverse is offline  
post #3176 of 3958 Old 01-19-2015, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 849 Post(s)
Liked: 622
We happen to have one " open box " 4910 available ( and plenty of new ones of course ), if anyone is looking for a good deal !

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Call me on my direct line - 585-671-2972, 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday
Email me at craig@avscience.com http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SIM2, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, and many more!
Craig Peer is online now  
post #3177 of 3958 Old 01-20-2015, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
jaceks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
We happen to have one " open box " 4910 available ( and plenty of new ones of course ), if anyone is looking for a good deal !
I'm looking for very good deal (new in box) for JVC RS4910 or Sony HW55 and I want to get my next projector from AVS, not other retailers.

Do you expect to have any special before Super Bow on Sony or JVC?
What firmware is on JVC RS4910 projector you have in stock?
jaceks is offline  
post #3178 of 3958 Old 01-20-2015, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 7,422
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Followed up with JVC on the .7 firmware. The only difference between the .6 and the .7 firmware is the .7 conforms to the EU power standby regulation. Otherwise identical.

One thing I noticed about HDMI. I have the first fw update that was done and haven't installed any others since. Like everyone else my X700 is slow to lock on to HDMI signals, this is especially noticeable when you load a Blu-ray and you get the studio intro. I usually hear the intro but only see the very tail end of the clip. I run my video from an Oppo 103D to a Lumagen Radiance to the PJ. HDMI 2 of the Oppo feeds audio directly to an Anthem D2V but there is no output from the D2V to anything. I have the Radiance set to Game Mode On as I am only using it at the moment for CMS duties. Last month I had an Emotiva XMC-1 that I was auditioning. I used it in the EXACT SAME way, no output only the audio from my Oppo feeding it. But the HDMI synch time with the JVC was WAY faster. The image would be there almost instantly with those intros on discs. I have NO idea why this was the case as it isn't even this fast if I go Oppo to JVC and no other sources but it was a VERY noticeable difference. Just FYI.
cischico likes this.

My Theater Room

Technical Editor/Writer

Sound and Vision
Kris Deering is online now  
post #3179 of 3958 Old 01-20-2015, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I have the .6 firmware. Got the unit cal'd so the picture is even better. HDMI switching is ok with the exception of going from 4k back to 1080. I get a thin colored line at top and bottom with black screen. I have to shutoff projector then turn back on to proceed. It was ok for awhile with the switching. Anyone else having this issue?
coolrda is online now  
post #3180 of 3958 Old 01-20-2015, 09:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 10,065
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1604 Post(s)
Liked: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaceks View Post
I'm looking for very good deal (new in box) for JVC RS4910 or Sony HW55 and I want to get my next projector from AVS, not other retailers.

Do you expect to have any special before Super Bow on Sony or JVC?
What firmware is on JVC RS4910 projector you have in stock?
Please give us a call.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Sony, JVC, Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Pioneer, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off