Official JVC DILA-X500R / RS49U / RS4910U Owners Thread - Page 196 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 593Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5851 of 5881 Old 03-18-2017, 10:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2937 Post(s)
Liked: 2049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post
Question for you 4910 owners. I was under the impression that the 4910 was unable to comply with HDCP 2.2 and display UHD bluray in 4k. I may be in error. Please let me know.
Hey Clark! I see you beat me over here.

Maybe someone over here can help with what I'm seeing.
Gooddoc is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5852 of 5881 Old 03-18-2017, 10:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2937 Post(s)
Liked: 2049
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanknz View Post
Weird, I don't have an Integral and running Oppo 203 direct to my X500 and getting 4k sent with bt2020 and every other combination I try/need. Home screen running at 4k50Hz. Even with original firmware I could get 4K at projector and force HDR/bt2020 etc. I just need to upload the bt2020 profile into my Projector, just got Oppo and had played around with a couple of hired 4K movies. Aiming to do my 1st Autocal(Spyder 4) and bt2020 upload in the next week or so but seems like a pretty involved process
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post
Interesting. I'm not sure how. I couldn't even get the home screen without the integral.

Uploading the profile and running autocal is pretty easy. Most of the time you're just watching it do it's thing.
Interesting tanknz, because I am having the same experience. I'm being told it is impossible, lol. At least someone else is seeing what I am. Not complaining since clearly many are not able to do this without one of those Fury or integral devices.
Gooddoc is online now  
post #5853 of 5881 Old 03-18-2017, 10:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,075
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 1144
I'm not sure why you guys are seeing what you're seeing. The only explanation I can offer is that maybe the Oppo is downconverting the native 4K signal on the disc to 1080p (because of the HDCP 2.2 limitation) then upconverting that 1080p to 4K since the JVC EDID reports it can handle 4K...but admittedly that seems pretty unlikely. Since upconverting regular BD players (like the BDP-103/105) will send unconverted 4K to the RS4910, maybe the UBD-203 is doing something similar...? However, even if that were the case, it seems like you'd still be seeing an HDCP error along the way.

I use a Panasonic UB900 with my RS4910 because reportedly it does the best job handling HDR-to-SDR conversion. I have an HDfury Integral in the loop...initially because my old Philips UHD player required it, and now I use it to get the UB900 to send SDR/BT.2020 to my projector. I have an Oppo UBD-203 also but I've never tried it with my projector, nor have I tried the Panasonic without the Integral in the loop.
Schwa is offline  
 
post #5854 of 5881 Old 03-18-2017, 10:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2937 Post(s)
Liked: 2049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
I'm not sure why you guys are seeing what you're seeing. The only explanation I can offer is that maybe the Oppo is downconverting the native 4K signal on the disc to 1080p (because of the HDCP 2.2 limitation) then upconverting that 1080p to 4K since the JVC EDID reports it can handle 4K...but admittedly that seems pretty unlikely. Since upconverting regular BD players (like the BDP-103/105) will send unconverted 4K to the RS4910, maybe the UBD-203 is doing something similar...? However, even if that were the case, it seems like you'd still be seeing an HDCP error along the way.

I use a Panasonic UB900 with my RS4910 because reportedly it does the best job handling HDR-to-SDR conversion. I have an HDfury Integral in the loop...initially because my old Philips UHD player required it, and now I use it to get the UB900 to send SDR/BT.2020 to my projector. I have an Oppo UBD-203 also but I've never tried it with my projector, nor have I tried the Panasonic without the Integral in the loop.
Thanks man. Yeah, from day one with the Oppo I've been watching 4k discs with 4k output indicated. I had thought of the 4k -> 1080 -> 4k thing too, but I think that is highly unlikely. But apparently this whole situation is unlikely, so who knows, lol.

I didn't know that I shouldn't be able to watch the 4k since it always just worked. In some ways it's a bummer because any really good reason to upgrade my PJ I would have done it .
Gooddoc is online now  
post #5855 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 12:38 AM
Member
 
tanknz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post
Question for you 4910 owners. I was under the impression that the 4910 was unable to comply with HDCP 2.2 and display UHD bluray in 4k. I may be in error. Please let me know.
I have the X500R and even though the general consensus seems that in theory it shouldn't work, but in actuality it does for me at least, 4K working perfectly hooked directly via the Oppo 203, no fury used, using Oppo setting strip metadata to turn off HDR, then it sends 4k 12-bit BT.2020 4/2/2 and/or 10-bit BT.2020 to the PJ and I'm using Manni's BT2020 colour profile, but try to keep it quiet, wouldn't want Oppo or JVC to make any changes hehe

>GoodDoc, you seem to be running your PJ with 8-bit Rec.709 and 4/4/4, you should try as per above, with 10 or 12 bit 4/2/2 and BT.2020 wide color gamut to get the extra visual benefit on 4K UHD blu rays!
tanknz is online now  
post #5856 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2937 Post(s)
Liked: 2049
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanknz View Post
I have the X500R and even though the general consensus seems that in theory it shouldn't work, but in actuality it does for me at least, 4K working perfectly hooked directly via the Oppo 203, no fury used, using Oppo setting strip metadata to turn off HDR, then it sends 4k 12-bit BT.2020 4/2/2 and/or 10-bit BT.2020 to the PJ and I'm using Manni's BT2020 colour profile, but try to keep it quiet, wouldn't want Oppo or JVC to make any changes hehe

>GoodDoc, you seem to be running your PJ with 8-bit Rec.709 and 4/4/4, you should try as per above, with 10 or 12 bit 4/2/2 and BT.2020 wide color gamut to get the extra visual benefit on 4K UHD blu rays!
I'm glad I ran across your post since I've essentially been painted as a liar by some in another thread because I claim to be watching 4k UHD discs with this PJ. Even with pics to show it.

A bunch of "FACT: YOU CANNOT PLAY A 4K DISC ON YOUR PLAYER. DONE. END OF STORY", lol.

Yeah, I haven't been able to figure out how to load the BT2020 color profile. I'll take a look at the bit rate thing though.

Thanks
Gooddoc is online now  
post #5857 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,075
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 1144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
I'm glad I ran across your post since I've essentially been painted as a liar by some in another thread because I claim to be watching 4k UHD discs with this PJ. Even with pics to show it.

A bunch of "FACT: YOU CANNOT PLAY A 4K DISC ON YOUR PLAYER. DONE. END OF STORY", lol.

Yeah, I haven't been able to figure out how to load the BT2020 color profile. I'll take a look at the bit rate thing though.

Thanks
You'll want to load Manni's BT.2020 color profile if you wind up sending SDR/BT.2020 to your projector or the colors will look washed out. You use the 2014 JVC autocal software to do it; it's really easy.
Schwa is offline  
post #5858 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,075
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 1144
Quote:
Originally Posted by penfold99 View Post
Thanks for that info... That is very helpful! I think I can still return the Samsung. Is the Oppo worth the price?


Dave
The build quality of the Oppo is the best of the bunch, it has some pretty cool techie features, and Oppo certainly is top-tier in terms of customer service and future upgrades/support. I thought the Samsung was a real piece of crap, so IMHO the Oppo is definitely worth the price premium. I gave my Samsung away FWIW.

As I (think I) mentioned, I have both the Oppo and the Panasonic. I use the Panasonic with my JVC since I already had an Integral (so I can force the Panasonic to send SDR/BT.2020) and the Panasonic (anecdotally, anyway) provides the best HDR-to-SDR conversion. If you're one of the lucky few who's able to get the Oppo to send 4K to the JVC without an Integral, then the Oppo really becomes the no-brainer, especially since you can configure it to send SDR/BT.2020 without the Integral AND I'm sure Oppo's HDR-to-SDR conversion will continue to improve.
Schwa is offline  
post #5859 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2937 Post(s)
Liked: 2049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
You'll want to load Manni's BT.2020 color profile if you wind up sending SDR/BT.2020 to your projector or the colors will look washed out. You use the 2014 JVC autocal software to do it; it's really easy.
I bought the cable needed to do it, but don't know where it is. It needs to be a special cable right? Been a long time and I can't remember.
Gooddoc is online now  
post #5860 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
kwk2293's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I had the 4k disc of bad santa playing the other day oppo jvc everything was telling me it was in 4k
kwk2293 is offline  
post #5861 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2937 Post(s)
Liked: 2049
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwk2293 View Post
I had the 4k disc of bad santa playing the other day oppo jvc everything was telling me it was in 4k
My guess is that there are plenty of folks like me that are watching 4K on their 4910's without any idea that it's impossible .

Could also be a bug in the Oppo that says it's sending 4k, but it really isn't. Impossible to know.
Gooddoc is online now  
post #5862 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1369 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
Could also be a bug in the Oppo that says it's sending 4k, but it really isn't. Impossible to know.
If the JVC Info screen confirms it's 4k, then it must be 4k. Perhaps Oppo simply "downgraded" the HDCP from 2.2 to 1.4, similar to what the Monoprice converter is doing. Supposedly this is a loophole in HCDP 2.2 that a few manufacturers are taking advantage of.
Schwa and Gooddoc like this.

JVC DLA-RS4910
HCFR Bug List
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5863 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,075
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 1144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post
I bought the cable needed to do it, but don't know where it is. It needs to be a special cable right? Been a long time and I can't remember.
You might be thinking of firmware updates which typically require a specific (Keyspan FWIW) USB-to-serial adapter to work consistently.

HOWEVER, the only cable you need to upload custom color profiles is an Ethernet cable. You can either connect your projector to your LAN or do a direct peer-to-peer connection between the computer running the autocal software and the projector.
Schwa is offline  
post #5864 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,619
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2937 Post(s)
Liked: 2049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
You might be thinking of firmware updates which typically require a specific (Keyspan FWIW) USB-to-serial adapter to work consistently.

HOWEVER, the only cable you need to upload custom color profiles is an Ethernet cable. You can either connect your projector to your LAN or do a direct peer-to-peer connection between the computer running the autocal software and the projector.
Yes, that is exactly what I was thinking.

Ok, cool, that is great to know. Thank you!
Gooddoc is online now  
post #5865 of 5881 Old 03-19-2017, 01:35 PM
Member
 
jjv238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I am also getting 4k with the oppo without using the integral, certainly not complaining as I haven't gotten around to buying the integral yet and it looks like I'm not going to have to, hopefully this loophole doesn't get shutdown with an update
Gooddoc likes this.
jjv238 is offline  
post #5866 of 5881 Old 03-22-2017, 06:32 PM
Member
 
TheSeanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does anyone know where I can find the instructions for this:


"You'll want to load Manni's BT.2020 color profile if you wind up sending SDR/BT.2020 to your projector or the colors will look washed out. You use the 2014 JVC autocal software to do it; it's really easy."


I have searched but can not seem to find it. I finial have my 120" Screen setup in my room and would like to do a fresh calibration.


Also, I know some other threads have posted about the Netflix Marvel series looking grainy on the screen. I have encountered the same thing with my RS4910u using a Roku Ultra with the Netflix app. At first I thought that there was something wrong with my projector, or my connection. I thought this because I noticed something else I was hoping someone might have experience with or test.


I usually do not notice the auto iris working until the credits hit at the end of a movie. Watching Iron Fist on Netflix seems to be putting my auto iris through hell. You can see and hear a great amount of pumping as the iris tries to adjust for some of the different light controlled scenes. Has anyone else experienced this while watching Iron Fist?


Good to hear about the 203 and 4k with our projectors. I new I was able to upscale 1080p with my 103D to 4K and send it to my projector, but the news about the 203 sending the signal sounds promising.


I know our projectors are a little older now, but I am glad to see the thread is still active with enthusiast always trying to get a little more out of their projector and equipment. I am impressed to this day with my RS4910u and do not expect to replace it anytime soon unless there is some sort of big game changer around the same price, LOL.
TheSeanO is offline  
post #5867 of 5881 Old 03-22-2017, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,075
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
Liked: 1144
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSeanO View Post
Does anyone know where I can find the instructions for this:
"You'll want to load Manni's BT.2020 color profile if you wind up sending SDR/BT.2020 to your projector or the colors will look washed out. You use the 2014 JVC autocal software to do it; it's really easy."
JVC's instructions for importing a custom color profile are here. Although these instructions reference the V6 software and the 2015 model-year projectors, the procedure is exactly the same for the V5 software that you'll have to use for our 2014 model-year projectors.

The BT.2020 profile you'll want to upload is the "REC-2020NF" one linked at the very bottom of this post. Again, I believe Manni developed this profile with the 2015 projectors in mind, but he's confirmed that it works perfectly well with the 2014 projectors.

If you haven't run the JVC autocal software before, Manni gives a very good summary of the necessary workflow here.
Quark1134, neo_2009 and storm028 like this.

Last edited by Schwa; 03-22-2017 at 08:23 PM.
Schwa is offline  
post #5868 of 5881 Old 03-22-2017, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1369 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
That is correct. I've ordered a Monoprice HDCP 2.2 to 1.4 to see if that works.
I just received my converter and it works as promised. I no longer get the DHCP error message when watching 4K Netflix contents on the Fire TV box.

JVC DLA-RS4910
HCFR Bug List
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #5869 of 5881 Old 03-26-2017, 02:38 PM
Member
 
jjv238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I just fired up my projector today and put in passengers 4k disc and for some reason it is not running in 4k it's down converting to 1080p, I don't know if I changed some settings in the projector or the oppo but if someone could help me out and copy your full settings in the oppo and the rs4910u I would greatly appreciate it as i don't want to purchase the integral if I don't have to...picture mode on jvc is user 1, that's where I put the 2020 profile, in the home menu in the oppo is in 4k and the projector automatically changed the picture mode to 4k in the jvc so does that mean the 2020 profile isn't active? I'm a bit confused, appreciate some help. Thanks

Last edited by jjv238; 03-26-2017 at 02:42 PM.
jjv238 is offline  
post #5870 of 5881 Old 04-08-2017, 10:08 AM
Member
 
ykjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Greetings gents. Asking for some help/advice as I'm pretty frustrated right now. Purchased a Oppo 203 last night to go with my JVC DLA X550R. Purchased top notch audio quest carbon premier HDMI. While trying to play 4k or even blu ray movies through the 203, I get these flickering white dots like snowflakes all over the screen which are really evident in darker screens. Have tried changing cables, different HDMI inputs on my Anthem AVM60 (which just passes the signal) and to no avail. Beyond irritating and I get the same when playing games on my PS4 Pro. Are there some settings in the JVC that need to be adjusted to get these flickering dots away? Help and thanks in advance for any advice you can provide. Almost ready to take this 203 right back but trying to be patient and see what's going on but I'm have no clue.

Zero issues when playing 4k material through my Roku. Looks magnificent.

Processor: Anthem AVM 60, BluRay: Oppo 105D & Oppo 203, Amps: Rotel RMB 1095 & Rotel RMB 1555, Speakers: B&W 804S, B&W HTM3 center, Atmos: Golden Ear Invisa HTR 7000's, Surrounds, Definitive Technology Studio Monitor 350's, Subs: Definitive Technology Super Cube 1, PowerSound Audio S1500, Projector: JVC DLA X550RB, Screen: Stewart Filmscreen Deluxe Screenwall 2:35:1 screen, Power Conditioner: Panamax 5300EX, Media/Gaming: Apple TV (4th gen), Roku4, Xbox One, PS4 Pro. Remote: Control4 EA1
ykjones is offline  
post #5871 of 5881 Old 04-18-2017, 03:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
lorjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somewhere south of Georgia
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Have you tried the two HDMI profile? Run one HDMI cable from the 203 direct to the JVC and a second HDMI cable from the HDMI audio out of the 203 to your AVM60.

JVC-RS4910, Samsung 64H5000, LG 60PA6550
Oppo 203, Oppo 93, Oppo 83SE, DirecTV HR44-200, Samsung DTB260F, Roku 3, Denon DP-1200
Marantz AV7702, Onkyo PR-SC5507, Onkyo TX-NR3008, McIntosh C26, DVDO Duo
Parasound A51, Parasound HCA-806A, Emotiva UPA-1s, Marantz MA500s, McIntosh MC2105
Paradigm Studio V4s & V5s, Hsu subs X2,
lorjam is offline  
post #5872 of 5881 Old 04-19-2017, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nalleh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1083 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Anyone here managed to get 4K 10bit pic to the X500R?

My Panasonic UB 900 recently got new firmware making 10bit a option, and altough i can get that working on my 4K TV, nothing's changed to my projector.

The OPPO 203 can also send a 10bit pic, right?

I believe it should be able to accept to recieve a 4K 10bit picture.

Triple Atmos Receivers
Atmos 13.1.8/DTS:X 9.1.8/AURO 3D 12.1

My setup:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/29-wha...l#post41323201
Nalleh is online now  
post #5873 of 5881 Old 04-20-2017, 10:51 PM
Member
 
tanknz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nalleh View Post
Anyone here managed to get 4K 10bit pic to the X500R?

My Panasonic UB 900 recently got new firmware making 10bit a option, and altough i can get that working on my 4K TV, nothing's changed to my projector.

The OPPO 203 can also send a 10bit pic, right?

I believe it should be able to accept to recieve a 4K 10bit picture.
Yes I can send maximum 4K 10bit and 12bit at 4:2:2 from the Oppo 203 no problems. Gotta love this projector
tanknz is online now  
post #5874 of 5881 Old 04-21-2017, 05:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nalleh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1083 Post(s)
Liked: 489
So what does the infoscreen say on the X500 then? 8bit xv.color or 10bit xv.color?

Triple Atmos Receivers
Atmos 13.1.8/DTS:X 9.1.8/AURO 3D 12.1

My setup:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/29-wha...l#post41323201
Nalleh is online now  
post #5875 of 5881 Old 04-28-2017, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Dartvidar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I did just buy an Linker for my home cinema so I have some questions.

I have a Samsung 4K Ultra HD UBD-K8500/XE Blu-ray, I run it to my HDfury linker and out to my JVC DLA-X500 projector.

What settings should I use in my linker when sending an UHD signal from the Samsung K8500 to my X500? What settings do you changes from default in the linker?
At the moment I just test it with the default settings out of the package, and I can not see much difference from regular Blu-ray. I can see it shows up 1080P in the right corner of the picture (is the linker downscale the picture, do I need to changes settings?).

Do you know If i need to change any setting in the projector when receive a UHD 4K signal from the linker?

Its two things I have experience with the Linker that I dont like, I dont know if that can be fix with software update or settings.
When I start a UHD movie its always a small movie with logo of the film company, and some warnings about copy etc in the beginning. In the short time after the movie of the film company or warning is finish, I get a blue picture on the screen and it stands lost HDMI signal, it then take some seconds before picture comes back and during that time I hear the sound from the movie. Is it possible to fix this with changes some settings or software update in the linker. If I run the Blu-ray thru my Marantz processor the picture just get black between the logo and warning etc.

Hope some one can answer my questions, thanks.
Dartvidar is offline  
post #5876 of 5881 Old 05-08-2017, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Alan Winslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have been reading the threads and considering jumping in to get a UHD player for my 4910.
Understanding it's relevant to individual expectations is it worth the cost and effort?
I have been very happy at 1080p with my HTPC, BluRay and other sources and not being familiar
with uploading color profiles are there any plug and play scenario's?
Is there a guide out there to take the necessary steps for UHD setup with the 4910?
Will new color profiles effect my current BluRay/HTPC projector settings or can each input
be assigned a different profile?

Thank you for any help and suggestions.
Alan Winslow is offline  
post #5877 of 5881 Old 05-08-2017, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,665
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6267 Post(s)
Liked: 4042
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Winslow View Post
I have been reading the threads and considering jumping in to get a UHD player for my 4910.
Understanding it's relevant to individual expectations is it worth the cost and effort?
I have been very happy at 1080p with my HTPC, BluRay and other sources and not being familiar
with uploading color profiles are there any plug and play scenario's?
Is there a guide out there to take the necessary steps for UHD setup with the 4910?
Will new color profiles effect my current BluRay/HTPC projector settings or can each input
be assigned a different profile?

Thank you for any help and suggestions.
Hi Alan, how are you doing?

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is offline  
post #5878 of 5881 Old 05-08-2017, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Alan Winslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Garrett View Post
Hi Alan, how are you doing?
Things are going well Mike, Thanks for asking.
I always appreciate your input on the forum.
I'm researching a possible UHD player to the system.
Take care!
Alan Winslow is offline  
post #5879 of 5881 Old 05-10-2017, 12:12 AM
Member
 
apcreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is the Panasonic DMP-UB700EBK suitable player to use manni's profile BT2020?

Or should I buy the oppo or higher end Panny?

Edit: I already own the integral 4k BTW.

Thanks

Last edited by apcreek; 05-10-2017 at 12:22 AM.
apcreek is online now  
post #5880 of 5881 Old 05-15-2017, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kmhvball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mason, Ohio
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 525 Post(s)
Liked: 293
I have a Harmony Elite remote, and as of now, I need to use the IR on that Elite Remote to work my projector.

I would prefer use the Harmony Elite Hub to control the Projector, but the hub is in a different room. Is the projector able to receive Internet commands, or do I need Infra Red? I have Cat6 cable running from my AV room up to the projector. If I need an IR signal, is there a way I can use that Cat 6 cable to connect it into one of the two Harmony Hub IR Blaster ports? I think I need to somehow 'splice' a connector onto the Hub side that will connect into the hub, and onto the other side of the cat-6 at the projector and splice an IR emitter onto it.

Anyone have any ideas or suggestions?
kmhvball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off