Official JVC DILA-X500R / RS49U / RS4910U Owners Thread - Page 69 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 587Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2014, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardoski View Post
So this is only when looking at a certain pattern and only if you are close to the screen? Do you notice it while watching any content?
So far, the it is most noticeable on the flashing black bars on a brightness pattern. I feel like I can faint lines on low ire patterns...maybe up to 40%

I I'm not sure if I can see it on real content, but then I just noticed it the other night so I spent most of that night unplugging cables trying to rule out something in the chain. Oddly, it first occurred when I was testing turning superwhite on and off to stop the ps3 from passing xv color. I was checking that the change was not affecting brightness and contrast levels and the lines appeared in the pattern. They could have bee there all along, but I don't think so...knowing me I think I would have noticed.

By going straight into the pj with a laptop I think I've eliminated the signal chain, though it is possible that once my signal chain causes the issue, it will stay that way until power cycled. I've seen the 4910 behave that way with handshake issues.

I'm not ready to say its a defect, but there has to be some reason for it and I certainly want to rule out a problem with the pj itself. I feel like there she to be some simple explanation. I would think a problem with the pj would be evident on any pattern.

Like I said it looks like some kind of sync or processing glitch. Almost like banding, but the lines are too straight. That's why I'm curious if anyone else could see the same issue or not.
curlyjive is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2014, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 227
I double checked and cmd is off. I toggled every setting... No change I flipped the projection style so the image would be upside down and the flashing bars on thrower side....still see the lines.


I am now wondering if it actually is part of the pattern itself.

I tried it on my dlp, I think I could kind of make out the lines, but dithering makes it hard to tell. So I drug out the rs40 and pointed it at a wall. I think I can see a faint line running down bar 24 and 22 especially. It is easier to spot on the 4910 but I think I can see the same thing on other displays.

Again if anyone can take a look, my sanity will thank you if it turns out to be an artifact in the pattern.
curlyjive is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 8,777
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1719 Post(s)
Liked: 2711
Setting the Oppo to 4K will automatically turn on eshift. But the JVC isn't scaling to 4K anymore. It is interpolating from the 4K input. Will look better with fine detail. Darbee can be on, that is a personal preference. Unless it is the standalone Darblet, it can't accept the 4K signal from the Oppo.
AidenL likes this.
Kris Deering is offline  
 
Old 08-02-2014, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
Setting the Oppo to 4K will automatically turn on eshift. But the JVC isn't scaling to 4K anymore. It is interpolating from the 4K input. Will look better with fine detail. Darbee can be on, that is a personal preference. Unless it is the standalone Darblet, it can't accept the 4K signal from the Oppo.
While troubleshooting the strange artifacts/lines I am seeing on the brightness pattern on the avs disc, I did get a chance to run some 4k material since I had my new MacBook Pro plugged directly in and it can output 4k. I played that tears of steel short movie and the 4910 locked into 4k mode. It said is getting 25fps....not sure if that was my macbook doing that or if that is the source frame rate.

It looked good and it was cool to see saying 4k! I have to be plugged directly into my ceiling mounted pj, as my receiver switcher and darblet will not pass 4k. I might run a second hdmi cable so I can run 4k samples from my MacBook and just use optical out for audio.

It was at least a bright spot in an otherwise frustrating night of trying to figure out if what I am seeing is normal or an issue with the pj.
curlyjive is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1205 Post(s)
Liked: 1186
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post
So far, the it is most noticeable on the flashing black bars on a brightness pattern. I feel like I can faint lines on low ire patterns...maybe up to 40%

I I'm not sure if I can see it on real content, but then I just noticed it the other night so I spent most of that night unplugging cables trying to rule out something in the chain. Oddly, it first occurred when I was testing turning superwhite on and off to stop the ps3 from passing xv color. I was checking that the change was not affecting brightness and contrast levels and the lines appeared in the pattern. They could have bee there all along, but I don't think so...knowing me I think I would have noticed.

By going straight into the pj with a laptop I think I've eliminated the signal chain, though it is possible that once my signal chain causes the issue, it will stay that way until power cycled. I've seen the 4910 behave that way with handshake issues.

I'm not ready to say its a defect, but there has to be some reason for it and I certainly want to rule out a problem with the pj itself. I feel like there she to be some simple explanation. I would think a problem with the pj would be evident on any pattern.

Like I said it looks like some kind of sync or processing glitch. Almost like banding, but the lines are too straight. That's why I'm curious if anyone else could see the same issue or not.
I just checked my AVS disc and I do not see what you are saying. Are you talking about the basic setting on the AVSdisc, the reference black page? Just want to be sure I am checking out the same thing.

It's always in the last place you look.
cardoski is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardoski View Post
I just checked my AVS disc and I do not see what you are saying. Are you talking about the basic setting on the AVSdisc, the reference black page? Just want to be sure I am checking out the same thing.

Yes flashing bar brightness pattern in the basic settings. Your flashing bars are completely clean with no artifacts?
If so that's not good for me.
curlyjive is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1205 Post(s)
Liked: 1186
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post
Yes flashing bar brightness pattern in the basic settings. Your flashing bars are completely clean with no artifacts?
If so that's not good for me.
Ya it is clean, no artifacts. Although if it does not show up in regular viewing maybe you can live with it.

It's always in the last place you look.
cardoski is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardoski View Post
Ya it is clean, no artifacts. Although if it does not show up in regular viewing maybe you can live with it.
For what it costs I can't. I'm unplugging it for a bit. See if that changes anything. I'll try and get a picture of it if I can tonight.
curlyjive is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,025
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5759 Post(s)
Liked: 3707
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokker View Post
Mike: been looking for a b-stock or well-priced RS4910. I'm working till very late at night on a deadline nowadays so could I request a PM on the B-stock you have? Is that the RS4910 or the RS49U? Thanks in advance.
Sent you a PM.

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 08-02-2014, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
Setting the Oppo to 4K will automatically turn on eshift. But the JVC isn't scaling to 4K anymore. It is interpolating from the 4K input. Will look better with fine detail. Darbee can be on, that is a personal preference. Unless it is the standalone Darblet, it can't accept the 4K signal from the Oppo.
To clarify-Can the Oppo 103D output a 4K signal including the Darbee processing, or does the Darbee processing only work with the Oppo outputting 1080P?
StevenC56 is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Rokker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
Sent you a PM.
Hi Mike:

Just sent a reply to your PM.

Thanks!
Rokker is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 8,777
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1719 Post(s)
Liked: 2711
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
To clarify-Can the Oppo 103D output a 4K signal including the Darbee processing, or does the Darbee processing only work with the Oppo outputting 1080P?
It works with both on the Oppo.
Kris Deering is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 510 Post(s)
Liked: 227
OK so I think I figured out what is going on with the vertical lines in the flashing bar brightness pattern. I can absolutely see them on on my RS40 as well. On bar 24 there is a lighter line and on bar 22 there is a darker line and another on bar 18. Oddly, if you look at the bars below where the white numbers are (bottom of the screen) the lines do not exist there. Also, depending on how you have you gamma controls set , especially picture tone, there is some odd banding that will show up on certain bars. It will become more or less evident or go away completely with changes to the 3 gamma controls and how you have your brightness set.

Since I can see the vertical lines in exactly the same place on the RS40, it has to be the disc. The banding is some flukey thing with either the gamma controls, the controls interaction with that pattern, or something like that. But since I can make it go away I am thinking anyone actually looking hard enough would find this to be the same.

Very odd, but at least I think my PJ is fine, or at least the same as any 4910.
cardoski likes this.
curlyjive is online now  
Old 08-03-2014, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
Setting the Oppo to 4K will automatically turn on eshift. But the JVC isn't scaling to 4K anymore. It is interpolating from the 4K input. Will look better with fine detail. Darbee can be on, that is a personal preference. Unless it is the standalone Darblet, it can't accept the 4K signal from the Oppo.
I tried setting the Oppo to force 4k output to the PJ via my Anthem AVR - having really bad handshaking problems though.......

Display : JVC X7000 Projector | SE 103" Enlightor 4k | LG 65B6 OLED |
Sources : Oppo UDP 203 Multizone UHD Player | Apple TV3 | HTPC | Sky Q UHD Satellite | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Marantz 8802A | Genelec 8050 LCR | Monitor Audio IDC Sides & Rears | Seaton Submersive Master/Slave |
Control : Control 4 |
AidenL is offline  
Old 08-03-2014, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 8,777
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1719 Post(s)
Liked: 2711
The anthem doesn't do well with 4K. Send video to pj direct from Oppo and use other output of Oppo to anthem for audio only.
AidenL likes this.
Kris Deering is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 11:51 AM
Member
 
TheSeanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does anyone have a picture that they can post of their JVC mounted to the ceiling with an arm extension? I am looking at the Chief Mounts (Mike, I sent you a PM) and cannot see a clear picture of the plate the connects into the rafters in the ceiling and the plate that will cover up the hole that I am about to make in my ceiling. Any help would be appreciated. After I get the projector mounted, I can then look at screen options. I am thinking the size will be around 135".

Initial Thoughts:

The JVC 4910 is one of the best purchases I have ever made. I have had it for 2-3 weeks now. The picture is absolutely amazing. I am projecting onto a rough textured beige wall right now and I still cannot believe how good it looks. With shades and curtains, daytime viewing is fine. I save shows and movies now in order to watch them at night when I can make everything as dark as possible. Sometimes I just find myself smiling, satisfied by this giant, detailed picture on my wall that gives me a "real home theater feeling." This is my first HT Projector so I do not have anything to compare it against. If you are reading this and are on the fence, I would say go for it. You will not be disappointed.
TheSeanO is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,025
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5759 Post(s)
Liked: 3707
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSeanO View Post
Does anyone have a picture that they can post of their JVC mounted to the ceiling with an arm extension? I am looking at the Chief Mounts (Mike, I sent you a PM) and cannot see a clear picture of the plate the connects into the rafters in the ceiling and the plate that will cover up the hole that I am about to make in my ceiling. Any help would be appreciated. After I get the projector mounted, I can then look at screen options. I am thinking the size will be around 135".

Initial Thoughts:

The JVC 4910 is one of the best purchases I have ever made. I have had it for 2-3 weeks now. The picture is absolutely amazing. I am projecting onto a rough textured beige wall right now and I still cannot believe how good it looks. With shades and curtains, daytime viewing is fine. I save shows and movies now in order to watch them at night when I can make everything as dark as possible. Sometimes I just find myself smiling, satisfied by this giant, detailed picture on my wall that gives me a "real home theater feeling." This is my first HT Projector so I do not have anything to compare it against. If you are reading this and are on the fence, I would say go for it. You will not be disappointed.
Sent you a PM. The plate would be a Chief CMA101. It has a hole in the center, where the drop tube screws on. You can run the wiring down the drop tube, so no hole showing in the ceiling. Here is a link: http://www.chiefmfg.com/Products/CMA101

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 08-04-2014, 01:01 PM
Member
 
sm4llz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I should be able to take a few tonight. I'm using a Peerless mount. They make a plate the connects over the drywall into the existing joists.

http://www.fullcompass.com/product/4...IvcaAo4J8P8HAQ

I have that bolted into my joists then the extension pole screws in and connects to my mount.
sm4llz is offline  
Old 08-04-2014, 07:52 PM
Member
 
danrudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question...

About to mount x500R (very excited)
I had been told that the lens should be level with the top of the screen.
However, in reading I came across the notion that this projector has +/- 80% vertical shift.

If I understand this concept correctly, mounting the lens at the top of the screen level is already 50% vertical shift.
So I should have more vertical height to play with.

So, if my screen is 54 inched high (2.35) then I should have 43 inches (54 x 80% = 43) of vertical play from the middle of the screen.
Or 27 inched (middle of screen) plus 43 inches above or below middle of screen.so, I have an extra 16 inches of vertical height above screen to play with the projector rod before I get any kind of image distortion.
Is that correct?

Thanks...
danrudy is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 05:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,025
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5759 Post(s)
Liked: 3707
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by danrudy View Post
Question...

About to mount x500R (very excited)
I had been told that the lens should be level with the top of the screen.
However, in reading I came across the notion that this projector has +/- 80% vertical shift.

If I understand this concept correctly, mounting the lens at the top of the screen level is already 50% vertical shift.
So I should have more vertical height to play with.

So, if my screen is 54 inched high (2.35) then I should have 43 inches (54 x 80% = 43) of vertical play from the middle of the screen.
Or 27 inched (middle of screen) plus 43 inches above or below middle of screen.so, I have an extra 16 inches of vertical height above screen to play with the projector rod before I get any kind of image distortion.
Is that correct?


Thanks...
Your math is correct, but your assumption that you have to use all of the lens shift before getting any distortion is not correct. Usually the center of a lens is polished the best. As you get closer to the edges, the lens often times is not polished as well. So the less lens shift you use, the more likely the sharper the image. Also throw distance comes into play. The closer the projector is mounted to the screen, the larger the exit image is, using more area of the lens. Best to try to mount the projector with lens center close to the top of the image or lower.

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 08-05-2014, 05:45 AM
Member
 
danrudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[QUOTE=AV Science Sales 5;26304297]Your math is correct, but your assumption that you have to use all of the lens shift before getting any distortion is not correct. Usually the center of a lens is polished the best. As you get closer to the edges, the lens often times is not polished as well. So the less lens shift you use, the more likely the sharper the image. Also throw distance comes into play. The closer the projector is mounted to the screen, the larger the exit image is, using more area of the lens. Best to try to mount the projector with lens center close to the top of the image or lower.[/QU]

THanks...
One thing, you mentioned that closer to the screen uses more lens area. I took that to mean thus, increased susceptibility to decreased sharpness as more of the outer lens is being used. Is the converse true, that if I am further from the screen I will have a sharper image as I will use more of the center of the lens? Plan is to be 18-19 feet back from screen (is that far?).
danrudy is offline  
Old 08-05-2014, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,025
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5759 Post(s)
Liked: 3707
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
[quote=danrudy;26304801]
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
Your math is correct, but your assumption that you have to use all of the lens shift before getting any distortion is not correct. Usually the center of a lens is polished the best. As you get closer to the edges, the lens often times is not polished as well. So the less lens shift you use, the more likely the sharper the image. Also throw distance comes into play. The closer the projector is mounted to the screen, the larger the exit image is, using more area of the lens. Best to try to mount the projector with lens center close to the top of the image or lower.[/QU]

THanks...
One thing, you mentioned that closer to the screen uses more lens area. I took that to mean thus, increased susceptibility to decreased sharpness as more of the outer lens is being used. Is the converse true, that if I am further from the screen I will have a sharper image as I will use more of the center of the lens? Plan is to be 18-19 feet back from screen (is that far?).
In theory yes. Image should be sharper with longer throw, but you give up brightness in doing so. There are always trade-offs.

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 08-05-2014, 05:02 PM
Member
 
danrudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
THe way it works out with the longer rod and being and the lens being even with the top of screen is that I have 24 inches of clearance in back row (on riser while sitting) and top of head...
will that be too much noise from the x500r or should I make the Pj higher higher and go a little into the vertical shift...lens will be about 18 feet from screen.
danrudy is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1205 Post(s)
Liked: 1186
Quote:
Originally Posted by danrudy View Post
THe way it works out with the longer rod and being and the lens being even with the top of screen is that I have 24 inches of clearance in back row (on riser while sitting) and top of head...
will that be too much noise from the x500r or should I make the Pj higher higher and go a little into the vertical shift...lens will be about 18 feet from screen.



I have mine on a shelf right behind me and basically on top of my head. I never notice any noise from the PJ. Certainly not while the stereo is on.

It's always in the last place you look.
cardoski is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17,025
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5759 Post(s)
Liked: 3707
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by danrudy View Post
THe way it works out with the longer rod and being and the lens being even with the top of screen is that I have 24 inches of clearance in back row (on riser while sitting) and top of head...
will that be too much noise from the x500r or should I make the Pj higher higher and go a little into the vertical shift...lens will be about 18 feet from screen.
If in low lamp, it definitely should be fine, unless you want dead silence during a silent moment in the movie.

mjgarrett100@gmail.com

My Baffle wall LCR build: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...-tpl-150h.html
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 08-06-2014, 10:04 AM
Member
 
danrudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardoski View Post
I have mine on a shelf right behind me and basically on top of my head. I never notice any noise from the PJ. Certainly not while the stereo is on.
Thanks....that puts my mind at ease...of course, i will have to tell people to be careful not to bang into it...LOL
cardoski likes this.
danrudy is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 10:07 AM
Member
 
danrudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
If in low lamp, it definitely should be fine, unless you want dead silence during a silent moment in the movie.

Thanks....i expect /hope to generally have it in low lamp. That was the part of the rational for the high gain screen
danrudy is offline  
Old 08-07-2014, 11:45 AM
Point Source
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 12,012
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3604 Post(s)
Liked: 2911
I have had my 4910 for over a month now I love it! Heckuva lot of different options for adjustment. So many that I am basically 100% confused from it all...
beastaudio is online now  
Old 08-07-2014, 11:57 AM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 10,676
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3231 Post(s)
Liked: 3189
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
I have had my 4910 for over a month now I love it! Heckuva lot of different options for adjustment. So many that I am basically 100% confused from it all...
Send me an email and I'll send you some settings to try.

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
Old 08-07-2014, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,928
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4276 Post(s)
Liked: 2140
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
I have had my 4910 for over a month now I love it! Heckuva lot of different options for adjustment. So many that I am basically 100% confused from it all...
To be completely honest, even with all the enhancement features turned off, the image looks fantastic. I personally only used the "enhance" feature under the MPC menu. I have it set to 20. Normally everything else is off, including eShift. Though, definitely play around to find what you personally like.
Seegs108 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Jvc
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off