Official JVC DILA-X500R / RS49U / RS4910U Owners Thread - Page 78 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 95Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2311 of 2332 Old 09-16-2014, 12:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,579
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 405
In checking into this more, from a trusted source, the firmware update, that I was told about is most likely the last update that was provided already.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2312 of 2332 Old 09-16-2014, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
In checking into this more, from a trusted source, the firmware update, that I was told about is most likely the last update that was provided already.
Are you referring to 1211.6? That is also on current shipping units.
curlyjive is offline  
post #2313 of 2332 Old 09-16-2014, 04:02 PM
Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys. I seem to be getting a lot of black crush. Curious if there's a setting that might change this. I'm still learning what each setting does, since they are very different from what I'm used to. Thanks.
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #2314 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturboaudi View Post
Hey guys. I seem to be getting a lot of black crush. Curious if there's a setting that might change this. I'm still learning what each setting does, since they are very different from what I'm used to. Thanks.
In the gamma section, try a value of 2.3 or 2.4 and adjust the dark correction up a few clicks. Also check your brightness and contrast with test pattern.
curlyjive is offline  
post #2315 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 08:19 AM
Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post
In the gamma section, try a value of 2.3 or 2.4 and adjust the dark correction up a few clicks. Also check your brightness and contrast with test pattern.
Ok thank. I have it set to 2.2 right and am using the DVE disc. I'll try those different values.
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #2316 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturboaudi View Post
Ok thank. I have it set to 2.2 right and am using the DVE disc. I'll try those different values.
Keep in mind, it's raising the "dark level" adjustment that will bring out more shadow detail. The 2.3 and 2.4 gamma presets will actually crush blacks more than the 2.2 setting, so the dark level adjustment is the key here.

Last edited by seanbryan; 09-17-2014 at 08:50 AM.
seanbryan is online now  
post #2317 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanbryan View Post
Keep in mind, it's raiding the "dark level" adjustment that will bring out more shadow detail. The 2.3 and 2.4 gamma presets will actually crush blacks more than the 2.2 setting, so the dark level adjustment is the key here.
They can. Not knowing what his starting gamma was, I suggested 2.3 or 2.4. 2.2 tends to run closer to 2 or below and can looked washed out. 2.3 or 2.4 with dark correction would probably look better and track closer to 2.3 with a dip to 2.2 at 5-10%
curlyjive is offline  
post #2318 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 12:06 PM
Member
 
twinturboaudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanbryan View Post
Keep in mind, it's raising the "dark level" adjustment that will bring out more shadow detail. The 2.3 and 2.4 gamma presets will actually crush blacks more than the 2.2 setting, so the dark level adjustment is the key here.
I was thinking that but figured I'd try it. When you say "dark level" are you talking brightness or is there something else in the menu? I'm coming from an epson 8500ub where it was pretty easy to understand what all the controls did. The Jvc, while far superior in picture quality, has a bit of a learning curve to the adjustments.
twinturboaudi is offline  
post #2319 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinturboaudi View Post
I was thinking that but figured I'd try it. When you say "dark level" are you talking brightness or is there something else in the menu? I'm coming from an epson 8500ub where it was pretty easy to understand what all the controls did. The Jvc, while far superior in picture quality, has a bit of a learning curve to the adjustments.
In the gamma menu there is the option to select your preset gamma curve (2.2, 2.3, 2.4, etc...) and below that you should see other adjustment options that can be applied to the gamma you select. I think they are called "picture tone", "?bright level?", and "dark level". It is the dark level adjustment you need to raise. This will bring out shadow detail in the darker APL images.
seanbryan is online now  
post #2320 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Yukichon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Hi everyone

Just ordered my 4910 from Mike at AVS and got an amazing deal !
Super excited to receive it and get it set up once my HT is built. Can anyone recommend a good ceiling mount?
I will be mounting it at 15' 6" as per Mikes recommendation, but would also like to know how low I should hang it?
Yukichon is offline  
post #2321 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 04:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,394
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukichon View Post
Hi everyone

Just ordered my 4910 from Mike at AVS and got an amazing deal !
Super excited to receive it and get it set up once my HT is built. Can anyone recommend a good ceiling mount?
I will be mounting it at 15' 6" as per Mikes recommendation, but would also like to know how low I should hang it?
Mike is awesome to work with and I am sure he can give you recommendations. In my case with my RS4810, I went with the Chief RPMA and 18" extension from ceiling (based on his recommendation). The mount has worked perfectly.

DavidHir is online now  
post #2322 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 04:50 PM
Member
 
jjcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukichon View Post
Hi everyone

Just ordered my 4910 from Mike at AVS and got an amazing deal !
Super excited to receive it and get it set up once my HT is built. Can anyone recommend a good ceiling mount?
I will be mounting it at 15' 6" as per Mikes recommendation, but would also like to know how low I should hang it?
Chief RPMA281 is the mount with JVC-specific adapter plate. RPMAU includes universal adapter arms instead. I have the RPMA281 on my JVC and the RSMAU (smaller version of the RPMAU) on my Mits. Both work great, I think the universal arms add a little more visual bulk to the mount (which may or may not be important to you, if its even visible depending on your mounting location).

- Jeff

WTB: PSA XS15 or XS15se, PM me.

Small HT: JVC RS4910, Mits HC7900DW, Falcon 2.35:1 100-wide, Marantz SR7008, Triad Gold Omni SE & Silver Surrounds, PSA XS15-base, Oppo 103D, Tivo Mini, HTPC
jjcook is offline  
post #2323 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Yukichon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post
Mike is awesome to work with and I am sure he can give you recommendations. In my case with my RS4810, I went with the Chief RPMA and 18" extension from ceiling (based on his recommendation). The mount has worked perfectly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjcook View Post
Chief RPMA281 is the mount with JVC-specific adapter plate. RPMAU includes universal adapter arms instead. I have the RPMA281 on my JVC and the RSMAU (smaller version of the RPMAU) on my Mits. Both work great, I think the universal arms add a little more visual bulk to the mount (which may or may not be important to you, if its even visible depending on your mounting location).
Thanks for the advice, is this the correct one? http://www.amazon.com/Chief-RPMA281-Custom-Elite-Mount/dp/B004SU2LD2
Yukichon is offline  
post #2324 of 2332 Old 09-17-2014, 06:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,579
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukichon View Post
Hi everyone

Just ordered my 4910 from Mike at AVS and got an amazing deal !
Super excited to receive it and get it set up once my HT is built. Can anyone recommend a good ceiling mount?
I will be mounting it at 15' 6" as per Mikes recommendation, but would also like to know how low I should hang it?
The RPAU does not fit the JVC projectors. I would go with:

RPMA281
CMA101
CMS???

The CMS??? is the drop tube. Would need to know screen height, screen placement, ceiling height and distance from ceiling to top of image. Call tomorrow and we can go over this info and work out what length drop tube you need.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #2325 of 2332 Old 09-18-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 7,103
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Have a friend that just installed a X500 and is looking for discrete codes for lens memories. Anyone here know if there are discrete codes for this that can point me in the right direction? THX.

Senior Video Editor
Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kris Deering is offline  
post #2326 of 2332 Old 09-18-2014, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post
Have a friend that just installed a X500 and is looking for discrete codes for lens memories. Anyone here know if there are discrete codes for this that can point me in the right direction? THX.
RS232? If so, here ya go.

____
Axel

Axel is online now  
post #2327 of 2332 Old 09-18-2014, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Will the 4910 be bright enough for a 125in diagonal 2.35 screen' it is a 1.1 gain white screen. I also like 3d' will the 4910 also be bright enough to light it up. I do like a some what bright pic. My room is pretty much a bat cave. Basement no lights 'black drape walls; Flat black ceiling and black carpet. My current epson 8350 is mounted 13ft 6in back. Just above top of screen. I have low ceiling down their like 7ft 8. I am stuck between the Epson 5030 and Sony hw40' I know they are bright with decent pic. But I know the 4910 will maybe be better. Just worried about a Dim image and the handshake issues. I use a Darbee also. Thanks for any help.
hotpepper007 is online now  
post #2328 of 2332 Old Yesterday, 12:03 PM
Member
 
surrey lad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
iRule

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnelson Young View Post
Do you guys find the network connection to be unstable? I use iRule and the only component I have problems with is the 4910. It's on-line maybe 50% of the time, the rest--mac mini, Onkyo 3009, Roku3, AppleTV are up 99% of the time.

Same here, very frustrating indeed. Things did improve with the latest firmware so now at 85% on-line. But since the update I have discovered a bug, with the x500 on the network and iRule connected to it I can't use any of the lens control features ie zoom, image shift etc using iRule or the JVC remote. I'm convinced its the PJREQ command causing the problem reason being within the first few days of upgrading the firmware my lens memory 'names' were strangely renamed PJREQ...weird.


When I close the iRule app on my nexus I can use the lens control features using the JVC remote.
surrey lad is online now  
post #2329 of 2332 Old Today, 12:08 AM
Member
 
dmoneyman2323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Anyone know if the Calman 5 auto calibration software has come out for this projector yet? I was looking to buy a i1Display Pro and would like to do a basic calibration, just waiting on the software to come out.
dmoneyman2323 is online now  
post #2330 of 2332 Old Today, 04:09 AM
Member
 
surrey lad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoneyman2323 View Post
Anyone know if the Calman 5 auto calibration software has come out for this projector yet? I was looking to buy a i1Display Pro and would like to do a basic calibration, just waiting on the software to come out.
Not yet, I bought an i1Display Pro about 2-3 months ago thinking the auto cal feature was imminent. Its gone extremely quiet on calmans forums regarding this.

Last edited by surrey lad; Today at 09:38 AM. Reason: poor spelling due to red wine!
surrey lad is online now  
post #2331 of 2332 Old Today, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by surrey lad View Post
Not yet, I bought an i1Display Pro about 2-3 months ago thinking the auto cal feature was emanate. Its gone extremely quite on calmans forums regarding this.

Same here, I was using HCFR but paid for Cal man for auto cal, pretty disappointed we have nothing.

James Reid:D
cardoski is online now  
post #2332 of 2332 Old Today, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Curious to hear from those who have this PJ and a 150in scope screen. Building a new HT and will be replacing my 115in screen. I know there are calculators, I am specifically interested in actual owners opinions. :-)

How is the brightness?
what is your throw distance?

James Reid:D
cardoski is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off