Ultimate Sony VPL-VW500ES/VW600ES - Information Thread! - Page 14 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 403 Old 09-09-2014, 05:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,725
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 940 Post(s)
Liked: 714
An incomplete question. What is the maximum bit depth it can accept at 3840 x 2160 at 4:2:0 60? is that your question?

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 403 Old 03-06-2015, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
roxiedog13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North 48 °
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 99
600ES lamp

I'm now over the 500hr mark and I've said from the beginning that I would change it out at this point. Well, I'm there and I cannot tell whether or not there is any light loss, my eyes tell me no but I have not measured in the beginning or now with a light meter.

To those of you that have measured ( assuming someone has) what kind of lumen loss could I expect at this point, factoring 50% at high lamp ?
roxiedog13 is online now  
post #393 of 403 Old 03-06-2015, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 6,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxiedog13 View Post
I'm now over the 500hr mark and I've said from the beginning that I would change it out at this point. Well, I'm there and I cannot tell whether or not there is any light loss, my eyes tell me no but I have not measured in the beginning or now with a light meter.

To those of you that have measured ( assuming someone has) what kind of lumen loss could I expect at this point, factoring 50% at high lamp ?


While I'll try and measure mine this weekend, be glad that you can't tell if there has been any light loss. That tells me that it's minimal.

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Call me on my direct line - 585-671-2972, 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday
Email me at craig@avscience.com http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SIM2, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #394 of 403 Old 03-06-2015, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
roxiedog13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North 48 °
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Peer View Post
While I'll try and measure mine this weekend, be glad that you can't tell if there has been any light loss. That tells me that it's minimal.
I think I'm ok too, loss is probably minimal, hardly perceptible , I think I would have noticed . My original S.I. Solar 4K 1.3 gain never seemed to be bright enough in
3D but somewhere along the journey I learned to appreciate a darker calibrated picture. I'm less likely to think a given picture is too dim now, instead I appreciate the blacks, shadow
detail, contrast and sharpness. I picked up a little light and sharpness with my Panamorph DC1 and a new 136" 2.35:1 @ 1.8 gain curved Draper TecVision . The original Solar was
125" 2.35:1 @ 1.3 gain and flat.

Well, guess I will continue to appreciate the quality until I start to perceive a problem. Unless others can confirm I have lost a substantial amount of lumens I will leave well enough
alone. 2D as always is perfect, 3D is on the edge of appearing to be a little dim , mostly when the movie itself has a dark setting.
roxiedog13 is online now  
post #395 of 403 Old 03-06-2015, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,502
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxiedog13 View Post
Well, guess I will continue to appreciate the quality until I start to perceive a problem. Unless others can confirm I have lost a substantial amount of lumens I will leave well enough
alone. 2D as always is perfect, 3D is on the edge of appearing to be a little dim , mostly when the movie itself has a dark setting.
A VERY POSITIVE ATTITUDE - "I can't wait until I can REPORT a PROBLEM"
drhankz is offline  
post #396 of 403 Old 03-06-2015, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxiedog13 View Post
I'm now over the 500hr mark and I've said from the beginning that I would change it out at this point. Well, I'm there and I cannot tell whether or not there is any light loss, my eyes tell me no but I have not measured in the beginning or now with a light meter.

To those of you that have measured ( assuming someone has) what kind of lumen loss could I expect at this point, factoring 50% at high lamp?
I haven't measured, so feel free to ignore this unscientific input.

My lamp has 940 hours on it and I see no perceptible difference from new. Over 90% of my viewing has been in low-lamp mode, with high-lamp only for the occasional 3D movie.

I do tend to tweak (slightly) brightness and color settings when a particular source looks wrong. So maybe I've been compensating all along. But I ran the 600's auto-self-calibrate function, and it left everything alone and didn't want to change anything. Also don't forget this PJ has an auto-reminder function which will prompt for bulb replacement.

That said, I did buy a new bulb to keep as a spare just in case they go out of production. (Stranger things have happened.) I installed the new bulb temporarily just to test and didn't watch any content. Lamp replacement is easy and straightforward, even with an inverted ceiling mount.

OPPO BDP-103, Comcast DVR, Sony FMP-X1 4K server
Marantz AV8801 pre/pro, Yamaha MX-A5000 amp
Sony VPL-VW600ES projector, Stewart StudioTek130 103" diag screen
7 Thiel speakers (3 SCS4, 2 PowerPoint, 2 PowerPlane), 2 JL Audio E110 subs
Harmony Ultimate remote
bweissman is online now  
post #397 of 403 Old 03-06-2015, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
George Kouzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Canada
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweissman View Post
That said, I did buy a new bulb to keep as a spare just in case they go out of production. (Stranger things have happened.) I installed the new bulb temporarily just to test and didn't watch any content. Lamp replacement is easy and straightforward, even with an inverted ceiling mount.
Would any of these steps reset the lamp timer?
George Kouzev is online now  
post #398 of 403 Old 03-06-2015, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Kouzev View Post
Would any of these steps reset the lamp timer?
No, you have to reset the lamp timer manually.

OPPO BDP-103, Comcast DVR, Sony FMP-X1 4K server
Marantz AV8801 pre/pro, Yamaha MX-A5000 amp
Sony VPL-VW600ES projector, Stewart StudioTek130 103" diag screen
7 Thiel speakers (3 SCS4, 2 PowerPoint, 2 PowerPlane), 2 JL Audio E110 subs
Harmony Ultimate remote
bweissman is online now  
post #399 of 403 Old Yesterday, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Jare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys,

is it a huge problem if I keep pj on the max zoom (it is 3,3m away from 110 inch screen)? Because it seems that I can not get full focus on some parts of the picture? Also, could this be a problem coming from the pj not being aligned with the screen?

I can focus properly either left or right bottom half of the screen, while the rest is fine (using green screen from pj directly).

Or there could be some other issues?

Thanks
Jare is offline  
post #400 of 403 Old Yesterday, 07:55 AM
Member
 
Jare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also, I already asked this but did not receive an answer. I have Oppo 93 and my question is what should I use, RGB video, Ycbcr 4:2:2 or Ycbcr 4:4:4? I know from previous talks about Oppo 93 that it was recommended to use Sharpness on it on the level of 3 (there is an explanation on Oppo thread). Now, since this is 4K machine, should the same apply? I have Darbee in the chain as well, but use this on 35% level, as recommended here, with RC on 20.
Jare is offline  
post #401 of 403 Old Yesterday, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jare View Post
Also, I already asked this but did not receive an answer. I have Oppo 93 and my question is what should I use, RGB video, Ycbcr 4:2:2 or Ycbcr 4:4:4? I know from previous talks about Oppo 93 that it was recommended to use Sharpness on it on the level of 3 (there is an explanation on Oppo thread). Now, since this is 4K machine, should the same apply? I have Darbee in the chain as well, but use this on 35% level, as recommended here, with RC on 20.
Set the Oppo to 4:4:4. I don't have a reference handy, but I recall the projector fails the chroma burst test when sent 4:2:2.

Not sure about your focus problem. Have you performed a panel alignment?

Finally, I think you're over-processing the signal with sharpness, Darbee, and RC. Does it really look good that way and show no over-sharpening artifacts?

OPPO BDP-103, Comcast DVR, Sony FMP-X1 4K server
Marantz AV8801 pre/pro, Yamaha MX-A5000 amp
Sony VPL-VW600ES projector, Stewart StudioTek130 103" diag screen
7 Thiel speakers (3 SCS4, 2 PowerPoint, 2 PowerPlane), 2 JL Audio E110 subs
Harmony Ultimate remote
bweissman is online now  
post #402 of 403 Old Yesterday, 10:33 AM
Member
 
Jare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, from what I red in the other thread, people are using darbee and RC together, with the figures I provided. But, I am concerned about Oppo sharpening. In my opinion picture looks great, but I am no calibrator.
Jare is offline  
post #403 of 403 Old Today, 01:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
roxiedog13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North 48 °
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jare View Post
Well, from what I red in the other thread, people are using darbee and RC together, with the figures I provided. But, I am concerned about Oppo sharpening. In my opinion picture looks great, but I am no calibrator.

I only use Darbee for DVD even then only 35% or so . If I play a HD Blu-Ray I turn Darbee off all together, may run some RC if the picture requires it. Always leave upscale to 4K on though.
If I run Darbee and RC I find the picture overcooked, gets worst instead of sharper, hard to explain . Overcooked is as scientific as I can come up with right now. Maybe over processed would be
better .
roxiedog13 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw500es
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off