JVC DLA-X500, DLA-X700, DLA-X900, RS49,RS57,RS67 HDMI Problems - Page 20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 661 Old 06-22-2014, 08:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post
Make sure you do not have a Com port conflict.

First Update Step
Double-click on the Flash Magic icon on your
desktop to open a Flash Magic window.

1. Click on the ìSelect Deviceî button,
choose ìLPC1788î in the ARM
Cortex folder, then click the ìOKî
button:

2. Select the appropriate COM port. Must be the same on projector and PC to work.

3. Select ì57600î for the Baud Rate.
4. Select ìNone (ISP)î for the Interface.
5. Type in ì12î in the Oscillator (Mhz)
field.
6. Check the box for ìErase all
Flash+Code Rd Protî
7. Click on ìBrowseî and select the
"Main_boot_ver2.hex" update file in
the ìJVC2013UPDATEî folder.
8. Check the box for ìVerify after programmingî
9. Click on the ìStartî button

*This first update will take appro
There is no COM port on the projector. Make sure the COM port that is selected in the software matches the COM port that the PC is using for RS232 or for your USB>RS232 adaptor if you are going that route (you can find this in device manager).

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 661 Old 06-23-2014, 02:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
There is no COM port on the projector. Make sure the COM port that is selected in the software matches the COM port that the PC is using for RS232 or for your USB>RS232 adaptor if you are going that route (you can find this in device manager).
Sorry, I was thinking of the usual way that most connections are made where the com ports must be the same. I would also suggest that you check that you have no Com port conflicts from the device manager and that the USB-RS232 is recognized in the device manager.
rwestley is offline  
post #573 of 661 Old 06-23-2014, 09:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Badas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There is a new Firmware. Like I reported last week. I just got it.

I have it on a USB.

File name is R1211.6_MK2014

I got the firmware from DreamVision in Europe.

I can't tell you what it fixes. However there is a mention to HDMI fixes.

Push JVC America to release it.

I haven't got the cable so I will install in the next week.
Badas is offline  
post #574 of 661 Old 06-24-2014, 03:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cischico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badas View Post
There is a new Firmware. Like I reported last week. I just got it.

I have it on a USB.

File name is R1211.6_MK2014

I got the firmware from DreamVision in Europe.

I can't tell you what it fixes. However there is a mention to HDMI fixes.

Push JVC America to release it.

I haven't got the cable so I will install in the next week.
That may be for the Yunzi version or whatever it is they call their JVC clones, but should work for regular JVC models too.
cischico is offline  
post #575 of 661 Old 06-25-2014, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 24
please post the new firmware
sanderdvd is offline  
post #576 of 661 Old 06-26-2014, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
x500 bricked?

Hi all,

Today I tried to upgrade my jvc dla-x500. While writing the firmware, the program gave a Communications error and stopped.

I could nog connect anymore, I tried several times to reconnect. No resultaat.

Then I powered off and on. Still no connection possible with the rs232 cable.

The red standby light is also not on anymore. Have I bricked the x500? Any tips would be welcomed?
gibert is offline  
post #577 of 661 Old 06-26-2014, 11:20 AM
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 9,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibert View Post
Hi all,

Today I tried to upgrade my jvc dla-x500. While writing the firmware, the program gave a Communications error and stopped.

I could nog connect anymore, I tried several times to reconnect. No resultaat.

Then I powered off and on. Still no connection possible with the rs232 cable.

The red standby light is also not on anymore. Have I bricked the x500? Any tips would be welcomed?
Greetings,

Contact JVC Support. Hopefully they can walk you through reestablishing a connection and completing the update. I suspect the projector is locked in the update mode.

Good luck!

Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
post #578 of 661 Old 06-26-2014, 11:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibert View Post
Hi all,

Today I tried to upgrade my jvc dla-x500. While writing the firmware, the program gave a Communications error and stopped.

I could nog connect anymore, I tried several times to reconnect. No resultaat.

Then I powered off and on. Still no connection possible with the rs232 cable.

The red standby light is also not on anymore. Have I bricked the x500? Any tips would be welcomed?
Solution:
1. Plug in the projector.
2. You should still see an amber light on the LAN connector. That means it is not bricked.
3. If you do, figure out why the update failed in the first place (are you using the right cable? Are you using one of the recommended USB>RS232 dongles? Are there any issues with the PC settings?), then start the update again.
4. You will need to do both the Flash Magic and the JVC Upgrader regardless of your previous firmware.
5. Follow the instructions from JVC to the letter. For Flash Magic you need to be in the special update mode. For JVC Upgrader, you don’t. etc.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #579 of 661 Old 06-26-2014, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
Solution:
1. Plug in the projector.
2. You should still see an amber light on the LAN connector. That means it is not bricked.
3. If you do, figure out why the update failed in the first place (are you using the right cable? Are you using one of the recommended USB>RS232 dongles? Are there any issues with the PC settings?), then start the update again.
4. You will need to do both the Flash Magic and the JVC Upgrader regardless of your previous firmware.
5. Follow the instructions from JVC to the letter. For Flash Magic you need to be in the special update mode. For JVC Upgrader, you don’t. etc.
Amber light is indeed still on.

I still have a laptop with rs232 port. I use a rs232 crossed nul modem cable. The first time a immediately got a communication error. The second time the update started. I have no clue why the error happened. Cable seems to be standard and the right pin connection.

I' m going to try.

Keep you updates.
gibert is offline  
post #580 of 661 Old 06-26-2014, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OK magic flash worked. Red standby light came back after restart.

The firmware update started again. It connected, started writing and again communication error and stopped.

What is wrong? Second time used magic flash again and it worked flawless. Did not try another firmware update anymore.

Projector can be started. However, the menus are shown as vertical stripes. So I need the firmware update for sure now.

What do I do wrong with the update procedure?
gibert is offline  
post #581 of 661 Old 06-26-2014, 04:36 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibert View Post
Amber light is indeed still on.

I still have a laptop with rs232 port. I use a rs232 crossed nul modem cable. The first time a immediately got a communication error. The second time the update started. I have no clue why the error happened. Cable seems to be standard and the right pin connection.

I' m going to try.

Keep you updates.
Has the cable you are using been tested by others? In other words, did you buy a known product that has already been tested and confirmed? I would try a different cable.

When you do the second part:

1. Don’t put it in an update mode. Just unplug and replug the power.

2. When you launch the utility, you need to select the com port and the file path to the firmware file. There should only be one com port choice, which should match the one that was used for Flash Magic.

3. When you start the firmware update, all three lights on the front of the projector should come on (different colors).

4. The whole process for the 2nd half should take less than five minutes.

5. At the end, only the red power light should be on.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .

Last edited by AV Science Sales 5; 06-26-2014 at 04:46 PM.
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #582 of 661 Old 06-26-2014, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Badas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
please post the new firmware
I will try first. Just got the cables required. Busy weekend. I will try next week.

Also. How do I post a firmware file for others to use? Will I get in trouble?
Badas is offline  
post #583 of 661 Old 06-26-2014, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cischico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badas View Post
I will try first. Just got the cables required. Busy weekend. I will try next week.

Also. How do I post a firmware file for others to use? Will I get in trouble?

Maybe email it to AV Science 5 (Mike). His email is in his signature. He could probably validate it for the rest of us and decide to share or not.
cischico is offline  
post #584 of 661 Old 06-26-2014, 08:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Badas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cischico View Post
Maybe email it to AV Science 5 (Mike). His email is in his signature. He could probably validate it for the rest of us and decide to share or not.
Good idea. I will do it now.

Edit: I have sent it to Mike.

Last edited by Badas; 06-26-2014 at 09:05 PM.
Badas is offline  
post #585 of 661 Old 06-27-2014, 12:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
Has the cable you are using been tested by others? In other words, did you buy a known product that has already been tested and confirmed? I would try a different cable.

When you do the second part:

1. Don’t put it in an update mode. Just unplug and replug the power.

2. When you launch the utility, you need to select the com port and the file path to the firmware file. There should only be one com port choice, which should match the one that was used for Flash Magic.

3. When you start the firmware update, all three lights on the front of the projector should come on (different colors).

4. The whole process for the 2nd half should take less than five minutes.

5. At the end, only the red power light should be on.
Step 1 to 3 are ok, but the communication fails.

Can you recommend a specific cable. I figured that any cable fitting thr jvc specifivation and pin configuration would do the job.

At the mean time, I tried several times to update the firmware. Also modifying the settings of the rs232 port. Every time the updates stop while writing the firmware with the message communication failed.

Magic flash every time can write the file. It's really strange.

Update:

I contacted the jvc people and they said that there are four different nul modem cables. I innitially used a cable with full handshaking. That was wrong. That cable gave me the comm errors.

So I started soldering cables. I first made a rs232 cable crossed with loop back shaking. This cable worked immediately and updated succesful.

The pin configuration is;
con1 con2
2 -------- 3
3 -------- 2
5 -------- 5
both connectors have internal connection between 1-4-6 and connection between 7-8. pin 9 is not used.

Last edited by gibert; 06-27-2014 at 06:35 AM.
gibert is offline  
post #586 of 661 Old 06-27-2014, 06:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by cischico View Post
Maybe email it to AV Science 5 (Mike). His email is in his signature. He could probably validate it for the rest of us and decide to share or not.
The new firmware does one thing and one thing only: It corrects a communication issue with certain controllers (RTI, Savant, etc.) when using RS232. That’s it. If you are not using RS232, and you have version 1211.1, you’re good. In other words, don't bother with this update. The update will be up on JVC's site in a few days.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #587 of 661 Old 06-27-2014, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cischico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
The new firmware does one thing and one thing only: It corrects a communication issue with certain controllers (RTI, Savant, etc.) when using RS232. That’s it. If you are not using RS232, and you have version 1211.1, you’re good. In other words, don't bother with this update. The update will be up on JVC's site in a few days.

Good to know! Thanks Mike!
cischico is offline  
post #588 of 661 Old 06-27-2014, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
What did the last update offer over the first update? I'm still running the first update that came out shortly after the models were released.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #589 of 661 Old 06-27-2014, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
What did the last update offer over the first update? I'm still running the first update that came out shortly after the models were released.

it was supposed to help those still having hdmi issues...not much more details were provided. Hdmi working fine? do nothing...hdmi problems after first update? try upgrading. (in my case, the second update didnt improve anything...)

Stef
stef2 is online now  
post #590 of 661 Old 06-27-2014, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Badas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
The new firmware does one thing and one thing only: It corrects a communication issue with certain controllers (RTI, Savant, etc.) when using RS232. That’s it. If you are not using RS232, and you have version 1211.1, you’re good. In other words, don't bother with this update. The update will be up on JVC's site in a few days.
Cool. Even tho I got it I won't bother installing. If DreamVision keep sending me updates should I send to you to look at?
Badas is offline  
post #591 of 661 Old 06-27-2014, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by stef2 View Post
it was supposed to help those still having hdmi issues...not much more details were provided. Hdmi working fine? do nothing...hdmi problems after first update? try upgrading. (in my case, the second update didnt improve anything...)

Improvement of connectivity to a certain equipment.
Improvement of projector control with external command codes (like RS232C, LAN etc.).

This is the description of the March 2014 release. Has anybody really experienced an HDMI connection improvement after installing this one over the initial January 2014 release?
StevenC56 is offline  
post #592 of 661 Old 06-28-2014, 04:27 AM
Member
 
Nightjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
please post the new firmware
Available here (r1211.6):

http://pro.jvc.com/prof/support/productupdate.jsp
http://support.jvc.com/consumer/custrel/index.jsp

Have fun!
Nightjar is offline  
post #593 of 661 Old 06-30-2014, 10:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Current special on the JVC X700. Comes with free lamp. Call us details.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #594 of 661 Old 07-08-2014, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Badas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightjar View Post
I stuck r1211.6 in a few nights ago to see if they have fixed the verticle banding issue with CMD on low. They haven't.
I wish they would. It is one feature I would like to use.

Firmware was easy peasy to load. All calibration settings stayed as well.
Badas is offline  
post #595 of 661 Old 07-08-2014, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
jjcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Thanks for checking on the banding.

Mike, has the CMD banding been communicated to JVC?

For Sale: Navitar SSW065 short throw conversion lens

WTB: PSA XS15 or XS15se, PM me.

Small HT: JVC RS4910, Mits HC7900DW, Falcon 2.35:1 100-wide, Marantz SR7008, Triad Gold Omni SE & Silver Surrounds, PSA XS15-base, Oppo 103D, Tivo Mini, HTPC
jjcook is online now  
post #596 of 661 Old 07-09-2014, 11:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjcook View Post
Thanks for checking on the banding.

Mike, has the CMD banding been communicated to JVC?
I have not heard any talk of a correction for this. Other projectors (more expensive) have had slight banding issues. Most do not notice the banding.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #597 of 661 Old 07-09-2014, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
jjcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
I have not heard any talk of a correction for this. Other projectors (more expensive) have had slight banding issues. Most do not notice the banding.
Thanks.

Just for my information, is the banding you are referring to on other projectors similar to the JVC banding, i.e., certain scenes show regularly delineated vertical band transition lines, or are you referring to (don't know the term) non-gradual color transitions but with no structure beyond what the image has (maybe like a bad calibration would produce)?

Also, just curious, what are some examples of the other more expensive projectors that have similar problems?

I may be hopelessly addicted to interpolated frame insertion -- I just picked up a W1070 to complement my 4910 for gaming + causal TV use but the lack of interpolation for the TV content is sometimes distracting.

For Sale: Navitar SSW065 short throw conversion lens

WTB: PSA XS15 or XS15se, PM me.

Small HT: JVC RS4910, Mits HC7900DW, Falcon 2.35:1 100-wide, Marantz SR7008, Triad Gold Omni SE & Silver Surrounds, PSA XS15-base, Oppo 103D, Tivo Mini, HTPC
jjcook is online now  
post #598 of 661 Old 07-09-2014, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Badas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjcook View Post
Thanks.

Just for my information, is the banding you are referring to on other projectors similar to the JVC banding, i.e., certain scenes show regularly delineated vertical band transition lines, or are you referring to (don't know the term) non-gradual color transitions but with no structure beyond what the image has (maybe like a bad calibration would produce)?

Also, just curious, what are some examples of the other more expensive projectors that have similar problems?

I may be hopelessly addicted to interpolated frame insertion -- I just picked up a W1070 to complement my 4910 for gaming + causal TV use but the lack of interpolation for the TV content is sometimes distracting.
I agree with you.

CMD in low is really nice. I can't spot the soap opera effect but it reduces judder a lot. I would really use this and really like if it worked well.

Those vertical bands are just too awful to use. I wish there was some way to communicate to JVC about fixing it.
Badas is offline  
post #599 of 661 Old 07-12-2014, 02:45 PM
Member
 
tomhahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, East Bay
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badas View Post
I agree with you.

CMD in low is really nice. I can't spot the soap opera effect but it reduces judder a lot. I would really use this and really like if it worked well.

Those vertical bands are just too awful to use. I wish there was some way to communicate to JVC about fixing it.
Totally agree. They are particularly visible in darker colored areas with smooth gradations. Makes the CMD unusable in my opinion. It's the one feature I really miss from my old Sony. If they can't fix this problem, my next projector will definitely be a Sony again.
tomhahn is offline  
post #600 of 661 Old 07-13-2014, 08:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Exclamation

I bought my X700 refurbished a few weeks ago, it has been great and produces the best picture I've ever seen from a projector. Anyway, last night I noticed a strange noise when the projector is turned on just as before the DILA shows up. It sounds like something opening maybe iris or something but its loud and easily heard, that noise only comes when the projector is turned on and doesnt seem to affect the picture or funcationality. What could it be? anyone else having that issue? if its an issue at all?
Witchhunter is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , Jvc Dla X700r , Jvc Dla X900r , Jvc Dla Rs66
Gear in this thread - X900r by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off