JVC DLA-X500, DLA-X700, DLA-X900, RS49,RS57,RS67 HDMI Problems - Page 24 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #691 of 704 Old 04-26-2015, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 78
I also had an issue with HDMI 1 using an output from my Lumagen. Switching to HDMI 2 solved the problem.
I spoke to Lumagen about this and they told me that they had experienced the same issue with different HDMI inputs in the past from several manufacturers.
rwestley is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 704 Old 04-26-2015, 04:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Ugh, it looks like I'll have to just switch to HDMI input 2. Which does create some issues for me.

Right now I've added an additional right angle HDMI connector, to help my HDMI cable clear the rest of the cables, allowing my projector to
rise up and down on the projector lift. But this means I now have 2 HDMI adaptors between the end of a 45' long HDMI cable and my projector,
and I'm worried that adding yet another connector in the chain will weaken the signal. Opinions, anyone, on that?
R Harkness is offline  
post #693 of 704 Old 04-26-2015, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Harkness View Post
Ugh, it looks like I'll have to just switch to HDMI input 2. Which does create some issues for me.

Right now I've added an additional right angle HDMI connector, to help my HDMI cable clear the rest of the cables, allowing my projector to
rise up and down on the projector lift. But this means I now have 2 HDMI adaptors between the end of a 45' long HDMI cable and my projector,
and I'm worried that adding yet another connector in the chain will weaken the signal. Opinions, anyone, on that?
Monoprice has all kinds of extenders and "port savers' You might be able to find a way to only use one. The 45' cable is very long and you many need some kind of HDMI extender to get things to work. I am using a 30' Redmere cable and I had problems using HDMI 1 from the Lumagen. That being said HDMI II has been fine so far.
rwestley is online now  
post #694 of 704 Old 04-26-2015, 08:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolicalpanda View Post
I have similar issue. However I seem to have found a workaround. I turn on the source and the receiver before I turn on the projector. So that when the projector starts, it has a source feed ready. This seemed to have solved my problem.

I get more consistent handshakes by turning the PJ on first in my setup.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #695 of 704 Old 04-28-2015, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
OldMike2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have an older model than those generally in question here, its an RS60U, moderately happy with the unit but unlikely to buy JVC again. (JVC service/support in Canada is a joke, I think they supplied the Klingons with the invisibility cloaking technology)


I used to have all sorts of handshake issues, I have an Oppo 95, Bell satellite receiver as sources all routed through a Lexicon MC12HD.


By trial and error I found that by turning on the projector first, allowing it to fully boot, followed by the lexicon fully booted, before turning on the source usually gives a trouble free handshake. One exception is with the Satellite receiver, occasionally it will not confirm and the solution is remove power and reboot the receiver. I have noticed that leaving the system with the satellite receiver selected as source in the Lexicon seems to lessen the occurrence of no handshake. Could well be the receiver rather than the projector.


The above is offered as a helping hand, the rest of this below is a "rant", so stop here if you are a JVC aficionado and don't want to be offended.


I appreciate the benefits from the advancement in technology but I'm just sick and tired of the push for "bigger and better" in the world of consumer electronics. Too many products are released to the market before being fully sorted, as was my RS60.


I've learned my lesson, I will not buy bleeding edge technology again, it usually ends up bleeding my bank account. In the case of the RS60 not so, but only because I never heard back from JVC regards some of my concerns about the picture quality despite multiple attempts to contact them by e-mail and phone. Seems they only support Boom boxes and other high volume lower end products.


My next projector will likely be the 1100 Sony, it may be long in the tooth but from all reports it seems it is stable and well supported, a request for a price quotation was responded to immediately by a Sony rep. No more "high performance" JVC's for me, they remind me of a kit-car Ferrari versus a real Ferrari, lots of promise, lots of show but not so much go when the rubber hits the road.
OldMike2 is offline  
post #696 of 704 Old 04-28-2015, 02:12 PM
sr
Senior Member
 
sr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I hear you! And I agree that Sony tech support is far better. Systems are so sophisticated today that you practically need an engineering degree to understand which option to choose. One setting that seemed to yield the most benefit was to set all source components to output 1080p, not AUTO. This way the projector does not have to sync to a different resolution when you switch sources.
sr is offline  
post #697 of 704 Old 04-28-2015, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Alright guys. Just swapped my HW55ES for an RS4910 and got everything hooked up and.....no HDMI signal detected on input 1 or 2. Direct HDMI cable from my Anthem receiver to the projector (same exact setup as with my Sony).

The projector is still running one of the very early firmware versions (r1178.1)...waiting on my Keyspan adapter to update to newest firmware. Before I freak out is it most likely a firmware issue that should be fixed with the latest update?

The only other thing I am worried about if it is not the firmware is a "kink" in my HDMI cable. I am using a heavy duty 50ft High Speed HDMI cable from Monoprice (very rigid) and I had to bend it almost 180 degrees for a few seconds to secure it. Is it possible to break an HDMI cable from bending?

Thanks!

Last edited by BigCoolJesus; 04-28-2015 at 08:04 PM.
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #698 of 704 Old 04-29-2015, 03:12 AM
sr
Senior Member
 
sr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 30
When I had initial setup issues, I connected a spare blue ray player with a short HDMI cable to the projector as a test and all worked fine on both inputs. Then I would connect the blue ray player to the end of my approximate 50 foot cable and do the same test. Then move the player to the receiver. I doubt bending the heavy cable actually severed any wires. You'll get to the bottom of it once you move down the chain.
sr is offline  
post #699 of 704 Old 04-29-2015, 04:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I threw in a new Monoprice Redmere 30ft High Speed HDMI Cable in with my RS232 cable purchase for good measure just in case.
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #700 of 704 Old 04-29-2015, 09:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 18,317
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
Alright guys. Just swapped my HW55ES for an RS4910 and got everything hooked up and.....no HDMI signal detected on input 1 or 2. Direct HDMI cable from my Anthem receiver to the projector (same exact setup as with my Sony).

The projector is still running one of the very early firmware versions (r1178.1)...waiting on my Keyspan adapter to update to newest firmware. Before I freak out is it most likely a firmware issue that should be fixed with the latest update?

The only other thing I am worried about if it is not the firmware is a "kink" in my HDMI cable. I am using a heavy duty 50ft High Speed HDMI cable from Monoprice (very rigid) and I had to bend it almost 180 degrees for a few seconds to secure it. Is it possible to break an HDMI cable from bending?

Thanks!
It certanly can be a firmware issue. I had issues with my 57 and HDMI signal and the latest firmware took care of it.

BUT....you need to take SR's advice a couple posts back.....take a blu ray player and short hdmi cable direct to both inputs to test if you can get a signal leaving your long cable out of the loop.

Let us know what you find out?

Ron

"Retired" AVS Moderator
For Sale: PhilipsHUE 3 Par16 bulbs for $38 each shipped ($22 savings per bulb vs Amazon) buy all 3 for $99 shipped
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/211-ac...r16-bulbs.html
rboster is online now  
post #701 of 704 Old 04-29-2015, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post
It certanly can be a firmware issue. I had issues with my 57 and HDMI signal and the latest firmware took care of it.

BUT....you need to take SR's advice a couple posts back.....take a blu ray player and short hdmi cable direct to both inputs to test if you can get a signal leaving your long cable out of the loop.

Let us know what you find out?

Ron
I will. I'll be doing all my final setup/troubleshooting (if need be) when the rest of the cables and supplies come and the firmware is updated.
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #702 of 704 Old 04-29-2015, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,030
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
Alright guys. Just swapped my HW55ES for an RS4910 and got everything hooked up and.....no HDMI signal detected on input 1 or 2. Direct HDMI cable from my Anthem receiver to the projector (same exact setup as with my Sony).

The projector is still running one of the very early firmware versions (r1178.1)...waiting on my Keyspan adapter to update to newest firmware. Before I freak out is it most likely a firmware issue that should be fixed with the latest update?

The only other thing I am worried about if it is not the firmware is a "kink" in my HDMI cable. I am using a heavy duty 50ft High Speed HDMI cable from Monoprice (very rigid) and I had to bend it almost 180 degrees for a few seconds to secure it. Is it possible to break an HDMI cable from bending?

Thanks!
Another issue may be the length of the cable... HDMI signal degrades quite rapidly and I find that after 30 ft a lot of issues begin to appear, especially if any device is sensitive to signal loss. You are running 50 ft which i think will require a repeater midway, so you might have to run two 25 ft cables with a repeater or amplifier in between...

This may be proven if a short cable works fine and the long cable does not. I find that JVC HDMI ports are pretty crappy. It worked fine with an older Onkyo 906 amplifier but when i used a Pioneer AVR with HDMI 1.4, the synching took forever, as long as 10-15 seconds before i could get a picture.
sr likes this.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #703 of 704 Unread Today, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Nevermind. As soon as I posted this I figured it out
BigCoolJesus is online now  
post #704 of 704 Unread Today, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 56
EUREKA! Between the new Redmere HDMI Cable and updating the firmware, I have perfect picture and no random HDMI problems (yet). Tested switching between multiple sources and no issues yet!
BigCoolJesus is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Jvc , Jvc Dla X700r , Jvc Dla X900r , Jvc Dla Rs66
Gear in this thread - X900r by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off