Sony 600ES Upscaling Help Please - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-08-2014, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
piratemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waxhaw, NC
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi.....been testing movies played from both my Sony bluray player & Dune media player
When I go into the 600ES menu to check resolution, I get 3840 / 2160 for whatever movie I watch which makes me happy (both bluray player & dune player)
If I watch anything on DirecTV, the resolution on the 600ES shows either 1080i or 720p.......does this mean I am not getting anything upscaled when watching DirecTV?
If so, I'm not sure why but I thought the 600ES upscales all content??
Is there any other way to test to see if DirecTV content is being upscaled?
TY!!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
piratemonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-08-2014, 07:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Browninggold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Depends on who's looking for me
Posts: 2,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
What is it set at in your directtv menu? Might not be 1080P

"We can complain because rose bushes have thorns or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses". - Abraham Lincoln
Browninggold is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-08-2014, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
piratemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waxhaw, NC
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have 720p, 1080i and 1080p checked
Should I only have 1080p checked to force Upscaling?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
piratemonkey is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-08-2014, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by piratemonkey View Post

I have 720p, 1080i and 1080p checked
Should I only have 1080p checked to force Upscaling?

I believe DirecTV only outputs 1080p for On-Demand movies, otherwise 1080i is the highest it will output for all other content.
BigCoolJesus is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-09-2014, 05:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whitetrash66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The VW500/VW600 is a native 4K display, meaning that anything you watch HAS to be upscaled. Even if the projector says 720p or 1080, it is still upscaling it to make it fit your screen.
whitetrash66 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-09-2014, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitetrash66 View Post

The VW500/VW600 is a native 4K display, meaning that anything you watch HAS to be upscaled. Even if the projector says 720p or 1080, it is still upscaling it to make it fit your screen.

So when I get my 600ES, there's no setting that I have to enable for "upscaling"? Anything I am watching is being output by the porjector at 4k resolution, correct?
BigCoolJesus is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-09-2014, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
piratemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waxhaw, NC
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitetrash66 View Post

The VW500/VW600 is a native 4K display, meaning that anything you watch HAS to be upscaled. Even if the projector says 720p or 1080, it is still upscaling it to make it fit your screen.

Here's the confusing part to me.......if i watch any type of 1080p content, the projector reads 3840 / 2160.......why would it not read the same for 720p or 1080i?.......I just hope I'm not missing a setting somewhere


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
piratemonkey is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-09-2014, 08:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 443
The projector does not output a resolution. It displays at a resolution which can be set at 3840 x 2160 or 4096 x 2160. Anything sent to the projector will be upscaled, to keep it simple here, to 3840 x 2160. Now one of the RULES of proper HT setup is to avoid if possible multiple resolution changes and to let the best video processor you have to the necessary upconversions. In the cases here, let the projector do all the upscaling. Set the DTV box so that it out puts the native resolution of the source you are receiving on it. You do not want the crappy deinterlacer/scalar in the DTV box to do anything. Let the sony projector do it. Its a rather simple concept. My FIOS box won't let me do that. Evertime I switch from a 720p channel to a 1080i one and the other way around, I have to set the FIOS box to output the resolution of the channel.

In your case you have by checking the various boxes correctly appear to be sending the native received by the DTV box to your Sony and are letting the Sony do the upconversion. The readout is merely showing what is being input into the Sony.

I am not sure what you are reading on the Sony. If its an what is being input and its reads 3840 x 2160 for 1080p 24 etc inputs, its a software glitch.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-09-2014, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
piratemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waxhaw, NC
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got it.....thx Mark
Was just a bit confused since the 600 did not post the actual resolution compared to watching 1080p content
I made sure my Denon upscaled to 4k is turned off as well


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
piratemonkey is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-09-2014, 09:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Right. I would not let the Bluray player do any upscaling nor the Denon AVR.

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-09-2014, 10:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 7,571
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post

So when I get my 600ES, there's no setting that I have to enable for "upscaling"? Anything I am watching is being output by the porjector at 4k resolution, correct?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

Right. I would not let the Bluray player do any upscaling nor the Denon AVR.

This is one reason why I still have an HD DVD player still in my system. I have it set to send 480P for DVD's, so all DVD's are played on that machine. Have the machine and it really does not have much resale value, so use it for this one purpose, rather than bothering to change resolution output on my BD player. smile.gif

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Brands we sell: 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon & many more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Technology, MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech.
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vpl Vw600es
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off