AVS Forum

AVS Forum (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/)
-   Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-digital-hi-end-projectors-3-000-usd-msrp/)
-   -   Is one "ooooh" "aaaah" moment worth all this "upgrading"? (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-digital-hi-end-projectors-3-000-usd-msrp/1522989-one-ooooh-aaaah-moment-worth-all-upgrading.html)

JHouse 03-17-2014 01:01 PM

Or: the four steps to true satisfaction.

I'm old. So I have had a lot of experience. First with "stereo" then with "home theater" and then with projectors. This is what I have learned:

1. If you get hooked (that means it becomes an internalized goal that you can't shake) you will never be satisfied for more than a few minutes.

2. You will spend way too much time looking for flaws, than actually enjoying the content. Your enjoyment will be history during this phase.

3. Each "upgrade" (or maybe only a change that feels different and you are willing to presume it is an improvement because that's what you are after) will be less significant/impactful than the last.

4. Ultimately, rather than being in ecstasy, you will just forget to care (which is the best outcome anyway) and watch the show.

This rant was triggered by seeing the 4K thread. And really, 9 speaker surround and twin subs? How much crap do they think we are going to fall for? You have to be able to walk through the room don't you?

Just let me say, I have spent a fortune on source material. 45's, LP albums, cassette tapes, quadraphonic albums, direct-to-disc albums, Beta tapes, VHS tapes, compact discs, Laserdiscs, DVD, HD-DVD and Blu-ray. And now you want me to buy another format? For a not so cheap thrill? And buy the same things over again? PuuuLEEEASE!