Can a power cord improve picture quality? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2014, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 2,586
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1175 Post(s)
Liked: 1148
Discuss this issue here.

It's always in the last place you look.
cardoski is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-01-2014, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5,611
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 285
It depends on what drugs you are doing.... and only if you are doing drug!

Doug
Planar PD8150 with DC4 DMD paired with a Dalite HP 2.8 110"
http://www.airscapesart.com

 
airscapes is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 2,586
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1175 Post(s)
Liked: 1148
Put me down as a skeptic, but if there is evidence that JVC sent me a rather expensive PJ with a sub par cable then I will look at it. Because this is the crux of it. I am supposed to believe that a company would spend all that time and money on optics but skimp on the power cord.

It's always in the last place you look.
cardoski is online now  
 
Old 05-01-2014, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
All that time and money on optics. For years JVC used a lens that would not focus the three primaries at the same time. A horrible job of lens design and forum pressure forced them to redesign it. i almost lost my job because I sold them yet publically bitched about it in the forum.
mark haflich is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 02:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 8,682
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1613 Post(s)
Liked: 2562
I think it can drastically improve picture quality, imagine how good the quality of the picture would be without a power cord?? But you'd have some KILLER black levels without it (so long as your room conditions were good of course). wink.gif

My Home Theater
Technical Editor/Writer Sound and Vision Magazine
Kris Deering is online now  
Old 05-01-2014, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,165
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1628 Post(s)
Liked: 1570
I would say an insufficient power cord could reduce picture quality. but going from what was engineered to work with the product to something unnecessarily large or expensive will not help.

this reminds me a bit of speaker wiring. I upgraded wires one time and noticed an 'improvement'. but the improvement was only that the speakers were louder at the same volume setting, and the upgrade was going from like 20awg to 12awg and 15ft+ lengths. so I'm pretty sure it was noticeable more because I wasn't using appropriate wiring before the switch. btw, the 12awg was bought for about 15c/ft from home depot. it was not 'fancy' wiring by any means

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 04:53 PM
Home Theater Lover
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 10,388
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3067 Post(s)
Liked: 2983
A better upgrade than a new " super power cord " might be a power conditioner / UPS / surge suppressor like Panamax and Furman make. Also, when I built my theater, I had the electrician run a dedicated 20 amp circuit for the A / V equipment.

Current home theater photos - http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2386514

craigpeer@earthlink.net
Craig Peer is online now  
Old 05-01-2014, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Only one? I have a separate circuit for audio and one for video. Proper grounding to an outside rod is absolutely required.
mark haflich is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 06:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 213
No.
stef2 is online now  
Old 05-01-2014, 11:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,084
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I like how they sell $1000 power cords. Maybe if it pugged into the power plant, otherwise it is no better than the weakest link between the power plant and your outlet. Even worse is the super expensive HDMI Cables. It is a digital signal. There are zeros and ones. If you pay a grand for one it isn't going to give you zeros and 1.5's.
wnielsenbb is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 11:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,853
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4220 Post(s)
Liked: 2093
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnielsenbb View Post

I like how they sell $1000 power cords. Maybe if it pugged into the power plant, otherwise it is no better than the weakest link between the power plant and your outlet. Even worse is the super expensive HDMI Cables. It is a digital signal. There are zeros and ones. If you pay a grand for one it isn't going to give you zeros and 1.5's.

Yes but some cables make sure you get all of the 1's and 0's. Longer cable runs require better quality cable/shielding to make sure there's no data loss.
Seegs108 is online now  
Old 05-01-2014, 11:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,165
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1628 Post(s)
Liked: 1570
while I'm NOT supporting excessively expensive hdmi cables, I do believe there is an amount of error correction with a digital signal, no? meaning that the odd 1 or 0 may get missed and that's ok, but if too many get missed you end up with all those super annoying handshake issues and the like.

basically, while I agree a digital cable tends to either work, or not, there is still a way an hdmi cable can be too cheap.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 12:42 AM
Senior Member
 
WestCDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Cables needs appropriate sized conductors - power, analog or digital. This has been beaten to death, resurrected, and strangled again in forums beyond count. The power cable that come with your equipment take this into account, assuming you are connected to a conventional outlet on a residential power circuit. Spending more may make you feel better, but it won't improve anything other than the bottom line of the M****** power cable conglomerate. There are far, far better places to invest in AV improvements ... smile.gif
WestCDA is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 01:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,165
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1628 Post(s)
Liked: 1570
^^heck, there's better ways to invest in the electrical system of your a/v system, haha

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 21,373
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2693 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
I'm not so closed minded/ignorant to say they "can't" improve the picture (to preclude the possibility is to say I know all there is to know about that subject or have seen proof to the contrary neither are the case)....

But my education and experience tell me it is extremely unlikely/implausible. So until someone can provide some plausible scientific explanation as to why a cable can improve the signal, I will not waste my hard earned money or extremely valuable time to "just try it".
stanger89 is online now  
Old 05-02-2014, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
smile.gif Exactly how extremely valuable is your time? smile.gif
mark haflich is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5,611
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 285
This topic reminds me of this commercial (one of my favorites of all time)

Doug
Planar PD8150 with DC4 DMD paired with a Dalite HP 2.8 110"
http://www.airscapesart.com

 
airscapes is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 21,373
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2693 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark haflich View Post

smile.gif Exactly how extremely valuable is your time? smile.gif

If you have to ask...
wink.gif
stanger89 is online now  
Old 05-02-2014, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
cbcdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clevedon. UK
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 62
The conductors in the power cord are either correctly sized or undersized. If they are correctly sized a healthy AC supply voltage will reach the projectors power circuit. If they are undersized a volts drop will occur that is the resistance of the cable multiplied by the current being drawn by the projector. V = IR

Can if effect picture quality? Only in so far as the projector doesn't receive an adequate input supply and is therefore unable to function normally which may effect the projectors performance but any idea that two adequately rated cables will result in different performance from the projector is nonsense!

There really is nothing special about power cords and as long as they are rated properly one is as good as any other.
cbcdesign is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
But we are dealing with AC and not DC. There are other factors involved in calculating the voltage drop that the simple application of Ohm's law
mark haflich is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
cbcdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clevedon. UK
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Yes its AC but that makes very little difference to the way in which the load is calculated so that an adequate conductor with a known current rating can be selected. The only important difference between DC loads and AC mains loads is that AC fluctuates between zero and peak at a given frequency whereas DC is continuous so we use RMS as our AC current value to help us rate the cable at a given voltage.

I make these calculations every day and then select an appropriate conductor. Its not rocket science!
cbcdesign is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,916
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 290
It can help a lot if you have a short in your cable and the power does not come on :0

Other than that, it isn't going to make a difference, not unless you installed some of the wiring together incorrectly and/or had a really really crappy cable.

**New Projector Calculator Released**
Access HERE from this thread

coderguy is online now  
Old 05-02-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Good morning Coderguy. So you saying that in the right circumstances instances it could function like Viagra?
cardoski likes this.
mark haflich is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
cbcdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clevedon. UK
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 62
No I think he is saying that a poor installation could prevent the projector from functioning as it should but that would apply to any electrical product.
cbcdesign is offline  
Old 05-02-2014, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Venice, Florida, USA
Posts: 22,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
He states if the cable is shorted or the cable doesn't carry power. Sounds like what Viagra does. It fixes your power cord so that it comes on.
loperasovic likes this.
mark haflich is offline  
Old 05-03-2014, 10:43 PM
Member
 
MattB101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Flat out, not that you would notice unless you are Superman. I can't believe people buy 200 dollar power cords but, there is a sucker born every minute. Only way it could effect the picture is if it's too light guage to carry the load.

Sent with my arthritic thumbs with proofreading help from the hound!
MattB101 is offline  
Old 05-03-2014, 10:45 PM
Member
 
MattB101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't get me started on HDMI cables. Works or it doesn't, no middle ground. I buy all mine at Monoprice.com.

Sent with my arthritic thumbs with proofreading help from the hound!
MattB101 is offline  
Old 05-03-2014, 11:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Seegs108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 9,853
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4220 Post(s)
Liked: 2093
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattB101 View Post

Don't get me started on HDMI cables. Works or it doesn't, no middle ground. I buy all mine at Monoprice.com.

Sent with my arthritic thumbs with proofreading help from the hound!

That's not really the case. You cab get frame drops and other artifacts from subquality or longer cable runs.
Seegs108 is online now  
Old 05-04-2014, 03:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post

I think it can drastically improve picture quality, imagine how good the quality of the picture would be without a power cord?? But you'd have some KILLER black levels without it (so long as your room conditions were good of course). wink.gif

This is nearly exactly what I wanted to say but you beat me to it.

I didn't think cables were important but then I tried not using any and it made a huge difference.

That said... Recently I've been reading a lot of blog posts from the author of the BitPerfect software for mac and his posts about how using a different power cord for his mac mini changed the sound quality makes me realize he's purely delusional. I can pretty much write off anything he says after that... his findings were pure imagination but he seemed ok with that.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
Old 05-04-2014, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattB101 View Post

Don't get me started on HDMI cables. Works or it doesn't, no middle ground. I buy all mine at Monoprice.com.

Sent with my arthritic thumbs with proofreading help from the hound!

I buy all mine at Monoprice too however, don't you notice how there are still many quality options at mono price for HDMI cables? I was using a mono price cable not suited for 3D ... I'm not sure if it would have worked but once I got a 3D projector I just ordered the mono price cable that was suited for it.
Brian Hampton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off