Runco LS-3 vs. modern projectors - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 32 Old 06-21-2014, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Runco LS-3 vs. modern projectors

I found a store demo Runco LS-3 selling for $1500 at a local retailer. I'm new to the projector world so I'm still learning about projectors. However, doing a little homework, it appears the LS-3 was introduced in 2009. Prior to seeing this deal on the Runco, I was looking at the various offerings from JVC, Sony, & Epson in the $3500-$5000 price range. Since I'm new to the projector world, I don't have a sense of how much projectors have changed since 2009. So here's my question:

Does any one know how the Runco LS-3 compares to today's $4500-$5000 projectors?

I appreciate any and all opinions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 06-21-2014, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Check these threads out:

Runco LS-3. Dated?

Runco LS-3 or JVC DLA-X35

I would say the LS-3 is the best DLP projector in your price range when it comes to pure picture quality. It offers an amazingly sharp, color accurate, contrast rich image with an excellent dynamic iris. Other contenders would be a JVC DLA-X500 or Sony VPL-HW55ES. All three have unique aspects to them and no projector is the clear cut winner. From personal experience I'd pass on the Sony and look at either the JVC or the Runco. The X500 is probably the better value as it gives you 3D capabilities, higher lumen output, higher on/off contrast, and some extra software features like e-shift, creative frame interpolation, and Clear Black. The Runco will offer a more natural looking image that's more optically sharp, offer higher ANSI contrast (a little more "pop" in brighter scenes), and offers better motion handling/motion resolution. Either is a great choice.
post #3 of 32 Old 06-21-2014, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 111