HTPC to D-ILA cabling - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2001, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Morbius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Livermore, CA USA
Posts: 4,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
When running a D-ILA from an HTPC, is there any difference
as to whether the HTPC is connected to Computer 1 or Computer 2
on the D-ILA? Computer 1 has the typical computer "D" connector,
while Computer 2 has BNC connections for RGBHV.

I recall from some reviews on the D-ILAs, that certain features
were or were not available depending on which input is used.

The D-ILA FAQ discusses hooking up both an HTPC [ to Comp 1 ] and
a DTC-100 or CI to Comp 2. Since I don't have the DTC-100; would
there be an advantage to hooking the HTPC to Comp 2?

Greg

Dr. Gregory Greenman
Physicist
Morbius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2001, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greg,

Your best bet is to stick with PC to Comp1, DTC(if you get one)to Comp2. The differences are that Comp2 will handle ALL the sources including HD video. Comp1 was intended for PC input. It won't handle HDTV signals.

If you don't have the DTC yet, go ahead and run to Comp2 if that's the cable you have. That's what I did until I got my DTC up and running. When you finally get all your inputs and settings, mods, resolutions, etc. correctly set up while using a HDTV receiver and PC, you'll find that both inputs will handle all your needs.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
Old 04-15-2001, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Morbius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Livermore, CA USA
Posts: 4,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Chris,

Thanks for the info.

I don't have the cable yet - which is why I'm asking.

I'll get a cable with "D" connectors on both ends and run the
HTPC to Comp 1. When and IF, HDTV becomes available - I'll deal
with that later.

Thanks again.

Greg

Dr. Gregory Greenman
Physicist
Morbius is offline  
Old 04-15-2001, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problem Greg,

If you're having to get a long cable, check out my little shootout here.

Keep in mind that was just MY opinion.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off