what are all the cables needed for LP350? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-19-2001, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tvuong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Hi all,
I'm planning to prewire about 30' run to ceiling for this projector before they sheetrock my new home. What do I all need and what do you recommend? Thanks.
tvuong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-19-2001, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
arrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mountain View, Ca. USA
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have three cables attached to my projector.

Power
S-Video (from Lexicon MC-1)
VGA into Infocus Cable Wizard (Dish 6000 HD)

--Les
arrow is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-19-2001, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JasG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Upper left corner of the map
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I curious about this too. Has anyone used a pure digital connection with a long run.
1. How long?
2. Where did you get the cable.
3. What is the connector on the 340/350? InFocus says M-1, is that DVI-I, DVI-D, P&D/EVC?

FYI, there is some info here, but has anyone found other suppliers & longer than 5M cables?

http://store.kayye.com/kayye/dviaccessories.html

Obsession in moderation
JasG is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-20-2001, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
hhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Des Moines Iowa
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
And may I add a question on connections to the LP340/350? Since the S input and scaler are so good, would I gain anything by connecting my RGB outputs from my non progressive scanning Pioneer DVD player? Can such a connection even be made?
hhawk is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-20-2001, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tvuong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by arrow:
I have three cables attached to my projector.

Power
S-Video (from Lexicon MC-1)
VGA into Infocus Cable Wizard (Dish 6000 HD)

--Les
</font>
Two questions:
S-video: Which cable brand are you using. How long is it to the projector from the MC1? Is it a good cable?

VGA: Now I'm completely new to this and don't even know what kind or how it looks like? Do you have VGA to VGA from your Dish 6000 to the LP350?

I'll need 30' run for both of these cables. Thanks again.
tvuong is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-20-2001, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Corr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: plano, TX
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You may want to check www.markertek.com for cables. Good prices, good selection, good quality.
Brian Corr is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-20-2001, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
arrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mountain View, Ca. USA
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HHawk,

The Infocus will take RGB (what I've been calling VGA). It does not take component. I'm not sure if it will look better.

Tvuong,

My S-Video cable is a 12' run. There's nothing special about it. I think I picked it up at home depot. For a 30' run, you'll have to get the cables specially made.

--Les
arrow is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-20-2001, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Jay C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out the cable prices at Studio Experience www.studioexperience.com, I needed a 30' S-Video (why does markertek call it S-VHS?), and they had one at a very good price. The quality is very high and I have not noticed any artifacts.

Jay
Jay C is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-20-2001, 09:45 PM
Member
 
jerryd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recommend running a large diameter PVC conduit from the projector to the source electronics. It is less costly than one good cable and will allow you to replace a cable that fails or add one in the future that you didn't think you would need. If I recall correctly, the 10 foot sections of 2.5 inch PVC conduit go for under $5 at Home Depot.

Jerry in Colorado
jerryd2 is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off