Radeon and LP340/LP350/CD-455m/CD-555m owners, urgent pole thread, please read! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 05-04-2001, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
niggenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Jose, CA 95123
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ok. Here is the deal. There are some of us that are struggling to get the LP340/LP350 and Boxlight versions of these wonderful projectors to work with the DVI output of Radeon cards (All-in-Wonder, VE, etc.) using the M1-DA digital cable w/USB from Infocus. It seems the M1-DA DVI cable from Infocus is DVI-D (don't really know what that means), and is somehow incompatible with the Radeons (DVI-I). But, the weird thing is that there are those with Phillips LCD projecctors (DVI-D) that can get the Radeons to work with the DVI output with their Radeons. See this thread for more details: http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum12/HTML/010130.html.

I would like to ask all the owners out there of this type of projector and that also have Radeons with DVI out to state here if they have successfully managed to get the two to work together with the digital interface. If yes, elaborate a little on your setup. If no, let's put our heads together to find a solution.
niggenz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 05-04-2001, 09:39 PM
Member
 
plasmadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, what's up people. I had the same problem. I had a Radeon VE for awhile, and couldn't get it to work with the InFocus DVI cable. Things looked fine when I booted the computer up. For the first time, I could clearly see the BIOS screen. It was great. But then, once it got into Windows ME, "no signal detected".

Here is the glorious Radeon VE:
http://home.pacbell.net/plasmadi/pro...j_radeonve.jpg

Here is the Radeon VE's DVI connection, which I thought would hurl me into a world of bright, swirling colors and clarity rivaled only by recreational drug use:
http://home.pacbell.net/plasmadi/pro...oj_dviport.jpg

Here is the InFocus DVI cable. Yes, only $39.95!
http://home.pacbell.net/plasmadi/pro...j_dvicable.jpg

This is what the connections on the ends of the DVI cable look like:
http://home.pacbell.net/plasmadi/pro...cableplugs.jpg

Hopefully, someone will find an answer to this frustrating nonsense. While they're at it, maybe they can help me figure out chicks!

plasmadis
http://home.pacbell.net/plasmadi/projector/
plasmadis is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 05-04-2001, 10:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JasG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Upper left corner of the map
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, so much for my plans...no projector yet, but all the rest in place.

If things work at bootup/in bios screens, but not in Windows - that points directly at the drivers for the Radeon, doesn't it?

What OS'es have people tried?
Driver versions?
What does ATI say?

Obsession in moderation
JasG is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off