HD problems with the Seleco 250? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 04-23-2001, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I remembered someone saying that this projector had a problem with HD signals. I did a search and cant come up with anything. I am really interested in this projector but need some clarification. Can anyone help me?
Jeff Whitford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 04-23-2001, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Jeff,
First shipments of HT250's apparently had some software issues that precluded them from processing HD signals. Supposedly whatever it was has been corrected, and it no longer is a problem.
Pete is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-24-2001, 12:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Pete.
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 04-24-2001, 04:28 PM
Member
 
evillager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just for the record, I have a Seleco HT250, and have no problem with a direct RGB connection from a DTC-100. I have no jail bars, just a great HD picture. I have software rev 1.15 x p. I am only feeding an Over The Air signal. This projector is very impressive, and should only get better with iminent software releases.
evillager is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 04-24-2001, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Alan,
I'm told new software is in the hands of the Florida office and that it appears to address the major issues. It sounds like it will be released in the next few days, but we'll have to wait and see. They may want to fine tune it first.
Pete is online now  
post #6 of 16 Old 04-24-2001, 08:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks Pete

This is very encouraging!

------------------
Thanks Very Much!

Alan Gouger
AV Science
www.avscience.com
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 04-24-2001, 10:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
There is still an issue with hdtv.
The seleco will take hdtv through the 15 pin rgb input but you will end up with vertical jail bars. It will not take it through the component input. There is another software release being tested as we speak version 1.16 that will fix all these issues. We are waiting for this to be released.

------------------
Thanks Very Much!

Alan Gouger
AV Science
www.avscience.com
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 04-25-2001, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The plot thickens...it seems that the tech guys in Florida found a few glitches that need to be addressed, so it's going back to engineering.
evillager is right, however: HD works in RGB for both the 200 and 250.
Pete is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 04-26-2001, 03:16 AM
edc
Member
 
edc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Belgium
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far, the biggest issue I have with my 250HT is the suboptimal deinterlacing algorithm. I do have an HTPC for movies, but I also like to use other sources (SVHS based). Does anybody know if Sim2's next software releases will address these issues? I wouldn't appreciate investing in a line doubler (I like the ISCAN PRO) if Seleco plans to improve the 200-250's deinterlacing software.

------------------
Emmanuel
"STOP DFAST/HDCP"

Emmanuel
Windows XP = 1 Gig Virus
edc is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 05-01-2001, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any more news?
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 05-01-2001, 07:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My 200 and 250 both have vertical jail bars when fed 1080I via the 15 pin rgb input.
These are invisible but you can see them.
I am using the Dish 5000 receiver.
Those who do not see this on their unit, what receiver are using!

------------------
Thanks Very Much!

Alan Gouger
AV Science
www.avscience.com
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 05-01-2001, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">These are invisible but you can see them.</font>
Wow! That's quite a trick!

Mark Hunter
Technical Director, Home Theater Products
Datacolor, Inc.
Mark Hunter is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 05-01-2001, 09:13 PM
Member
 
evillager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using the RCA DTC100 and i don't see the lines on my HT250. If what I am seeing is jail bars, arrest me. I get a gorgeous HD picture. Granted the image tends to posterize a little during fast scans. i couldn't wait for the new software, and ordred the vigatec from Alan. I am still hoping the software helps though. I am also only using OTA HD through antenae A of the RCA from a silver sensor antenae. Any one else tryhis setup? My software rev is 1.5 x p.
evillager is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 05-02-2001, 09:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
When I say invisible I mean you need to walk right up to the screen to see them. You cannot see them from normal distance.


------------------
Thanks Very Much!

Alan Gouger
AV Science
www.avscience.com
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 05-02-2001, 05:08 PM
Member
 
evillager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan, have you tried the RCA? If not, could you?
evillager is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 05-08-2001, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should have the money for this in about a week. But I dont want to order one if there are still problems.
Jeff Whitford is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off