Sony VW365ES Owner's Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 44Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 239 Old 01-01-2016, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Sony VW365ES Owner's Thread

I am turning my home theater room into a home theater gaming hybrid. In any case I have a WV300ES projector and low input lag is a must, as we know it comes with a low input lag mode. However, I found it this mode isn't available when the signal is above 1080p. So I was wondering has this been resolved in the newer VW365ES? Its a simple test just send a 4k signal through your projector and see if under expert settings there is the option to active input reduction. Kinda bummed I wont be able to game at 4k with this beast.
mobiousblack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 239 Old 01-01-2016, 11:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JeffR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobiousblack View Post
I am turning my home theater room into a home theater gaming hybrid. In any case I have a WV300ES projector and low input lag is a must, as we know it comes with a low input lag mode. However, I found it this mode isn't available when the signal is above 1080p. So I was wondering has this been resolved in the newer VW365ES? Its a simple test just send a 4k signal through your projector and see if under expert settings there is the option to active input reduction. Kinda bummed I wont be able to game at 4k with this beast.
After reading this review and the end of the second last paragraph, I would say there is no difference when it comes to the input mode lag setting.

The 300/320es are the same projectors for Canada and Europe and the 350/365 are the same, but for the US market.
I think the only real improvement is a longer lasting lamp.

https://www.avforums.com/review/sony...r-review.12100
JeffR1 is offline  
post #3 of 239 Old 01-01-2016, 11:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffR1 View Post
After reading this review and the end of the second last paragraph, I would say there is no difference when it comes to the input mode lag setting.

The 300/320es are the same projectors for Canada and Europe and the 350/365 are the same, but for the US market.
I think the only real improvement is a longer lasting lamp.

https://www.avforums.com/review/sony...r-review.12100
I see, guess I will be waiting for another generation then. Hopefully its not something that goes overlooked for too long.
mobiousblack is offline  
 
post #4 of 239 Old 02-12-2016, 07:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobiousblack View Post
I am turning my home theater room into a home theater gaming hybrid. In any case I have a WV300ES projector and low input lag is a must, as we know it comes with a low input lag mode. However, I found it this mode isn't available when the signal is above 1080p. So I was wondering has this been resolved in the newer VW365ES? Its a simple test just send a 4k signal through your projector and see if under expert settings there is the option to active input reduction. Kinda bummed I wont be able to game at 4k with this beast.
I am an owner, and the "GAME" mode is indeed 4K.
jrkeat is offline  
post #5 of 239 Old 02-12-2016, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
VW365ES owners out there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrkeat View Post
I am an owner, and the "GAME" mode is indeed 4K.

I own the projector as well. You can send a 4K signal in game mode, but you loose input lag reduction which is the most important part of game mode. If the projector receives any signal higher than 1080p input lag reduction will not be there.
mobiousblack is offline  
post #6 of 239 Old 02-12-2016, 07:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobiousblack View Post
I am turning my home theater room into a home theater gaming hybrid. In any case I have a WV300ES projector and low input lag is a must, as we know it comes with a low input lag mode. However, I found it this mode isn't available when the signal is above 1080p. So I was wondering has this been resolved in the newer VW365ES? Its a simple test just send a 4k signal through your projector and see if under expert settings there is the option to active input reduction. Kinda bummed I wont be able to game at 4k with this beast.
I am an owner, and the "GAME" mode is indeed 4K. The manual says that this has a "fast response", but I'm not sure how to test latency.
jrkeat is offline  
post #7 of 239 Old 02-12-2016, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrkeat View Post
I am an owner, and the "GAME" mode is indeed 4K. The manual says that this has a "fast response", but I'm not sure how to test latency.

It does not provide a faster response without input lag reduction sadly.

"Game mode, despite its name, does not reduce input lag by itself. To do that, you need to toggle Input Lag Reduction, available from any image mode. So if you'd rather play games in Reference, go ahead."

Taken from http://www.projectorcentral.com/sony...ge=Performance

Basically in game mode input lag reduction is enabled but if your source is higher than 1080p that option will not be available. I've tested this myself you will not see the option to turn on input lag reduction if the image is higher than 1080p.

However I have good news, with resolution enhancer even 1080p content can look close to 4K so in the end it's fine.
mobiousblack is offline  
post #8 of 239 Old 02-12-2016, 08:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobiousblack View Post
It does not provide a faster response without input lag reduction sadly.

"Game mode, despite its name, does not reduce input lag by itself. To do that, you need to toggle Input Lag Reduction, available from any image mode. So if you'd rather play games in Reference, go ahead."



Basically in game mode input lag reduction is enabled but if your source is higher than 1080p that option will not be available. I've tested this myself you will not see the option to turn on input lag reduction if the image is higher than 1080p.

However I have good news, with resolution enhancer even 1080p content can look close to 4K so in the end it's fine.
You're right! The Low Latency option doesn't appear unless I'm 1080p. This is pretty upsetting, actually. Before buying, I asked Sony directly, and they said it was 4k, AND I looked at the manuals--while the VW350 carefully mentioned that the low latency was limited to 1080, the VW365 manual doesn't mention it.


What do you mean by "the resolution enhancer"? Are you saying it will do some kind of upscaling even when it's in Low Latenecy 1080?
jrkeat is offline  
post #9 of 239 Old 02-12-2016, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrkeat View Post
You're right! The Low Latency option doesn't appear unless I'm 1080p. This is pretty upsetting, actually. Before buying, I asked Sony directly, and they said it was 4k, AND I looked at the manuals--while the VW350 carefully mentioned that the low latency was limited to 1080, the VW365 manual doesn't mention it.


What do you mean by "the resolution enhancer"? Are you saying it will do some kind of upscaling even when it's in Low Latenecy 1080?

Yes under reality creation there is a resolution option. Up that to 85 or whatever pleases you and see the difference. It's insane. And even with that on the low latency option is still available.
mobiousblack is offline  
post #10 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 03:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,245
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 506
This is interesting because Game mode is the main reason why Im looking at the Sony. I have a leo bodnar input lag tester but its only rated for 1080p.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #11 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 03:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
This is interesting because Game mode is the main reason why Im looking at the Sony. I have a leo bodnar input lag tester but its only rated for 1080p.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk


If you plan on gaming at 1080p it's fine but anything higher and it's useless.
mobiousblack is offline  
post #12 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 04:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,245
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Was looking forward to some 4k pc gaming.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #13 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
Was looking forward to some 4k pc gaming.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk


Some people don't mind input lag but coming from pc monitors with 4ms response times its unplayable for me.
mobiousblack is offline  
post #14 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 04:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,245
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 506
4ms is just the pixel refresh. Lowest input lag is 8ms i believe. Most 60hz monitors are 26ms at best due to the time each frame 1/60th of a second frame. Thats why 120hz and 144hz are better plus the pixels refresh quickest reducing pixel blur.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #15 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 04:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
4ms is just the pixel refresh. Lowest input lag is 8ms i believe. Most 60hz monitors are 26ms at best due to the time each frame 1/60th of a second frame. Thats why 120hz and 144hz are better plus the pixels refresh quickest reducing pixel blur.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk


Ah I see. Well I have a monitor that runs at 100hz and the other at 165hz.
mobiousblack is offline  
post #16 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 04:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,245
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 506
I might go the next model up. I like the idea of ar auto adjust memory. I think thats what it has. I watch a lot of movies and tv. So flicking between the two a lot

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #17 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 04:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,245
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobiousblack View Post
Ah I see. Well I have a monitor that runs at 100hz and the other at 165hz.
Im typing on my phone but ive been through a ton of monitors and the 21:9 curved lg is the best ive tried

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #18 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 04:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
I might go the next model up. I like the idea of ar auto adjust memory. I think thats what it has. I watch a lot of movies and tv. So flicking between the two a lot

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Another downside to the projector is the lack of choices for motion if a source other than 1080p is being used. You don't get true cinema or any other motion choices just two when you are running at 4k. If that's important to you double check and see if the higher models support everythung at 4k and not just some features.
mobiousblack is offline  
post #19 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 04:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mobiousblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
Im typing on my phone but ive been through a ton of monitors and the 21:9 curved lg is the best ive tried

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk


The 100hz monitor I have is a curved 21:9 gsync minion by asus. PG348Q, Acer has their equivalent the predator x34. Amazing monitor for sure.
mobiousblack is offline  
post #20 of 239 Old 04-06-2016, 04:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,245
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Yeah they are all good.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #21 of 239 Old 04-28-2016, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curtishd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 24
FYI: I see that the VW365 will get a HDR update next month per Sony.
curtishd is offline  
post #22 of 239 Old 04-28-2016, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JeffR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtishd View Post
FYI: I see that the VW365 will get a HDR update next month per Sony.
How is this even possible with no D.I. ???
It's just the panels and the lamp.

EDIT:
I found this, but there's no mention of HDR.

https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model...d#/downloadTab

Where does Sony say there's an update for HDR for next month ?

Last edited by JeffR1; 04-28-2016 at 04:20 PM.
JeffR1 is offline  
post #23 of 239 Old 04-28-2016, 08:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 1,619
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffR1 View Post
How is this even possible with no D.I. ???
It's just the panels and the lamp.

EDIT:
I found this, but there's no mention of HDR.

https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model...d#/downloadTab

Where does Sony say there's an update for HDR for next month ?
You don't need a DI to do HDR.

Info on the Sony update: http://www.residentialsystems.com/te...rojector/88213

Want to learn about home theater design and acoustics? Read our blog.
Company: Acoustic Frontiers - design and creation of high performance home theaters for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Certifications: HAA Level I & II, THX Video Level I & II, CEDIA EST I & II.
AVS Projects: Too many to show in my signature - see here for the master list.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
post #24 of 239 Old 04-28-2016, 09:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JeffR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyal Mellor View Post
You don't need a DI to do HDR.

Info on the Sony update: http://www.residentialsystems.com/te...rojector/88213
Interesting, I wonder if they are going to apply it to the 300/350es _ they're pretty much all the same _ they all put out 1500 lumens (so the specs say).
I'm pretty sure the panels are the same too.

I still don't see how this is possible.

HDR is applied to a given display by having a greater difference between the darkest darks and the lightest lights.
And I'm talking about contrast here, not colour space (which remains unchanged in this line _ still just rec.709)

Like a filmed display of fire works, a projector can only go so far to maintain a black sky against a fireworks scene.

How can a firmware update change the physical attributes of a projector with no dynamic iris and take it from SDR to HDR.

The panels can only go so dark and the lamp can only become so bright, with out effecting the ability of the projector to output HDR ???
JeffR1 is offline  
post #25 of 239 Old 04-29-2016, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curtishd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 24
It will be interesting to see how a HDR 4K signal looks after the update compare to now. ( I am not an owner but could eventually be). What happens now when a HDR 4K signal is sent to the projector?
curtishd is offline  
post #26 of 239 Old 06-22-2016, 03:06 AM
Member
 
soundsgoodrecord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi guys, I just upgraded to vpl-vw320es/365es and was wondering if anybody has update the firmware? Via thumbdrive....would like to know is the firmware stable?

sony vpl-vw320es/screen innovation black diamond 108", Denon avrx7200wa, Audiolab 8200P,
oppo udp-203, ps4, apple tv, goldenear triton three, supercenter xl, invisa htr7000, invisa 525, aon 3 & 2, forcefield 5 x 2, wireworld ultraviolet 7, wireworld chroma 7 hdmi, qed revelation speaker cable.
soundsgoodrecord is offline  
post #27 of 239 Old 06-28-2016, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1567 Post(s)
Liked: 856
Any update on this? I have a 350 and may upgrade to the 365 if HDR/WCG is worth it. Also any improvement in terms of blacks?

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
post #28 of 239 Old 06-29-2016, 09:08 PM
Member
 
soundsgoodrecord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandyka View Post
Any update on this? I have a 350 and may upgrade to the 365 if HDR/WCG is worth it. Also any improvement in terms of blacks?
i never had the 350 so i cant compare the blacks. compared to my previous 55es there is no difference in terms of blacks within this two. the 320/365 weakest point is the black level because there is no dynamic iris. the black scenes is still slightly greyish even on low lamp.
but then again i just use 40hours and maybe is to soon to judge? some people say u need about 100hrs to get full potential of a projector. i dont want to argue on the break in subject as i believe in break in or burn in process. some people believe in it some dont and i respect that.

anyway, there are not many users yet on this model so i cant get much info. i want to upgrade the firmware but im not sure if its stable, the firmware is for hdr compatibility and bug fixes. so anybody who has the 320/365 please let me know if u hv updated this new firmware.
i called the local sony center to ask about the firmware and they said dont update yet as the firmware is not stable yet? if is not stable why release the update?just a note that the local sony center in my country are not reliable at all. thats why i need a second opinion especially from end users but nobody seems to response to me.

sony vpl-vw320es/screen innovation black diamond 108", Denon avrx7200wa, Audiolab 8200P,
oppo udp-203, ps4, apple tv, goldenear triton three, supercenter xl, invisa htr7000, invisa 525, aon 3 & 2, forcefield 5 x 2, wireworld ultraviolet 7, wireworld chroma 7 hdmi, qed revelation speaker cable.
soundsgoodrecord is offline  
post #29 of 239 Old 06-30-2016, 01:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1567 Post(s)
Liked: 856
I've had a 55ES as well and found that my 300ES was pretty much on par or a little worse in the blacks department however. I am now thinking to update to the 320 as I am very happy with the 300 but trying to figure out if the improvements are worth it. As far as I know there were some revisions to the firmware update so you should be good to go as it is the same as the 520 which had a few improvement packages applied recently and users are now reporting good results.

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
post #30 of 239 Old 07-11-2016, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bandyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1567 Post(s)
Liked: 856
Well got the 320/365 and am very impressed with it definitely an improvement over the 300. There is only one things that bugs me. I am fighting with Samsung UHD player it just does not play nice, getting the overblown red effect and there is no way to defeat it.

JVC RS620/X9500 in bat cave Anthem MRX-720 + 3xpower amps = 7.1.4, Martin Logan Motion 60XT fronts, ML FX rears, ML Motion 50XT centre, 4 x ML Motion 2 on ceiling Atmos, ML Balanced force 210 as the beast. Panasonic UB900, STAX-3170 earspeakers, HTPC, PS4, PS3, Amiga 500 etc..Epson LS10000 calibration and WCG SDR settings: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/24-dig...l#post50298297
Bandyka is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
hdcp 2.2 , ps4pro , sony vpl-vw365es , VW365ES

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off