Sony VPL-HW45ES, VPL-HW65ES or JVC RS400 (X550R)? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old Today, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sony VPL-HW45ES, VPL-HW65ES or JVC RS400 (X550R)?

Hi all,

I am a bit of a newb to projectors so please forgive me in advance.

I am building a new home theater and am looking at projectors. I am trying to decide between the Sony VPL-HW45ES, VPL-HW65ES or the JVC RS400 (aka X550R).

I realize the latter two are double the price of the 45ES - but hear me out.

I'm trying to decide if it's worth spending $4k on a projector right now, or buy the $2k HW45ES, and sell it in a few years when projector technology matures more and I'm able to buy a better projector for $4k. So my questions are:

- What's the difference between the 45ES and the 65ES? I've been looking on Sony's website but the only difference I see is that there's no contrast range specified for the 45ES, but the 65ES has 120,000:1 contrast range specified.

- Is it worth it to go for a more expensive projector now (a 65ES or a RS400), or buy a 45ES, and sell it in a few years, and buy a better projector then?

- What's the point of buying a 65ES (a 1080p projector) when a RS400 (a 4K projector with HDR) can be had for the same price? To me, it seems like the obvious better projector is the RS400, but people are still buying the 65ES, so there has to be something I'm missing.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old Today, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 85
What do you plan on using it for? Movies, gaming, both?