Dwin TV3 Owners Thread - Page 89 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2641 of 2662 Old 06-20-2011, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Take it off line please. Use the PM for this discussion.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2642 of 2662 Old 06-20-2011, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Oh Mark Please. You can't be serious. It was a joke. Don't you understand the smiley? The cost of shipping alone from here makes this type of transaction (really cheap projector for a few months) unreasonable on face value. After all, you just shipped me a new projector so you know all too well the cost to shipping to and from Alaska.

I would trade even for a new Adams Golf F11 ti 3 wood. If they would throw in the 5, I would install the thing as well.

Kevin
PhotoKevin is offline  
post #2643 of 2662 Old 06-20-2011, 08:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Hey Kevin. I just spent last Tuesday and Friday at the US Open about 25 minutes from my house. I understand on Friday I was on TV quite a bit. I spent the entire day next to the rope on the right side just above the 18th green, actually right above the first trap. Was out there during the thunder storm sitting on my USGA tripod seat, gortex rain jacket, and big USGA umbrella over my head, held low like a pup tent. Got to the course at about 7:30 AM and left at 8 PM when play was suspended for the second time.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #2644 of 2662 Old 11-05-2011, 10:20 PM
Member
 
The Upsetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is a long shot, but anyone have a TV4 service manual?
The Upsetter is offline  
post #2645 of 2662 Old 12-30-2011, 12:32 AM
Member
 
networkcrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd love it if someone could put up directions on how to get into the service menu, now that Dwin is no more...
networkcrasher is offline  
post #2646 of 2662 Old 01-01-2012, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
vegashomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To get into the advance menus hit - Mute, mute, enter,0,enter. Or it may be mute, mute, 0,enter,0. It's been a while since I have touched them.
vegashomes is offline  
post #2647 of 2662 Old 01-03-2012, 09:18 PM
Member
 
networkcrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
didn't work on our TV4. Do I just hit the code while we're watching video, or does it need to be while the menu is up? We have the solarization issue, and it's driving us nuts!
networkcrasher is offline  
post #2648 of 2662 Old 01-03-2012, 11:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
vegashomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is how to get into the TV3. Solarization probably cant be cured from within the menu. Make sure all your fans are clean and working and some people have cured it by turning the lamp 180 degrees
vegashomes is offline  
post #2649 of 2662 Old 01-16-2012, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
great cthulu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
This is my first time posting on this forum, so please bear with me.
I have owned a dwin tv 3 since 2004, love it. I moved recently and was forced to leave the dvi d cable in the ceiling. Does anyone know where I can find another one for sale? Nothing on ebay right now...Or have one made?
Thanks
great cthulu is offline  
post #2650 of 2662 Old 01-17-2012, 07:22 AM
Member
 
The Upsetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by great cthulu View Post

Hello,
This is my first time posting on this forum, so please bear with me.
I have owned a dwin tv 3 since 2004, love it. I moved recently and was forced to leave the dvi d cable in the ceiling. Does anyone know where I can find another one for sale? Nothing on ebay right now...Or have one made?
Thanks

Do you by chance know if it's the same one used for the TV4? If so my neighbour may have an extra 25 footer. He can order them regardless...how many feet you looking for?
The Upsetter is offline  
post #2651 of 2662 Old 01-17-2012, 04:22 PM
Member
 
RobV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Upsetter View Post

Do you by chance know if it's the same one used for the TV4? If so my neighbour may have an extra 25 footer. He can order them regardless...how many feet you looking for?

I'm looking for a TV3 cable.. shorter is ok. Can you help?

Rob V.
RobV is offline  
post #2652 of 2662 Old 01-18-2012, 07:12 AM
Member
 
The Upsetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobV View Post

I'm looking for a TV3 cable.. shorter is ok. Can you help?

Talked to my neighbor, he can definitely get you the 25 footer that is used for the TV4. He thinks that it's the same wire used for the TV3 but isn't 100% certain. Send me a pic of the inputs on the projector and scaler box. Count the number of pins, etc...we can confirm on this end that its the same.

I can PM you his company's email address afterwards...
The Upsetter is offline  
post #2653 of 2662 Old 01-18-2012, 06:18 PM
Newbie
 
great cthulu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The cable I am looking for is a 13 Din, round on one end, and a regular dvi d on the other. The pattern on the round side is 3 rows of four, with one extra on the side opposite the push lock for a total of 13(hope that made sense). Please let me know if that's what your neighbors looks like and pm me, I would like to buy it if so. Thanks
great cthulu is offline  
post #2654 of 2662 Old 02-19-2012, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
jorgo_mkd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently got dwin tv3 on closeout sale but need the cable. Anyone can help where i can get the cable from or if anyone has extra one i m willing to buy. It is a dvi-d cable and 13 din round plug. I don't know if the other dwin models have same cable? Thanks.
jorgo_mkd is offline  
post #2655 of 2662 Old 02-20-2012, 08:11 AM
Member
 
The Upsetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgo_mkd View Post

Recently got dwin tv3 on closeout sale but need the cable. Anyone can help where i can get the cable from or if anyone has extra one i m willing to buy. It is a dvi-d cable and 13 din round plug. I don't know if the other dwin models have same cable? Thanks.

this guy on ebay has 5 of them:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-DWIN-DVI...item3a70b40a1d
The Upsetter is offline  
post #2656 of 2662 Old 02-20-2012, 07:50 PM
Newbie
 
jorgo_mkd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.
jorgo_mkd is offline  
post #2657 of 2662 Old 04-22-2012, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
vegashomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Solarization issues on my TV3 are definitely caused by heat. Hmm new fans or an Epson 6010?
vegashomes is offline  
post #2658 of 2662 Old 10-31-2012, 09:41 AM
Member
 
mjcow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently changed the power supply of my Dwin TV3e and now the image looks a bit washed (as if a light source is in the room or a vail is over the image - hope you get the picture). I have tried to adjust the settings and though it improved it is still there, color s are still there, but blacks are grey.

My screen is it always been, a Firehawk. Hate the thought of parting with my trusty Dwin, but maybe it's time.

Any suggestion?
mjcow is offline  
post #2659 of 2662 Old 11-01-2012, 08:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
vegashomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you sure it is the right power supply?
vegashomes is offline  
post #2660 of 2662 Old 11-05-2012, 02:36 PM
Member
 
mjcow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My tech guy had to reconstruct the original DWIN power supply, the guy a genius, but I'm not sure if changed anything else. Just wanted to know if anyone have had any contrast issues after changing the PS.
mjcow is offline  
post #2661 of 2662 Old 12-16-2013, 09:01 PM
Newbie
 
write_barrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. I have decommissioned my good old TV3. It is currently for sale on eBay in case you are looking for another working TV3 setup. So long and thanks for all the fish!
write_barrier is offline  
post #2662 of 2662 Old 03-03-2014, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Had to rehang my TV3e. My newer projector is broken. I almost sent the Dwin to electronic recycling last year. Glad I didn't .


Kevin
PhotoKevin is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off