Dead pixels and DLP? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-13-2004, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
savagez3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know that LCD projectors suffer for dead and stuck pixels, which is one of my reasons for avoiding that technology.

Has anyone had a problem with dead pixels on a DLP projector? It was my understanding that DLP did not suffer from dead pixels in the same way that LCD does, but is that the case? What is the replacement policy on dead pixels in a DLP projector?
savagez3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-13-2004, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
new teq joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: toronto ont
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dlp dose not have dead pixels the problem with dlp is rain bow affects because they use a color wheel and as i under stand it the faster the wheel the less the rain bow effects
new teq joe is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-13-2004, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrikos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 3,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
sz3,
look for manufacturers that offer a zero defect pixel policy.
I know inforcus is one of them.
If you get a dead pixel, they'll replece it for you.

Next projector will have LEDs, >=1080 res, >=10 bit color, >14bit CR, >9 bit ANSI CR, >=120Hz, >16ft.L on 12ft 2.35:1 screen, <$12bit price

My 1st line array design

My ongoing Line Array Design
Andrikos is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 01-13-2004, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
savagez3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Many thanks, I will look into that. I wonder if BENQ has a good policy - anyone know?
savagez3 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-13-2004, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Brinkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hilton Head Island, SC
Posts: 1,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
DLP absolutly does have dead pixels, just way fewer than we see on LCD and LCOS projectors.

The majority of manufacturers specifically exclude dead pixels from their warranty but some like Marantz have been known to replace them on occasions anyway. Only InFocus and Runco will guarantee to replace if you have a dead pixel to my knowledge.

Check out the specific manufacturer closely. Some do have unwritten policies depending on how many dead pixels and the location but call the manufacturer directly to find out. Don't just take a dealers word for it unless they will put it in writing.
Carl Brinkman is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-13-2004, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Darrel Johansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: ...upstairs, in the dark, in Tempe
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no dead pixels on my SharpVision 12K and had none on my previous SE-13HD.

Of course, the odds of getting a dead pixel might be greater on an LCD because there are three panels instead of one.
Darrel Johansen is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-09-2004, 10:09 AM
Member
 
astrojeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tequesta, FL
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 2 dead pixels on my Sharp 12K. I am going to contact Sharp to see if they will do anything about it.

Jeff
astrojeff is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-09-2004, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 102
I have a lazy pixel on my Sharp 10k. After about 3 hours of use, I have a single pixel that won't always switch to ON in bright scenes. If I shut the PJ off and restart it the lazy pixel is OK for another few hours. :confused: This started showing up after about 500 hours. I know these mirrors switch using static electricity so it may be that the static just builds up to a point where it does not work and by restarting the PJ it dissipates the static.

---
Derek

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-09-2004, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
freychris42424's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got a dead pixal on my X1 a while ago, and on a 800 x 600 pj they are very annoying, but luckly now I have XGA. I've heard that only 1 out of 10 sanyo Z2 have zero dead pixals.

Chris
freychris42424 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-09-2004, 02:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,326
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Do dead pixels occur at triple the rate in LCOS compared to LCD? I've not seen a thread on LCOS dead pixels.

Art

My HT


iRule rules my theater
 

"If she's amazing she won't be easy,if she's easy she won't be amazing"

 

Bob Marley

Art Sonneborn is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-10-2004, 02:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Orangelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spain
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a dead pixel on my Yamaha DPX-1000 and had the unit exchanged. The seller run a specific guarantee on dead pixels.

BenQ has a specific policy on dead pixels dor their DLPs, something like 1 black / 0 white, if I remeber correctly.
Orangelo is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-10-2004, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ericbres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Townsend, MA
Posts: 2,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Orangelo

BenQ has a specific policy on dead pixels dor their DLPs, something like 1 black / 0 white, if I remeber correctly.
Here is a quote from BenQ Technical Support (for the 8700 anyway):

Dead Pixel Requirements: PE8700

Dark Pixel - 0 dark pixels allowed in Zone A(Middle portion of the image)
<= 2 dark pixels allowed in Zone B(Surrounding portion)
No Adjacent Dark Pixels


Light Pixel - No Light Pixels Visible.
Ericbres is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-10-2004, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Huey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN, USA
Posts: 5,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got 2 dead pixels on the masked edge of my NEC LT150 XGA DLP (one on and one off right next to each other). I never turned it it as 1) it's masked at the far edge so you can't see it 2) I don't like abusing return policy for minor issues especially when you can inherit new problems (dust, shipping damage, etc.) as well as missing your PJ for 2-4 weeks. Blasting air on the DMD panel, running static/snow signal, and 2 years later they remain. So yes, DLP can get dead or stuck mirrors although 1/3 as rare as LCD due to single panel. It's also less of a problem than LCD technology.

Huey ;-]
Huey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off