Samsung H710AE??? 4000MRSP - Page 36 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1071 Old 04-10-2008, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GeorgeAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 95
No need to sacrifice anything. Drop me a PM or e-mail if you want Joe Kane's new 1080P Samsung projector.
GeorgeAB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1071 Old 04-10-2008, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
gswfaninaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ankeny IA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback. I will probably start to look at the blu-ray players.
gswfaninaz is offline  
post #1053 of 1071 Old 04-10-2008, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chewbacco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I've had both Blu-Ray and HD-DVD hooked up to my 710 and they both look absolutely beautiful!. In your search for a player try to find one that upconverts standard DVD's really good, and you'll have the best of both worlds!.
Chewbacco is offline  
post #1054 of 1071 Old 04-10-2008, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GeorgeAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Joe Kane contributed to the development of the Samsung BD1200, which used the Silicon Optics HQV Reon processor chip. It's no longer a current model. You may be able to find their BD5000 BD/HD DVD combo player, also with the Reon chip, if you act quickly. The only other BD player I know of with a Silicon Optics processor in it is the new Denon (there might be a Marantz equivalent). It has the even better Realta chip but retails for $2k. I have the 710 projector in my demo theater at my office, and also the BD1200 player. I became fond of the Reon chip's performance in my Toshiba HD XA2 HD DVD player, also at my office. At home, I have the BD5000, which I checked out with the Samsung projector before keeping it.
GeorgeAB is offline  
post #1055 of 1071 Old 06-12-2008, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
jimsfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: slc, ut
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a bulb for this projector I am looking to sell. It has about 200 hours on it. I’m selling it because I no longer have the projector. PM me if interested.
jimsfield is offline  
post #1056 of 1071 Old 06-18-2008, 08:13 AM
Member
 
AlexBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Arlington Heights, Illinois, USA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm slowly re-assembling my HT, and for the short term, I plan on using my Samsung 710. I've worked through a pretty silly (newb) issue already after finding my DVD player set incorrectly. The image is pretty impressive now, fills the screen beautifully, and potentially putting at risk my long term goal of re-installing my CRT Sony G-70.

In the mean time, to give the DLP a fair shake, I'd like to know what people still using this pj, hopefully still following the thread once and a while are using for Blu-ray and/or other HDMI output enabled sources to get the most out of this projector.

In the CRT world, the answer is pretty clear, or at least there is a pretty good consensus that devices like the HD-Fury or custom cards like the Moome are the way to go for my G-70.

What is considered the "ultimate" way to feed this pj from an HDMI source? Conversion to the PC input? Converstion to the DVI input? Converstion to the RGB input?

TIA

Alex Lipowich
AlexBen is offline  
post #1057 of 1071 Old 06-18-2008, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GeorgeAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:


What is considered the "ultimate" way to feed this pj from an HDMI source? Conversion to the PC input? Converstion to the DVI input? Converstion to the RGB input?

The "ultimate" way to feed an HDMI signal to a digital display, such as a DLP projector, would be to keep the signal digital, at least in theory. Use the DVI input on the 710. This will eliminate two signal conversion stages in the signal path: D/A from the HDMI feed, then A/D after the analog input on the projector.

Joe Kane has recommended using the DVI input on the 710 when a digital source signal is available. He oversaw the design and demonstrated it all over the world for years.

Best regards and beautiful pictures,
G. Alan Brown, President
CinemaQuest, Inc.

"Advancing the art and science of electronic imaging"
GeorgeAB is offline  
post #1058 of 1071 Old 06-18-2008, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chewbacco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I feed my 710 HDMI-DVI straight from my PS3 and my Tosh A2. It looks so good I bought a couple of extra bulbs as this PJ is a keeper for me. Be sure to calibrate/tweak it sit back and enjoy!.
Chewbacco is offline  
post #1059 of 1071 Old 06-25-2008, 03:09 AM
Member
 
fastforty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A quick question guys,i also own a 710 ae but haven't had a chance to use it yet(theater is under contruction)so once i set it up would i connect it to my I-SCAN VP-30 using an hdmi to hdmi with adapter dvi plug and (so i've been told) suffer some image loss or just use component cables?The hdmi to hdmi cable was installed through my ceiling long before aquiring the projector.Also, can i turn off the video processing in the 710 and let the VP-30 handle it all?TIA
fastforty is offline  
post #1060 of 1071 Old 06-25-2008, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GeorgeAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 95
The answer to your first question is 2 posts prior to yours. You will suffer some image loss only if you use another cable other than digital. The processing in the projector cannot be "turned off," but you can bypass it by feeding it's native signal: 720P. Your outboard video processor is likely superior to the one in the projector. Keep everything in the digital domain as much as possible.
GeorgeAB is offline  
post #1061 of 1071 Old 07-28-2009, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Adam-DiVine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just picked up a new 700 for a song. I always like getting the high end technology from a couple of years ago for a good price (less than 1/10th of retail). We will see how it compares to my current projector (Sanyo Z60). I am hoping the 700 bests it in every way. I wonder if Samsung will honor the warranty still?? The unit is a leftover that was never opened from an out of business AV shop.
Adam-DiVine is offline  
post #1062 of 1071 Old 07-28-2009, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GeorgeAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:


I wonder if Samsung will honor the warranty still?? The unit is a leftover that was never opened from an out of business AV shop.

Contact Samsung and get their answer in writing. They should be able to verify if the unit has never been sold to a consumer. There should be original warranty registration cards and instructions in the box. The image produced by the Samsung should put the Sanyo LCD to shame. I have owned both and there is no comparison, except the Sanyo had a few more pixels in the image. In every other regard, the Samsung far outperforms the Sanyo.
GeorgeAB is offline  
post #1063 of 1071 Old 07-28-2009, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Adam-DiVine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I will try to contact samsung. I can't wait to try this projector out.
Adam-DiVine is offline  
post #1064 of 1071 Old 07-29-2009, 09:57 AM
jxo
Advanced Member
 
jxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam-DiVine View Post

I will try to contact samsung. I can't wait to try this projector out.

I still have one in use. Samsung replaced my original a while back after it suffered from the dreaded start up issues. I built a second home theater in the basement for the kids (so I could finally watch something myself) with the 710 and a dirt cheap Monoprice 135" screen. The screen is way too big for the projector but it still looks great-- I always liked the colors on it. I have a JVC in the main theater-- 1080 resolution and much better blacks make a big difference to the videophile but the kids could care less (they like the huge floor to ceiling screen). Good luck-- I hope you have a unit that will last more than a few months.

Regards,
Jim
jxo is offline  
post #1065 of 1071 Old 07-29-2009, 09:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
KX250F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know where you can get one of these fixed (start up issue) without going through Samsung. Mine started acting up one month after replacing the bulb in September 2007. I just went ahead and replaced it with a Marantz 15S1 1080P and put the Samsung back in its original box and put it in storage. I had to get something from the storage unit a few days ago and saw the box setting there. I would like to get it repaired and use it in a spare bedroom for the kids to watch movies and play video games on. I did try and go through Samsung in November 2007 and all I have to say is what a freakin joke. I called them six different times in a two week period and each and every time I got a different answer.

Thanks.
KX250F is offline  
post #1066 of 1071 Old 07-30-2009, 04:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Adam-DiVine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
does any one know if the start up problem was only with the 710, or was it also with the 700? I was wondering if the cost reduction between the two units resulted in reliability issues. Just a thought...
Adam-DiVine is offline  
post #1067 of 1071 Old 08-02-2009, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Adam-DiVine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I hooked up the projector and it looks pretty good. I think that I need to upgrade my source. I am using an OPPO 981HD and it just doesn't put out that great of an image. This was really apparent when I switched from the Sanyo Z60 to the Samsung. Even though the picture is better, I am still bothered by digital noise (or maybe dithering) in the image. It is most pronounced in backgrounds of mostly the same color (like an interior wall or a dark sky). I am going to post in the OPPO thread to see if there are any suggestions.
Adam-DiVine is offline  
post #1068 of 1071 Old 08-25-2009, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Adam-DiVine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well that didn't last long... My 700 died after just 30 hours. I am going to try to get warranty service, we will see how it goes.
Adam-DiVine is offline  
post #1069 of 1071 Old 08-25-2009, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Yikes

fleaman is offline  
post #1070 of 1071 Old 08-25-2009, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Adam-DiVine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Belvidere, NJ
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I contacted Samsung and filled out an online repair request. I received a ticket number and no further instructions. So I called a representative and he said that projector repairs under warranty are dealt with by sending out a new projector to the customer and then sending back the defective unit in the same box. If this actually happens, I will be happy. I just hope the new one doesn't exhibit the same problem after such short use.
Adam-DiVine is offline  
post #1071 of 1071 Old 08-25-2009, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GeorgeAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 95
If you need out of warranty repair work done, try contacting this company in the Atlanta area and ask for Richard Fisher. He is the owner of the company and also owns either a 700 or a 710. The company has been an electronics repair service center for many manufacturers for many years, as well as a resource for audio and video calibration services.

Best regards and beautiful pictures,
G. Alan Brown, President
CinemaQuest, Inc.
A Lion AV Consultants Affiliate

"Advancing the art and science of electronic imaging"
GeorgeAB is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off