Official Optoma HD7100, HD7300 + HD3000 Scaler thread. - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 2851 Old 08-07-2007, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
xlurkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CowboyCurtis:

I have the pdf of the HD7100 manual. Your reply prompted me to look at it again. It clearly states on page 61 that 720P/60 is supported on the VGA input. I'm sorry I missed that. Apologies.

-Tom
xlurkr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 2851 Old 08-10-2007, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
greenhut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,

I realized I started the "official" 7100 and abandoned it when I sent mine back. As a result, the opening post does not have FAQ items and updates. If you'd like to "elect" someone to send me the info, I'd be hapy to post it.

jeff
greenhut is offline  
post #813 of 2851 Old 09-03-2007, 06:23 AM
Member
 
rking401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vero Beach Florida
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rking401 View Post

So far so good on the new one. I get the Optomo logo each time at start up, which was very rare with the old one. My bulb counter on the new one was at zero upon arrival, of course that doesn't mean it's a new bulb, however, I suspect it is. The box was sealed and had no evidence that it had been opened, which I suspect they would have to do to swap bulbs.

It's been a while since I reported in, but now unit #4 is acting up (actually, it's been acting up for a little while). Same old thing with the bulb appearing to fire, but never getting to the logo display then shutting down and restarting (sometimes multiple times). When it is in this "mode" of operation it is totally unresponsive to commands from the remote until it has gone through at least one full cycle. After one cycle I can shut it down, wait for the blue light to stop flashing and restart it, usually with good luck. Of course, I don't know if it would have simply fired properly with the next cycle through whatever it is doing anyway. It was doing this about 1/3 of the time for a while, then ran about 8-10 times just fine, now it's back and doing it even more often. I am now going into the DVI input, so, apparently that makes no difference. This has been a very frustrating experience.
rking401 is offline  
post #814 of 2851 Old 09-03-2007, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It isn't supposed to be this way. I know of a well known ex-Optoma dealer who decided not to carry any of their projectors anymore because of problems like this. I'm sure that there are many others. In fact, I can remember reading about at least one other also.

It's too bad because this is probably the best 720p projector image wise in it's price class. So much going for it with lens shift and sharp lens etc..., yet what good is all that if you're constantly on pins and needles every time you start the thing up!?

Mine occasionally fails to fire but it has been good that way for the most part. I guess I'm one of the lucky ones. This may be my last Optoma projector though. Who needs the worry and hassle?

Wayne
mystery is offline  
post #815 of 2851 Old 09-06-2007, 03:55 AM
Member
 
attichometheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Slatington pa
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone. I finally installed my HD7100 on Sat. Ive been working on my attic home theater for 8months after work and on weekends when the kids didnt have soccer or baseball/softball games. I was so pump to install the HD7100 and it looked awsome for around 5 hours then nothing. The bulb wont fire and it will not shut down. I can f*&@'n believe it. After all my hard work this is the payoff, a room thats 90% finished and a projector that doesn't work. Penn State plays Notre Dame this Sat. and I have to watch on my 50in toshiba, what a kick in the balls. I contacted Optoma's customer service and the tech seems like a nice guy and he promised to help me a.s.a.p. I hope he is a man of his word. Well I guess I should look on the bright side now I can finish the last 10% of the room with no distractions. ;{
attichometheater is offline  
post #816 of 2851 Old 09-07-2007, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
rmlowz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Without reading this whole thread I need help from my forum friends. I see that this projector has start up problems. The close out pricing is very good on this projector. I am not a gambler but think I might gamble and buy one of these 7100 or 7300. My projector will need to be directly over my seating is it really that loud for this install? I will be using either a Stewart 130 or Firehawk 100 inch screen I have both screen materials. Also is Optoma service any good? I see on the website it is email only. What do my forum friends think?

I appreciate your help,

rmlowz
rmlowz is offline  
post #817 of 2851 Old 09-07-2007, 08:58 AM
Member
 
afcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also would like some clarification on what signals the 7100 will accept before I go out and buy a HD DVD or Blu-ray reader. I only see reference to 1080i signals in the owners manual, will it process 1080p? Also, will it take 24 fps?

I have about 1000 hours on my 7100, and do have the start up problem, which bugs me, but have had no terminal problems yet, thank God. And the picture is soooooo great!
afcooper is offline  
post #818 of 2851 Old 09-07-2007, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
rmlowz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I just pulled the trigger on the 7300. Forum sponser VisualApex has this for a deal I could not refuse. This should be good enough for my movie watching. I only put 91 hours in 13 months on my last projector unfortunatley I do not watch movies like I want. What is the trick to get it back on. It sounds like you know the trick because you have 1000 hours on the 7100.

Thanks for you help,

rmlowz
rmlowz is offline  
post #819 of 2851 Old 09-07-2007, 10:36 AM
Member
 
afcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Patience. The bulb fires, but no image comes up. After a few minutes the PJ shuts down with the blower running, then after about 5 minutes it starts up again, and almost always comes up properly on the second try. Nothing you can really do, as the buttons and remote won't function. A couple of times it took three tries, but that is very rare. Mine will usually go for 6-8 weeks now with out failing, then once or twice a week for a while.
afcooper is offline  
post #820 of 2851 Old 09-07-2007, 01:19 PM
Member
 
rking401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vero Beach Florida
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine does the EXACT same thing, but on a daily basis. The most that I have had success recently is about 8-9 good fires in a row, but that was obviously a fluke. I think that was just luck as it is back to doing it every 2-3 times now. I am considering selling it now and going with something that works (with a different name tag on it). The problem is that I am an honest person and can't sell this without telling the buyer of the potential problems, meaning I will probably not be able to ever sell it.
rking401 is offline  
post #821 of 2851 Old 09-08-2007, 06:52 AM
Member
 
afcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It will be time to get a 1080 PJ soon, but I couldn't pass mine off to some unsuspecting buyer either. Will probably end up giving it away.
afcooper is offline  
post #822 of 2851 Old 09-08-2007, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
rmlowz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello afcooper,

I was wondering how long have you owned your projector and where did you buy it from?

Thanks,

rmlowz
rmlowz is offline  
post #823 of 2851 Old 09-09-2007, 08:04 AM
Member
 
afcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rmlowz- I got mine from VisualApex.com in November '06. Checked prices on the 7100 and they are half what they were then. What a deal.
afcooper is offline  
post #824 of 2851 Old 09-09-2007, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
rmlowz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello afcooper,

Thanks for your reply. I just could not turn down the VisualApex deal that they are offering. There are forum friends that are using the HD3000 that comes with the 7300 with other projectors with great results. I guess if the projector fails and gets to costly to keep shipping it to Optoma. I still have the scaler to play with. This is a hobby for me that takes a lot of money to keep going never happy with what I have. Some days I think I should find a different hobby. My friend just spent 60k for a lifetime membership to a country club here in town. I thinks he is crazy as he thinks I am crazy spending money like I do with A/V gear. Sometime's I think his hobby costs less. Just my two cents.

rmlowz
rmlowz is offline  
post #825 of 2851 Old 09-09-2007, 12:36 PM
Member
 
CowboyCurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And I thought I was getting a great deal on my 7100 1 year ago when Projectorpeople offered it at $2200, down from an original $4K or so. The 7300 was almost twice as much as the 7100 alone. It's tempting to pick up a new 7300. I'd get a spare bulb, a scaler, and an extra projector, quite an array of equipment. I notice the warranty has shrunk from 3 years to 1 year.

I'm still happy with my original 7100. It misfires occasionally but throws up an excellent image with the Dark Chip 3 and good optics. I have a 118" Carrada screen and sit just beneath the pj. I notice the fan during quiet scenes if I bother to think about , but seldom do. Not a problem.
CowboyCurtis is offline  
post #826 of 2851 Old 09-09-2007, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
rmlowz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello CowboyCurtis,

I actually called Optoma and talked to them about some questions I had. One of the questions was warranty It is three years(VisualApex site also states three years). If it fails within the first 90 days you get a brand new unit after that refurbs. Where are you seeing 1 year warranty?

Thanks,

rmlowz
rmlowz is offline  
post #827 of 2851 Old 09-10-2007, 08:54 AM
Member
 
CowboyCurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My mistake, rm. I was reading the line about the 1 year GE warranty. The 7100 still has the 3 year warranty that should eleviate some of the dependability concerns surrounding this model.
CowboyCurtis is offline  
post #828 of 2851 Old 09-10-2007, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Is the 7300 the exact same projector as the 7100 except that it comes with the scaler? If it is not the same projector, does it have the bulb firing problem too?

Thanks,
Mike

The Mayans were full of sh*t!!!
mbw23air is offline  
post #829 of 2851 Old 09-10-2007, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
rmlowz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am new to this projector HD 7300. I confirmed with Optoma it is the same as 7100 but is called the HD7300 with the HD3000 scaler. Although I found out today that the HD3000 will only output 720p. It is not like the stand alone HD3000. As far as the bulb firing problem time will tell mine will be here Thursday.

rmlowz
rmlowz is offline  
post #830 of 2851 Old 09-10-2007, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmlowz View Post

Hello,

I am new to this projector HD 7300. I confirmed with Optoma it is the same as 7100 but is called the HD7300 with the HD3000 scaler. Although I found out today that the HD3000 will only output 720p. It is not like the stand alone HD3000. As far as the bulb firing problem time will tell mine will be here Thursday.

rmlowz


Ok, thanks for the info. I think I am going to pass on the 7100/7300. I don't have enough faith in it starting up every time.

Mike

The Mayans were full of sh*t!!!
mbw23air is offline  
post #831 of 2851 Old 09-13-2007, 03:29 AM
Senior Member
 
KostaVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mbw...

So what are you going to go with?

I've been eyeing the 7100 as I need a new projector soon and it's at a great price. You see other comparable projectors out there at these prices???

I need help...going crazy with this....

thanks.!

kosta
KostaVan is offline  
post #832 of 2851 Old 09-13-2007, 01:31 PM
Member
 
CowboyCurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Get the 7100 or better yet, the 7300. Darkchip 3 DLP, great optics, flexible placement, 3 yr. warranty, built like a tank. If you don't like it, ship it back. The cheap 720p offerings are good but do not stack up well against this one.
CowboyCurtis is offline  
post #833 of 2851 Old 09-13-2007, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
KostaVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm really thinking about biting the bullet and getting the HD7300 package. If this bulb issue is the only problem people are having I think it might prove to be a better option then say a Benq W500 or Epson 400 (the others I was looking at)

This bulb issue doesn't make the projector un-operational...right? --- just a pain in the butt.

And the warranty seems good....

Does optoma work with its customers on warranty claims or do they make it difficult? I know they aren't as good as Epson but will they fix it if it's broke?

Thanks everyone....

give me some last words!
KostaVan is offline  
post #834 of 2851 Old 09-13-2007, 05:24 PM
Member
 
CowboyCurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've only had a very mild form of the bulb firing, so it's not an issue with me. Other's, especially rking, have had serious bulb firing problems. I can't remember complaints about the image on this thread, only raves. I can't speak to Optoma's tech and warranty support since I haven't had to use it.

Getting the 7300 over the 7100 is an excellent choice. The MSRP (not street price)for the 7300 was $8K 18 months ago.
CowboyCurtis is offline  
post #835 of 2851 Old 09-13-2007, 07:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
rmlowz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clarksville TN
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I got my HD7300 package today from forum sponser VisualApex. Very good service delivered as promised. I will be installing it this weekend. It looks impressive video processor and all. I will let my forum friends know my results soon.

rmlowz
rmlowz is offline  
post #836 of 2851 Old 09-13-2007, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Catdaddy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking forward to it, Rich.

Thanks for all of your work for me, brother, and you know what Im talking about. 8)
Catdaddy67 is offline  
post #837 of 2851 Old 09-13-2007, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
KostaVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rmlowz....

please post some news ASAP!!!

I'm really looking forward to it!

THANKS!!!!!!!!
KostaVan is offline  
post #838 of 2851 Old 09-14-2007, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
spirithockey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know everyone has a different setup, lighting, etc. but I think it would be helpful if people posted their setup and display/calibration settings for others to tweak around with. I know there has been posts but they are several months old. Surely, there have been some better results since then. I really think it would be beneficial to see those settings that would apply to Blu-Ray (like the PS3) or an HD-DVD player.

I know many people have set theirs will professional equipment or with a DVD like DVE or AVIA, which is why I think it's important to see the differences.

Unfortunately, I'm at work now so I can't post mine until later, but I have a dedicated theatre room with controlled lighting, a 92" grey screen, a DirecTV HD DVR (HR20), a PS3, and a Denon AVR-2807. Everything is hooked up via HDMI.

I'll post my settings later...I've gone through the DVE setup a couple of times and just haven't been really happy with the results. The blacks aren't black enough and the color isn't as vibrant.
spirithockey79 is offline  
post #839 of 2851 Old 09-14-2007, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
KostaVan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rmlowz....

post some news about your setup so far....surely you have it running by now..

just take a 5 minute break and come on here and post your findings...how you have it hooked up....your screen size/type.....brightness...your impressions, etc....

THANKS!!!! THANKS!!!
KostaVan is offline  
post #840 of 2851 Old 09-15-2007, 10:29 AM
Member
 
CowboyCurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirithockey79 View Post

I know everyone has a different setup, lighting, etc. but I think it would be helpful if people posted their setup and display/calibration settings for others to tweak around with. I know there has been posts but they are several months old. Surely, there have been some better results since then. I really think it would be beneficial to see those settings that would apply to Blu-Ray (like the PS3) or an HD-DVD player.

I know many people have set theirs will professional equipment or with a DVD like DVE or AVIA, which is why I think it's important to see the differences.

Unfortunately, I'm at work now so I can't post mine until later, but I have a dedicated theatre room with controlled lighting, a 92" grey screen, a DirecTV HD DVR (HR20), a PS3, and a Denon AVR-2807. Everything is hooked up via HDMI.

I'll post my settings later...I've gone through the DVE setup a couple of times and just haven't been really happy with the results. The blacks aren't black enough and the color isn't as vibrant.

Here's some settings that may help.......

From Guitarman

I have some colorfacts numbers for the HD7100.

I used the Accupel to reference tune it. DVI 720p showed video level brightness crushed out so I tuned PC level brightness. Here's what I got.

Brightness -11
Contrast 18
Sharpness Normal
Gamma 2.2
Color temp 6500k

White balance
R Gain 1
G Gain 0
B Gain1
R Bias 0
G Bias 0
B Bias 0

Not much on the white balance was needed because OTB 6500k 2.2gamma tracked extremely well.

From FGM...........

Thanks, it works!!
So, basically we just have 2 memory positions at our disposal, Custom 1 and 2. However, I find it peculiar that settings under Normal and the ISFs can't be saved. Since we are all different and our installations are different as well, how would Optoma figure that Normal, ISF Night, etc could be of use to us w/o the capability of saving our specific settings. Go figure
I project from about 10' onto a 92" GrayWolf in a room w/o lights but with clear walls ceiling and floor and use the following setting (still tweaking with Sound and Vision disc):
Brightness: -18
Contrast: +6
Colour: -9
Tint: -3
Sharpness: softest
Colour temp: 6500
Gamma: 2.2
Green Gain: -1
Green Offset: -2
Mode: econo
I found that the settings posted by other members helped me a lot to arrive to these settings under Custom1.
It may be just me, but I still find that the same settings under ISF Night give a different, better balanced picture.
Have you guys tried playing a bit with ISF Night? What are your settings?

From upnorth

Calibrated using Colorfacts

96" Goo Systems Digital Grey Screen
Oppo DVD player upconverting to 1080i over a 30' Better Cables DVI to HDMI cord.
Ambient light nil in darkend room, flat painted walls
Projected from 10 feet using about 1/4 vertical lens shift and slight horizontal lens shift.

These are the final settings and results achieved by using the Spyder Pro2 light meter facing the projector versus the screen. I used the Avia disk for my IRE test patterns and to check contrast ratios and foot lamberts post calibration. I also verified my results with the Get Grey disk.

I turned the light meter around to face the projector and got much more accurate results. This method also allowed recording of the lower light levels at 10IREand 20IRE without giving me an out of range error. I still had to raise the red gain up to +18 to achieve accurate results of 6507K at 80IRE. I adjusted the x value by +1 at 6500K and left the y value alone as it was near perfect at .329 which resulted in about 0.31265 for x.

Custom 1 Setting[u]
Brightness = -4
Contrast = +14
Color Temp = 6500K
Sharpness = Sharp
Gamma = 2.2
Color Temp X value = +1 adjusted at 80IRE
Color Temp Y value = 0 adjusted at 80IRE
White Balance =
Red Gain +18, Green Gain -1, Blue Gain -1
Red Offset +4, Green Offset +6, Blue Offset +3
All color tracking from 30IRE to 80IRE within 15 points on 6500K with 10IRE off by about 200points and 20IRE off by about 75 points 90IRE off by about 500 points and 100IRE off by about 1400 points, due to Red running out.
Achieved Contrast ratio = 3,763:1
Foot Lamberts Achieved on100IRE window = 11.1

Still teaking and playing, and also trying to figure out the best settings for this projector. Have tried other settings and calibrating with some of the other color temps, but so far this is the best yet. I can achieve an over 4000:1 contrast ratio if I (a)move the light meter back further from the screen or (b)give up a more accurate color temp and grey scale. Tom recorded over 4:000:1 in his calibration of this projector. Other reviews I have read sighted contrast ratios anywhere from 3500:1 to 3700:1, so I feel I am there with my calibration.


__________________
CowboyCurtis is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off