Official Optoma HD7100, HD7300 + HD3000 Scaler thread. - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 2851 Old 10-31-2007, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
bdbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Well, this wife here knows that a pj purchase has lurking and itching to be made, so... I may go with the "I had to buy it hun, because it's such a killer deal and they would have sold out if I didn't buy it right away" explanation.

I feel for you guys. I am very lucky, and my wife actually told me I better not pass this deal up! Even after the bad experience I had with my last purchase. Cool!

By the way, do you think we should start another thread just for the HD7300? And should we start it on the under $3000 forum?
bdbaba is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 2851 Old 10-31-2007, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gottahavapj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbaba View Post

By the way, do you think we should start another thread just for the HD7300? And should we start it on the under $3000 forum?

Hmmm... I guess the three retailers I just peaked at show the MSRP still at well over $3K. Perhaps it should stay here so that the 7100 owners and any previous purchasers of the 7300 (were there many?) can easily find it to participate should they choose.

My $.02, Cheers!
gottahavapj is offline  
post #1173 of 2851 Old 10-31-2007, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
bdbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gottahavapj View Post

Hmmm... I guess the three retailers I just peaked at show the MSRP still at well over $3K. Perhaps it should stay here so that the 7100 owners and any previous purchasers of the 7300 (were there many?) can easily find it to participate should they choose.

My $.02, Cheers!

I am fine with that. I do think that putting HD7300 in the title would be good, however. Don't you think?
bdbaba is offline  
post #1174 of 2851 Old 10-31-2007, 08:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Yes, I think maybe just ask the Moderator to change the title of THIS thread to include the HD7300.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #1175 of 2851 Old 10-31-2007, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
bdbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Yes, I think maybe just ask the Moderator to change the title of THIS thread to include the HD7300.

That is a good idea. Will they just read this and do it, or do we have to PM someone or something like that?

Could it be that someone is watching me type this right now? Its not like Halloween or anything, is it?
bdbaba is offline  
post #1176 of 2851 Old 10-31-2007, 10:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The 7100 is just the HD7300 without the very fine deinterlacing and switching. Both basically the same machines with the same CR (5700.1) and brightness results, plus super optics. Which are very high levels. Each excellent in their own right. Id' be happy with either.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
post #1177 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 12:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
bdbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarman View Post

The 7100 is just the HD7300 without the very fine deinterlacing and switching. Both basically the same machines with the same CR (5700.1) and brightness results, plus super optics. Which are very high levels. Each excellent in their own right. Id' be happy with either.

Hey Guitarman--

Can you answer the question for us whether the HD3000 that we will get with this PJ has the newer better chip with 1080P capability. Just wondering for future use with my next PJ.

Thanks,

bdbaba
bdbaba is offline  
post #1178 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbaba View Post

Hey Guitarman--

Can you answer the question for us whether the HD3000 that we will get with this PJ has the newer better chip with 1080P capability. Just wondering for future use with my next PJ.

Thanks,

bdbaba

He can't make a blanket statement because neither he or I know the date of manufacturing of new units. Maybe they've been siiting in a wharehouse for a long time. The manual calls out the older chip. The only thing you can do is when you receive your unit determine the date of manufacture and pop the cover and look at the chip number. There usually marked on the top of the IC.
This assumes there's no sticker that if broken will void your warranty.
mkoss is offline  
post #1179 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 06:43 AM
FGM
Senior Member
 
FGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbaba View Post

Hey Guitarman--

Can you answer the question for us whether the HD3000 that we will get with this PJ has the newer better chip with 1080P capability. Just wondering for future use with my next PJ.

Thanks,

bdbaba

From my readings of the video processing forum, it is my understanding that both chips, the old and the new, are capable of 1080p.
However, my question is if the processors bundled up with the HD7300 are somehow "restricted" at manufacture to 720p max.
Users of the HD7300, could you please check the output resolution menu of your processors and tell us if 1080p can be selected? If you do not have a 1080p display connected to the processor, do not implement the selection, just let us know if 1080p can be selected in the menu.
Thanks.
FGM is offline  
post #1180 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My guess is that newegg shipping is completely screwed up. From what I understand, those of you who who ordered from this link, the one without the bulb http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16889219002 got the additional bulb.

I heard that one of you checked with their customer support, and Optoma support and was asked to order from this link, to get the additional bulb:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824219047

Well, I ordered from that link, and I was sent the wrong box, one without the bulb... I am pissed
gireesh is offline  
post #1181 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gireesh View Post

My guess is that newegg shipping is completely screwed up. From what I understand, those of you who who ordered from this link, the one without the bulb http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16889219002 got the additional bulb.

I heard that one of you checked with their customer support, and Optoma support and was asked to order from this link, to get the additional bulb:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824219047

Well, I ordered from that link, and I was sent the wrong box, one without the bulb... I am pissed



Which link did you order from? Looks like I got the bulb yesterday and am waiting for the pj to arrive today. The bulb had a different shipping UPS number
mkoss is offline  
post #1182 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Below is what shows on my order. So far, I have gotten only one box. I guess I should be waiting for the other box.

Optoma HD7300+BLFP250A 1280 x 720 DLP DLP Home Theater Projector With Lamp
Item #: N82E16824219047
Return Policy: Manufacturer Warranty

How many tracking numbers were on your oder page?

Thanks
gireesh is offline  
post #1183 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gireesh View Post

Below is what shows on my order. So far, I have gotten only one box. I guess I should be waiting for the other box.

Optoma HD7300+BLFP250A 1280 x 720 DLP DLP Home Theater Projector With Lamp
Item #: N82E16824219047
Return Policy: Manufacturer Warranty

How many tracking numbers were on your oder page?

Thanks

just 1 . The tracking number is for the one I'm waiting on. The 1 on the bulb was different.
mkoss is offline  
post #1184 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very interesting... I am online with newegg.

It is possible that my bulb will show up today. My HD7300 package came overnight to Dallas from Long Island
gireesh is offline  
post #1185 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CaspianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Land of Cardinals
Posts: 5,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
check ups tracking link that newegg sent you to varify saying two boxes or one.
Each has a different tracking#. It could be that it is on its way.

It is all about quality...that is the picture

JVC & NEC 8" CRT with 106" wide Stewart screen. All NHT speakers driven by Pioneer Elite AVR and bluray

Custom dedicated 8 seat theater

CaspianM is offline  
post #1186 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never got a tracking number email. Like mkoss, there is one on my order, that is for HD7300 pack.
gireesh is offline  
post #1187 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CaspianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Land of Cardinals
Posts: 5,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yup I know. They sent you a link for your order.
Once you click on it then click on "view". There would be a UPS tracking.
copy it and go to UPS site paste it in tracking window and look under "multiple packages" see if its 2 or 1.
They bundle them under the same tracking but they actually have two tracking #'s one for each.

It is all about quality...that is the picture

JVC & NEC 8" CRT with 106" wide Stewart screen. All NHT speakers driven by Pioneer Elite AVR and bluray

Custom dedicated 8 seat theater

CaspianM is offline  
post #1188 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@CaspianM, 'you da man' ... my bulb is on its way.
gireesh is offline  
post #1189 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gireesh View Post

@CaspianM, 'you da man' ... my bulb is on its way.

Got both now. Now I just have to sneak it in the house without little wifey finding out
mkoss is offline  
post #1190 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine works from home, so there is no more sneaking in... I have to explain what a great deal it is... and how quickly I am going to sell the 7100.
gireesh is offline  
post #1191 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CaspianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Land of Cardinals
Posts: 5,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Got mine and went over it quickly.
So far so good and PQ is outstanding with excellent brightness in low lamp onto 110" diag unity screen. I will hook up the HD3000 tonight but as a standalone pj it is a good one as well.

It is all about quality...that is the picture

JVC & NEC 8" CRT with 106" wide Stewart screen. All NHT speakers driven by Pioneer Elite AVR and bluray

Custom dedicated 8 seat theater

CaspianM is offline  
post #1192 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaspianM View Post

Got mine and went over it quickly.
So far so good and PQ is outstanding with excellent brightness in low lamp onto 110" diag unity screen. I will hook up the HD3000 tonight but as a standalone pj it is a good one as well.

Just curious did you pay attention to any startup sequence? How do you chose
low power vs high power on startup? WHat was your source?
mkoss is offline  
post #1193 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CaspianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Land of Cardinals
Posts: 5,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have not read the manual yet just played a bit today.
The lamp setting in under "bright mode" I think and default is low lamp.
My source was Directv HR-200 hd dvr via DVI. DVI is what the pj looks first.

It is all about quality...that is the picture

JVC & NEC 8" CRT with 106" wide Stewart screen. All NHT speakers driven by Pioneer Elite AVR and bluray

Custom dedicated 8 seat theater

CaspianM is offline  
post #1194 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CaspianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Land of Cardinals
Posts: 5,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Out of box the black level is not as good as my Sony HHS51a but it is about rwice or so brighter with contrast at default.
Color I still like the Sony's better in purity and sony looks more natural but these are only early observation. Also it certainly looks smoother than the Sony.

I will post a review once I get used to all the settings and have it calibrated.

Edit: there is econ mode under the "option" menu and on the pj to control the lamp mode.

It is all about quality...that is the picture

JVC & NEC 8" CRT with 106" wide Stewart screen. All NHT speakers driven by Pioneer Elite AVR and bluray

Custom dedicated 8 seat theater

CaspianM is offline  
post #1195 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaspianM View Post

I have not read the manual yet just played a bit today.
The lamp setting in under "bright mode" I think and default is low lamp.
My source was Directv HR-200 hd dvr via DVI. DVI is what the pj looks first.

So your saying on initial powerup it defaults to eco mode
mkoss is offline  
post #1196 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CaspianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Land of Cardinals
Posts: 5,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hit the econ on the top of the pj and find out.
Mine out of box was in low lamp.

It is all about quality...that is the picture

JVC & NEC 8" CRT with 106" wide Stewart screen. All NHT speakers driven by Pioneer Elite AVR and bluray

Custom dedicated 8 seat theater

CaspianM is offline  
post #1197 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaspianM View Post

Hit the econ on the top of the pj and find out.
Mine out of box was in low lamp.

I was reading the manual, which isn't very informative, but 1 thing jumped out at me was this feature that allows auto shutdown if left on, if a source is not detected or if inputs are idle for some time which may be related to these bulb misfires. Just a thought.
mkoss is offline  
post #1198 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 08:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
bdbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoss View Post

I was reading the manual, which isn't very informative, but 1 thing jumped out at me was this feature that allows auto shutdown if left on, if a source is not detected or if inputs are idle for some time which may be related to these bulb misfires. Just a thought.

The Marantz does this as well.
bdbaba is offline  
post #1199 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
bdbaba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaspianM View Post

Out of box the black level is not as good as my Sony HHS51a but it is about rwice or so brighter with contrast at default.
Color I still like the Sony's better in purity and sony looks more natural but these are only early observation. Also it certainly looks smoother than the Sony.

I will post a review once I get used to all the settings and have it calibrated.

Edit: there is econ mode under the "option" menu and on the pj to control the lamp mode.

Are you saying that the Blacks on an LCD are better then the DLP HD7300? That is either a great LCD or the HD7300 might be a bit disappointing.

This is not a bash on LCD--I had a Panny AE900U. Just wondering out loud.
bdbaba is offline  
post #1200 of 2851 Old 11-01-2007, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CaspianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Land of Cardinals
Posts: 5,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sony has high on/off contrast. It uses a DI (dynamic iris) to achieve that.
The main strenght of DLP is ansi contrast not really on/off compared to new LCD's.

It is all about quality...that is the picture

JVC & NEC 8" CRT with 106" wide Stewart screen. All NHT speakers driven by Pioneer Elite AVR and bluray

Custom dedicated 8 seat theater

CaspianM is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off