Some C3X screenshots - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 06-25-2006, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MalHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was in a Matrix mood today and watched the second and third movies back to back. My wife wasn't home, so I took occasion to take some screenshots during the show. Photos are unaltered downloads from the camera, except for cropping. Images are from regular DVD, fed via HDMI to the C3X directly from a 59-AVi. Screen is a 92" Grayhawk RS. These were my first attempts at taking screenshots, so if they look awful, just blame me :)

The camera is a 5 year old Fuji Finepix 4900, on a tripod. If they are skewed, it's because I had to twist the camera a bit to get my auto focus to find something to latch onto. They are fairly large images, so I'm just going to link them in for the bandwidth impaired.

http://malhavoc.homeunix.com/persona...x_matrix_1.jpg
http://malhavoc.homeunix.com/persona...x_matrix_2.jpg
http://malhavoc.homeunix.com/persona...x_matrix_3.jpg
http://malhavoc.homeunix.com/persona...x_matrix_5.jpg
http://malhavoc.homeunix.com/persona...x_matrix_6.jpg
http://malhavoc.homeunix.com/persona...x_matrix_7.jpg


I put this one last because I wanted to make a comment. The camera exposure on this one was too low and doesn't really do it justice. The blues are much more intense and brighter.

http://malhavoc.homeunix.com/persona...x_matrix_4.jpg

Thanks for looking! :)

Jason
MalHavoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 06-25-2006, 07:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi Jason

Looks great. A good DVD transfer still has plenty of life even on the roll out of HD DVD.

The pictures look like looking out a window. They look real. This is a fairly dark movie yet the projector handles it well. Blacks are not crushed.

Are you using an anamorphic lens??

Thanks for sharing.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #3 of 33 Old 06-25-2006, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MalHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan,

no, I wish I had the room for a real 2.35:1 screen :( It's just my 16:9 screen, so I'm not even filling my whole screen with those.

Jason
MalHavoc is offline  
post #4 of 33 Old 06-25-2006, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
agrsiv95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Awsome pics! I'm sure the camera doesn't do it any justice.

Jeremy
agrsiv95 is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 06-26-2006, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of Turnpike
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello Jason. Can you give us your settings from your PJ and also how many hours you have on the bulb ?. I hear the new Firmware from Sim will make the picture look even better. What's the max life on the bulb.
Soccerdude is offline  
post #6 of 33 Old 06-26-2006, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MalHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude
Hello Jason. Can you give us your settings from your PJ and also how many hours you have on the bulb ?. I hear the new Firmware from Sim will make the picture look even better. What's the max life on the bulb.
Soccerdude,

I'll have to get the settings from the projector when I get home tonight to be definite about what my settings are, but I have about 130 hours on the bulb now. I'm guessing the bulb life is probably right around 1500 hours. At least, I'm not expecting to get more of it than that.

When is the new firmware supposed to be coming out?

Jason
MalHavoc is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 06-26-2006, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
jahonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 2.50.21 C on mine, does someone have newer one?

Regards,
Janne
jahonen is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 06-27-2006, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of Turnpike
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jahonen
I have 2.50.21 C on mine, does someone have newer one?

Regards,
Janne
Mine is 2.48.
with the new update the remote works better and a few other changes with scaler within the PJ.
Soccerdude is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 06-28-2006, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerdude
Mine is 2.48.
with the new update the remote works better and a few other changes with scaler within the PJ.
OK, I'm officially confused. Unless they number differently, 2.50 should be newer than 2.48, one would think. Plus, where on the Sim2 site can you find these updates? I've never seen them.

Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #10 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 05:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MalHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flint350
OK, I'm officially confused. Unless they number differently, 2.50 should be newer than 2.48, one would think. Plus, where on the Sim2 site can you find these updates? I've never seen them.
That's how I view the numbering system too. Software patches and releases are done that way as well.

I pulled the numbers off of my C3X last night, for those interested:

Pixel to Pixel
Brightness 46
Contrast 53
Sharpness 5
Gamma (User) 2.4
Colour Temp 29

Software revision: 2.48.14C
Bulb hours: 128

Jason
MalHavoc is offline  
post #11 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 09:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalHavoc
Bulb hours: 128

Jason

Im aware Sim2 does indeed burn in their projector before shipping as part of the QC procedure. How many hours of that is yours :)
I know you recently just got this machine looks like the hours are adding up fast. Im guessing you are enjoying it:)

Ray how many hours on your machine so far ? :)
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #12 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of Turnpike
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by flint350
OK, I'm officially confused. Unless they number differently, 2.50 should be newer than 2.48, one would think. Plus, where on the Sim2 site can you find these updates? I've never seen them.
You need a password but your dealer can PDF you and you can update, So far you're OK 2.50 is the latest.
Soccerdude is offline  
post #13 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soccerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of Turnpike
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can someone tell me if you need to send your unit back to Sim for the bulb change or not.
Soccerdude is offline  
post #14 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MalHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think you need to send the projector back. The manual shows how to replace the bulb. You'd have to take it down from a ceiling mount to do the work, obviously, but it's pretty straight forward.

Alan, when I got the projector from AVS, it had been used as demo for a bit prior to me purchasing it. There were about 70 hours on the bulb at that point in time. I've had it since the middle of May. And yes, I am enjoying it :)
MalHavoc is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger
Ray how many hours on your machine so far ?
Alan, you made me wonder, plus the great pics in here and other discussions going on. Sooooo....I checked and I have 120 hours since the install. Also, since I was checking, I decided to post some more screenies of my C3X Lite at the 120 hour mark. These are from a DVR recording of the HBO HD version of SW Sith III. I left the sconces on to help light the PJ for the shots in some. Otherwise, it was a pretty dark room. The screen is 127" wide by 54" high showing the scope version of the movie thru the Prismasonic H1200R. I tried to just grab a few that cover a multitude of content. The shots were made from behind the seating, so camera was about 21 - 23 feet back from the screen. I tried to mini-light the C3X Lite in the upper right corner, just to show position and let you know these shots were off-center. Here they are: (Lamp in PJ is set to LOW)


http://home.comcast.net/~flint350/Sith3006.JPG


http://home.comcast.net/~flint350/Sith3007.JPG


http://home.comcast.net/~flint350/Sith3008.JPG


http://home.comcast.net/~flint350/Sith3009.JPG


http://home.comcast.net/~flint350/Sith3011.JPG

Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #16 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MalHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ray, awesome shots. makes me wish I had gone the cinemascope route myself.

I should have mentioned that I am also using the lowest bulb power setting on my C3X (200w).
MalHavoc is offline  
post #17 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalHavoc
Ray, awesome shots. makes me wish I had gone the cinemascope route myself.

I should have mentioned that I am also using the lowest bulb power setting on my C3X (200w).
Thanks. Having a totally black screen wall and ceiling helps a lot. Mine is the Lite, so I'm only getting 130W at low (max is 150W). Yours must burn a hole in the screen if you're not careful!

Just for interest, some were asking about mounts (maybe another thread?, I forget). Anyway, here is my mount:

http://home.comcast.net/~flint350/C3XLiteMount3015.jpg

Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MalHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool mount :) I think someone was asking how to mount an anamorphic lens on a ceiling projector. Very slick. I see the RPA-U mount up there too - same one I'm using. Although I've got an LSB-100 on order because I have to slide the projector about a half inch to one side. I had read the manual, saw the "horizontal lens shift" adjustment section and figured I was good. Apparently not. Whoops!

The C3X isn't too bright for me. I'm shooting onto a slight negative gain screen which does help tame it down quite a bit.
MalHavoc is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 06-29-2006, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
wohlstad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by flint350
Alan, you made me wonder, plus the great pics in here and other discussions going on. Sooooo....I checked and I have 120 hours since the install. Also, since I was checking, I decided to post some more screenies of my C3X Lite at the 120 hour mark. These are from a DVR recording of the HBO HD version of SW Sith III. I left the sconces on to help light the PJ for the shots in some. Otherwise, it was a pretty dark room. The screen is 127" wide by 54" high showing the scope version of the movie thru the Prismasonic H1200R. I tried to just grab a few that cover a multitude of content. The shots were made from behind the seating, so camera was about 21 - 23 feet back from the screen. I tried to mini-light the C3X Lite in the upper right corner, just to show position and let you know these shots were off-center. Here they are: (Lamp in PJ is set to LOW)

These shots look spectacular. It's a pity that so much attention is paid to resolution while brightness, dynamic range and black levels are actually more important for image quality. C3X clearly rules!
wohlstad is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 12:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Greg Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clovis, Ca
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great shots! It will be interesting to see how 3 chip 1080p will compare with 720p. Greg
Greg Young is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 03:59 AM
Newbie
 
jahonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalHavoc
There were about 70 hours on the bulb at that point in time.
My regular C3X had 20 hours (brand new from factory) when I received it. It's nice thing that they'll test the PJ's other than just quick production test before shipping, so that there should be very little DOA events.

Regards,
Janne
jahonen is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 04:13 AM
Newbie
 
jahonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please ignore this post, just making this to show some screenshots from my C3X.

Regards,
Janne
jahonen is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 04:13 AM
Newbie
 
jahonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back to original topic, Here are some screenshots from my C3X:

http://www.ilmaisajelijat.org/galler...enshot-064.jpg

http://www.ilmaisajelijat.org/galler...enshot-065.jpg

http://www.ilmaisajelijat.org/galler...enshot-067.jpg

These are just ordinary DVD screenshots, taken with my Canon G2. Taking proper screenshots is a real PITA to do, not easy thing.

Regards,
Janne
jahonen is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Greg Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clovis, Ca
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, they look great. Can you show a few animation shots for color saturation. Thanks Greg
Greg Young is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MalHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greg, I can take some anime photos in a day or so. Ghost in the Shell, Blood: The Last Vampire, that sort of thing. Would that help?
MalHavoc is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Greg Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clovis, Ca
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What ever want to show that would be great, do you have any Disney, Pixlar. Thanks Greg
Greg Young is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 03:02 PM
Member
 
L Ray S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalHavoc
Cool mount :) I think someone was asking how to mount an anamorphic lens on a ceiling projector. Very slick. I see the RPA-U mount up there too - same one I'm using. Although I've got an LSB-100 on order because I have to slide the projector about a half inch to one side. I had read the manual, saw the "horizontal lens shift" adjustment section and figured I was good. Apparently not. Whoops!...
To help me understand this projector better, what was the problem you ran into with the "horizontal lens shift" described in the manual?

Thanks,
Ray
L Ray S is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MalHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by L Ray S
To help me understand this projector better, what was the problem you ran into with the "horizontal lens shift" described in the manual?

Thanks,
Ray
The problem I ran into with the horizontal lens shift "as described in the manual" was that there is NO horizontal lens shift on the projector, period. Hence my problem :)

The vertical lens shift is also pretty useless. I felt like I was mounting a CRT, if it weren't for the powered zoom. When the projector is inverted, the lens position dictates how far down the screen can be from the ceiling. So, if you put your projector on the ceiling, and the lens is only a few inches below the ceiling, well.... that's where your screen has to start. The vertical shift only works in the "up" direction.
MalHavoc is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 07-05-2006, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jahonen
Back to original topic, Here are some screenshots from my C3X:

http://www.ilmaisajelijat.org/galler...enshot-067.jpg

These are just ordinary DVD screenshots, taken with my Canon G2. Taking proper screenshots is a real PITA to do, not easy thing.

Regards,
Janne
Love that last shot of the Volcano in LOTR - really shows what depth and imagery a 3 chip can do, even at a "mere" 720p resolution!

Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 07-06-2006, 04:14 PM
Newbie
 
jahonen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Flint, I like that shoot myself also. Nice one :)

Well, here are some from Bug's Life and Finding Nemo I took recently. Somehow I'm not very satisfied about these pictures, but as I said earlier, they are difficult to shoot. These look much better in reality. More manual adjustments would be nice on the camera.

http://www.ilmaisajelijat.org/galler...enshot-085.jpg

http://www.ilmaisajelijat.org/galler...enshot-087.jpg

http://www.ilmaisajelijat.org/galler...enshot-088.jpg

http://www.ilmaisajelijat.org/galler...enshot-090.jpg

http://www.ilmaisajelijat.org/galler...enshot-091.jpg

Regards,
Janne
jahonen is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off