Sony Pearl does not work with Xbox360 1080p - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
volley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK Pearl owners, it seems that the new 1080p update to the 360 does not work with most, if not all, Sony televisions/projectors. Specs on the Pearl say that it will accept a max VGA input of 1920x1080 fV:60Hz. But it is not working from the Xbox360 VGA update. Any thouhts on how to resolve this other than yell at Microsoft/Sony?

----Edit----
Turns out Sony does not claim that they can do 1080 through VGA.

Page 64/65 of the manual. Input A computer signal only goes to 1280x768 which is what I have found.

I read page 61 where it states acceptable computer signals Maximum Res 1920x1080 fV:60Hz. But they are talking computer signal through HDMI and not VGA.
volley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 10:38 AM
 
Chako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dunno, planning to get my Xbox VGA cable on the way home from work though.
Chako is offline  
post #3 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 42
microsoft/sony = lead/feather oxi morons!
just had to type that Sorry, my pearl's on it's way, but I don't own a 360....I'm sure others will chime in for ya.....good luck...that should look awsome when you get it fixed.....

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #4 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 10:43 AM
 
Chako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do want to know though are you just not seeing a picture? Or getting an error message from the Pearl? Something else?
Chako is offline  
post #5 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
EHUFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hollywood, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the problem is the Sony Pearl (and most TV's) with VGA inputs do not accept a 1080p signal over the VGA port. Only the digital HDMI, or DVI ports will accept 1080p signals in most cases. Since the 360 does not have a digital output, that's why you won't get it to work. I think the VGA 1080p output will work with some computer monitors though.

On a side note, The Playstation 3 is to include a HDMI port that should pass a digital 1080p signal to the Pearl without a hitch.
EHUFF is offline  
post #6 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
volley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On VGA, I get a picture but only at 1024x768 I believe. Colors are way dim. I get this whenever trying to go above 1280x768.

On component I get an error of 'Frequency is out of range!'

Upset mostly because I checked the Pearl for 1920x1080 over VGA capability. It says it is there. I have input A set to computer which is the only setting to give me a picture at all. The manual says to use Component when connecting to a BluRay drive, etc. This gives me no picture at all.

Don't get me wrong, picture still blows the AE900 away for Xbox games. Just was hoping for a cheap HD-DVD solution until Gen 3 players come out.
volley is offline  
post #7 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 11:26 AM
 
Chako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmmm, strange. Like I said I need to pick it up on the way home but is there the same HD switch on the side like the component cables?

Like you already stated, strange that you have these problems seeing as the manual says you should be good to go.
Chako is offline  
post #8 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gremmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by volley View Post

On VGA, I get a picture but only at 1024x768 I believe. Colors are way dim. I get this whenever trying to go above 1280x768.

On component I get an error of 'Frequency is out of range!'

Upset mostly because I checked the Pearl for 1920x1080 over VGA capability. It says it is there. I have input A set to computer which is the only setting to give me a picture at all. The manual says to use Component when connecting to a BluRay drive, etc. This gives me no picture at all.

Don't get me wrong, picture still blows the AE900 away for Xbox games. Just was hoping for a cheap HD-DVD solution until Gen 3 players come out.

My advice is to feed the XBOX 1920x1080 interlaced via component. It looks excellent, the Pearl will deinterlace it properly to yield full 1080p frames.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

gremmy is offline  
post #9 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 11:46 AM
Member
 
linesalomon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I made a thread about this earlier this AM, but it seems to have been lost...
Anyway, I am having the exact same problem...dim picture, wierd resolution, etc. I was also unable to get my Pearl to display 1920 X 1080 from my computer. Oh well, maybe M$ will give us a fix. (Crosses fingers but doesn't hold breath)
linesalomon is offline  
post #10 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
volley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chako View Post

Hmmmm, strange. Like I said I need to pick it up on the way home but is there the same HD switch on the side like the component cables?

Like you already stated, strange that you have these problems seeing as the manual says you should be good to go.

Nope, no switch.
volley is offline  
post #11 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,010
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by linesalomon View Post

I was also unable to get my Pearl to display 1920 X 1080 from my computer. Oh well, maybe M$ will give us a fix. (Crosses fingers but doesn't hold breath)

If the PEARL cannot handle 1920x1080p from a computer via VGA, this is probably not something that M$ needs to fix. It's something Sony needs to fix.

FWIW, I'm running my PEARL from a computer outputting 1920x1080, but via DVI, not VGA.

____________________

Build Thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nathan_h is offline  
post #12 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
volley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, same for me, via DVI is great. I have not tried a PC into the VGA. Not going to be happy if Sony is quoting a feature they cannot actually support. I will try hooking up the PC to it as well.
volley is offline  
post #13 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrandonJF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The frequency is barely out of range. It sucks. In the manual, it lists an acceptable 1080/60p frequency of fh(kHz) 67.5 / fV(Hz) 60. If you switch the XBOX 360 to 1080p and bring up the information section of the menu, you'll probably see the horizontal frequency is 67.62 (I think that's what mine was) while staring at that nice blue screen before the 360 reverts back to a previous resolution.

I can only guess that is why we are getting the error.
BrandonJF is offline  
post #14 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 02:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think the problem is Microsoft forgot the HDMI output on the 360. Just another reason to go PS3.

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here --->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
good times!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kipp Jones is offline  
post #15 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrandonJF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp Jones View Post

I think the problem is Microsoft forgot the HDMI output on the 360.

I'm going to go try and make my HDMI cable fit into SOMETHING on the 360.
BrandonJF is offline  
post #16 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 03:40 PM
Toe
AVS Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 438
This is NOT a Pearl issue in my mind, but a Microsoft issue for not doing HDMI on the 360. It is not unusual for a 1080p display to not accept a 1080p signal over VGA. I see this 1080p update as a big joke, unless Microsoft brings out some sort of HDMI cable. Most TV's cant accept a 1080p signal over component, and not all TV's have a VGA, and even if they do, a lot of them will not take a 1080p signal. Just feed the Pearl a 1080i signal and let the Pearl upconvert and it will look just as good most likely.

I love my 360, but this was clearly a mistake made by Microsoft to not have HDMI compatibility, especially in light of the HD-DVD add on .

JVC 3D: Been there, done that, bought a DLP
Toe is online now  
post #17 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 05:45 PM
Member
 
jrseau55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Agreed. It's definitely short-sightedness on Microsoft's part not to offer HDMI when they have claimed that the Xbox 360 is already capable of supporting digital video output. Why limit the choices? Anyway, looking at the Pearl manual more carefully, it clearly states in there that it will only accept the 1920 X 1080 via the HDMI connections. Bah!
jrseau55 is offline  
post #18 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 05:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
antorsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You might want to try the 50 Hz mode to see if it helps...

OOO CRT Blend powered OOO
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
antorsae is offline  
post #19 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 06:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
volley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrseau55 View Post

Agreed. It's definitely short-sightedness on Microsoft's part not to offer HDMI when they have claimed that the Xbox 360 is already capable of supporting digital video output. Why limit the choices? Anyway, looking at the Pearl manual more carefully, it clearly states in there that it will only accept the 1920 X 1080 via the HDMI connections. Bah!

WOW... page 64/65 of the manual. Input A computer signal only goes to 1280x768 which is what I have found.

Man I read page 61 where it states acceptable computer signals Maximum Res 1920x1080 fV:60Hz. But you are right, they are talking computer signal through HDMI and not VGA.

Well, there is my answer. Back to 1080i component for me.
volley is offline  
post #20 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
chriscic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Aurora, IL, USA
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrseau55 View Post

Agreed. It's definitely short-sightedness on Microsoft's part not to offer HDMI when they have claimed that the Xbox 360 is already capable of supporting digital video output.

Just a guess on my part, but I wonder if the 360 is in fact built to support HDCP? I can't see otherwise why MS wouldn't have already released a HDMI cable already... it's just extra revenue for them. They could easily be fudging now (obviously it could support digital output but not HDCP), knowing that they can bring out a 360 with built-in HD-DVD and HDMI/HDCP support down the road if they need to.

I think VGA was going to be the only way to go with the Peal... too bad it won't work : (
chriscic is offline  
post #21 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 06:59 PM
Toe
AVS Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 438
The Pearl still upconverts the 1080i over component, correct? Does this not look good for some reason on the Pearl? I would not think there would be any difference between the 360 sending a 1080p signal, and the Pearl upconverting a 1080i signal to 1080p in real world viewing?

JVC 3D: Been there, done that, bought a DLP
Toe is online now  
post #22 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
volley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe View Post

The Pearl still upconverts the 1080i over component, correct? Does this not look good for some reason on the Pearl? I would not think there would be any difference between the 360 sending a 1080p signal, and the Pearl upconverting a 1080i signal to 1080p in real world viewing?


Well the reality is that any of the Gen 1 players are 1080i right now anyways and none of the games are 1080p yet. Would it be better? Don't know, don't have anything to compare it to! That is what I am trying to get to, I have seen how beautiful this thing is with feeding it lower material, I want to stretch it's legs some! To that end, I will have to wait to see the comparisons of the 360 to the A1 or A2 or XA2 for that matter.

What really gets me is Microsoft's claim that this is the "Ultimate Console" as it says on their website. I wish it were, but 1080p HDMI and the ability to eventually do Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD via HDMI is clearly a miss. I bought their idea of how they were getting around the HDCP for a while at least.
volley is offline  
post #23 of 59 Old 10-31-2006, 07:36 PM
Toe
AVS Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Games still look fantastic I am sure though, even without the 360 doing 1080p, right?

JVC 3D: Been there, done that, bought a DLP
Toe is online now  
post #24 of 59 Old 11-01-2006, 04:55 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
volley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes absolutely. I am just trying to figure out now if I want 1080i or 720p. The games are 720p and with the VGA cable and the Pearl in dynamic mode they really look fantastic. The VGA cable tends to wash the colors out and the Dynamic mode brings it back looking better than component in my mind. But I would assume that HD-DVD is looking better in 1080i? Will have to try tweaking it tonight.
volley is offline  
post #25 of 59 Old 11-01-2006, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scaesare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe View Post

The Pearl still upconverts the 1080i over component, correct? Does this not look good for some reason on the Pearl? I would not think there would be any difference between the 360 sending a 1080p signal, and the Pearl upconverting a 1080i signal to 1080p in real world viewing?

To be pedantic: the Pearl would de-interlace 1080i to 1080p.

"Upconvert" typically implies scaling.

-Steve
scaesare is offline  
post #26 of 59 Old 11-01-2006, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
romanesq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hoboken
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe View Post

The Pearl still upconverts the 1080i over component, correct? Does this not look good for some reason on the Pearl? I would not think there would be any difference between the 360 sending a 1080p signal, and the Pearl upconverting a 1080i signal to 1080p in real world viewing?

Yup.

It's all just a game. I just play to win.
romanesq is offline  
post #27 of 59 Old 11-01-2006, 06:27 AM
Toe
AVS Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Thanks for the clarification scaesare, and the info everyone

JVC 3D: Been there, done that, bought a DLP
Toe is online now  
post #28 of 59 Old 11-01-2006, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
volley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scaesare View Post

To be pedantic: the Pearl would de-interlace 1080i to 1080p.

"Upconvert" typically implies scaling.

Ah, now that is a description I can live with better. Thanks for the symantics.

In all, what I have found honestly is that in games the 720p component from the 360 and having the Pearl upconvert to 1080p looks the best. I would assume this is because the Pearl can do this conversion better than the 360. The 1080i and the VGA just has a little bit, I do mean little bit, more noise in the picture (potentially due to my long cable run).

We shall see what the reviews are like for their HD-DVD drive.
volley is offline  
post #29 of 59 Old 11-01-2006, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gremmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by volley View Post

Ah, now that is a description I can live with better. Thanks for the symantics.

In all, what I have found honestly is that in games the 720p component from the 360 and having the Pearl upconvert to 1080p looks the best. I would assume this is because the Pearl can do this conversion better than the 360. The 1080i and the VGA just has a little bit, I do mean little bit, more noise in the picture (potentially due to my long cable run).

We shall see what the reviews are like for their HD-DVD drive.

I have found that 1080i over component is preferable to 720p over component. When you make the comparison, make sure you're using a 1080i game (there are several of these). If you output 720p for a 1080i game, you're losing half your resolution.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

gremmy is offline  
post #30 of 59 Old 11-01-2006, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
volley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Huh, didn't know there were 1080i games. Any titles you know of off hand?
volley is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off