Using the CA813 light meter to measure your front projector - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 111 Old 11-23-2006, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I've had a lot of questions recently about using a light meter to measure lumens, ftL, on/off CR and ANSI CR so I'm putting together this basic tutorial. I hope others with experience will chime in and add their tips and techniques that have worked great for them as well.

Note that the following is a depiction of how I use the meter and what works for me. Others techniques I'm sure can be used as well, which may even be better. So don't take this information as definitive, but rather just to give you some ideas. I'm rather new to this meter so it would be great to hear the feedback from others.

Also I'll talk about specific measurements I got with my Ruby at 525 hours on the bulb and using near max throw. For reference I have a 106" diag Firehawk with 1.3 gain.

OK, let's get started...

What is the AEMC CA813?
The AEMC CA813 is a light meter that can be used to measure light output from your pj in foot candles (fc) and lux. It is a popular light meter among AVSers because it is accurate, inexpensive (about $165), and convenient to use.

Using the meter to measure lumens
Set the meter to measure in lux with one decimal point of precision. Display a 100 IRE full field pattern. Ideally your pj should be first calibrated to D65. However this is not necessary if you want to know what the max light output is that your pj is capable of regardless of its calibration.

Stand AT THE SCREEN and rest the back of the sensor gently on your screen (or hold it just in front of it), facing the pj lens. You could use a tripod but doing so doesn't allow you to measure exactly at the screen which I prefer.