Sharp XV-Z20000 to support 1080/24p! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 270 Old 06-04-2007, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
DigitalAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States of Advertising
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this just enable it to accept a 1080p24 input, or is the output refresh rate actually a multiple of 24? If so, what's the rate?

DigitalAV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 270 Old 06-05-2007, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Free View Post

Where do we get it? I can't find it on Sharp's site.

You have got mail.
TheLion is offline  
post #63 of 270 Old 06-05-2007, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalAV View Post

Does this just enable it to accept a 1080p24 input, or is the output refresh rate actually a multiple of 24? If so, what's the rate?

1080p24 input displayed at a 48Hz rate -> therefor avoiding 3:2 pulldown judder.
TheLion is offline  
post #64 of 270 Old 06-05-2007, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nick Satullo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: highland hts., ohio, USA
Posts: 3,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Where do we get it? I can't find it on Sharp's site.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLion View Post

You have got mail.

Can I get mail too?

nicksatullo@msn.com

Thanks,

Nick
Nick Satullo is offline  
post #65 of 270 Old 06-05-2007, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
mjmbond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In my theater.
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Satullo View Post

Can I get mail too?

nicksatullo@msn.com

Thanks,

Nick

While you're at it... me too?

Great work Lion!
mjmbond is offline  
post #66 of 270 Old 06-05-2007, 07:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Me, too!! Me, too!!

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #67 of 270 Old 06-05-2007, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 204
This is getting a little silly. Does every 20K owner who is interested in this need to post here and request a PM? How about some explanation for how you got this and how others might get it through official channels?

BTW, has anyone who has installed this (and installation instructions would be nice as well) notice ANY difference in picture quality? We haven't heard anything on this front.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #68 of 270 Old 06-05-2007, 10:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post

This is getting a little silly. Does every 20K owner who is interested in this need to post here and request a PM? How about some explanation for how you got this and how others might get it through official channels?

BTW, has anyone who has installed this (and installation instructions would be nice as well) notice ANY difference in picture quality? We haven't heard anything on this front.


I agree with you Tom.

We all want it. Sharp just need to tell us were it can be downloaded and the instruction to install it.

Thanks!

Bruno
bgosselin is offline  
post #69 of 270 Old 06-05-2007, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Satullo View Post

Can I get mail too?

nicksatullo@msn.com

Thanks,

Nick

You have got Mail...
TheLion is offline  
post #70 of 270 Old 06-05-2007, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjmbond View Post

While you're at it... me too?

Great work Lion!

Just PM me your email addresses (has to allow 3.5 MB attachments) and I will gladly forward it until Sharp puts it on its website. I received mine directly from Sean McBride.

Ask your Sharp dealer about it - it should be available to them as well.
TheLion is offline  
post #71 of 270 Old 06-06-2007, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nick Satullo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: highland hts., ohio, USA
Posts: 3,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLion View Post

Just PM me your email addresses (has to allow 3.5 MB attachments) and I will gladly forward it until Sharp puts it on its website. I received mine directly from Sean McBride.

Ask your Sharp dealer about it - it should be available to them as well.

I downloaded it, but can't for the life of me figure out how to open it, run it, or communicate it to the projector thereafter. I've downloaded WinRar and Tera Term Pro as lifelines, but I'm still drowning.

Windows XP2000 is what I'm running.

Thanks,

Nick
Nick Satullo is offline  
post #72 of 270 Old 06-06-2007, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nick, you have got mail.
TheLion is offline  
post #73 of 270 Old 06-07-2007, 11:04 AM
sfm
Member
 
sfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Got the firmware update from TheLion... anybody want to post or pm me some directions in English? I believe the .txt file in the top level directory are the instructions but the best translation I could obtain:

1. Ver113 which inserts the software which entry wants in the bwh folder has already been inserted.

2. It starts the projector. It designates baud rate as 9600. With default of set it becomes 9600bps.

3. Set is working condition.

4. PC and set are connected with the RS232C cable.

5. In the bwh folder which write.bat double is clicked * bwh the file is written entirely.

6. When it writes in ends Complete is indicated.

Leaves me a bit uncomfortable as to what to do. Is it simply a matter of connecting the serial cable between my pc and sharp 20k, turning on the projector and then running the write.bat file found in the folder (updating the write_bwh.ttl file as necessary for the com port, etc.)?
sfm is offline  
post #74 of 270 Old 06-07-2007, 07:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here what I did and it seem to work.

Turn on the projector and activate the RS232 port under option.
Plug your projector via an nul modem RS232 cable with your computer.
Under the BWH folder just double click write.bat

It probably better if your projector is close before double clicking. Mine turn ¨off¨ and ¨on¨ very fast.

Wait until the operation say complete on your screen.

I had to unplug my projector I wasn't able to turn it off any other way.

Plug it back and it work like a charm. The Lion should be able to give you the exact way of doing this.
bgosselin is offline  
post #75 of 270 Old 06-07-2007, 07:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok. TheLion how can I be sure I have the new firmware now? My playstation seem to refuse sending 1080p24 to my Sharp.

Any help would be appreciated.

Bruno
bgosselin is offline  
post #76 of 270 Old 06-08-2007, 04:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgosselin View Post

Ok. TheLion how can I be sure I have the new firmware now? My playstation seem to refuse sending 1080p24 to my Sharp.

Any help would be appreciated.

Bruno

Bruno,

is your PS3 directly connected to the Z20000? Running through my receiver as HDMI hub breaks the 24p handshake for me. So try to connect the PS3 DIRECTLY to the Z20k and see what happens.

This problem is due to a missing "forced 24p" option with the new 1.8 PS3 firmware. PS3 1.9 (coming end of this month) should/will resolve this problem.

The way you described your update process is correct.

Tell us how it worked out for you.
TheLion is offline  
post #77 of 270 Old 06-08-2007, 08:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My PS3 is connected directly to my Sharp. I tried unselecting 1080p and 1080i and enabling 1080p24 (auto)

My PS3 stay in 720p if I do that. If I select them it goes to 1080p60.

I tryied closing the PS3 and opening it again with no succes.

Hope Sony will but a force mode. It would be a lot easier in my opinion.

Bruno
bgosselin is offline  
post #78 of 270 Old 06-08-2007, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgosselin View Post

My PS3 is connected directly to my Sharp. I tried unselecting 1080p and 1080i and enabling 1080p24 (auto)

My PS3 stay in 720p if I do that. If I select them it goes to 1080p60.

I tryied closing the PS3 and opening it again with no succes.

Hope Sony will but a force mode. It would be a lot easier in my opinion.

Bruno

Bruno,

do you have any other sources that are capable of 1080p/24? Did you try connecting your (HT)PC - setting native 1080p/24 via something like Powerstrip and checking the results with a tool like "JudderTest"?
TheLion is offline  
post #79 of 270 Old 06-08-2007, 05:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLion View Post

Bruno,

do you have any other sources that are capable of 1080p/24? Did you try connecting your (HT)PC - setting native 1080p/24 via something like Powerstrip and checking the results with a tool like "JudderTest"?

I don't have a PC with a DVI or HDMI output. I have a macbook but don't know if I could output 1080p24 with it.

Bruno
bgosselin is offline  
post #80 of 270 Old 06-12-2007, 10:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A firmware upgrade for my Anthem solve my problem. It work flawless now. 1080p24 out of my ps3 to my Anthem D2 to my XV-Z20000. No more judder. Nice to see that Sharp came out with a correction for 1080p24. I drink to that!
bgosselin is offline  
post #81 of 270 Old 06-12-2007, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgosselin View Post

A firmware upgrade for my Anthem solve my problem. It work flawless now. 1080p24 out of my ps3 to my Anthem D2 to my XV-Z20000. No more judder. Nice to see that Sharp came out with a correction for 1080p24. I drink to that!

Glad it worked out for you. Enjoy.

It was quite a ride to get it done...
TheLion is offline  
post #82 of 270 Old 06-12-2007, 12:08 PM
sfm
Member
 
sfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgosselin View Post

A firmware upgrade for my Anthem solve my problem. It work flawless now. 1080p24 out of my ps3 to my Anthem D2 to my XV-Z20000. No more judder. Nice to see that Sharp came out with a correction for 1080p24. I drink to that!

bgosselin,

May I ask with which firmware version for the D2 you had success? I am using beta 11e but had no success getting everyone (ps3 -> D2 -> xv-z20000) to talk 24p.

Thanks
sfm is offline  
post #83 of 270 Old 06-13-2007, 12:20 PM
BCH
Member
 
BCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lion, is it possible to send me the Sharp 20K upgrade also?

bill.harris30@verizon.net
BCH is offline  
post #84 of 270 Old 06-14-2007, 01:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCH View Post

Lion, is it possible to send me the Sharp 20K upgrade also?

bill.harris30@verizon.net

Done
TheLion is offline  
post #85 of 270 Old 06-14-2007, 05:45 PM
BCH
Member
 
BCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really trying everything, but not working, keep getting: Link macro first send XXXX
Don't know what any of this means. If anyone knows please I would appreciate any help. Lion, thanks again for file, are there any directions at all with loading the file available yet?
BCH is offline  
post #86 of 270 Old 06-14-2007, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nick Satullo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: highland hts., ohio, USA
Posts: 3,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lion was also kind enough to forward the upgrade to me, and sent some instructions . . . but I still can't figure out how to run the program, much less upload it to the projector. Isn't there a simple download from Sharp, with instructions, that will make its way to us?

Thanks,

Nick
Nick Satullo is offline  
post #87 of 270 Old 06-15-2007, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
TheLion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgosselin View Post

Here what I did and it seem to work.

Turn on the projector and activate the RS232 port under option.
Plug your projector via an null modem RS232 cable with your computer.
Under the BWH folder just double click write.bat

It probably better if your projector is close before double clicking. Mine turn ¨off¨ and ¨on¨ very fast.

Wait until the operation say complete on your screen.

I had to unplug my projector I wasn't able to turn it off any other way.

Plug it back and it work like a charm. The Lion should be able to give you the exact way of doing this.

I never received any instructions myself - other than the Japanese readme file...

The upload procedure was quite different with the unofficial beta release I received a several weeks ago - BUT the way Bruno did it (described above) is certainly the fastest and easiest way to install the final build.

Make sure you use a "real" null modem cable - the ones used for directly connecting PCs.
TheLion is offline  
post #88 of 270 Old 06-18-2007, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
locutus2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi: i have a Z21000, european version of the Z20000, do you think the firmware will be the same? Otherwise can someone please point me to a website, a service .. anything/anyone that can help me? Local distributor is obviously not aware of anything.
Please help ... i need that damn 1080p24 to work flawlessy.
Thanks,

Luigi
locutus2k is offline  
post #89 of 270 Old 06-18-2007, 01:20 PM
sfm
Member
 
sfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So here's my experience with this update...

The only way the update worked for me (Windows XP) was to:

- connect a null modem cable from the pc to the projector

- start the projector

- extract the contents of the zip file to the hard drive

- start a "cmd" window (Start -> Run -> type 'cmd')

- change to the directory in which the file "write_bwh.TTL" resides in the area to which you extracted the zip file.

- ensure your comm port is configured properly in the "write_bwh.TTL" file found in this same directory... modify the line in the file that says "comport='1'" as needed (my serial port is already COM1 so I didn't have to change the file).

- type "write.bat"

- this opened a "Tera Term" window and the connection/upload progress with the sharp displayed in the window.

- after a few minutes the update was done and the projector was left on but non-responsive (to either the remote or the buttons on the projector)... and as bgosselin noted, required unplugging the projector. I did that, removed the null modem cable and plugged it back in (which I believe caused it to start right away).

Note that I tried double clicking the write.bat file (as bgosselin suggested) to run it but that seemed not to work for me... a window would appear quickly and disappear before I could see what was going on.

After the update I am now getting a full 1080p 24hz path: PS3 -> Anthem D2 -> Sharp xvz20000 (confirmed by looking at the input signal status displays on both the D2 and the Sharp).

Watched a couple of Bluray rentals we had this weekend with the 24hz path and both played flawlessly. However, I must say that I didn't really notice much of a difference between the 24hz path and a more normal 60hz path... A/B comparisons I did after the movies were over were difficult as it takes some timie to resync when switching between 24hz and 60hz output on the D2 so I can't say for sure that things aren't different.

Perhaps the effect of "judder" is overrated (at least to my eyes)? Are we positive the sharp is outputting at 48hz and not performing its own 2:3 pulldown to 60hz?
I will try to listen for a color wheel speed change the next time I watch a Bluray movie while switching between 24hz and 60hz output on the D2.
sfm is offline  
post #90 of 270 Old 06-18-2007, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:


However, I must say that I didn't really notice much of a difference between the 24hz path and a more normal 60hz path

I have always thought that this issue has been almost grotesquely over-hyped. At best it will offer a very small improvement to some scenes.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Sharp Vision Xvz 20000 Hd Dlp Front Projector

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off