WSR Greg Rogers Sony VPL-VW60 Review, official thread! - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2007, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 1,532
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Three prong, removable cord.

My Black Pearl that I bought from AVS and had calibrated by Jason is gorgeous (and has no burn-in smell!). Blacks, whites, and colors look very nice projected just on white king size sheet! I'm working with screen samples now and am leaning towards a 1.4 gain white screen, and it should be that much sweeter.

AVS gave me great service and a good price. What more could I ask for?

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding cause she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2007, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jive Turkey View Post

Three prong, removable cord.

My Black Pearl that I bought from AVS and had calibrated by Jason is gorgeous (and has no burn-in smell!). Blacks, whites, and colors look very nice projected just on white king size sheet! I'm working with screen samples now and am leaning towards a 1.4 gain white screen, and it should be that much sweeter.

AVS gave me great service and a good price. What more could I ask for?

HMMM...maybe great service AND a GREAT price ???
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 12:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Marc Rumsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post

HMMM...maybe great service AND a GREAT price ???


Marc Rumsey
Sales and Installations
A/V Science, Inc.
877-823-4452 x106 (Toll-Free)
marc@avscience.com
Marc Rumsey is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
 
edved1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me whether this unit has dual voltage?

Thanks.
edved1 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
chuckleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the manual it does:

Power requirements
AC 100 to 240 V, 1.3 to 3.0A, 50/60Hz
chuckleb is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My VW60 arrived evening before last just before I had to leave for a Christmas dinner (talk about torture). So ... I took the day off yesterday (one of the advantages of being the boss). This pj replaced a Sony HS10. The set-up was a snap since the mounting holes are exactly the same as the HS10. Thanks to the tweakers thread I was able to optimize it very quickly and all I can say is, "WOW!"

I have a totally light controlled HT room and run the pj on low lamp mode without any problem on a grewhawk screen. Once I got over the amazement at the detail provided by the higher resolution I noticed that the black bars above and below a 1.35:1 image were hardly perceptible compared to the HS10. Even my wife who is totally non-technical commented on the additional details in dark scenes.

I did notice the smell about 1/2 way through the first movie but my wife didn't notice it. Last week we got the new Samsung BD-UP5000 combo player and noticed a little improvement with the HS10 (I was actually disappointed because I expected more of a difference). With the VW60, however, the difference is dramatic.

Probably the biggest difference I noticed is the quieteness of this projector. I built a hush box for the HS10 because the fan was so loud. With the VW60 I dismantled the hush box and even without it the VW60 is quieter that the HS10 was with it.

I may never go to a commercial theater ever again!

Traveler
traveler is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
edved1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckleb View Post

According to the manual it does:

Power requirements
AC 100 to 240 V, 1.3 to 3.0A, 50/60Hz

Thanks for the info chuckleb.
edved1 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aham23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by traveler View Post

I may never go to a commercial theater ever again!

i think you just pushed me over the edge. i sooo want these PJ. later.
aham23 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
We go to the movies maybe once or twice a year now!

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

We go to the movies maybe once or twice a year now!

Same with us. But now I'm not sure we will make it that many times!

Traveler
traveler is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aham23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

We go to the movies maybe once or twice a year now!

if i were you. i wouldnt go anywhere. i wouldnt even leave my theater. just sayin.
aham23 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mit07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

We go to the movies maybe once or twice a year now!

Same with us. However, the ultimate HT high would be to get BD and HD DVD availability on the same day they are released in the theaters.

I want a Masquerade.
Mit07 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mit07 View Post

Same with us. However, the ultimate HT high would be to get BD and HD DVD availability on the same day they are released in the theaters.

I agree that would be awesome but it would eat into ticket sales. By the same token I don't understand why they have to wait 6 to 12 months after the box office before they release to disc. I guess it still might hurt ticket sales if they released them too soon but come on, give me a break.

Traveler
traveler is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
edved1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
edved1 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 09:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching some HD material on DirecTV this evening and noticed a narrow band of black and white dashes (video tearing?) along the top edge. Has anyone else noticed this? Sorry if this has already been talked about and answered, I have only read about 1/2 of the pages of posts in this thread.

I also noticed a solid white line probably 1 or 2 pixels wide on the right edge of the image a couple of times. Has this been discussed also?


Traveler
traveler is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tvted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by traveler View Post

I was watching some HD material on DirecTV this evening and noticed a narrow band of black and white dashes (video tearing?) along the top edge.


Are you sure you are not seeing VITS (Vertical Interval Test Signals) or Closed Captioning? VITS would be stationary.

If this "tearing" is not visble on optical disc sources then I would bet it is the above.

ted
tvted is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Fabbas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have that when I watch HD from Time Warner both on my VW60 and my old Optoma H30. It's the signal, not the projector. You can shift the signal "up" a few pixels to hide that, though.
Fabbas is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My Time warner does the same with any projector.
RobZ is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 01:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Deepsky4565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just purchased one today, and am very impressed. Coming from a 9" CRT, the only drawback is the not so inky blacks, but it isn't nearly the disappointment I thought it may be. Thanks for all the info in this thread, it made my decision much more informed.
Deepsky4565 is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepsky4565 View Post

the only drawback is the not so inky blacks, but it isn't nearly the disappointment I thought it may be.

You may want to try out the manual iris setting at a lower level. The black level is much lower than when using Auto 1.
RobZ is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabbas View Post

I have that when I watch HD from Time Warner both on my VW60 and my old Optoma H30. It's the signal, not the projector. You can shift the signal "up" a few pixels to hide that, though.

Is there a way of doing this in the VW60, other than just tilting it up farther? Tilting it up will still display the lines but I will still see them a little in the blackened frame around the screen. I'd like to find a way to get rid of them altogether.

Traveler
traveler is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Fabbas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I believe there is a menu setting that 'Signal' (I don't remember where exactly), and that will let you move the picture signal up and down so that the 2-3 lines of pixels with that garbage are not displayed.
Fabbas is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabbas View Post

Yes, I believe there is a menu setting that 'Signal' (I don't remember where exactly), and that will let you move the picture signal up and down so that the 2-3 lines of pixels with that garbage are not displayed.

Yes the signal adjustment allows you to move the image quite a bit. I use it when I mask my screen.
RobZ is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepsky4565 View Post

Just purchased one today, and am very impressed. Coming from a 9" CRT, the only drawback is the not so inky blacks, but it isn't nearly the disappointment I thought it may be. Thanks for all the info in this thread, it made my decision much more informed.

I'm always interested in what kinda screen people are pairing with their FP- so what are you using and how is it working for ya?
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
119" Dalite Contour Electrol High Power. Works great but I'd prefer larger and scope for the Black Pearl. I mask my screen as well.
RobZ is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post

I'm always interested in what kinda screen people are pairing with their FP- so what are you using and how is it working for ya?

110" Stewart Firehawk in a totally light controlled room. I run on low lamp mode with great results.

Traveler
traveler is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabbas View Post

Yes, I believe there is a menu setting that 'Signal' (I don't remember where exactly), and that will let you move the picture signal up and down so that the 2-3 lines of pixels with that garbage are not displayed.

Thanks, Fabbus. I'll check it out when I get back home from visiting the grandkids.

Traveler
traveler is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 04:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Deepsky4565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My screen is a Stewart 100" 1.3 gain, I think its the Firehawk, but don't remember, the label just says Stewart.
Deepsky4565 is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Deepsky4565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobZ View Post

You may want to try out the manual iris setting at a lower level. The black level is much lower than when using Auto 1.

Yes, I've already done that, and it does help. It's just not CRT black, but like I said, I'm very impressed. The package of benefits makes me glad to move on.
Deepsky4565 is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
usualsuspects's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 26
My screen is SMX (1.16 gain) - maximum image area is 120 x 67.5 inches - Low bulb.
usualsuspects is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off