Viewsonic Pro8100 1080p Projector - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mara-nalle View Post

I tested this configuration in last weekend and the results were just as I was afraid of. Contrast level is wayyyy to high, In my earlier testings I found the best value is like 44-46. This may be result of the fact that I'm wathing PAL material, contrast level 62 may be just right for the NTSC material.

BTW, Blu-Ray movie Ratatouille has a quite nice setup program in it, simple and easy-to-use. i think I'll play around with it next weekend.

WAY to high for me too, that is with a Black Widow screen (painted- Grey), and my DaLite HP (2.8 gain)
Both look blown out with that setting, which is exactly what I thought it would look like when I read the settings here and elsewhere.......

Edit: SEE BELOW for partial retraction.....

I want MY Cigarettes, MINE Nurse Ratched!!
Screen Pics
muzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fabricator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
those are some nice screen shots there
its making me want to order this one. but i am torn, between getting this one. being happy (hopefully) with it for a few years. then after tech advances get a better one. or just getting a $2500+ one now. me =

chasing rattles ......

Pro8100 Cult member
Fabricator is offline  
post #363 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 06:59 PM
Member
 
zasy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently got my Pro8100, having a rather annoying problem with it though.
Does anyone have it connected to the Pioneer 1019AH?

HTCP -> Pro8100, no problem.
HTCP -> 1019AH -> LG LCD TV, no problem.
HTCP -> 1019AH -> Pro8100, no picture at all, very frustrating.

(using HDMI for everything)

By the way, whether I substitute the HTPC for an Xbox360 or a PS3 the above results are the same, it just doesn't work when connected to the PJ via the 1019AH although 1019AH -> LCD TV works fine.
Any ideas?
zasy99 is offline  
post #364 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bouda78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: middleast- SYRIA-DAMASCUS
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fabricator , with out waiting go and order one now , i compared viewsonic with panasonic p-3000 2500$, viewsonic is more sharp , vivd colour, classy piano black and finally half the price, the same with epson 6500, and there is new high tech comming up 1920x1200 which is needless for 1080p as a film source, 2nd new 48-64 bit colour support that no film game makers is using this technology yet even windows7 and upcomming directx11 will use the 48-bit support, 3rd xnoin bulb which is no less than 800$ , as if you are telling me that you bought a space ship and waiting for a resturant at the moon to open and be able to use your ship, for the next 5 years " GOD KNOWS" will be a quad hd going around, for my advice youll enjoy so much movies and games till they build resturants in the moon.

zasy99 i have pioneer vsx-01 and there is no problem at all try to check the hdmi input and output at your recevier also read at your manual about video parameter it could be the problem
bouda78 is offline  
post #365 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
timfrommass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ummmm
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting anxious. I ordered at about 4PM on Tues from JR and still haven't gotten the e-mail that it's shipped. I wont' even be able to set it up for a week and a half, but I want to get this guy in my hands!

I love this stuff!
timfrommass is offline  
post #366 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bouda78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: middleast- SYRIA-DAMASCUS
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dont worry timfrommass theyll email u soon , and there is few left at viewsonic at 1350$
free shipping, and at many other stores, its worth to wait for.
bouda78 is offline  
post #367 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 07:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
timfrommass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ummmm
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I paid $1299 w/free shipping. None of the bing cash back sites seemed reputable enough. I may have even risked Tiger but it wasn't an option. I'm fine with the price I just want the darn thing haha

I love this stuff!
timfrommass is offline  
post #368 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bouda78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: middleast- SYRIA-DAMASCUS
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
easy man you can borrow mine till you get it dont go for tiger direct many complain about it.
bouda78 is offline  
post #369 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 07:57 PM
Member
 
ZachHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My big thing is wondering if they will still put all of their customer service behind this thing if it is gonna be obsolete soon. That may not even be the case, but by the things I have seen and heard, it sounded like they were discontinuing it?
ZachHD is offline  
post #370 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bouda78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: middleast- SYRIA-DAMASCUS
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yep ZachHD and if they gonna replace it , theyll target the new at the same old price 4999$ thats means about 3 pro8100, and the new one will not reach the twice in technology, and i think that the pro8100 was at a high cost for viewsonic and it cutdown the price to sell all units and get the profits from the lamps , i hope that after they sold all units will not raise the price of the replacement lamp and in this way theyll get the all missing profit.
indeed they used the latest HQV chip 215 and d6 panel from epson , the 3 lcd system 0.74 coverwide rang of color , also very good looking like 100,000$ ones. i think theyll discountinued for manufacturing cost reason. so still its the deal.
bouda78 is offline  
post #371 of 9243 Old 09-03-2009, 11:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have to partially retract my statement about Contrast at 62 being WAY blown out, because I have found out that it IS WAY blown out in Component1, 1080i60 from my Motorola cable box, BUT it is NOT blown out running my LG BH200 Combo player@1080P24 Via HDMI.

I just calibrated, and it seems fine, as well as tested in a movie.
Quite a disparity between the inputs with this one.

I want MY Cigarettes, MINE Nurse Ratched!!
Screen Pics
muzz is offline  
post #372 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 01:18 AM
Member
 
cpage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by timfrommass View Post

I paid $1299 w/free shipping. None of the bing cash back sites seemed reputable enough. I may have even risked Tiger but it wasn't an option. I'm fine with the price I just want the darn thing haha


J&R is a Bing cashback site. Hope you were able to take advantage of it. I am getting $92 back after ordering through Bing and JR.com. My projector arrives tomorrow and I will try to post some pics with my SLR sometime tomorrow night or Saturday.
cpage is offline  
post #373 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 05:20 AM
Member
 
zasy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bouda78 View Post

zasy99 i have pioneer vsx-01 and there is no problem at all try to check the hdmi input and output at your recevier also read at your manual about video parameter it could be the problem

Thanks but I had already tried the video parameters. Unfortunately there is nothing you can change for HDMI inputs.
The Video Parameter settings are only available for non-HDMI input to HDMI output.

No matter what I do 1019AH -> Pro8100 via HDMI doesn't work at all but anything else, HTPC, Xbox360, PS3 or even 3 other PC's and laptops with DVI-HDMI adapters connected to the PJ are fine.
So one can say the PJ is working.

But then again if I connect the 1019AH to my 2 years old LG 42" LCD it also works fine.
So one can say the 1019AH is working.

I've tried both inputs on the PJ and 4 different HDMI cables, also flashed the PJ's firmware to the latest version.

I guess I'll be on the phone to Pioneer and Viewsonic today although I have little hope there is anything they can do.

Seems only option if their tech support doesn't come thru is I'll have to return either the AVR or PJ as they don't work together.

Anyone else with maybe a 819AH / 919AH or 1019AH AVR that can confirm it working with this PJ?
zasy99 is offline  
post #374 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 05:53 AM
Member
 
woofdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Zasy99,

I have the pio 8100 connected to the 1019 with no problems. Maybe you might want to do a system reset on the 1019 and start from scratch resetting the input/output configurations. Sounds like something in the setup is off.

Also, check the pj input settings. When I first got the 8100, I went to setup: config: Projector settings: Auto source off and hooked up the hdmi and had no problems.
woofdawg is offline  
post #375 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 05:54 AM
Member
 
drudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering the same thing about J&R when i search for the 8100 I get 4 vendors.
J&R not being one of them although they do Bing cashback
Is the cashback for any item purchased through Bing or is it only select items on each merchant's site?
drudge is offline  
post #376 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 06:58 AM
Member
 
zasy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drudge View Post

I was wondering the same thing about J&R when i search for the 8100 I get 4 vendors.
J&R not being one of them although they do Bing cashback
Is the cashback for any item purchased through Bing or is it only select items on each merchant's site?

I purchased my Pro8100 thru JR
I first went to BING, clicked on the link for cashback stores and found JR.
Clicked on that and then entered my BING account info, it then said I would qualify for cashback during my shopping session with JR.

During the checkout process with JR there was no hint of anything related to BING, however about 7-10 days after the purchase it does show up in my BING cashback account so it worked, takes about 60 days because they leave time in case people return things etc...

So I did not search and find the Pro8100 thru BING, I found the store on BING and started a shopping session so to speak.

Hope that clarifies it to anyone that was wondering how/if it works.
zasy99 is offline  
post #377 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 07:40 AM
Member
 
BluePotato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm running mine with a Pioneer VSX-919 (basically the same receiver). Running HDMI from a PS3 and HTPC into HDMI inputs. HDMI output to Pro8100. No problems here, except for color space switching issues (have to manually select RGB from projector menu when my HTPC input is selected).

Quote:
Originally Posted by zasy99 View Post

Recently got my Pro8100, having a rather annoying problem with it though.
Does anyone have it connected to the Pioneer 1019AH?

HTCP -> Pro8100, no problem.
HTCP -> 1019AH -> LG LCD TV, no problem.
HTCP -> 1019AH -> Pro8100, no picture at all, very frustrating.

(using HDMI for everything)

By the way, whether I substitute the HTPC for an Xbox360 or a PS3 the above results are the same, it just doesn't work when connected to the PJ via the 1019AH although 1019AH -> LCD TV works fine.
Any ideas?

BluePotato is offline  
post #378 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
LandShark22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a nice surprise last night, I discovered the 8100 will accept 480i and 480p over HDMI. Nice because now on SDTV and DVDs I can let the pj do the scaling and deinterlacing, which does a MUCH better job than my DVR.

Not sure if this is common, but my Samsung DLP would only accept 720p and 1080i over HDMI
LandShark22 is offline  
post #379 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 08:35 AM
Member
 
IanS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandShark22 View Post

Got a nice surprise last night, I discovered the 8100 will accept 480i and 480p over HDMI. Nice because now on SDTV and DVDs I can let the pj do the scaling and deinterlacing, which does a MUCH better job than my DVR.

Not sure if this is common, but my Samsung DLP would only accept 720p and 1080i over HDMI

Could you possibly elaborate on the quality of SDTV with the 8100? I watch a lot of oddball sport that only comes in SDTV. Many projectors (and TV's) do a brutal job of it. It is usually much better to watch on an old CRT TV. How does SDTV look on the 8100, with the HQV chip processing it?

Thanks a lot.
IanS is offline  
post #380 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 08:39 AM
Member
 
ZachHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS View Post

Could you possibly elaborate on the quality of SDTV with the 8100? I watch a lot of oddball sport that only comes in SDTV. Many projectors (and TV's) do a brutal job of it. It is usually much better to watch on an old CRT TV. How does SDTV look on the 8100, with the HQV chip processing it?

Thanks a lot.

Agreed, even in an age of HDTV a lot of my favorite shows and things are in standard definition. If this handles SDTV well that would be a nice feather in the cap.
ZachHD is offline  
post #381 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 08:40 AM
Member
 
zasy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
woofdawg & BluePotato: Thanks for your feedback, wow, I wonder what on earth trouble I am having then.
Will reset both units again tonight, if that doesn't work I'll go and swap out the 1019 at Best Buy, if that doesn't work I'll swap out the PJ with JR.
zasy99 is offline  
post #382 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 10:01 AM
Member
 
drudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know that this is a BIG projector. Does anyone know is this mount will work without replacing the middle tube with an extension tube?
http://www.mountdirect.com/NPL_Proje...nt_p/npl_w.htm
drudge is offline  
post #383 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
PoorSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi is this LCD organic or inorganic panel? definitely want to know..
Thanks
PoorSignal is offline  
post #384 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
novasol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Coast, Great White North
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drudge View Post

I know that this is a BIG projector. Does anyone know is this mount will work without replacing the middle tube with an extension tube?
http://www.mountdirect.com/NPL_Proje...nt_p/npl_w.htm

It barely fits with the included 8" pipe but there's no room for cables. I have the 11"-18" extension on it now.

Short answer..no
novasol is offline  
post #385 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
novasol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Coast, Great White North
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorSignal View Post

Hi is this LCD organic or inorganic panel? definitely want to know..
Thanks

inorganic
novasol is offline  
post #386 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
LandShark22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS View Post

Could you possibly elaborate on the quality of SDTV with the 8100? I watch a lot of oddball sport that only comes in SDTV. Many projectors (and TV's) do a brutal job of it. It is usually much better to watch on an old CRT TV. How does SDTV look on the 8100, with the HQV chip processing it?

Thanks a lot.

To me it looks pretty good. Broadcast SD will probably always look better on a CRT, but it's definitely watchable. I mean, it's SD blown up to 7+ feet wide so it has limitations obviously. SD DVD looks VERY good to me, and I don't even have a good DVD player hooked to it yet. Just Xbox 360. Broadcast SD not as good, but like I said, watchable. Just make sure you pass it the 480 signal so the pj can do the processing.
LandShark22 is offline  
post #387 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
timfrommass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ummmm
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It shipped Darn holiday weekend though, won't see it till tues

I love this stuff!
timfrommass is offline  
post #388 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
IanS -- I have a different PJ, but it also has the Reon HQV chip. SDTV looks very good on it (my 480p SD-DVDs look very close to HDTV quality). However, I'm using the component connections, not HDMI. I don't know if that would make a difference, in your case (or mine).

I have DirecTV and I have my HR20 DRV set to 1080i output for all programs and SDTV looks good - no difference from sending it to the PJ as 480i. However, from my DVD experience, your SDTV at 480i should look good too (unless the source is screwed up -- and many cable tuners &/or channels are).

PS -- I don't have my HDMI cabling installed yet to my PJ, so all of my comments are only applicable to that condition.

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
post #389 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 05:30 PM
Member
 
IanS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks CT. May I ask which PJ you have where the SD and DVD looks so good? I have been trying to search models based on their video processing - but so far I haven't had much luck.

Thank you for your help.
IanS is offline  
post #390 of 9243 Old 09-04-2009, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS View Post

Thanks CT. May I ask which PJ you have where the SD and DVD looks so good? I have been trying to search models based on their video processing - but so far I haven't had much luck.

Thank you for your help.

He had the Mitsubishi 5500 last I knew, and he and the wife were pretty darn happy with it.

Maybe things have changed in the last week or so, but I doubt it.


The Reon HQV is a good processor

I want MY Cigarettes, MINE Nurse Ratched!!
Screen Pics
muzz is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Viewsonic Pro8100 Full Hd 1080p Home Theater Projector , Viewsonic
Gear in this thread - Pro8100 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off