Viewsonic Pro8100 1080p Projector - Page 307 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9181 of 9210 Old 01-06-2014, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
According to the manual, the flashing red or orange LED is indicative of some type of lamp error.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9182 of 9210 Old 01-07-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeklight1 View Post

I have indeed tried changing the source both by remote and manually. I've also noticed that it doesn't work on either HDMI port no matter if I use my existing cables/switcher or use a fresh HDMI cable to plug in directly. I have a Wii hooked up composite as well and though it reads a signal it only displays a black screen.

I get a flashing amber sometimes when it's on - still wondering if the lamp just isn't seated in there correctly.

Hoping someone might have a clue and meanwhile I'll just keep fiddling!

Since you get the Precision logo, I would guess the lamp is working .. it sounds like your devices are not syncing .. maybe try a full reset .. ??

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #9183 of 9210 Old 01-10-2014, 10:19 PM
Newbie
 
leeklight1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post


Since you get the Precision logo, I would guess the lamp is working .. it sounds like your devices are not syncing .. maybe try a full reset .. ??

 

Okay - update... looks like the old lamp is working (new one only gets a orange/blinking orange indicating lamp error). I've rerouted my component signal which now displays fine when connected to my set top box. It was not working when hooked up to my Wii (got signal but was black screen).

 

However, it looks like the HDMI inputs are both not getting a signal at all and still just stick with the precision logo.

 

I'm wondering if maybe something got fried on the circuit board relating to the HDMI ports?

 

Looks like I may have to settle for some TV-only action for some time and just end up replacing the projector when the lamp dies.... lasted a good while but not sure what else to do to get the HDMI up and running.

 

Any ideas on what might be the case and if there's a way to do a full hardware reset? (Couldn't find any reference to that anywhere...)

leeklight1 is offline  
post #9184 of 9210 Old 01-11-2014, 10:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeklight1 View Post

Okay - update... looks like the old lamp is working (new one only gets a orange/blinking orange indicating lamp error). I've rerouted my component signal which now displays fine when connected to my set top box. It was not working when hooked up to my Wii (got signal but was black screen).

However, it looks like the HDMI inputs are both not getting a signal at all and still just stick with the precision logo.

I'm wondering if maybe something got fried on the circuit board relating to the HDMI ports?

Looks like I may have to settle for some TV-only action for some time and just end up replacing the projector when the lamp dies.... lasted a good while but not sure what else to do to get the HDMI up and running.

Any ideas on what might be the case and if there's a way to do a full hardware reset? (Couldn't find any reference to that anywhere...)

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1231485/official-viewsonic-pro8100-1080p-projector-thread-part-2

you might also try re-flashing the firmware ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #9185 of 9210 Old 01-11-2014, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
IIRC, Early users found that the HDMI ports were very fragile and broke easily. This may be what Uncle Willie was pointing you to in the other thread.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #9186 of 9210 Old 01-12-2014, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73shark View Post

IIRC, Early users found that the HDMI ports were very fragile and broke easily. This may be what Uncle Willie was pointing you to in the other thread.

+!

I treat HDMI ports as fragile on all my equipment.wink.gif

Ed
old corps is online now  
post #9187 of 9210 Old 01-14-2014, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fabricator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
do any of you guys have a problem with serious sub action ? my subs are not wimpy, and i moved them close to the pj. when there is a large boom or something, the pj wigs out (acts as if it looses signal. and then is searching for said signal). just wondering.

chasing rattles ......

Pro8100 Cult member
Fabricator is offline  
post #9188 of 9210 Old 01-14-2014, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I don't have a problem. Sounds like a bad connection. Maybe the HDMI connector(s) went Tango Uniform. eek.gif

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #9189 of 9210 Old 01-15-2014, 07:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabricator View Post

do any of you guys have a problem with serious sub action ? my subs are not wimpy, and i moved them close to the pj. when there is a large boom or something, the pj wigs out (acts as if it looses signal. and then is searching for said signal). just wondering.

My 8100 is mounted downstairs .. when the grandkids visit and are stomping and jumping around upstairs, other than the jiggling from the floor moving, the signal still stays rock steady ..

I run a 7.2 setup with some pretty hefty subs as well and have never had a signal problem, although I have rattled pictures off the wall ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #9190 of 9210 Old 01-15-2014, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I've got 2 good size subs and crank out a lot of bass in an action movie--never had a problem but they're located on the opposite end of the room from the pj. Maybe you need to move them away from the pj?

Ed
old corps is online now  
post #9191 of 9210 Old 01-15-2014, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73shark View Post

I don't have a problem. Sounds like a bad connection. Maybe the HDMI connector(s) went Tango Uniform. eek.gif

Or Tango Delta ???wink.gif

Ed (OLD jarhead radio operator)
old corps is online now  
post #9192 of 9210 Old 01-15-2014, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Not sure of the meaning of TD.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #9193 of 9210 Old 01-15-2014, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73shark View Post

Not sure of the meaning of TD.

Tango Uniform
Ti*s Up

Tango Delta
T*ts Down

Ed
old corps is online now  
post #9194 of 9210 Old 01-15-2014, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Thanks, that's a new one for me.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #9195 of 9210 Old 01-16-2014, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fabricator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ok, thanx. its not a connection problem. the cable is secured just below the pj.

chasing rattles ......

Pro8100 Cult member
Fabricator is offline  
post #9196 of 9210 Old 01-16-2014, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Have you tried barely wiggling the connector?

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #9197 of 9210 Old 01-31-2014, 04:45 AM
Member
 
shiseido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: porto, PORTUGAL
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
one doubt, its impossible to thet the vs8100 new and at a good price??
shiseido is offline  
post #9198 of 9210 Old 02-04-2014, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiseido View Post

one doubt, its impossible to thet the vs8100 new and at a good price??

Here.


And here
.

Be sure to ask if they have "horizontal banding" as there is currently no known fix for this.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #9199 of 9210 Old 02-10-2014, 03:25 AM
Member
 
shiseido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: porto, PORTUGAL
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73shark View Post

Here.


And here
.

Be sure to ask if they have "horizontal banding" as there is currently no known fix for this.
thanks smile.gif
shiseido is offline  
post #9200 of 9210 Old 02-10-2014, 11:10 AM
Newbie
 
Thomas Mcginnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, My first post. I bought one of these and I love it. Anyone who sees the image is blown away.

 

I just wanted to relay a tip I have figured out. I was getting the lamp error "orange" flashing. My projector would not turn on. I realized a pattern. It was COLD! These things are super susceptible to the cold. I keep my house at 65 but it doesnt seem to matter. When it gets cold outside, it will not turn on. My solution was a hairdryer. I run a hairdryer on low heat high for about 3 mins before I turn the projector on. Works like a charm.

 

Next time you get the lamp error, make sure the lamp is warm enough. And one other thing. Dont make your projector share an electrical source. I plug mine into surge protector all on its lonesome.

Thomas Mcginnis is offline  
post #9201 of 9210 Old 02-10-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Welcome to the forum.

Thanks for the "cold lamp" info. Hadn't heard that before.

Might want to check out this thread as it has a lot of info w/o having to wade thru 9,200+ posts here.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #9202 of 9210 Old 02-10-2014, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Mcginnis View Post

Hi, My first post. I bought one of these and I love it. Anyone who sees the image is blown away.

I just wanted to relay a tip I have figured out. I was getting the lamp error "orange" flashing. My projector would not turn on. I realized a pattern. It was COLD! These things are super susceptible to the cold. I keep my house at 65 but it doesnt seem to matter. When it gets cold outside, it will not turn on. My solution was a hairdryer. I run a hairdryer on low heat high for about 3 mins before I turn the projector on. Works like a charm.

Next time you get the lamp error, make sure the lamp is warm enough. And one other thing. Dont make your projector share an electrical source. I plug mine into surge protector all on its lonesome.

Welcome aboard Tom! Very interesting solution for the lamp error. Hey, whatever works!

Ed
old corps is online now  
post #9203 of 9210 Old 03-06-2014, 02:45 AM
Newbie
 
nighteye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Tom! Glad to hear your enjoying the projector!

Mine is at just under 3200 hours!! And as of tonight, I finally updated the settings from Dark Rider's "Eco" settings on page 161, to his "2200" hour settings on page 277 ...All I can say it WoW! Colors and Brightness! Woo Hoo! Its like brand new again, and dare I say I don't ever remember it ever having this much pop! Im kicking myself for not changing the settings a 1000 hours ago! What a machine! And what a thread! 300 + pages! Yee Haw! Keep on Rocking everybody!
old corps likes this.
nighteye is offline  
post #9204 of 9210 Old 04-05-2014, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Was just looking on Amazon for some microfilter material since I'm running out and found the review from 73shark that he ordered the Eureka Endust filters for his VS8100! Small world ain't it. Ordered 'em.wink.gif

Ed
old corps is online now  
post #9205 of 9210 Old 04-05-2014, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Just got your mention on Amazon. You will have to cut it to size. After cutting, I vacuumed the cut edge to remove any l loose fibers. So far it has performed well.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #9206 of 9210 Old 04-05-2014, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73shark View Post

Just got your mention on Amazon. You will have to cut it to size. After cutting, I vacuumed the cut edge to remove any l loose fibers. So far it has performed well.

Yep, gotcha. I've been using them since I got the pj (3 1/2 yrs. ago?) but wanted to get get some more since I was running out.

Ed
old corps is online now  
post #9207 of 9210 Old 05-03-2014, 06:59 AM
Member
 
Bob Benson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi all, just wanted to let anyone know who might be interested I put my pro8100 up on ebay (I replaced it last year with an Epson 5020ub).

Auction is ending today. So far its only going for 217 plus 27 for ups ground shipping.

Hope I am not violating forum rules. But I thought if anyone viewing this thread was looking for one they might appreciate the heads up. Thanks!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/271467907700?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

XBL Gamertag - PVT Hicks
Bob Benson is offline  
post #9208 of 9210 Old 05-03-2014, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Benson View Post

Hi all, just wanted to let anyone know who might be interested I put my pro8100 up on ebay (I replaced it last year with an Epson 5020ub).

Auction is ending today. So far its only going for 217 plus 27 for ups ground shipping.

Hope I am not violating forum rules. But I thought if anyone viewing this thread was looking for one they might appreciate the heads up. Thanks!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/271467907700?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

Sounds like someone is going to get a good deal. Just curious--How many hours on the pj itself & any banding issues???

Thanks!
Ed
old corps is online now  
post #9209 of 9210 Old 05-03-2014, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Bob Benson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
900 hours though it says zero cause I tried to use one of those 60 dollar generic bulbs but gave up cause it was too dim.

It has vb that I dealt with by putting it on an outlet timer.

I think it's hb free. I never saw it the first year of use. But then I thought I saw it a couple times later. But then never saw it again.

XBL Gamertag - PVT Hicks
Bob Benson is offline  
post #9210 of 9210 Old 05-09-2014, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
hmcewin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mWave has two different lamps for the 8100 priced at 108.00 and 149.00. I have tried the cheaper one with some success. Has anyone tried the $149.00 one. If so would you please share your experience?

Thanks,

Heny
hmcewin is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Viewsonic Pro8100 Full Hd 1080p Home Theater Projector , Viewsonic
Gear in this thread - Pro8100 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off