Viewsonic Pro8100 1080p Projector - Page 309 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9241 of 9264 Old 10-10-2014, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I see that the thermostat connects directly to the power supply.

Would a faulty or disconnected thermostat cause a no-power condition?
sebberry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9242 of 9264 Old 10-10-2014, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I would think any tech that works on this type of hardware could determine if it's the power supply or components surrounding it.

They should be able to determine if it's the thermostat or not.
73shark is online now  
post #9243 of 9264 Old 10-10-2014, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Heh... just realized that the bulb (original) outlasted the power supply. He even bought a spare lamp. Should have bought a spare PSU.

Let's hope my 8100 doesn't suffer the same fate any time soon. I've only put 800hrs on mine over the last 4.5 years.
sebberry is online now  
post #9244 of 9264 Old 11-15-2014, 03:19 PM
Member
 
jtheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys

I had to change my basement setup and now have to hang my precious viewsonic 8100 from the ceiling

Any good recommendations for a ceiling mount that you are currently using

thanks

J
jtheman is offline  
post #9245 of 9264 Old 11-16-2014, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtheman View Post
hi guys

I had to change my basement setup and now have to hang my precious viewsonic 8100 from the ceiling

Any good recommendations for a ceiling mount that you are currently using

thanks

J
I got mine from Mounts and More on-line but I don't remember the part number for it. I doubt they carry it anymore anyway.
73shark is online now  
post #9246 of 9264 Old 11-17-2014, 07:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,591
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtheman View Post
hi guys

I had to change my basement setup and now have to hang my precious viewsonic 8100 from the ceiling

Any good recommendations for a ceiling mount that you are currently using

thanks

J
My first choice would be an RPMA217. My second choice would be an RPA217 and my third choice would be an RPAU. If we can help you, give us a call.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is offline  
post #9247 of 9264 Old 11-17-2014, 02:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtheman View Post
hi guys

I had to change my basement setup and now have to hang my precious viewsonic 8100 from the ceiling

Any good recommendations for a ceiling mount that you are currently using

thanks

J
MonoPrice has a good selection of inexpensive mounts ...


http://www.monoprice.com/Search/Inde...rojector+mount


Myself, I'd just fabricate one since it's pretty easy ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is online now  
post #9248 of 9264 Old 11-19-2014, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
257roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebberry View Post
I see that the thermostat connects directly to the power supply.

Would a faulty or disconnected thermostat cause a no-power condition?
Just make a test wire and wire around the thermostat/high temp limiter. That way you can determine if the thermostat is the source of the problem. If you are not comfortable doing it yourself most any electronic tech could try it for you. I still like my Pro8100. I have around 3000 hours on the original bulb, but about 500 hours or so ago I had to bump the bulb settings off of "Eco" and set it to "Normal". The fan runs a little harder and make a little more noise, but the image quality is just as good. I will however, have some decision making to do if it needs a new bulb. My friend has a new Optoma entry-level 1080p machine and it sure looks nice for what he paid for it. What do you guess it will cost to get a top quality bulb, OEM or not, to replace in the Viewsonic? Thanks and hope your projector can be repaired and enjoyed!
257roberts is offline  
post #9249 of 9264 Old 11-19-2014, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
The first repair shop wanted to replace the PSU - part not available from VS.
The second shop didn't want to probe the PSU and test it at all.
The third shop pulled some diodes and transistors out of circuit but they all tested OK.
The fourth shop suspects one of the ICs and has a part on order I think and will let me know in a day or two if it can be fixed. If anyone can fix it, this guy can. He's an older Chinese fellow and his shop is stacked to the nines with electronics. I have to turn sideways to walk through the place.

Oh the effort I go to to ensure I have happy customers
sebberry is online now  
post #9250 of 9264 Old 11-19-2014, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
257roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebberry View Post
The first repair shop wanted to replace the PSU - part not available from VS.
The second shop didn't want to probe the PSU and test it at all.
The third shop pulled some diodes and transistors out of circuit but they all tested OK.
The fourth shop suspects one of the ICs and has a part on order I think and will let me know in a day or two if it can be fixed. If anyone can fix it, this guy can. He's an older Chinese fellow and his shop is stacked to the nines with electronics. I have to turn sideways to walk through the place.

Oh the effort I go to to ensure I have happy customers
I guess the high temperature cutout was working then. Good luck and hope you can repair the PSU. Like Dragonman said, I would not have thought that the PSU was proprietary to Viewsonic, but I guess so.
257roberts is offline  
post #9251 of 9264 Old 11-22-2014, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
257roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am needing to replace my bulb. Any ideas other than the Viewsonic Lamp Module? I am pretty handy and could swap just the bulbs if I had to.
257roberts is offline  
post #9252 of 9264 Old 11-22-2014, 10:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by 257roberts View Post
I am needing to replace my bulb. Any ideas other than the Viewsonic Lamp Module? I am pretty handy and could swap just the bulbs if I had to.

The MWAVE lamps have had mixed reviews here .. although my experience has been good ..


otherwise :
http://www.projectorlampsource.com/V...sYOxoC58_w_wcB


http://www.amazon.com/Viewsonic-Repl.../dp/B00A553PWK


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA15412S5524


If, at my next lamp change, I don't have a good experience with an inexpensive lamp, I'll probably begin seriously considering moving on, I had the opportunity to check out an LG PF85U and an Optoma HD50, either of which I think I can place in my HT ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is online now  
post #9253 of 9264 Old 11-22-2014, 06:57 PM
Member
 
mizedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Falcon, Co
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtheman View Post
hi guys

I had to change my basement setup and now have to hang my precious viewsonic 8100 from the ceiling

Any good recommendations for a ceiling mount that you are currently using

thanks

J
I made a shelf type out of beach plywood. It's been there go about 4 years. I'd like to build a new one but just for a different style.
mizedog is online now  
post #9254 of 9264 Old 11-22-2014, 08:50 PM
Senior Member
 
257roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks Dragonman, I hope an inexpensive bulb will work, I doubt I would put in $350 in the Viewsonic. The LG machine looks nice with LED's and no bulbs, but wouldn't be bright enough for my room. I may try the mwave bulb.
257roberts is offline  
post #9255 of 9264 Old 12-09-2014, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Superman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hello Folks!
Been awhile. Just stopped in to say I've ordered a lamp off amazon.ca (clt imports) and will report back my findings in the coming weeks. $155+shipping. Says it's original Phillips/osram bulb with generic housing.

Over 3500hrs on original bulb and it's gotten dimmer (used mostly on normal), so decided to go for it after holding off last year.

Hope this goes well!!!
old corps likes this.
Superman2 is offline  
post #9256 of 9264 Old 12-09-2014, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
old corps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman2 View Post
Hello Folks!
Been awhile. Just stopped in to say I've ordered a lamp off amazon.ca (clt imports) and will report back my findings in the coming weeks. $155+shipping. Says it's original Phillips/osram bulb with generic housing.

Over 3500hrs on original bulb and it's gotten dimmer (used mostly on normal), so decided to go for it after holding off last year.

Hope this goes well!!!

Will be looking forward to your review, but I believe the actual original lamp is a Ushio. Good luck!


Ed
old corps is offline  
post #9257 of 9264 Old 12-09-2014, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Superman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by old corps View Post
Will be looking forward to your review, but I believe the actual original lamp is a Ushio. Good luck!


Ed
Great, starting off well already!
Superman2 is offline  
post #9258 of 9264 Old 12-16-2014, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebberry View Post
The first repair shop wanted to replace the PSU - part not available from VS.
The second shop didn't want to probe the PSU and test it at all.
The third shop pulled some diodes and transistors out of circuit but they all tested OK.
The fourth shop suspects one of the ICs and has a part on order I think and will let me know in a day or two if it can be fixed. If anyone can fix it, this guy can. He's an older Chinese fellow and his shop is stacked to the nines with electronics. I have to turn sideways to walk through the place.

Oh the effort I go to to ensure I have happy customers
Update:

Two ICs replaced on the under-side of the board, but still no power. The technician says he's getting about 1.2v where there should be 5v standby power.

He says without the schematic diagram there's nothing more he can do Of course, the service manual doesn't have the PSU in it.

Viewsonic's help on this has been nonexistent. Last VS projector I buy or recommend for my clients.
sebberry is online now  
post #9259 of 9264 Old 12-16-2014, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Assuming the 5V PS is putting out 5V, he needs to find what's dragging it down. Suspect a bad capacitor somewhere.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is online now  
post #9260 of 9264 Old 12-16-2014, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
He's an older Chinese gentleman and I'm having a little difficulty understanding him sometimes. I can see the solder where he's pulled and tested various components out of the circuit.

The nice thing is that he didn't charge me for anything. I think he saw this as a personal challenge

One thing I just discovered is that the service manual that is floating around here lists one of the connectors in the PS as not used. (This is the page he was working from). Taking a look into the projector I see that the door switch (over the bulb) is wired into this connector and it needs a closed circuit. I tried on my projector and sure enough opening the bulb door took the PJ out of standby.

Maybe I'll take it back to him and tell him that connector needs to be shorted. (He did have the other thermostat connector shorted).

On another note, DigiKey shipped the two ICs we needed from Minnesota to the west coast of BC so quickly I had them in less than 24 hrs of ordering them.
sebberry is online now  
post #9261 of 9264 Old 12-19-2014, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Superman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Lamp update:

Received the new lamp this week. Quick shipping, but I felt the packaging was rather skimpy.... maybe thats just me. I couldn't tell any diff between the original and new one. I'll post some pics later.

Installed today. Pretty easy enough. The new lamp/housing had to be forced in a bit more than I felt comfortable. The two screws lined up well though, and no issues closing it up.

Fired her up and wow... bright as hell. I even left all my basement spot lights on and I immediately noticed the difference. Pretty sure this is just as bright as when I first got my bulb.

So far so good. I'll report back every few hundred hrs just to keep those looking for a new bulb in the know.
old corps likes this.
Superman2 is offline  
post #9262 of 9264 Old 12-21-2014, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
257roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I replaced my bulb (not cage) also. I purchased mine from replacementlightbulbs.com It is a genuine Ushio branded bulb, like the original OEM bulb. This one however says NSH160D, the original said NSH160HO. Not sure what the difference is but this bulb is nice and bright, my old bulb said 1500 hours, but I bought a refurb and I'm not sure if the bulb was new when shipped to me. Anyway it looks like it did when I first received my projector. I will need to tweak the calibration some, seems like the skin tones might be a little too red. I may need to turn down the saturation some also. Thanks to all who gave advice on the lamps and bulbs. Unless something happens to the projector, I intend to keep it, I have not seen anything that will throw a nice image like the Pro8100 without spending a quite a lot of money. I see some brighter projectors and ones that have 3D, but none that have the color rendering and pleasing sharpness that the Viewsonic does.
old corps likes this.
257roberts is offline  
post #9263 of 9264 Old Today, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Superman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Updating with pics: 25hrs on new lamp and all is well.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419633190.200391.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	710.0 KB
ID:	442954 original one

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419633216.925962.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	572.1 KB
ID:	442962 new one

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1419633249.254672.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	642.2 KB
ID:	442970 packaging
Superman2 is offline  
post #9264 of 9264 Old Today, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 50
About every 3-4 months I get the red flashing status LED which means Lamp Error. The lamp doesn't come on, so I shut it off and wait a few minutes and it comes on normally. Not sure what's happening but I guess as long as it comes on, I'm happy. Would like to know what causes it tho.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is online now  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Tags
Viewsonic Pro8100 Full Hd 1080p Home Theater Projector , Viewsonic
Gear in this thread - Pro8100 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off