RS2/ PRO-FPJ1 Owners: Setup Discussion Thread - Page 127 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3781 of 4226 Old 11-24-2010, 05:20 AM
Ron
AVS Special Member
 
Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Canton, Mi
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelscott73 View Post

How much more "pop", "wow", "wholly s**t" will I get with a correctly painted Silver screen in a light controlled room? Screen will be a 16x9, 130" to 138", FPJ1 the closest it can be to the screen "based on screen calculator?

I can't speak to that question directly (I use a Stewart) but I will point out that you'd be better off having the projector toward the BACK of the throw range, if you're able in your setup.

I don't remember the technical reasons for doing so, but I remember that there was a good reason, and it's what I've always heard/followed.
Ron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3782 of 4226 Old 11-24-2010, 05:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Audiojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Greater Pittsburg
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelscott73 View Post

How much more "pop", "wow", "wholly s**t" will I get with a correctly painted Silver screen in a light controlled room? Screen will be a 16x9, 130" to 138", FPJ1 the closest it can be to the screen "based on screen calculator?

Can't speak for either of those screens, but I just got a Black Diamond (0.8 gain) and despite the FPJ-1 being a fairly low light output PJ, the screen allows for PLENTY of "pop and wow". The contrast makes all the difference in the world in perceived light reflection.

"Suddenly the thought struck me, my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin
Audiojan is offline  
post #3783 of 4226 Old 11-24-2010, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone pass me contact info for the JVC repair facility they used for their RS2? And how quick was the turnaround? Thx
rblnr is offline  
post #3784 of 4226 Old 11-24-2010, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
michaelscott73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having issues with my Pioneer and have to send it to California.
michaelscott73 is offline  
post #3785 of 4226 Old 11-24-2010, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
michaelscott73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Ron, I will have to search the threads to get more information on that. I would have thought the closer the better.
michaelscott73 is offline  
post #3786 of 4226 Old 11-24-2010, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelscott73 View Post
How much more "pop", "wow", "wholly s**t" will I get with a correctly painted Silver screen in a light controlled room? Screen will be a 16x9, 130" to 138", FPJ1 the closest it can be to the screen "based on screen calculator?
I used my RS2 with first a 9' wide Stewart Firehawk(grey) and switched it out to a 10' wide SMX AT screen(white). I prefer the SMX. One of the purposes of the grey screens, or at least the reason I used the Firehawk with my older G11, were to increase black level. And it did. It was a good combo, imo. But the RS2 has much better blacks than most of the older projectors and I like the white screen better because the colors seem to be a little more accurate and the whites are whiter, based on my eye anyway.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3787 of 4226 Old 11-24-2010, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rblnr View Post
Can someone pass me contact info for the JVC repair facility they used for their RS2? And how quick was the turnaround? Thx
Lorenzo at JVC. 5665 Corporate Ave. Cypress, CA. 90630 714-229-8013 ext. 8

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3788 of 4226 Old 11-24-2010, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron View Post
I can't speak to that question directly (I use a Stewart) but I will point out that you'd be better off having the projector toward the BACK of the throw range, if you're able in your setup.

I don't remember the technical reasons for doing so, but I remember that there was a good reason, and it's what I've always heard/followed.
I think it was to maximize contrast, if memory serves.

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3789 of 4226 Old 11-25-2010, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCLAY View Post

Lorenzo at JVC. 5665 Corporate Ave. Cypress, CA. 90630 714-229-8013 ext. 8

Thanks. Wound up sending it to repair center in Texas yesterday.
rblnr is offline  
post #3790 of 4226 Old 11-25-2010, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Badas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just to let you guy's know,

I replaced my lamp for the first time on Monday,

Something that I always wondered was if the light path was sealed so no dust
could get in the way. This is an advantage so you can use compressed air to blow
out dust from the fan area. I never found out the answer. I took a risk when I changed the lamp.

I blew compressed air into the lamp area with the lamp out. Dust flew out the air intake.
I also blew in the intake and outtake to clear them out. Not so much dust.

I then micro fibre cleaned the prism and lamp housing and reinstalled the new lamp.

I turned the projector on to see if dust went into the light path, they appear as blobs on a white screen.
I put up a white screen from the S&M blu-ray and everything was clean and clear. All good.

So my guess is the light path is sealed from dust and you can use compressed air to clean.

Ta

Dono
Badas is offline  
post #3791 of 4226 Old 11-27-2010, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Hagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Graham, Wa
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rblnr View Post

Can someone pass me contact info for the JVC repair facility they used for their RS2? And how quick was the turnaround? Thx

I sent in my RS 2 to the facility in CA. They said a three day turnaround and they delivered. Although, I wish the tech had been just a little bit more specific about the repair, I couldn't believe they put in over $4000 n repair as I remember.

Whats yours doing?
Hagar is offline  
post #3792 of 4226 Old 11-28-2010, 06:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
rblnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The lamp and fan don't power up. I'll hear a clicking noise and it will repeat a few times as the pj 'tries' to power up. After a few tries I get the warning lights. Unplugging/plugging doesn't help. Bulb is relatively new, putting in the old bulb doesn't change anything.

Sent it to TX on Fri as per tech. and sheet he emailed me. Should have put on the description that green panel is a 1/2 pixel out of alignment, maybe while they're at it... Will call them about this.
rblnr is offline  
post #3793 of 4226 Old 11-29-2010, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My focus and zoom all of a sudden quit working. They have the pj now. Hope I get it back in time for Xmas.

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3794 of 4226 Old 12-02-2010, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
DVD MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am wondering what screen type,size,gain and FL most RS-2 and
FPJ1 owners are getting.
DVD MAN is offline  
post #3795 of 4226 Old 12-02-2010, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a 10 ft wide 2.40 SMX AT white screen. I think the gain is a little over 1, like 1.16 or something close to that. I love it.

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3796 of 4226 Old 12-02-2010, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
DVD MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCLAY View Post

I use a 10 ft wide 2.40 SMX AT white screen. I think the gain is a little over 1, like 1.16 or something close to that. I love it.

Do you have a colorimeter if so what fl are you getting?
DVD MAN is offline  
post #3797 of 4226 Old 12-02-2010, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not.

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3798 of 4226 Old 12-02-2010, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the best(and most fun) things I did when building my ht room was building my own screen. The SMX material was super affordable, imo.
Chris
LL

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3799 of 4226 Old 12-07-2010, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
michaelscott73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiojan View Post

Can't speak for either of those screens, but I just got a Black Diamond (0.8 gain) and despite the FPJ-1 being a fairly low light output PJ, the screen allows for PLENTY of "pop and wow". The contrast makes all the difference in the world in perceived light reflection.

What is your screen size and throw distance?
michaelscott73 is offline  
post #3800 of 4226 Old 12-08-2010, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Audiojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Greater Pittsburg
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelscott73 View Post

What is your screen size and throw distance?

The screen is a 92" 16:9 and seating is about 14' front screen center.

"Suddenly the thought struck me, my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin
Audiojan is offline  
post #3801 of 4226 Old 12-08-2010, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
michaelscott73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone think I will have an issue with a 138" screen, mounted 22' from screen, using a DIY CMRA S-I-L-V-E-R screen...as far as brightness? Room is light controlled...painted completely black "first 5' from screen"
michaelscott73 is offline  
post #3802 of 4226 Old 12-09-2010, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't remember my RS2 ever having a lens cover. I just sent my RS2 back to JVC for a repair(which turned to be my stupidity and not a prob with the pj), and couldn't find a lens cover.

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3803 of 4226 Old 12-09-2010, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scratch that. The manual shows a lens cap included. Musta lost mine too.

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3804 of 4226 Old 12-09-2010, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
kiliksun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCLAY View Post

Scratch that. The manual shows a lens cap included. Musta lost mine too.

ah, just now deleted my original post. Just now gave JVC a call and they pretty much sell them (have no idea why I didn't just do this initially). When I did have mine i didn't have it capped most of the time, however when moving it's an obvious necessity.
kiliksun is offline  
post #3805 of 4226 Old 12-10-2010, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCLAY View Post

I don't remember my RS2 ever having a lens cover. I just sent my RS2 back to JVC for a repair(which turned to be my stupidity and not a prob with the pj), and couldn't find a lens cover.

I gotta know what the problem was?
shamus is offline  
post #3806 of 4226 Old 12-16-2010, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamus View Post

I gotta know what the problem was?

My zoom and focus all of a sudden quit working. I have the zoom codes programmed into my Control4 system which is convenient for small little adjustments but suddenly they just stopped working. Or so I thought. I could swear I tried with the actual pj remote as well before I sent it in to JVC. Anyway, I sent it in and the tech called and said both zoom and focus worked fine. DOH! They sent it back, I mounted it and shucks howdy, it worked fine. Double DOH!! I felt so stupid.

Interesting side note, when I told the tech how I have discrete codes for zoom and focus, he said even JVC didn't have those. Strange. Don't remember how I got them originally, but they do indeed work. I have them posted on pg 1 of this thread for anyone who might want them.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #3807 of 4226 Old 12-20-2010, 08:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
DVD MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DVDO DUO and the Pioneer PRO-FPJ1 has been a great combo.
Here are my calibrated results using an Eye1 Pro , Chroma 5 Enhanced and Calman 4.1.1.

 

DUO PRO-FPJ1.pdf 468.3251953125k . file

 

DUO PRO-FPJ1 part 2.pdf 320.8759765625k . file

 

DUO PRO-FPJ1 part 3.pdf 272.9189453125k . file

 

DUO PRO-FPJ1 part 4.pdf 161.3818359375k . file
DVD MAN is offline  
post #3808 of 4226 Old 12-21-2010, 05:30 PM
 
cf181user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVD MAN View Post

The DVDO DUO and the Pioneer PRO-FPJ1 has been a great combo.
Here are my calibrated results using an Eye1 Pro , Chroma 5 Enhanced and Calman 4.1.1.

Who performed your Calibration? That is perfect almost to good to be true! Did the actual display reflect that much in picture quality? That is to say did the quality go from VCR to 1080P?
cf181user is offline  
post #3809 of 4226 Old 12-21-2010, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
DVD MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cf181user View Post

Who performed your Calibration? That is perfect almost to good to be true! Did the actual display reflect that much in picture quality? That is to say did the quality go from VCR to 1080P?

I performed the calibration using the Eye 1 Pro for CMS and a profiled Enhanced Chroma 5 for gray scale and gamma. The DDC and Interactive Controls with Calman and the DVDO Duo allowed me to precisely dial the settings.

As precise as the results show on the report, the final determination is what it looks like and it is looking pretty dam good. Not bad for an amateur calibrator.
DVD MAN is offline  
post #3810 of 4226 Old 12-22-2010, 08:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
guitarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Bay Area San Francisco.
Posts: 12,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have my first JVC coming in a week it's a DLA HD100. I have a Mitsubishi HC6500 right now and I'm a little worried about losing sharpness. Looking forward to trying out the JVC. I use these because of short throw restictions in my new house.

I'm not worried about brightness using a 106" High Power screen with the projector low shelf mounted. The Mits is bright as hell with this setup.

I see talk about the higher saturation points, usually companies do this to keep the lumens as high as they can get them. As long as it's done well and tones can look natural that's ok, we'll see.

Tom/guitarman
VideoDementia

Are you twisted also?
http://www.videodementia.com/sales/TomWithWires.jpg
guitarman is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off