RS2/ PRO-FPJ1 Owners: Setup Discussion Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 03:54 PM
Member
 
lectricman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Cameron, My room is 29' deep and 12' wide. The room is really about 20' wide but the width is limited by columns so it got split up unfortunetly
lectricman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 04:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phil Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Port Angeles, Washington
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think with your 1.5 gain screen material and 10.5' width you should be fine assuming an anamorph lens. Without the lens, using zoom only, I think you'd be dissapointed as the lamp aged.

I'd suggest mounting it at the back of the room for max contrast as well as min lens anomalies.

Of course that's just me!

I have a .85 gain old GrayHawk microperf 12' wide and I will definitely have to upgrade to at least a 1.3 Studiotek soon since the lamp is 200+ hours.

I have mine at the back of the room and have approx. 21' throw with in ISCO2.
Phil Olson is offline  
post #363 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I just went down to the basement to look at the projector. Rob is right. The knobs are on the bottom of the projector if you are table mounting. Chris had me confused there.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #364 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lectricman View Post

Thanks Cameron, My room is 29' deep and 12' wide. The room is really about 20' wide but the width is limited by columns so it got split up unfortunetly

OK not super wide. Are you going to put speakers on the side or are you planning on going with an Acoustically transparent material?

If not going for the AT, how wide are your speakers?

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #365 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 05:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 550 Post(s)
Liked: 544
Phil. Why not just buy a new lamp(s) quicker? Those lamps are cheap and a LOT cheaper than a new screen. You will, however, as you know, get a significant increasein brightness by going from .8 to 1.3.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #366 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the confusion, guys. I didn't catch that Rich was 'tabletop' mounting. This is about as close as I can get with my camera. My pj is obviously inverted. It hangs by it's feet. In a Panamorph situation, the lens almost has to be in the 'out' position for you to get to the knobs.

Chris
LL

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #367 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Olson View Post

I have a .85 gain old GrayHawk microperf 12' wide and I will definitely have to upgrade to at least a 1.3 Studiotek soon since the lamp is 200+ hours.

Phil, you're noticing a big drop in light at 200 hours?

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #368 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 08:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Thanks a lot Chris. It was very helpful of you to take that photo on my behalf. I can see the knobs so it will help my design.

Cheers,
R Harkness is online now  
post #369 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 08:52 PM
Member
 
lectricman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameron View Post

OK not super wide. Are you going to put speakers on the side or are you planning on going with an Acoustically transparent material?

If not going for the AT, how wide are your speakers?

The speakers are Def Tech BP2000 and will be at each side of the screen. Putting them behind the screen won't work in my situation.
lectricman is offline  
post #370 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCLAY View Post

Phil, you're noticing a big drop in light at 200 hours?

Well crud a 12' wide .85 gain screen. Any light drop would be significant.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #371 of 4249 Old 02-17-2008, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lectricman View Post

The speakers are Def Tech BP2000 and will be at each side of the screen. Putting them behind the screen won't work in my situation.

OK I see that the speakers are 9" each and you probably want a few more inches on each side too. So that takes out 2' or so.

I would shoot for 9' to 9.5' wide with the Stewart 1.3 gain. (or carada 1.4)

I have a 1.35 gain equivalent 10' wide stewart screen with my RS2. It is plenty bright for my semi-batcave.

So are you going to use an Anamorphic lens with this setup?

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #372 of 4249 Old 02-18-2008, 03:25 AM
Newbie
 
cortega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Phil. Mounting it at the back of the room as per your suggestion would leave a similar set up as the one you seem to have, which is good news. With a screen which is even a bit larger than mine, is the lumens output enough in your setup? I see your concern about both the gain of the screen and the lamp life...

Since mounting it at the back would leave the projector close to where we would sit, should I be concerned about the projector noise above my head?

I'll be using a Schneider anamorphic lens (per my dealer's suggestion since he doesn't seem to carry ISCO), but for 16:9 content I plan to take the lens out. Without the lens do I have to use the zoom for 16:9? (apologies for the very basic question). In your experience, for 16:9 content do we need to plan for lamp replacements at around 200+hours not to be too disappointed? At this level of expenditure, the last thing I'd like is to feel disappointed with my image...

Thank you all for your help and comments!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Olson View Post

I think with your 1.5 gain screen material and 10.5' width you should be fine assuming an anamorph lens. Without the lens, using zoom only, I think you'd be dissapointed as the lamp aged.

I'd suggest mounting it at the back of the room for max contrast as well as min lens anomalies.

Of course that's just me!

I have a .85 gain old GrayHawk microperf 12' wide and I will definitely have to upgrade to at least a 1.3 Studiotek soon since the lamp is 200+ hours.

I have mine at the back of the room and have approx. 21' throw with in ISCO2.

cortega is offline  
post #373 of 4249 Old 02-18-2008, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have a sled for the lens (or any way to remove it), you won't need to zoom at all for 16:9. You will need switch VStretch to off.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #374 of 4249 Old 02-18-2008, 09:27 AM
Member
 
lectricman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameron View Post

OK I see that the speakers are 9" each and you probably want a few more inches on each side too. So that takes out 2' or so.

I would shoot for 9' to 9.5' wide with the Stewart 1.3 gain. (or carada 1.4)

I have a 1.35 gain equivalent 10' wide stewart screen with my RS2. It is plenty bright for my semi-batcave.

So are you going to use an Anamorphic lens with this setup?

Thanks Cameron, Yes I'm definitely going Anamorphic. Any specific screen material from Stewart?
lectricman is offline  
post #375 of 4249 Old 02-18-2008, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would go with the Studiotek 130 G3. It is pretty much the benchmark for screens.
Nice pretty uniform. Great screen.

I rank the Carada up there with it too at 1/4 the price.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #376 of 4249 Old 02-18-2008, 09:47 AM
Member
 
lectricman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameron View Post

I would go with the Studiotek 130 G3. It is pretty much the benchmark for screens.
Nice pretty uniform. Great screen.

I rank the Carada up there with it too at 1/4 the price.

Cool, I'll post any more questions as they come up. Thanks for the advice.
lectricman is offline  
post #377 of 4249 Old 02-18-2008, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
cortega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cameron, do you think there are size limitations for the Studiotek130 G3? I'm trying to get an electric one of 10.5' base with a 2.35 aspect ratio and the local dealer tells me that there is a size limitation for the Studiotek130 and can't do one of this size. Any idea?

Thanks!
cortega is offline  
post #378 of 4249 Old 02-18-2008, 09:57 AM
Member
 
lectricman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lectricman View Post

Cool, I'll post any more questions as they come up. Thanks for the advice.

Just came up with another quest. Givin my low 7'4" ceiling height, what height off the floor for the screen bottom do you recommend?
lectricman is offline  
post #379 of 4249 Old 02-18-2008, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How many rows of seats? I try to get a hold of the screen first. Then I place the seating and adjust to what feels best.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #380 of 4249 Old 02-19-2008, 01:46 AM
Member
 
Franky74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: France
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello .
I should get my RS2 quite soon and I'd like to prepare a bit the installation. I have a 16/9 92'' wide screen (about 2.35m). My seats are at around 3.80 from the screen and the RS2 should be at 4m from the screen right above seats. The center of the screen is at 1.5m from the ground. My question is what would be the best height for the RS2 to be? (I planned it to be at 2.10m). I would understand noone would like to do the (correct) math for me but maybe you would have some links for accurate calculators .
Thanks in advance.

PS: a special hello to Alan Gouger, from the frenchie he sold a vpl-w400 to (a loooong time ago ). This one is still working athough not used anymore.
Franky74 is offline  
post #381 of 4249 Old 02-19-2008, 06:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franky74 View Post

PS: a special hello to Alan Gouger, from the frenchie he sold a vpl-w400 to (a loooong time ago ). This one is still working athough not used anymore.

Bonjour

I remember that projector very well. It was one of the first 16x9 HD projectors.
For its day it had a very good picture and considered on the cutting edge.
Good hearing from you. Also nice to hear you still have the machine. That was a lonnnggg time ago

merci
Alan Gouger is online now  
post #382 of 4249 Old 02-19-2008, 12:21 PM
Member
 
bobbi15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
I recall reading that some projectors perform better in such areas as deflecting stray light away from the screen when they are ceiling mounted (turned upside down). Is that true with respect to the RS2 or is there no difference in performance if table-top/shelf mounted right-side up?

Thanks,
bobbi15 is offline  
post #383 of 4249 Old 02-19-2008, 12:28 PM
Member
 
Franky74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: France
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found the link for the nice calculator for jvc projectors (link also posted on some other threads here): http://www.jvcdig.com/ . It seems to answer most of my questions .

(the VPL-W400 had this special structure of the pixel matrix (honeycom like) so you had no line effects. I never understood why this idea hadn't been used anymore)
Franky74 is offline  
post #384 of 4249 Old 02-19-2008, 12:59 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franky74 View Post

I found the link for the nice calculator for jvc projectors (link also posted on some other threads here): http://www.jvcdig.com/ . It seems to answer most of my questions .

(the VPL-W400 had this special structure of the pixel matrix (honeycom like) so you had no line effects. I never understood why this idea hadn't been used anymore)

Thanks, that is a handy link!
pepar is offline  
post #385 of 4249 Old 02-19-2008, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phil Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Port Angeles, Washington
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I need to check in here more often!

Actually upgrading the lamp would be much less expensive but I've been wanting to move to a Studiotek ever since the RS's came out. It is the reference standard afterall!

My 12'x5' GrayHawk is still quite watchable but I have noticed a slight roll off in output. My concern is that after I order the Studiotek it could take 6-8 weeks to get so it's not about the output now but what it might drop to a couple of months from now or whenever I order it.

I'll probably pull the trigger in a month or so which could put me as much as 3 months out for the upgrade.

I think the closer to the center of the screen the better to reduce lens effects but from your seating area with normal viewing material you'd be very unlikely to notice any problems.

The reason I don't check in too often is that I'm too busy watching movies! I find myself looking for dark movies just to enjoy the amazing detail and it's not even tweaked to perfection yet. This is one great product!
Phil Olson is offline  
post #386 of 4249 Old 02-19-2008, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow that screen is going to cost a few bucks. At least it isn't a microperfed one!

I'm sure there will be a good bit of difference with the 1.3 gain screen.

So what projector did you originally get that grayhawk for?

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #387 of 4249 Old 02-20-2008, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Olson View Post

The reason I don't check in too often is that I'm too busy watching movies! I find myself looking for dark movies just to enjoy the amazing detail and it's not even tweaked to perfection yet. This is one great product!

My favorite dark scene to watch so far has got to be in SW Attack of the Clones(HD) where Obi Wan is being chased thru the minefield. WOW, total eye candy!!

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #388 of 4249 Old 02-20-2008, 10:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Guys add a FL day filter and increase on/off & dynamic contrast even further. You will have to re calibrate but its worth it.
Alan Gouger is online now  
post #389 of 4249 Old 02-20-2008, 10:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

Guys add a FL day filter and increase on/off & dynamic contrast even further. You will have to re calibrate but its worth it.

Alan, can you say more specifically what filter this is (for someone quite ignorant on the matter)? Would this filter also perhaps be helpful for a RS1?

PS I have an ND2 77mm Hoya filter that fits my RS1 just right. But I don't see a FL Day Hoya filter that is larger than 72 mm. Is there?
millerwill is online now  
post #390 of 4249 Old 02-20-2008, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does that do anything to affect the image brightness?

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off