RS2/ PRO-FPJ1 Owners: Setup Discussion Thread - Page 143 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2015, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
marchewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the bulb on Amazon better than the Osram P-VIP 200 bulb that was recommended earlier in the thread? Here is the bulb:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


It is just the bare bulb, so you have to fit it into an old casing, but that isn't too difficult.
marchewd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2015, 09:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do you still have the LCR 10 Gold grills? I need 3. I will buy them. Interested? Sorry I'm not on topic but couldn't find any other way to contact you.

Thanks

Roger 505.450.7888
Albuquerque, NM
rcrosley51 is offline  
Old 05-13-2015, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
bsuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Question,

Do you have to have an Anamorphic Lens to get this projector(JVC RS2) to display on a 120" screen less than 18 feet??? BTW i a noob! lol I have this projector connected to my ps3 for testing distance and played a blu-ray and netflix. biggest i could get the screen to go was for a 100" screen at 18'. I saw no zoom feature. Am i correct that this projector will only hit 120" beyond 18 feet?? The calculators all show this to be possible before 18'.
bsuave is online now  
Old 05-13-2015, 10:40 AM
Member
 
tilallr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Great White North
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So what is everyone else doing in terms of replacement lamps these days. Don't feel like paying $400 for a new lamp, but would love a good deal on a JVC OEM lamp.

TIL ALL ARE ONE
tilallr1 is offline  
Old 05-13-2015, 10:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13,890
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3825 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuave View Post
Question,

Do you have to have an Anamorphic Lens to get this projector(JVC RS2) to display on a 120" screen less than 18 feet??? BTW i a noob! lol I have this projector connected to my ps3 for testing distance and played a blu-ray and netflix. biggest i could get the screen to go was for a 100" screen at 18'. I saw no zoom feature. Am i correct that this projector will only hit 120" beyond 18 feet?? The calculators all show this to be possible before 18'.
You do not say if you are talking 120" diagonal or width, nor what aspect ratio. For a 120" wide image the throw range is 13'-6" to 27'-9". See page 20 of the owners manual: http://www.projectorcentral.com/pdf/...anual_3894.pdf
You have to hit the test pattern button. It is labeled as test on the remote.
bsuave likes this.

AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Polk, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, Screen Excellence, Carada, MicroLite & more.
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 05-13-2015, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
bsuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Thumbs up

My apologies, i meant 120" diagonal. You know, i sat in my soon to be HT and thumbed through that whole book and looked right over this. THANK YOU SOOOOO MUCH!!! I shall try when i get home.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
You do not say if you are talking 120" diagonal or width, nor what aspect ratio. For a 120" wide image the throw range is 13'-6" to 27'-9". See page 20 of the owners manual: http://www.projectorcentral.com/pdf/...anual_3894.pdf
You have to hit the test pattern button. It is labeled as test on the remote.
bsuave is online now  
Old 05-13-2015, 11:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13,890
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3825 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuave View Post
My apologies, i meant 120" diagonal. You know, i sat in my soon to be HT and thumbed through that whole book and looked right over this. THANK YOU SOOOOO MUCH!!! I shall try when i get home.
For 120" diagonal 16:9, the range is 11'-8" to 24'-2".
bsuave likes this.

AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Polk, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, Screen Excellence, Carada, MicroLite & more.
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 05-13-2015, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
bsuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Thanks!
bsuave is online now  
Old 05-13-2015, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
bsuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 27


You guys rock. This is at 12' 3". Awesome
bsuave is online now  
Old 05-13-2015, 07:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13,890
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3825 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
You are welcome.
bsuave likes this.

AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Polk, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, Screen Excellence, Carada, MicroLite & more.
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 05-13-2015, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
bsuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Now what's the best mount for the RS2. Need to order it. Me and the wife are painting the room hopefully this weekend.
bsuave is online now  
Old 05-13-2015, 07:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13,890
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3825 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuave View Post
Now what's the best mount for the RS2. Need to order it. Me and the wife are painting the room hopefully this weekend.
RPMA184 would be the best mount. RPA184 would be second choice and RPAU would be third choice. Need to know distance from ceiling to top of image and ceiling height. Also need to know if you have a riser under your seats. Call to discuss and for pricing.
bsuave likes this.

AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Polk, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, Screen Excellence, Carada, MicroLite & more.
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 05-18-2015, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
bsuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post
RPMA184 would be the best mount. RPA184 would be second choice and RPAU would be third choice. Need to know distance from ceiling to top of image and ceiling height. Also need to know if you have a riser under your seats. Call to discuss and for pricing.
Big Thanks to Mike at AV Science for helping me with my purchase with my mount!

Thank you for taking my call so late and helping me purchase the correct mount for my RS2. Bonus for me is that i got to talk and get information needed to keep me moving in the right direction for my HT.
bsuave is online now  
Old 05-18-2015, 07:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13,890
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3825 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuave View Post
Big Thanks to Mike at AV Science for helping me with my purchase with my mount!

Thank you for taking my call so late and helping me purchase the correct mount for my RS2. Bonus for me is that i got to talk and get information needed to keep me moving in the right direction for my HT.
You are welcome.
bsuave likes this.

AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Polk, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, Screen Excellence, Carada, MicroLite & more.
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 06-28-2015, 08:06 PM
Member
 
patricksull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamer View Post
Will this lamp work for the DLA-RS2?
patricksull is offline  
Old 06-28-2015, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Walnut, CA, USA
Posts: 2,650
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by patricksull View Post
Will this lamp work for the DLA-RS2?
Yes. Both the RS1 and RS2 use the same lamp.
patricksull likes this.

*********************
Kirk Ellis
BenQ W1070 VuTec 122" Screen
Harmon Kardon AVR 247 Parasound L&R Amp
Psycoustic Mark III L&R Towers, Boston Center
Energy Take 5 Surrounds, HSU Research Sub
dreamer is offline  
Old 06-28-2015, 09:00 PM
Member
 
patricksull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchewd View Post
It is just the bare bulb, so you have to fit it into an old casing, but that isn't too difficult.
Any specific instructions for a first timer?

Cheers,

Patrick
patricksull is offline  
Old 07-01-2015, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bsuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 27
RS2/ PRO-FPJ1 Owners: Setup Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamer View Post
Yes. Both the RS1 and RS2 use the same lamp.
@dreamer , have you used this bulb before??
bsuave is online now  
Old 07-01-2015, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
bsuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northwest Houston, TX
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by patricksull View Post
Any specific instructions for a first timer?

Cheers,

Patrick

x2??
bsuave is online now  
Old 07-01-2015, 12:37 PM
Member
 
patricksull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the bulb just come right out or is there a certain way to get it out of the casing?
patricksull is offline  
Old 07-01-2015, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Walnut, CA, USA
Posts: 2,650
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuave View Post
@dreamer , have you used this bulb before??
Yes.

*********************
Kirk Ellis
BenQ W1070 VuTec 122" Screen
Harmon Kardon AVR 247 Parasound L&R Amp
Psycoustic Mark III L&R Towers, Boston Center
Energy Take 5 Surrounds, HSU Research Sub
dreamer is offline  
Old 07-01-2015, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Walnut, CA, USA
Posts: 2,650
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by patricksull View Post
Does the bulb just come right out or is there a certain way to get it out of the casing?
There are four small philips head screws holding the module together. Then there are metal spring clips holding the lamp against the open end of the housing. The spring clips are loose and one of the more frustrating aspects is getting them to stay in place while reassembling the module so they hold the corners of the lamp in place.

Search youtube and you can find a video for relamping this module.
bsuave likes this.

*********************
Kirk Ellis
BenQ W1070 VuTec 122" Screen
Harmon Kardon AVR 247 Parasound L&R Amp
Psycoustic Mark III L&R Towers, Boston Center
Energy Take 5 Surrounds, HSU Research Sub
dreamer is offline  
Old 07-01-2015, 09:13 PM
Member
 
patricksull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very helpful indeed. Thank you. I'll order up the amazon one and give it a go. Thanks again!
patricksull is offline  
Old 08-12-2015, 01:28 PM
Member
 
tilallr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Great White North
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So it seems that the BHL5009 was replaced with the BHL5012 which prevents out-gassing and film buildup on the prism. Anyone find this lamp for a good price? I can only find it on the AVS store, can't even see this lamp for sale at JVC which is weird.

TIL ALL ARE ONE
tilallr1 is offline  
Old 09-07-2015, 03:30 PM
Member
 
patricksull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"The screen will go blue for a second"

I have read this in a few places, and am having the same issue. However, mine does not happen when I switch inputs, it happens during playback. It happens on both the xbox and htpc. I replaced the processor, and that did not fix it. I run a very long HDMI cable, but it's the same cable that I have had for 5 years. This started about 6 months ago. Is this something that anyone has seen? I could replace the cable, but it will be a monumental task, as it is all hidden within the soffit. My next step was to buy one and just have it laying on the floor to test. The funny thing is how random this is. I can go weeks without any blue screen, then it will happen constantly. I can have it happen while watching one movie, but if I come back an hour later, that same movie plays just fine without any blue screen. I guess I could try replacing the bulb, although I'm only at 1700 hours. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers

Patrick

Last edited by patricksull; 09-07-2015 at 05:01 PM.
patricksull is offline  
Old 10-21-2015, 09:12 PM
Member
 
mnr929rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oconomowoc WI
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by patricksull View Post
"The screen will go blue for a second"

I have read this in a few places, and am having the same issue. However, mine does not happen when I switch inputs, it happens during playback. It happens on both the xbox and htpc. I replaced the processor, and that did not fix it. I run a very long HDMI cable, but it's the same cable that I have had for 5 years. This started about 6 months ago. Is this something that anyone has seen? I could replace the cable, but it will be a monumental task, as it is all hidden within the soffit. My next step was to buy one and just have it laying on the floor to test. The funny thing is how random this is. I can go weeks without any blue screen, then it will happen constantly. I can have it happen while watching one movie, but if I come back an hour later, that same movie plays just fine without any blue screen. I guess I could try replacing the bulb, although I'm only at 1700 hours. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers

Patrick
Replace the cable it will be fine.
mnr929rr is offline  
Old 10-28-2015, 12:56 PM
Member
 
patricksull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnr929rr View Post
Replace the cable it will be fine.
That did it. How did I not think of that? Regardless, thank you. Now, I just need to figure out how to do that. It's hidden in my soffit! Poor planning years ago.....


Cheers!
patricksull is offline  
Old 10-28-2015, 02:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike Garrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13,890
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3825 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Garrett
Quote:
Originally Posted by patricksull View Post
That did it. How did I not think of that? Regardless, thank you. Now, I just need to figure out how to do that. It's hidden in my soffit! Poor planning years ago.....


Cheers!
I assume that it is not stapled in place? Then attach the two together, using the old cable to pull in the new cable.

AV Science Sales, 585-671-2968
mike@avscience.com
Sony, JVC, Epson, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Triad, Atlantic Tech, M&K, RBH, SVS, Polk, Stewart, Seymour, Falcon, DNP, SI, Screen Excellence, Carada, MicroLite & more.
Mike Garrett is online now  
Old 02-28-2016, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
marchewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, I went to turn on my projector today and I get red lights on the standby/on and warning indicators. The lamp is blinking orange. I have tried using my two new bulbs as well as two bulbs I pulled due to hours. The current bulb is only at 300 hours. Doesn't matter which bulb I try I still get the same result when trying to power on the projector. I have tried different outlets as well. Anyone have any ideas?
marchewd is offline  
Old 02-29-2016, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing in the manual about this?

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
taboola here
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off