RS2/ PRO-FPJ1 Owners: Setup Discussion Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 4253 Old 03-14-2008, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Harkness View Post

Really? Wow, when did this happen? I know you were looking for them...so you finally got hold of the discrete codes? No more shuffling through menus to get to zoom/focus? That would be great. Where do I get these codes?

That aside, unless I'm mistaken my original question is still unanswered. Can you tell me if you can zoom the image while watching a movie image, or does the zoom function switch to the focus/zoom screen? (I presume focus still can only be done using the proprietary JVC focus menu screen?).

Yes, you can zoom/focus while any image is on the screen. You do not have to be in the 'test' pattern screen. I have a couple buttons on my Control4 remote programmed to do this and it works perfect.

I will post all the ir codes on page 1 of this thread tonight if time allows.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 4253 Old 03-14-2008, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rich, here are the codes for zoom/focus. This will at least get you started if you have a way to paste these into a program for your remote.

Focus (+)
0000 006D 0001 0011 0141 00A0 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 030E

Focus (-)
0000 006D 0001 0011 0141 00A0 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 02E6

Zoom (t)
0000 006D 0001 0011 0141 00A0 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 02E6

Zoom (w)
0000 006D 0001 0011 0141 00A0 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 003C 0014 003C 0014 0014 0014 0014 0014 02BD

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #633 of 4253 Old 03-14-2008, 10:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Fantastic Chris, thanks!

I haven't ever programmed a computer-programmable remote before, but for my new home theater I bought an RTI T3 remote - a beautiful touch-screen remote that can do pretty much anything so those codes will come in handy I'm sure!

Rich
R Harkness is online now  
post #634 of 4253 Old 03-14-2008, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problem. I'll get the rest of the codes and post them soon.

From the RTI website:

"Integration Designer allows complete flexibility in the design of the controller screen. Several pre-defined button shapes are provided, and a complete set of editing tools is provided to create custom graphics for the display. Infrared codes can be added to any button by a simple drag-and-drop process. The Macro Editor provides a simple interface for allowing every button in the system to carry out complex multi-step actions."

You're in like Flynn, Rich. The drag and drop is so much easier and faster than ir learning. You'll be able to do any RS2 ir function with your T3 now.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #635 of 4253 Old 03-15-2008, 01:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There is a lot of chat in the RS1 Owners thread about the new ADVANCED VIDEO PROCESSOR RSVP2.

The blurb states:

The RSVP2 converts standard definition, high definition and PC signals from your DVD player, HD-DVD player, Blu-ray Disc player, HD DVR, game console, or PC to any output resolution up to 1080p. The processor incorporates HDMI 1.3 compatibility and is THX Video Certified. THX Certification is the industry's hallmark of quality, usability and compatibility.

The RSVP2 also incorporates ISF Day/Night Modes.

A feature unique to the RSVP2 is a "Color Gamut" menu with options for Wide, RS1, or RS2. This enables the operator to easily shift the output color space of the processor to match the SMPTE-C broadcast and telecine mastering standards most commonly used in production today. Color space is remapped inside the processor with a 3x3 "Look Up Table" (LUT) through a series of complex algorithms utilizing 14-bit processing to ensure accurate color reproduction on either the DLA-RS1X or DLA-RS2U without additional contouring in the image.

Key Features:

* HDMI 1.3 Inputs (4) that process up to 1080p-24/25/50/60
* THX Certification
* ISF Preset Color Gamut Control Day/Night Modes
* Two Programmable 12V triggers
* Upgradeable to SD/HD-SDI Input
* Analog HD Transcoding and Processing
* Flexible Input and Output Aspect Ratio Controls
* Display profiles for multiple display, framerate, and image shift configurations (10)
* 10-bit, 300 MHz Instrumentation Quality DACs (2x Oversampling for 1080p)
* Full-frame Timebase Correction
* High performance, multi-standard video decoder (10-bit: 480i/576i; 12-bit: 480p/576p/720p/1080i)
* High-quality super-adaptive comb filter with 2D Y/C separation



Any reason why the RS2 can't have a firmware update to include the SPMTE-C colours? I like saturated colours, but after playing with my RS2 for a few hours even I think they overdid it a little! At a list price of $3,695 it's WAAAAAAAY outta my reach to correct them.

Tstites any ideas?
Chris Albert is offline  
post #636 of 4253 Old 03-15-2008, 11:30 PM
DBI
Member
 
DBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Major residence in Sammamish Wa. @ Vacation home in Lake Havasu City Az
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the RSVP2 units currently available? I diidn't think they were shipping yet. Probably too soon for any reviews.
DBI is offline  
post #637 of 4253 Old 03-16-2008, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
tstites's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Dawsonville, GA USA
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

As I've said before, there is no way to fix the RS1 or RS2 colors via firmware.

It can only be done with a new mainboard design and additional hardware or by changing the optical filter spec's in the light engine to be SMPTE-C from the outset...something that really isn't a desireable thing to do. An external processor is the only way to get there from here.

Tom Stites
"Speaking only for myself...."
tstites is offline  
post #638 of 4253 Old 03-16-2008, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smithfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Tom,

In order to possibly prevent people holding off on purchasing an RS2, would I be correct in assuming that it's too early for you to say if this situation will corrected for in the RS3?
smithfarmer is offline  
post #639 of 4253 Old 03-16-2008, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heck we don't even know if it will be called the RS3 yet. So I am sure Tom isn't ready to give any information out on that puppy at this point.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #640 of 4253 Old 03-17-2008, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom, was the issue of the discrete code for VS discussed at the meetings you were to attend? Thanks.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #641 of 4253 Old 03-17-2008, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tstites View Post

As I've said before, there is no way to fix the RS1 or RS2 colors via firmware.

Tom,

Any obstacle to giving a plain vanilla RS1 the RS1-x's and RS2's gamma control?

That seems like it could just be a firmware upgrade.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is offline  
post #642 of 4253 Old 03-17-2008, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom stated earlier that there wouldn't be an upgrade to the older ones as the new X unit has a different circuit board or something like that.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #643 of 4253 Old 03-17-2008, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameron View Post

Tom stated earlier that there wouldn't be an upgrade to the older ones as the new X unit has a different circuit board or something like that.

I could understand that about the HDMI 1.3 aspect of it, but could see that a gamma update might be possible.

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is offline  
post #644 of 4253 Old 03-17-2008, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tstites View Post

Chris,

As I've said before, there is no way to fix the RS1 or RS2 colors via firmware.

It can only be done with a new mainboard design and additional hardware or by changing the optical filter spec's in the light engine to be SMPTE-C from the outset...something that really isn't a desireable thing to do. An external processor is the only way to get there from here.

Thanks for the info Tom, great to have someone 'speaking only for myself....' here!...just watched first movies (Blu-Ray) 'I Am Legend', 'and Appleseed Ex Machina' on the RS2...fantastic! (using with a Prismasonic 1500R) Even my non HT geek friends where "WOW!" compared to the HD2K.
Chris Albert is offline  
post #645 of 4253 Old 03-17-2008, 08:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rickd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys

I am building a serial control and provider in Girder what discrete rs232 codes what do you have over the ones in the manual?

Thx Rick

No matter where you go there you are!
Rickd is offline  
post #646 of 4253 Old 03-17-2008, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
None unfortunately.JVC hasn't come up with any more.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #647 of 4253 Old 03-18-2008, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rickd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@#$% oh well can you post the rest of the ir codes you guys have or is that it in terms of those just the zoom and focus

No matter where you go there you are!
Rickd is offline  
post #648 of 4253 Old 03-19-2008, 07:15 AM
Member
 
mwhealton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks all for the great info on this thread.
Just pulled the trigger and have an RS2 on its way now, to replace my HD2K.
Chris, I am looking forward to that Wow factor!

Eventually, I'll probably go with the Lumagen Radiance scaler for color, etc. I'm using an HDP now in the system.
mwhealton is offline  
post #649 of 4253 Old 03-19-2008, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Congrats on the new machine! It is easy to be wowed by the RS2. If you want to see a dramatic difference between the two, watch the mines of moria scenes in Fellowship of the Ring on both. The HD2K looks plain crappy and hazy compared to the RS2. I know it is SD, but it still is a good way to see the vast improvement!

Rickd,

I will post the IR codes again. I need to dig them up. Look for them a little later on today in this thread.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #650 of 4253 Old 03-19-2008, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK So here are the IR codes according to JVC. I think that there is an error in there regarding Zoom or Focus. I can't remember though. It was easy enough to figure out the right one though.

Code Button
7301H ↑
7302H ↓
7303H EXIT
7305H POWER ON
7306H POWER OFF
731DH HIDE
732EH MENU
732FH ENTER
7331H FOCUS(+)
7332H FOCUS(-)
7334H →
7335H ZOOM(T)
7336H ←
7337H ZOOM(W)
734BH VIDEO
734CH S-VIDEO
734DH COMP
7359H TEST
7369H CINEMA
736AH NATURAL
736BH DYNAMIC
736CH USER1
736DH USER2
736EH USER3
7370H HDMI-1
7371H HDMI-2
7374H INFO
7375H GAMMA
7376H COLOR TEMP.
7377H ASPECT
7378H CONTRAST(+)
7379H CONTRAST(-)
737AH BRIGHT(+)
737BH BRIGHT(-)
737CH COLOR(+)
737DH COLOR(-)
737EH SHARPNESS(+)
737FH SHARPNESS(-)

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #651 of 4253 Old 03-19-2008, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a .doc file of the actual captured codes that you can pull up on the first page. The zoom and focus codes are correct. All you need do is copy and paste these into whatever program you use for ir editing. I will add the rest of the codes tonight.....after golf.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #652 of 4253 Old 03-19-2008, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwhealton View Post

Thanks all for the great info on this thread.
Just pulled the trigger and have an RS2 on its way now, to replace my HD2K.
Chris, I am looking forward to that Wow factor!

Eventually, I'll probably go with the Lumagen Radiance scaler for color, etc. I'm using an HDP now in the system.

Congrats. You will have the WOW factor, for sure. Consider an anamorphic lens also. IMO, it is the best add-on you can do for a 16:9 projector.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
post #653 of 4253 Old 03-19-2008, 02:29 PM
Member
 
disillus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got everything installed and set up in my home theater, and I definitely have the WOW factor!

I also found out that I worried too much about things that shouldn't have been worried about. Most of my worries were, in part, instigated by threads here Of course, 100% of my knowledge was also gleaned from the boards. I just need to learn to separate the knowledge from the opinion.

Worry: The screen size would be too big
Reality: 123" screen from 10' in the first row was just about right. Any closer and I can see pixels, any further and, well, the screen is smaller. I can see a bit of noise, but not nearly as much as I was expecting. Also, it's not as dim as I thought it might be with the brightness of this projector, and it has room to shrink. It is brighter than my rear projector but not as bright as the bedroom plasma as expected.

Worry: The colors would be awful
Reality: They looked great! Sure, there were some noticeable scenes that were over saturated but rarely unrealistically so to my eyes. As my first projector, and coming from an over saturated Rear Projector box tv, it looks great.

Worry: It would be soft
Reality: While not what I would call sharp standing next to the screen, from where I sit 10' away, I can see many sharp edges and it looks incredibly detailed. Projecting my mac mini looks like I have a gigantic monitor and all the fine text is readable.

Worry: It would be loud
Reality: It was a bit loud, especially on high lamp, even with the projector mounted on the back wall. But at normal lamp it was softer than most of my louder equipment.

Worry: DVD's would look bad
Reality: They do look bad, from the front row. I have to sit in the back row to watch a DVD which is a bit of a compromise, but I'll manage

Worry: Gaming would have too much motion blur to be playable
Reality: I notice just as much motion blur as when playing on my CRT. Being larger in my field of vision does exacerbate it, but not unplayably so. Most newer games put their own motion blur when turning anyway, which mixes nicely with the adaptive deinterlacing...

Worry: Eh
Reality: WOW

I'll have some pics up later if I can figure out how and where to put them...
disillus is offline  
post #654 of 4253 Old 03-19-2008, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool. I'm not sure what kind of worry Eh is ,but I'm glad it is working out for you.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #655 of 4253 Old 03-19-2008, 04:42 PM
Member
 
disillus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I was worried that I wouldn't see a great picture, I would get an "eh" response instead of a "WOW" response. With all this talk of the RS-2 having a "terrible" lens and having bright corners, chromatic aberration, low ansi, low light, no cms you would think that the picture quality would be abysmal.

I know some (like you Cameron) have claimed otherwise, but you have to wonder if people are seeing totally different projectors? Or is it that some are on that tiring trek towards perfection and this just doesn't meet that lofty goal!
disillus is offline  
post #656 of 4253 Old 03-19-2008, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I understand.

It is definitely a perfection thing. The RS2 is an awesome projector especially for the price. It is interesting to see the difference in opinion between the various people that have seen it. It is definitely not perfect, but it is a great proj.!

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #657 of 4253 Old 03-20-2008, 07:07 AM
Ron
AVS Special Member
 
Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Canton, Mi
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[quote=disillus;13420616]Finally got everything installed and set up in my home theater, and I definitely have the WOW factor!
.
.
.
Worry: DVD's would look bad
Reality: They do look bad, from the front row. I have to sit in the back row to watch a DVD which is a bit of a compromise, but I'll manage
.
.
.
QUOTE]

If I could humbly address this part, I would say that this might be because you need a different player?! I don't know about my sony bdp-s1 yet, haven't tried it for some reason, but sd dvd's look quite fine using a denon dvd-5900 or a toshiba hd-xa2.

I definitely (obviously) see a difference with hd discs, but sd discs are still quite watchable.
Ron is offline  
post #658 of 4253 Old 03-20-2008, 11:26 AM
Member
 
disillus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using a Playstation3 to play the DVD's. I couldn't find a setting to output 480i to use the projector to upscale but the best I could do was output 480p. Then the projector couldn't figure out the anamorphic dvd and the picture was stretched. So I went back to the PS3 upscaling to 1080p 60hz which is probably not ideal.

I am going to be getting a high-end blu-ray player later this year, because I need one that decodes DTS-HD MA. Either the Sony BDP-S550 (Sigma chip), Pioneer BDP-05FD (Sigma chip), or Panasonic DMP-BD50 (UniPhier chip).

Ron, since your Sony BDP-S1 has an earlier version of the Sigma chip I would be interested in hearing how well it upscales DVD's.
disillus is offline  
post #659 of 4253 Old 03-20-2008, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think that the PS3's upscaling is bad if you have the latest firmware. It isn't XA2 grade or anything, but I tried it out with my RS2 and it did a pretty good job.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #660 of 4253 Old 03-20-2008, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CCLAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Lake Havasu, AZ
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron View Post

If I could humbly address this part, I would say that this might be because you need a different player?! I don't know about my sony bdp-s1 yet, haven't tried it for some reason, but sd dvd's look quite fine using a denon dvd-5900 or a toshiba hd-xa2.

I definitely (obviously) see a difference with hd discs, but sd discs are still quite watchable.

Couldn't agree more. I view the standard version of The Fifth Elemant upconverted thru an Oppo player and it is more than just 'watchable'.

disillus, I don't know if you have plans on an anamorphic lens system or not, but a good 2.35 Hi Def dvd thru the RS2/lens system with VStretch on is about the best image you will ever see.

Chris

My Home Theater is a work in progress.
CCLAY is offline  
Reply Digital Hi-End Projectors - $3,000+ USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off