Noticing some choppiness on some HD channels... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 03-16-2008, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SmartMuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if this is the right board or not, but here goes. I've never seen anything like this before. My video is choppy, not terribly so, just barely noticeable in fact, on some HD channels, but not all. Seems to get worse the more "action" is going on on the screen at once (it's really noticeable for sports, not as much for other things). I can't imagine it's an issue with my TV or receiver, because some channels work perfectly fine.

Using a Motorola HD-DVR. Called the cable company (TWC) and they said they had no idea and are sending a tech out on Thursday. Anyone experienced something like this before or have any guesses?
SmartMuffin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-16-2008, 12:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
ABC, FOX, and ESPN-HD broadcast in 720p which handles fast moving sports better then 1080i which is used by CBS, NBC, PBS etc. Do you notice a difference based on the channel?
walford is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-16-2008, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SmartMuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, FOX, ESPN and ESPN2 seem to be unaffected.

CBS, NBC, HDNet, and HD Theater are the channels where I've noticed it happen the most.

All SD channels are fine. It's odd because I've had the exact same set-up for almost a year and this problem didn't start happening until about a week ago.
SmartMuffin is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 03-16-2008, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
veets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Grayslake, IL
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Could be that your station(s) are experimenting with new MPEG encoders. There are several posts on the Chicago OTA board about WLS-DT having video "stuttering" issues. Calls to the station's engineering department have confirmed that they were using a new encoder when the stuttering occurred. My Olevia tuner seems to be very susceptible to this while my LG tuners are not. Making this tougher to track down is that the stuttering does not occur on all programming. Live events (news, sports) seem to be unaffected for me.
veets is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-16-2008, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
ZombieTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central NJ
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too have noticed this just recently with cablevision. Not sure if its compression from there end or at the studio.
ZombieTheater is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 03-16-2008, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SmartMuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weird, I have an LG TV and pretty much the opposite is true for me. Sports are the most noticeable, and all "live events" seem to be affected. As far as I can tell, even fast-paced commercials (like commercials for sporting events) seem to be unaffected.

If this was station-wide, wouldn't tons of people be affected? When I called the cable company, he seemed to think that I was the only person who had ever reported such an issue... I can't imagine the entire Los Angeles TWC area is affected, and nobody has said anything. I turned it to the college basketball on CBS a few minutes ago and it was terrible. Like, the frame would skip every three to four seconds or so.
SmartMuffin is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-16-2008, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
veets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Grayslake, IL
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmartMuffin View Post

If this was station-wide, wouldn't tons of people be affected? When I called the cable company, he seemed to think that I was the only person who had ever reported such an issue... I can't imagine the entire Los Angeles TWC area is affected, and nobody has said anything. I turned it to the college basketball on CBS a few minutes ago and it was terrible. Like, the frame would skip every three to four seconds or so.

You are the only other person I know that has problems that no one else has. I would just have the cable company come out and see for themselves. Other than that, you can try a different receiver? This would at least eliminate that as the source of the problem. What you describe does sound like an MPEG encoding issue though. This kind of thing can be very hard to track down because there are several variables.
veets is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-16-2008, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SmartMuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nah, no other receivers or TVs. Seems to be getting worse. CBS and NBC are practically unwatchable. It's as if the frame-rate has been cut in half.
SmartMuffin is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-17-2008, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SmartMuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody else have any advice?
SmartMuffin is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-20-2008, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Death=Adder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im in Los Angeles (San Fernando Valley) and I just started noticing this a couple of days ago. Its like the picture is dropping frames. I was watching the last episode of Jericho and noticed that the picture looked a bit choppy. It was causing the picture to start to blur during fast motion sequences. I have also started to see this on other shows two. Its almost as if the frame rate was reduced. I really dont know what it is but Ill keep an eye out to see if it continues.
Death=Adder is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 03-20-2008, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SmartMuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well the tech came out today and swapped out my box, which appears to have solved the problem. Also the new box has a functional HDMI output, which the old one didn't. Hooray!
SmartMuffin is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off