Combine SD cable and OTA hd? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-16-2008, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
onepoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having issues involving my apartment complex. In essence, I have a 'terrible' cable provider with no STB; just a cable coming out of the wall. I receive channels 2-64, all standard definition, and nothing digital.

Living close to Pittsburgh, I am able to pick up a handful of high-def channels OTA if I use a regular antenna.

The problem is that my new Panasonic plasma only has one RF input (as opposed to the two provided with many Samsungs) so that when I scan channels, I'm forced to choose either the physical cable input OR the antenna input, and therefore cannot watch nor scan both sources simultaneously.

I'm looking for any/all suggestions on how to deal with this issue, thank you highly in advance.
onepoint is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 03-16-2008, 05:59 PM
Member
 
ciwsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You could purchase a separate HDTV receiver (Samsung makes a nice one with HDMI output) and connect it to your Panasonic plasma via HDMI cable. Or you could disconnect cable and go OTA HD only.

Suppose you could also install an A-B coax switch and switch back/forth between OTA and your crappy cable. It it were me, I'd ditch the cable and go free OTA.
ciwsguy is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 03-16-2008, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Or get something with an analog cable tuner (such as an old VCR, or maybe a DVD recorder) to get cable on (using the composite / S-Video and analog audio connections) .

I really wouldn't recommend the A/B switch method, and you certainly cannot use a combiner with two different sources like that.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 03-16-2008, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
onepoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you to the both of you for the quick responses.

Unfortunately the switch idea wouldn't solve the problem of not being able to tune both sources, though I could try to manually add additional channels.

I'm going to do some research regarding analog cable tuners.

Thank you again.
onepoint is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-16-2008, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
onepoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having difficulty finding an actual "tuner" apart from VCR's and TiVo's; is anyone aware of a tuner solution for my analog RF cable which would output via composite or s-video?
onepoint is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-16-2008, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
nybbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your best and cheapest bet is an VCR with a cable-ready tuner. You won't be able to find a new one but garage sales and thrift shops should have plenty.
nybbler is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-16-2008, 08:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
onepoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exactly what I was hoping not to hear! I'm amazed at how difficult it is to find a "simple" cable tuner box that is less than $150. Thanks for the help.
onepoint is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-17-2008, 04:26 AM
Senior Member
 
vman41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't see any requirement for cheap in the original post, in which case a TiVo HD would do what you want. It has separate RF inputs for cable and antenna and integrates the channel lists for both seamlessly. Plus, you get DVR functionality.
vman41 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-17-2008, 05:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Ratman is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-17-2008, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
onepoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For thread-contribution purposes, I've come to realize that the Panasonic 42px80u, once scanned, retains separate channel listings for cable and antenna scans.

To explain, once I attached the "cable" coax to the set and scanned for channels, 60+ were found with my analog cable service. I then disconnected the "cable" coax and hooked up an "antenna" coax. I then went into the menu, changed the input from "cable" to "antenna," and scanned again. This time ~15 channels were found via the "antenna" coax.

I then unplugged the "antenna" coax, plugged the "cable" coax back into the set, and switched the input to "cable" in the Panny's menu. Voila, the previously scanned 60+ channels were restored and I didn't have to rescan! The same happened when switching back to "antenna."

What this means is that a simple A/B coax switch will somewhat solve my problem, and I will no longer have to climb behind the set to switch coax inputs manually. I'll just have to throw the switch and change the input in the Panny's menu. A *small* victory, I suppose.

Now does anyone know where I can find an electronic coax switch?
onepoint is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-17-2008, 02:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by onepoint View Post

Now does anyone know where I can find an electronic coax switch?

Radio Shack sells a real nice remote controlled one. Priced a little steep, but well worth it in my opinion (since you never have to get up to change it).

Otherwise, they also sell manual ones like you describe.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-17-2008, 02:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by onepoint View Post

The problem is that my new Panasonic plasma only has one RF input (as opposed to the two provided with many Samsungs) so that when I scan channels, I'm forced to choose either the physical cable input OR the antenna input, and therefore cannot watch nor scan both sources simultaneously.

I'm looking for any/all suggestions on how to deal with this issue, thank you highly in advance.

The Samsung DTB-H260F ATSC tuner has an RF pass-thru, where you can use the set's tuners without needing more than one RF input.

You just have to change inputs to watch each, then.

You should leave the Sammy on when watching cable, because the pass-thru signal is slightly amplified when it's on.

If the A/B switch method above works, that would sure be much cheaper.

Of course, the VCR method would still be the cheapest though, especially if you can find an old, non-working one from a relative or wherever for free.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-17-2008, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
onepoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Rammitinski, much appreciated
onepoint is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off