Scientific Atlanta 8300 HDC + Time Warner problems - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 04-18-2008, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I have been using this box for a few months now over component cables and it looks great. However, I only have 2 component inputs on my Samsung HL-T5087S, so I decided to try the cable on HDMI. Once I plugged it in, it seemed to work fine, but it was changing the resolution when I switched the channel. So, I went to the settings and unchecked all but the 1080i option and the box set itself to only 1080i and it stopped switching. All was working fine, but then I went to the guide, browsed for a bit and when I went to exit the guide, the 1/4 screen video that was up in the guide stays there and leaves the rest of the screen black. When this happens the box is saying 480 on the front instead of the normal 1080i.

Has anyone had this problem? I would like to keep the box connected to HDMI so I can use the component for other devices. Also, image quality seems to be worse than with the component cables, but if anything shouldn't it be better since it doesn't have to convert to analog and back to digital?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-18-2008, 10:20 PM
AVS Club Gold

Liked: 11
Similar problems. Component looks pretty good for most and great for HD. HDMI is unstable and won't work at all withan older HDCP complient DVI set I have even with a high end adapter or HDMI>DVI cable.

I just gave up on it and use component.

"A lot of good arguments are spoiled by some fool who knows what he is talking about." - Miguel de Unamuno

follow me on Twitter