DirecTV AM21 (OTA Tuner) Now Available - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 81 Old 09-08-2008, 07:10 AM
Newbie
 
gwsaunders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great forum!

I live in Savanmnah, GA and don't receive the locals in HD from Directv.
I have an HR21 and just ordered the AM21 last night. What do I do when it arrives? Do I just plug it in to the HR21 and start receiving OTA? Do I have to buy a separate OTA antenna. If so, can you guys recommend one?.
It can't be visible in the room- wife won't go for that. Are the OTA antennas easy to hook up-just a coax cable from the antenna to the box?

As you can tell I don't know squat about this stuff but its killing me to not get college football in HD.

Thanks,
Greg
gwsaunders is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 81 Old 09-08-2008, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RoyGBiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pawtucket, RI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I don't own an AM21, but as I understand it it hooks up as follows: The power supply from the wall goes to the AM21. There is then a cable that goes from the AM21 to HR21 to supply power to it. There is also a USB cable which goes from the AM21 to HR21. Then, you will need an antenna of some sort connected to the AM21 by coax cable.

If you are near the transmitting towers in Savannah you will possibly need only a small interior antenna, which might even be able to be put in a cabinet or wall unit with your equipment, if that's what you use. You could almost certainly get good reception with an attic mounted antenna, running the coax to the AM21, or you might need an outdoor antenna. More info on an antenna that's right for you can be obtained in the Savannah, GA thread in the local info and reception section.

SMK
RoyGBiv is offline  
post #63 of 81 Old 09-08-2008, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
What he said. Then, in the menu, you just go through the setup of the antenna and you'll be watching your locals OTA. that will include many, if not all, of the sub-channels. It depends on what D* has in their database. Unfortunately, you can't manually add or remove channels, so there may be a sub-channel or two that will be missing.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #64 of 81 Old 09-08-2008, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
gwsaunders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet.
Thanks guys. I'll update once I get the AM21.
Greg
gwsaunders is offline  
post #65 of 81 Old 09-11-2008, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Angel L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the AM21, Will it work with a H21? D* says its not compatible!
Angel L. is offline  
post #66 of 81 Old 09-11-2008, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bronco70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel L. View Post

I got the AM21, Will it work with a H21? D* says its not compatible!

Not compatible
Bronco70 is offline  
post #67 of 81 Old 09-11-2008, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Scott Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It will, later this year, there will be a software update to the H21 to make the am21 compatible. They won't say when.

ScottPro
Conifer Mountain, CO
Scott Pro is offline  
post #68 of 81 Old 09-11-2008, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Angel L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the am21 and cant use it until the update!
Angel L. is offline  
post #69 of 81 Old 04-14-2010, 02:15 PM
Member
 
memo90061's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where does the AM21 get the OTA guide data? Does DirecTV provide the OTA guide data or does it download it from somewhere?
memo90061 is offline  
post #70 of 81 Old 04-14-2010, 09:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by memo90061 View Post

Where does the AM21 get the OTA guide data? Does DirecTV provide the OTA guide data or does it download it from somewhere?

It comes from DirecTV as part of the regular guide data, which means it's originally provided to DirectV by Tribune.
texasbrit is offline  
post #71 of 81 Old 05-09-2010, 05:27 PM
Member
 
Burl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of my old H20-600's croaked and Directv has shipped an H21-200 to me as a replacement even though I told them I needed to be able to receive locals OTA (if you are not aware, the H21-200 will not receive OTA). Will the AM21 work with the non-DVR H21 or H23?

Thanks.

Jeff Burleson
Burl is offline  
post #72 of 81 Old 05-10-2010, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RoyGBiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pawtucket, RI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burl View Post

One of my old H20-600's croaked and Directv has shipped an H21-200 to me as a replacement even though I told them I needed to be able to receive locals OTA (if you are not aware, the H21-200 will not receive OTA). Will the AM21 work with the non-DVR H21 or H23?

Thanks.

Yes. And, since they sent you an H21, you should call and ask them to give you the AM21 free. When I bought a new HR22, I told the CSR that I needed the AM21 for OTA that was not provided by DirecTV. He said he couldn't give me one, but when I placed the order (which I did while we were on the phone), he then gave me a credit for the same amount.

SMK
RoyGBiv is offline  
post #73 of 81 Old 01-06-2012, 03:48 PM
Member
 
jeffdb27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Salina, Kansas
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering switching from DISH to DirecTV. I really love that my DISH has two OTA tuners. Is there (going to be) anything like the AM21 that will work with DirecTV's new whole-house system. I have been told by someone who has that system that there are no built-in OTA tuners.

Thanks,
Jeff
jeffdb27 is offline  
post #74 of 81 Old 01-06-2012, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 73
The AM21 is dual-tuner.

You have to add it to one of the other D* boxes.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #75 of 81 Old 01-06-2012, 08:42 PM
adb
AVS Special Member
 
adb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: central texas
Posts: 2,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't believe the new D* boxes have a place to connect the am21 tuner.
adb is offline  
post #76 of 81 Old 01-07-2012, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Yes, they do. The AM21 connects to the USB port of the receiver.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #77 of 81 Old 01-10-2012, 07:24 AM
Member
 
jeffdb27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Salina, Kansas
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the information. I'll have to look into this further. Sounds promising.

Jeff
jeffdb27 is offline  
post #78 of 81 Old 01-11-2012, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The AM21 will connect to any of the DirecTV HD boxes (including the new HR34 Home Media Center)
texasbrit is offline  
post #79 of 81 Old 01-11-2012, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post

The AM21 will connect to any of the DirecTV HD boxes (including the new HR34 Home Media Center)

IT will connect to any newer than the HR20 or H20. Those two already have ATSC tuners built in so the AM21 won't work with them. But HR21 and greater, or H21 and greater work fine.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #80 of 81 Old 01-11-2012, 03:12 PM
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffdb27 View Post

I am considering switching from DISH to DirecTV. I really love that my DISH has two OTA tuners. Is there (going to be) anything like the AM21 that will work with DirecTV's new whole-house system. I have been told by someone who has that system that there are no built-in OTA tuners.

Thanks,
Jeff

Just so you know, adding the AM21 does not increase the number of concurrent recordings. For the HR21->HR24 you're limited to two, for the HR34 it's five total.
rad is offline  
post #81 of 81 Old 01-14-2012, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RoyGBiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pawtucket, RI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rad View Post

Just so you know, adding the AM21 does not increase the number of concurrent recordings. For the HR21->HR24 you're limited to two, for the HR34 it's five total.

And with the HR34/AM21 combination, only two of the five concurrent recordings can be OTA as the AM21 has only two OTA tuners.

SMK
RoyGBiv is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off