The Official AVS 'Mobile DTV' (M-DTV) Topic! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 510 Old 06-12-2010, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Does anyone know if the Winegard CIO or the LG DP570MH have external antenna connections?

- Trip

I couldn't find any info indicating external antenna connections for either one. It would be a design error, in my opinion, if that was not standard on all Mobile DTV products.

The DTV Interactive Storm does have a antenna connector that is used with either the supplied 7" rod, or supplied 7" external antenna with magnet mount and extension cable.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 510 Old 06-12-2010, 01:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I definitely agree. I will not buy a receiver that won't let me use my roof antenna, given that any MH I watch will be DX from Raleigh until WDBJ lights it up. Unfortunately, I can only find pictures from a single angle.

The USB ones usually just require a simple adapter and then can be hooked to something external, so I'm not worried. I just don't want to get a USB one as my first receiver since I'm always in Linux and at least to start with, I can forsee most of these only working with Windows and maybe OSX.

I mean, I keep a desktop running Windows for TSReader, but that would defeat the point of "mobile" I think.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #93 of 510 Old 07-10-2010, 10:18 AM
Member
 
theaveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are times when I want to be able to watch a ong-distance channel but the normal ATSC-HD doesn't come in. In those cases I'd be happy getting a 416 pixels by 240 line image, rather than stare at a blank screen.

Is the ATSC-mobile standard easier to receive over long distances?

My Free TV streams 19 Mbps == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
theaveng is offline  
post #94 of 510 Old 07-10-2010, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by theaveng View Post

There are times when I want to be able to watch a ong-distance channel but the normal ATSC-HD doesn't come in. In those cases I'd be happy getting a 416 pixels by 240 line image, rather than stare at a blank screen.

Is the ATSC-mobile standard easier to receive over long distances?

It will depend.

So far my limited use in the Detroit area does not seem to show any great advantage for non-mobile use. I'd guess that in some fringe areas M-DTV may be receivable when standard ATSC isn't.

As with all wireless reception, you'll have to try it in your specific location to know one way or the other.

And don't be so sure you'll want to watch it on a large screen rather than a blank screen. Even on a 15" laptop, it's painful. Either a small screen or listening would be acceptable to me.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #95 of 510 Old 07-10-2010, 01:18 PM
Member
 
theaveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also how'd they come up with 418 pixels across? That seems an odd choice.

As for quality I just finished watching Doctor Who in 320x240p. It wasn't bad at all. I wouldn't want to blow it up bigger than 30 inches but it was still better than not seeing it at all.

My Free TV streams 19 Mbps == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
theaveng is offline  
post #96 of 510 Old 07-10-2010, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

So far my limited use in the Detroit area does not seem to show any great advantage for non-mobile use. I'd guess that in some fringe areas M-DTV may be receivable when standard ATSC isn't.
.

I need to do some testing with that. The latest software release this week for the DTvStorm improved its performance.

Providing a station can stay on the air, M/H (if available) should be a plus in times of hurricanes and tropical storms.

Not enough stations are on with M/H yet for DX'ing either.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #97 of 510 Old 07-15-2010, 04:20 PM
Member
 
theaveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you know if your station is carrying the ATSC-M signal?

My Free TV streams 19 Mbps == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
theaveng is offline  
post #98 of 510 Old 07-15-2010, 05:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
At this point, one of the following must be true:

1) They have to be advertising.

2) You have to look at it with an analysis tool and look for the stream.

3) You must look for it with an MH receiver.

A regular tuner gives no indication, so one of those three methods must be used.

Or, of course, there's my site. http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?request=atscmph

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #99 of 510 Old 07-15-2010, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post


Or, of course, there's my site. http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?request=atscmph

- Trip


You beat me to it..!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #100 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 08:01 AM
Member
 
theaveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm. WHYY-12. I ought to get myself a Mobile Receiver, hook it up to my external antenna, and test to see if ATSC-M comes-in any better than the regular ATSC-HD signal. How much do these things cost?

WTVE 51 (25) 5.5 Mbps

No wonder this station doesn't have any subchannels. They are wasting an unusually large number of bits on their Mobile program. Most of the low-definition 240p stuff I grab off the net only uses 0.1-0.3 Mbit/s. Using 5.5 is overkill.

My Free TV streams 19 Mbps == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
theaveng is offline  
post #101 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Trip in VA,

Will a M-DTV receiver also be able to receive regular ATSC when stationary or will it only receive ATSC-M/H?

Jim
Jim1348 is online now  
post #102 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post

Trip in VA,

Will a M-DTV receiver also be able to receive regular ATSC when stationary or will it only receive ATSC-M/H?

Jim

All the M-DTV units I'm aware of and the one I'm using, only do M-DTV.

I'd expect we'll see a unit that could do both M-DTV & DTV (standard ATSC), at some point in the future.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #103 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by theaveng View Post

Hmmm. WHYY-12. I ought to get myself a Mobile Receiver, hook it up to my external antenna, and test to see if ATSC-M comes-in any better than the regular ATSC-HD signal. How much do these things cost?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...3&postcount=81

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #104 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by theaveng View Post

. Using 5.5 is overkill.

And just how many M/H encode systems have you installed? The extra bandwidth is required for the heavy error correction required for M/H, and varies dependent upon number of programs and FEC used. Without expensive analysis gear, one really doesn't know if they are using the payload properly.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #105 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 01:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by theaveng View Post

Hmmm. WHYY-12. I ought to get myself a Mobile Receiver, hook it up to my external antenna, and test to see if ATSC-M comes-in any better than the regular ATSC-HD signal.

WHYY has announced they're going to install it, but have not yet actually done so. That's what the little orange-ish icon means.

Quote:


WTVE 51 (25) 5.5 Mbps

No wonder this station doesn't have any subchannels. They are wasting an unusually large number of bits on their Mobile program. Most of the low-definition 240p stuff I grab off the net only uses 0.1-0.3 Mbit/s. Using 5.5 is overkill.

You have to bear in mind, as bdfox18doe mentioned, that you have to error-correct these things a lot more than a fixed Internet connection. From what I understand, and I could be wrong, it takes 1.83 Mbps of data on the main ATSC side to produce a ~0.3 Mbps video stream on the ATSC-MH side, due to the huge amount of error correction needed.

Now since I also do not yet have a receiver, I don't know if WTVE is doing one MH stream or three. If they're doing three, then the usage of 5.5 Mbps seems perfectly fine to me. Even with that much bandwidth dedicated, they still have 7.4 Mbps of unused bandwidth.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #106 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,808
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Where can I get a DTV Interactive Storm to try out and does it work with TSreader or come with some crappy proprietary software player?
I am in the Detroit area, specifically Shelby Township - 48317.
qz3fwd is online now  
post #107 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 05:13 PM
Member
 
theaveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Power Acoustik DTV-MHU, $180" - Ouch. I guess I can live with just night-time reception on channel 12.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

And just how many M/H encode systems have you installed?

None but I've Encoded enough 240p internet videos to realize 0.2 Mbit/s is all that's really needed. Even with the overhead of error correction, it should still be less than 1 Mbit/s. Using 5 is high enough to send a freakin' DVD.

I'm also concerned about the impact it will have on the HDTV signal. If 5.5 is being use for mobile, that only leaves ~13 for the 1080i channel plus any SD channels. They'll look pixelated.

My Free TV streams 19 Mbps == 6000 GB/month per channel. No cellphone can do that. WHY kill off this excellent service??
theaveng is offline  
post #108 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post

Where can I get a DTV Interactive Storm to try out and does it work with TSreader or come with some crappy proprietary software player?.

AFAIK, Storm is only available by special order with payment via wire transfer from the mfg direct at this time. That is how I got my units.
It is not, nor are there any plans at this time..for TSReader support due to complexity.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #109 of 510 Old 07-16-2010, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,808
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 29
How much was it and what software does it provide for channel changes/viewing/recording?
qz3fwd is online now  
post #110 of 510 Old 07-20-2010, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FCC Authorizes Mobile DTV Receivers Without Analog Tuners

http://www.broadcastlawblog.com/2010...for-broadband/

Believe it or not, Mobile DTV devices would have been subject to the law that requires all "TV's" to have both analog and digital tuners. In other words, reception of analog LPTV would have been required on a device made solely to receive Mobile DTV broadcasts.

Still, how did Samsung get around this with the STB that only had a digital tuner? How is a USB stick device any different, if it doesn't actually have its own video screen?

In any event, hopefully this will help get more devices on the market. I've wanted to buy a USB stick tuner since M/H broadcasts went live in the LA area.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #111 of 510 Old 08-07-2010, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I sure haven't heard much lately about Mobile DTV. Although since I don't have a local broadcaster transmitting ATSC-M/H I really doesn't matter. Has anybody else heard much about products that may be available soon?
Jim1348 is online now  
post #112 of 510 Old 08-07-2010, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
The mfg tells me this will be in stock and available in a few weeks:

http://www.amazon.com/Coby-TV-Receiv...1205195&sr=8-1

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #113 of 510 Old 08-07-2010, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,808
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

The mfg tells me this will be in stock and available in a few weeks:

http://www.amazon.com/Coby-TV-Receiv...1205195&sr=8-1

$70 purchase from Amazon sure beats a special order direct from the manufacturer by wire transfer. I am intrested in the technology, and want to tinker with the hardware/software, but dont want to purchase and encourage proliferation of the technology to the detriment of the primary HD channel's bandwidth........
qz3fwd is online now  
post #114 of 510 Old 08-07-2010, 08:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
If that Coby can hook to an external antenna, I'll have one ordered as soon as they're available.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #115 of 510 Old 08-07-2010, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

All the M-DTV units I'm aware of and the one I'm using, only do M-DTV.

I'd expect we'll see a unit that could do both M-DTV & DTV (standard ATSC), at some point in the future.

It doesn't seem like it would be hard to include standard ATSC and it would definitely be useful if the tuner is intended to be used with a laptop computer.
Sammer is offline  
post #116 of 510 Old 08-07-2010, 11:17 PM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

If that Coby can hook to an external antenna, I'll have one ordered as soon as they're available.

- Trip

The only thing is Coby tends to make crap products. The fact that the lcoal Fred's is the only place you can get Coby products says much.
BCF68 is offline  
post #117 of 510 Old 08-07-2010, 11:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammer View Post

It doesn't seem like it would be hard to include standard ATSC and it would definitely be useful if the tuner is intended to be used with a laptop computer.

Agree.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #118 of 510 Old 08-08-2010, 12:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post

How much was it and what software does it provide for channel changes/viewing/recording?

My guess for cost is less than $200. They have their own software that handles viewing, screen scrapes, recording, playback, etc. It works pretty well. I have no idea if you can use other software with it.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #119 of 510 Old 08-08-2010, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

If that Coby can hook to an external antenna, I'll have one ordered as soon as they're available.- Trip

Well, it can.. kinda sorta..it uses a funky antenna connector that I have not been able to find..even at Pasternak..the mfg (DTvInteractive, not Coby who only markets it, or so I am told) tells me it is a proprietary connector. I'll probably cut the cable for the little magnetic external antenna that comes with it and adapt that.

However, the MDTV-1 by SK enterprise uses an SMA connector for the antennna. http://www.mhdtv.info/

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #120 of 510 Old 08-08-2010, 06:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Gah. I really want a really portable receiver that I can hook my roof antenna up to. Doesn't sound like the Coby's what I want then. Too bad.

And I know that Coby's not famous for their quality, but it certainly would not be the last MH receiver I bought. Just the cheapest.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off