Has anyone tried this VGA-HDMI cable? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2008, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RSongco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello

My neighbor just bought a Pillips LCD TV and wanted to use it as an Internet browser as well. I gave him an old Windows server box that only has a VGA port and recommended he get a VGA-HDMI converter box (around $70). He found a cheap VGA-HDMI cable on eBay (item 370063584968) and wanted to know if it would work. My suspicion is that a straight cable with VGA on one end and HDMI on the other won't work, since the signal needs to be processed electronically first, but I wanted to make sure.

Thanks!

"Mixing a teaspoon of manure with a gallon of ice cream produces a gallon of manure."
RSongco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2008, 10:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 17,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Too bad he did not buy an HDTV that also has a VGA input.
Yes, he would need a converter box.
It would probably be cheaper and would provide better results to get a new graphics card for the computer that has both DVI and VGA outputs and then use a DVI-HDMI cable.
walford is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 8,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where did you find a VGA to HDMI converter that cheap?

I'd have to agreed with walford, a video upgrade would probably make more sense.

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 11:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 17,356
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1202 Post(s)
Liked: 947
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

It would probably be cheaper and would provide better results to get a new graphics card for the computer that has both DVI and VGA outputs and then use a DVI-HDMI cable.

Or better still... get a video card that has an HDMI output.
Ratman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off