hooking up a projector w/o a cable box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-19-2008, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
joseph1030's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently moved into a school owned apartment complex with cable that is already provided. However, unfortunately they do not provide cable boxes. I called Dish Network, with whom the service is with and they were not able to help as the school would need to request the box. When I asked the school they were quite clear in stating that this is the service and nothing could be done about it, ie what u see is what you get. What I have is a coax cable from the wall that you can hook up to a tv, but no place for component, dvi etc...

Is there anyway that I can route the coax cable through another medium so as to hook up my projector. Do any receivers have this capability? Thank you.
joseph1030 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-19-2008, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
cbr-rdguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: calfornia
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can connect the coax cable to a VCR antenna input and then connect a composite video output to the projector.
cbr-rdguy is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-19-2008, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
joseph1030's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks a lot, now, i havent looked yet, but are there vcrs with hd input/outputs that you know of. Also do you know how the channel switching would work. I mean with a normal tv it can obviously go through the televions, however with the projector, how exactly would that work? Would the VCR also control that?
joseph1030 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-20-2008, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The VCR will control the channel switching. A remote is usually provided, as well as front panel buttons for up/down channel.

I have never seen an HDTV VCR myself.

I am looking for a way to do the same as you, but with a QAM tuner. If anyone can provide info/link on standalone QAM tuner to hookup my PJ to my basic cable, I would be able to pickup local channels in HD for free... FCC requires local channels be unencrypted.

The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here, and here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-20-2008, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Samsung DTB-H260F receives "clear QAM" cable as well as over-the-air ATSC signals. You can hook it up to your projector via either HDMI or component video. It looks good either way.

For more information about this unit, see the huge thread in this forum. It seldom scrolls off the first page of the thread listing.
jtbell is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-21-2008, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I am willing to bet that the apartment building is receiving the Dish signal decoding it, and then re-encoding it as a standard def NTSC signal and sending it out over the cable lines on whatever channels they like. This means that you are most likely stuck with standard def, and using an NTSC tuner like you find in a standard VCR. If you try using a QAM tuner you won't get anything extra, and a satellite box will be worthless.

If you want hi-def you are going to need to buy an over the air ATSC tuner box and antenna. You will only get your local channels (if you can get a signal from your antenna).

Again this is my guess, but I believe that is how most hotels, dorms, apartments, etc work.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-21-2008, 01:53 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beerstalker View Post

I am willing to bet that the apartment building is receiving the Dish signal decoding it, and then re-encoding it as a standard def NTSC signal and sending it out over the cable lines on whatever channels they like. This means that you are most likely stuck with standard def, and using an NTSC tuner like you find in a standard VCR. If you try using a QAM tuner you won't get anything extra, and a satellite box will be worthless.

If you want hi-def you are going to need to buy an over the air ATSC tuner box and antenna. You will only get your local channels (if you can get a signal from your antenna).

Again this is my guess, but I believe that is how most hotels, dorms, apartments, etc work.

This is correct...
Splicer010 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off