Direct Tv - No Signal... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-23-2008, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
manofice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just out of the blue, my HD receiver isn't receiving any signal anymore.

It says "Searching for signal on satellite LN 1 & 2 ... (771)"

All my other receivers are working.

DirectTV is setting a tech, thank god i'm within 90 days still but I would like to get this fixed asap as the tech won't get here till next week.

I've reset the device two times, no change. Also for signal strength it just says 0 for all.

It is a HD DVR but i'm only using one tuner, i've tried the other with no luck.
manofice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-23-2008, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
ziggy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Llano, TX (Austin DMA)
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can confirm it's something wrong with the receiver if you can swap a different receiver into the questionable receiver's cabling connection and get a picture.

If you try that and don't get a picture with a receiver that's working now, there's probably something wrong "upstream" -- with the cabling going into that receiver -- bad cable, bad/loose connection on a splitter or multiswitch or something like that -- or even a failing multiswitch or splitter.

Since you can get pictures on other receivers, I'm assuming it's likely not a dish aiming problem.
ziggy29 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-23-2008, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
manofice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
great advice, i'll try that
manofice is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-24-2008, 03:56 PM
 
mtnbike-dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a settling problem with my DirecTV HD dish after installation so a tech came out to adjust it. I was told it would be free, they charged me $75! What do you do? It is impossible to talk to anybody that can do anything about it. I even had the reciept that said no charge and they still screwed me.

I too have no DirecTV signal and my bank account loves it. $60 for my CM4228, made a cable from spare coax and terminators, $20 for CM distribution amplifier, used spare fence post for mast, mounted in attic.

Highest quality HD available for free!

Take back your TV!
mtnbike-dude is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-27-2008, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
manofice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never had a chance to troubleshoot on my own

But a directTV guy came to fix my issue yesterday. He said the intial install done by the contractors was ALL wrong and poorly done. He basically redid the whole thing. He fixed what ever the problem was without replacing any inside hardware.

I am inside my 90 days so it was free

I find it totally ludacris that they charge you like 80 bucks just to come out and try to fix THEIR problem after 90 days.
manofice is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off