Help on Connecting HD Cable Set Box to DVD Recorder to HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-12-2008, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hdconfused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I am a newbie here and a newbie to the whole HD scene. I am having trouble getting my DVD recorder to work and I'm sure I messed up on the connection process somewhere. Here is what I have done: The cable coming from the wall is hooked into a Monster power set. A coaxial goes from the Monster power set to the back of the HD Cable Set Box. I have an HDMI cable going from the HD Cable Set box to the HDTV. I also have an HDMI cable going from the DVD recorder to the HDTV. I can play movies but the DVD recorder is not recognizing any channels. I went through the DVD recorder set-up process and when I go to search channels, it is not finding anything. Do I need to run a coaxial cable from the HD Cable Set Box to the DVD recorder directly?

Can anyone help me? You could be my life saver!
hdconfused is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-12-2008, 09:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,646
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Add a coax splitter from the wall (or from the power bar). One lead to the STB the other to the DVD recorder.

If you run a coax from the STB the DVD, you can only record what you are currently watching.

Oh, just in case:
STB is a Set Top Box (cable box)
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-12-2008, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Follow Ratman's advice. I would then run a composite (red/white/yellow) cable from the cable box OUT to the DVD recorder IN. That would allow you to record programs from the cable box that are not available without the cable box.
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-12-2008, 05:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,646
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post

That would allow you to record programs from the cable box that are not available without the cable box.

And as in my second example, will only allow you to record what you are currently watching.

Do both the splitter/coax option and the composite connections for flexibility if necessary.
Ratman is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-13-2008, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hdconfused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your helpful responses. That is what we ended up doing.

We actually had the cable guy come over yesterday to add a cable hook-up to another room and while he was there I explained my problem. He told me the same thing that you just did. He was nice enough to put a splitter that came out of the wall and set it up so that an additional cable went directly to the DVD Recorder and another cable wend directly to the VCR.

All is happy in our home now.
hdconfused is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off