Directv - No sound for HD channels - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-25-2008, 11:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Oktoberfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm at the in-laws for Thanksgiving and they have Directv. They have numerous HD channels, but get no sound out of any of them. They flip to the exact same channel in SD and sound comes thru fine. At a loss as I have checked the connections and settings. I may be missing something simple? Any ideas?
Oktoberfest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-26-2008, 12:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BeachComber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wandering a Beach Somewhere....
Posts: 2,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oktoberfest View Post

I'm at the in-laws for Thanksgiving and they have Directv. They have numerous HD channels, but get no sound out of any of them. They flip to the exact same channel in SD and sound comes thru fine. At a loss as I have checked the connections and settings. I may be missing something simple? Any ideas?

What format is the audio set to?

You don't bother to list the IRD, connection or TV so not a lot to guess at.
BeachComber is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-26-2008, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tracy RainH2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calhoun, GA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it a HD DVR? If so, I find that 99% of problems are solved by resetting the unit. Mine has a reset button behind a flip down panel on the front.

One of the few. DCM Time Window Seven owners.
Tracy RainH2o is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-26-2008, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Oktoberfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies. I realize my post was a bit vague. They have a very low end HTIB that is mainly going to be used in place of sound from TV.

Directv recorder to Samsung 720p DLP (HDMI to DVI)
Directv recorder to HTIB (LG LHT854) Red/Yellow/White
HTIB to TV (Green/Red/Blue)

The is basically it. I'm thinking I need to run an optical connection from Directv recorder to HTIB. Any ideas?

The HTIB has very limited connections. I could run HDMI to HDMI, but hoping to avoid cost of buying one at a store while I'm here. Will the component (Red/Green/Blue) pass HD video. I was not able to get the video running thru the HTIB, so I ran the HDMI/DVI directly to TV. I realize I increase the chances of audio lag, but did't see a better way.

Any suggestions?
Oktoberfest is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-26-2008, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Tune the Directv recorder to an HD channel and check the audio output settings. Sometimes settings are grayed out unless you are on HD. Sounds like HTIB is on the correct input because you get sound from SD channels.
HDMI Guy is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off