Green Snow on HD Channels with DVI/HDMI - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-22-2008, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rofo_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My apologies if this has been answered in a different thread.

I recently switched to Verizon FIOS. My projector only has a DVI or Component input, so before moving to FIOS, I was using a direct DVI-DVI connection. Once I moved to FIOS, I was forced to use an HDMI-to-DVI converter since all the new set top boxes have HDMI output only (no more DVI). My DVD player occupies the Component input of the projector.

Well, now I see green screen all over the HD channels. This only occurs with the HDMI output of the cable box. When I switch to component on the cable box, everything looks fine and the green snow goes away.

Any ideas? I'd really like to get this resolved. It's been a pain in the a$$ since i have to switch my component cables between the cable box and the DVD player every time I want to watch something different.

The set top box is Motorola QIP6416-2 Dual-tuner DVR.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.
rofo_rob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-22-2008, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 7,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try a different adapter with the cable and/or new cable. You may have luck checking out the Fios DVR thread under HDTV Recorders also.

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-22-2008, 06:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Since there is absolutly no difference between the video signals between DVI and HDMI except for the pin numbers on the conectors it certainly appears to be a cable problem.
walford is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-08-2009, 08:43 PM
Newbie
 
dtcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got an Onkyo tx-sr606 receiver and have my fios hd set top box hooked up to it via an hdmi cord. I have an older gateway 42" plasma tv (that does not have an hdmi input, only dvi) connected to the receiver with a 6m monster hdmi cable and a monster hdmi-to-dvi adapter. the hd channels are extremely snowy with a greenish tint. I can't even make out the picture. the analog channels appear okay, but not great. Any suggestions how to fix this problem? It's driving me nuts.
dtcohen is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-09-2009, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Jim Shaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rofo_rob View Post

Well, now I see green screen all over the HD channels. This only occurs with the HDMI output of the cable box. When I switch to component on the cable box, everything looks fine and the green snow goes away.

I suspect the HDMI output jack is working its way loose from the circuit board. If you wiggle it, it may work temporarily, but you stand a greater chance of breaking it entirely. I'd see if you can get a new box.
Jim Shaffer is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-21-2009, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
dtcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, just to be clear, the problem is with hdmi out on the receiver or the set top box?
thanks for your help.
dtcohen is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-21-2009, 10:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 7,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bypass the AV Receiver, see if the problem still occurs. Try both HDMI cables with the adapter also when do you bypass. If it's still snowy it could be a bad jack on the box, bad DVI to HDMI adapter or a bad DVI input on the display. The next cheapest thing to try would be an HDMI to DVI cable and take the adapter out of the loop (see forum sponsor monoprice.com if you want to try another cable, don't waste your money on another Monster HDMI cable.)

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-04-2009, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
dtcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
okay, so i got a new hdmi cable and a new dvi adapter and I still get no picture. I tried going direct from the stb to the TV and its just lots of colored lines vertical and horizontal, no green snow. I even tried swapping in another stb and its the same thing. So, it doesn't seem to be the receiver or the cable, or the adapter or the stb. I guess it could be the TV dvi input or possibly a compatibility issue. Anybody know what's going on? I'm hoping to not have to buy another TV.
dtcohen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off