HDMI Signal Booster - Any Experience? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2009, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rofo_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I moved from HDMI to DVI recently due to a new FIOS cable box and now I'm experiencing green snow/noise on my HD channels. The HDMI output is being converted to DVI. I have approx. 35 feet of DVI cable in between my projector and video sources (STB and DVD player). I suspect that I need an HDMI signal booster. When I remove the long cable span and plug directly into my projector, the green snow/noise is gone.

Does anyone have any experience with HDMI signal boosters? I saw one on buy.com for $45 that seemed to be suited just for my issue. Any advice?

Thanks.
rofo_rob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2009, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xraffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This doesn’t make any sense whatsoever. HDMI and DVI are digital, so you either get a perfect picture or you don’t. If you see any noise in the picture, then perhaps it’s the source.
xraffle is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rofo_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not the source. I tried both the cable box and the DVD player and both produce the same results. When they plug directly into the projector, there is no green snow. When they go through the 30 ft of DVI cable, the snow re-appears.
rofo_rob is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 01:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraffle View Post

This doesn't make any sense whatsoever. HDMI and DVI are digital, so you either get a perfect picture or you don't. If you see any noise in the picture, then perhaps it's the source.

I'm surprised you didn't suggest a Monster cable.

rofo_rob...
35' is pretty long for DVI/HDMI. What make cable/gauge cable? You may want to check Monoprice.com and get a heavier gauge cable.
Ratman is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xraffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

I'm surprised you didn't suggest a Monster cable.

rofo_rob...
35' is pretty long for DVI/HDMI. What make cable/gauge cable? You may want to check Monoprice.com and get a heavier gauge cable.

Sure, he can get that, if he wants, but I doubt it will get rid of the noise because HDMI is not supposed to have noise since it's digital.

Have a wonderful day!
xraffle is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 01:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraffle View Post

Sure, he can get that, if he wants, but I doubt it will get rid of the noise because HDMI is not supposed to have noise since it's digital.

H-m-m-m...
Can you clarify? Your uncle bought a Monster cable (on your recommendation) and there was a "night and day difference".
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=164
Ratman is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xraffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

H-m-m-m...
Can you clarify? Your uncle bought a Monster cable (on your recommendation) and there was a "night and day difference".
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=164

Yeah, because he was experiencing picture dropouts, not noise.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post15433680

Have a wonderful day!
xraffle is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I would follow Ratman's advice and get a heavier gauge cable. Over a distance of 35 ft the cable can definitely make a difference. The green snow/noise described by the original poster is often referred to as sparkles and is an indication of problems with an HDMI or DVI cable.
HDMI Guy is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rofo_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Replacing the cable is NOT an option. The 35 ft cable is embedded in my walls and can't be removed without knocking out the dry wall. I laid the DVI cable while they were finishing my basement before it was walled in.
rofo_rob is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Did you experience any issues/problems prior to changing to FiOS? What was the interface before (cable/satellite)? How did FiOS affect the DVD performance?

If replacing/running a new/better(?) cable is NOT an option, I guess a "booster" would be the next step. And... hope for positive results.
Ratman is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rofo_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Before switching to FIOS, I was running my Comcast output to the projector via direct DVI since their set-top boxes had that connection. Upon upgrading to FIOS, their set-top boxes only have an HDMI output, along with component of course. So I simply bought an HDMI to DVI converter and hooked everything up. That's when the green snow (sparkles) started. Surprisingly enough, this does not occur when using component. Same cable length applies.
rofo_rob is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Component and DVI/HDMI are two different cable types.

Again... how did this affect DVD performance?

IMO... if all worked well with DVI out to DVI in with the Comcast box, it should be okay with a FiOS STB. I'd question the "quality" of your DVI/HDMI adapter cable.
Ratman is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rofo_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't comment on the DVD performance because I've always used component to the projector for my DVD player. There is dedicated DVI and component to the projector. DVI was setup for my cable box and DVI for the DVD player. Since my recent sparkle woes started, I've been forced to use one component connection for both my DVD player and cable box, moving the cables between the two depending on what I'm watching.
rofo_rob is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by rofo_rob View Post

I tried both the cable box and the DVD player and both produce the same results. When they plug directly into the projector, there is no green snow. When they go through the 30 ft of DVI cable, the snow re-appears

Based on your opening post (and the probable typo in the post above ), I assumed you tried DVD and got the same results using DVI and the DVI to HDMI adpater.

Either way... start with a new/better DVI/adapter. If not... try a booster. If that's not good, your options are pretty limited.
Ratman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off